Reedsville, WI 
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #18 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 416ft.   4 / 494ft.   4 / 603ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
best clubhouse ever!

1    9/9/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: blazerico
Played: 185  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: RR has everything. The clubhouse is better than some bars I've been to, with multiple flatscreen TVs, pool table, fireplace, beer, food, discs, driving "range", etc. Then there's the course. The course is challenging and has what you would expect in a top level course...elevation changes, long holes, water/swamp hazard, multiple tees and pin placements. They do a great job with safety too, putting in walls where they need to be and making them nice so they are not eyesores. The teepads are perfect and signage, is there when you need it.
Cons: Hard to find anything wrong with RR, except maybe the walk back up the hill to 13 from 12 basket.
Other Thoughts: I normally don't care about amenities, but the clubhouse was so great that I had to add an extra half disc to give RR a 5.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disney land for disc golfers

2-4    8/10/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: michaelzenith
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 9/28/2014
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When you pull up to the parking lot you are immediately impressed with the club house. First of all I was expecting just a small building but what we found was a bar, a pro shop with a huge selection of discs, driving range, putting area with sand, patio, clean bathrooms and numerous individuals who where enjoying conversation all about the sport.
The Course:
Best pads I have ever played. clean and landscaped. Multiple pads each hole
Nice mix of wooded technical shots and open long drives.
Very creative landscaping giving each hole it's unique personality.
Very clean and well maintained.
A HUGE amount of work must go into keeping this place as clean as it is.
Everyone we came in contact with was very nice and you can tell they were enjoying the grounds as much as we were.
All shots were used on the course. Rollers, long drives, etc.
Beautiful location

Cons: Easy to drive by the entrance, need to be looking for the sign.
You may need to walk each hole before playing as the baskets may be hidden far in the distance or around a corner
Can get wet and soggy. It was perfect while we were there but I could see it getting a bit soggy.
Largest con is by far that you need to leave at some point. I could have stayed for days.
Other Thoughts: If you are with in 150 miles and are a into disc golf this is the Disney Land of the sport, its a no brainer you need to check it out. If you are from out of the state it is worth it to check out the campground onsite. Now that I have played the course a few times, all other courses will be measured against it and I just can not see one offering what Rollin Ridge does. Amazing place.
Update 9/2014
I continue to play this course weekly even if I need to take time off from work, I consider it a quality of life decision. I have gotten to know a few of the employees who have been top notch people.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Nirvana

1    8/3/2014   8/5/2014
Review By: wisconnyjohnny
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: where to start, full bar and pro shop. complimentary bug spray theday we were there. Not too much traffic on course, actually none the day we played.
Scorecards. very well done course map and markers and signs. Best tee boxes ive played off yet. Its like augusta national for disc golfers.
tough course
Cons: Nothing this place is perfect.
Other Thoughts: I like the secludedness of the place and 5 bucks to play all day is nothing when you are playing a course of this caliber.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

All kinds of amazing

2-4    7/18/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: kmac88
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Driving range and two practice practice baskets to warm up.
2. Camping grounds and showers for travelers from afar.
3. 3 sets of tees with 3 possible pin placements.
4. Proshop with multiple disc manufacturers and disc golf apparel/paraphenalia.
5. Clubhouse that serves cold drinks and hot sandwiches, complete with a pool table and 5 big screen TVs.
6. Concrete tee pads with ample length for those with a long run up. There is also a follow addition on the front of each tee pad so you don't twist your ankle of the front of the pad.
7. Landscaping is top notch, with some holes having tiers built into the slope for different pin placements, while other holes feature large wooden fences to prevent errant discs from other fairways.
8. As most courses should, the front nine and back nine both loop back to the clubhouse.
9. High performance baskets.
10. Never neede to reference the course map once, going from one basket to the next tee was relatively easy.
11. Wide variety of shots required to master this course.
12. Pay to play, which is becoming a growing trend that I fully support if we want to play course like this. Only cost $5 to play for the whole day, but I would have been willing to pay $10-$15 dollars.

