Reedsville, WI 
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #2 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 343ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 480ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    10/27/2013   10/30/2013
Review By: steinkecm
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
17 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: First things first, this course is awesome. It has everything you'd want in a destination -- a pro shop, clubhouse, showers, a batting cage turned warm up cage for DG.

The multiple tees and pin placements certainly add to the experience. The tee pads are large and tapered -- they're great.

The man-made structures are a nice addition to the course, but they don't add as much challenge as I think they might hope them to.

This course will make you use every shot in your bag for sure. It's a welcome change from many of the repetitive courses I've played.

Overall, it's well taken care of. It's well groomed, managed fairly well and is an absolute must play.
Cons: Some of the wooded holes are still a bit of "throw and pray." I think for a course to be a championship caliber course, it should have specific lines you're expected to hit. They can be tight, but they should be available. There are a few holes that don't have distinct lines to hit. They're very "par-able," but doing nothing to improve the scoring distribution. It's unlikely that anyone would birdie these holes on a regular basis, as no line has been given to make that an option.

The "tee signs" that are up at this point just don't cut it for me. They're not very accurate and they're cheap. A course that has had this much time spent on it deserves top grade tee signs.
Other Thoughts: The baskets are nice -- they're older Mach 3's -- but I would like to see an upgrade at some point in these. A course this nice should have top tier baskets. I would love to see custom Discatchers here -- red bands, RR logo on the band....

I want to be able to give this course a 5, but at this point, I just can't. There are a lot of things they can improve upon at Rollin' Ridge to make it "The Ultimate."

Courses can be challenging, but they have to be able to be beaten -- at least by someone. There are a handful of holes (the ones mentioned in the Cons) that even the top pros wouldn't birdie consistently, because there are just too many trees in the fairway.

If you go to Yulga in Steven's Point, there are trees everywhere, but there are defined lines that you have to hit. Rollin' Ridge lacks these in the course design.

Without proper tee signs and better scoring distribution, Rollin' Ridge sits at a 4 in my book.

17 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 One of Wisconsin's finest

1    10/13/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: Gopack12
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great tee's, well wooded with great craftmanship that keeps the discgolfer in mind. Quiet course that's relaxing and brings out the inner disc golfer's soul.
Cons: Red baskets were hard to spot in the fall, other than that it was a great find thanks to dgcoursereview!!
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to playing more rounds here in the future. Even bought an awesome hat from the pro shop. Friendly staff and just a friendly atmosphere for disc golf

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Best Amenities Around

1    8/12/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow. So much hard work and time has been put into this course. This is the most well done course amenity wise I have ever been to. This course actually has staff working full time I believe. The pay to play is definitely worth it and the money has been put to good use. There are not 2, but 3 sets of concrete landscaped tees here and they are well color coordinated. There are long and even have a concrete zone on the end of the pad marked by a white line to follow through on. There is a fun mix of wooded shots with several open bombs, like the par 4 2nd hole. Some of the greens are very cool and creative. Hole 6's green especially stands out to me. The basket sits on the edge of a steep drop off which you must throw up. Check out the pictures as it is hard to do it justice with words. Hole 4's basket sits atop 3 giant tires. The elevation here is great overall and adds a lot to the course. There are many par 4s here and a great, nasty par 5 9th hole. The first shot is a uphill tight tunnel shot to a small landing zone. It is then a very skinny fairway all the way to the basket near the clubhouse. It's great that the front 9 ends at the beginning of the course. The directional signs are very helpful for navigation. The wooden structures, sculptures, and bridges all look great. They give a great aesthetic to the course and make it memorable.
Cons: There are a lot of left curving holes and lines. It gets repetitive.

Hole 17 does not have a line which was disappointing. There is also not really a line on the approach to 18's basket.
The mosquitoes are horrible here, especially towards the end of the back 9. Beware.

There are no tee signs yet.
Other Thoughts: If the course was better designed I would definitely up this rating half a disc or maybe even award it a 5.

Don't come hear expecting to rack up the deuces. This course is no deuce or die course.

The entrance to the course is not marked. Keep your eye for the gravel drive.

These baskets are from the DGA Basket Giveaway from Worlds a few years back. It's great they were put to good use.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Really like Rollling but lacks Professional Design

1    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2014
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rolling Ridge is a great newer course. The entrance marked by a red mailbox coming in so keep an eye out for a gravel drive. It's tough to find.The course plays in and out of a nice wooded area. They have done a great job of cleaning up the wooded fairways of rough. There are also several holes in the open. Rolling hills come into play in and out of the woods. A few wetland areas come into play too.

New Red DGA Mach 3's. They were won at the 2007 Am Worlds in the DGA drawing. It's great seeing them on the course.

What can I say about the tee pads. EVERY course should have tee pads like this. They are level and plenty long. They have a line that marks the front and there is room to follow thru on the front side. AWESOME! Not only that there are 3 sets of them on every hole. WOW!

There are some nice par 4's & 5's on this course. The black tees are tough! The short course measures 5,700 feet. The long course measures 7300 feet. If you come here expecting to get a bunch of birdie 2's like the traditional disc golf you are going to be disappointed.

There were directional arrows on the course. We had no problem navigating it the first time thru. They pointed to each tee even saying go this way for the long and this way for the medium.

They have spent a ton of money on lumber. There are several foot bridges and benches. Along with that they've made some impressive structures and landscaping near many of the tees.

I really liked the pyramid on #5.

The hillside green on #6 was cool.

Cons: Right now there are no tee signs. They said they have plans for them and a grand opening next year.

There are a lot of RHBH holes. There are many holes with scattered trees in the fairway. The lines were a bit tricky and didn't have the ultimate fun factor that I like. At times the course felt repetitive. In the end I went with 4.0 due to the awesome concrete tees and work that has been done knowing tee signs are on the way.
Other Thoughts: This is well worth the trip and they should be charging a minimum of $5.00 to play. $3.00 is a bargain! While we were there 3 guys were hard at work on the course. I have a feeling it's going to keep getting better.

This is probably the hardest review in terms of rating this a 4 or 4.5 that I've done. I've gone back and forth in terms of fun factor and signature/memorable holes.

Lucky for us we got a cool and windy morning. The skeeters left us alone. By the time we left they were starting to come out. Bring bug spray!

We got a nice dry time to play but a few spots were a little soft due to some rain a few days before. If you are making a long trip I'd check the conditions before leaving.

We played Winter Park after. What a great day of disc golf. 2 great courses.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.