Cons: 1. Three of the holes share the middle and long tee pad, however, after talking to one of the owners, we learned the plans for two of those holes' long teepads. One will feature trowing through a waterfall, while another will be an elevated lookout-type teepad high up with the option to throw high over the trees. So take this con with a grain of salt.
Other Thoughts: After talking to one of the owners, it is evident that they put everything into constantly improving this course and never settling for satisfactory results. This cours is a must play if you are ever in the area, or even if you are ever driving through Wisconsin from Minnesota to Michigan, or vice versa.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome.

5+    7/7/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super fun disc golf.
Masterful coarse design.
Dedicated group of friends and family working hard to be a model of the future of disc golf.
great camping on site.
Friendly dogs welcome.
No stone is left unturned, no deck left unbuilt to deliver jaw dropping golf fun.
Full bar and pro shop.
Bogey.
Cons: None to speak of.
Other Thoughts: This was the 6th coarse visited by my wife and I on our vacation and it was truly a highlight.
We camped for 2 days over 4th of July weekend and had a wonderful time. Our dog Murray and Bogey were instantly best friends. I played 6 rounds and loved every one of them, especially the 6AM rounds as my campsite was just a few feet from the 1st tee.
Don't miss this place.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Destination course at it's finest.

5+    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 89  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 3.2 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I waited to review this course until I played it in most of the combinations of tees/basket placements, as I didn't want to throw out a homer drive-by type review.

With that said, this is as good as it gets in the disc golf world. Not only is the disc golf absolutely top notch, but I can't imagine better amenities for a single course property.

18 red powder coated DGA baskets, all in fantastic shape, pop right out in this mostly wooded course. 3 tee positions on nearly every hole (2 on the others) keep the layout fresh. Different positions really change the hole concepts.

3 teepads on nearly every hole (2 on the others). Nearly every tee on every hole provides a completely different shot and line (outside of hole 3, the one big open bomber on the course) All teepads are trapezoid concrete, with a level concrete run off area at the end. The best of the best.

It's an old cliche, but in this case, it's true. You WILL use every shot in your arsenal at this course. The mostly wooded lanes all offer at least one, and in most cases more, possible line to the baskets. The opportunities to get creative are everywhere, but you'll get punished if you miss. It's easy to pull 5's and 6's on many holes, or get 2's and 3's. Scoring separation is what really sets this course apart. A lot of distance variety, especially when you switch tee pads.

Flow and navigation is very intuitive, and very rarely will you not be able to find exactly the tee pad and hole you're looking for. Next tee signs abound, when you do need them.

Great use of the elevation on the property. Holes roll up and down through the woods, with some really nice up and downhill shots, especially with the baskets in the long positions.

Erosion is nearly non-existent because of the great use of man-made structures throughout. Baskets raised on structures, tee pads mounted in bridges, protective walls around tees where there could be trouble...it's all here. Also a waterfall exit on Hole 3 is in the works.
Cons: Anything here is nit picking.

The tee signs are informative, but are basically plastic signs, garage sale sign style. They have them on every tee on every hole, which is nice, though. They seem to get replaced whenever necessary, so it's really not a problem.

I'm listing this in the cons, but to me it's not one. $5 pay to play...all day. I don't even like putting this in this section, but I understand that some people don't like P2P.

It has some low lying areas, and gets swampy in the spring. I was there yesterday, though, and it was dry and wonderful.

Not a lot of open bomber holes here. Hole 3 is basically it. Hole 13 is a nice downhill shot, too.
Other Thoughts: This course offers everything you could possibly want in a destination course. 18 championship level holes, 2 practice baskets, a netted driving range, a pro shop, a BAR (with pool table, adult beverages, flat screen TV's, and great people), clean and updated bathrooms, free score cards/pencils...it's just crazy how much you get for $5/day.


Very little risk of losing discs here. They've managed to keep good rough without it being ridiculous. Most rough is bushes, and not heavy undergrowth. Even the few open holes have lanes mowed through the prairie grass. Oh, and with it being in WI, you'd think bugs would be horrible. Not so here, because they fog the course for bugs.

Even with it being on Hwy 10 (which is a usually busy road), you totally get the "out there" secluded feel. It's in a rural area, so you don't get much 2 disc chucker action, and to be honest, outside of leagues, you'll never see it crazy busy.

This is a course that will test your skills, especially accuracy. I always wish I could play this course more often. Pair it with Silver Creek, or nearby Lower Cato Falls, and you'll have as good of a discing day as you could possibly ask for.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/22/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: Marshall M.
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: First of all, this course has amazing quality. It is very well maintained--virtually no liter, and no vandalism at all. Also this course is very beautiful, with a very nice landscape and also many man made structures to keep the course safe.

But not only is Rollin' Ridge well maintained, it is also a very challenging course. It features a massive 1007 foot hole, but also many tight and technical holes in the woods. Rollin' Ridge will tune you for any course.
Cons: It may be frustrating to play, especially for beginners, as you really have to play hard to get a birdie on this course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    6/28/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: Papermaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: -3 sets of pads on just about every hole
-every shot is included there: extreme hyzers, straight shots, forhands, anhyzers
-this course deserves to be top 5 in the world
Cons: -theres not many cons about this course, the only thing really is the tee signs could be improved
-if you miss your line on some of the holes you are screwed
Other Thoughts: if you are in the area, Rollin Ridge is a must play

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

5+    5/25/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: Heffyson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Multiple difficulty levels
Pro Shop
Location
Beautiful landscape
Well kept
Decent pricing
Pit stops at Club house after 9 and 18
On site camping
Cons: Can gather water at times
Parts still under construction
Other Thoughts: Great course to play for the day. Food and Beverage on site!

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Destination disc golf done right!

2-4    6/28/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Badger45
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2014
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is so much going for this course, and if you stop reading quickly, just understand that it is a must-play course. It'll get in your head and you'll want to return over and over, but it's because the owners have done a lot of things right to make it one of the best experiences possible.

Watch your map / gps closely as you approach the course, because it's easy to miss. When you pull in, you drive past hole one and start to get excited and then you find a nice gravel parking lot by the clubhouse. Immediately, you are greeted by practice baskets, a practice driving pad (batting cage style netting) and abundant seating around the porch area. The proshop and bar area are very nice and everyone you meet is very helpful.

OK, on to the course.

The teepads are wide at the back and narrow toward the front and are very long. They also have a runoff / foul area on the front, so when your follow through you don't step off into mud or any other hazard. I appreciated this a lot, as we've had a very wet spring and early summer. Most places I play, I'm dragging my toes in mud off the tee or even slipping and generally looking goofy...but not at Rollin Ridge.

The holes are mostly technical, but don't really give you a break on distance in too many places. It's not going to be a lot of fun for a brand new player, due to this, but most people that make an effort to get to the Ridge are not first-time players. Some highlights for me are hole #3, which is the "air-it-out" hole. This is the one for all the bragging rights on distance throwing. #4 and #10 have baskets elevated on wooden structures and make for some challenging putting, if you don't lay up at the base. #14 has you driving at a hill with a series of walls built into it, but you have to choose your path carefully, as you're throwing through a good amount of trees to get there.

Despite the very wet year we've had, Rollin Ridge staff / volunteers have kept the course in great playing condition and have been fogging for bugs. I played with no bothers from the mosquito population, which is rampant on most courses around here. It was a great experience and I personally plan on making the 3-hour return trip at least one more time this year.
Cons: #4, 5, 6, 10, 13, and 14 all are in the low-spot of the course. This year has been relentlessly wet, so the ground feels boggy off of the teepads. It's not unplayable, but something to keep in mind as far as footwear.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.