Reedsville, WI 
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #8 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 308ft.   4 / 435ft.   4 / 495ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 91
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
AWESOME COURSE

5+    10/25/2015   10/25/2015
Review By: discgolfoholicray
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.8 Years
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Three Tees and Three Baskets on every Hole ! Clean bathrooms and Showers !
Cons: The area in front of Hole #14 should be taken care of, because it is almost always flooded or very muddy ! Maybe put 2 feet of mulch over the area or put ALOT of soil in, sloping down away from the wooded barrier so water flows away from it !

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

5+    10/22/2015   10/24/2015
Review By: nh_87
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course. Owners and staff are super friendly.
Cons: Only con I can say is that the Clubhouse isn't always open during the advertised hours. Not many courses even offer this to you around this area, so that doesn't stop me from rating Rollin Ridge a 5!
Other Thoughts: Rollin Ridge is a great course to throw at. Multiple tee pads and baskets offer a wide variety of different lines to take depending on which ones you choose to play. They also shovel and salt the tee pads during the winter months so you can play year round if you'd like.

The staff, no matter who's working, is always super friendly. They do a very good job on the upkeep of the course. Not to mention, Austin takes time to wade thru the water on the water holes to retrieve lost discs. So if you have your name and number on the back you can go back and claim it off the lost and found shelf. He's found a couple of mine already! Look forward to throwing here any time I get a chance!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/21/2015   10/21/2015
Review By: nickguitarfreak17
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes
Multiple pins and tees don't just add distance, they create different lines and new challenges
Score cards with accurate distances
Pro shop and bar on site!
Open all year round

This is one of my favorite courses to play. Some of the lines may seem a bit too challenging but that makes it so much more rewarding when you hit them. The pro shop has an excellent selection of discs, and a very nice bar and pool table. There is camping available for wayward travelers and the staff is great. They search for lost discs on their down time and call the numbers of people when they find discs. I never have to worry about permanently losing discs.

I appreciated the variety of holes here. It's not often I get to use my flick, and there are even holes I still can't figure out the best throw.
Cons: The tee signs are not very professional, but I'm sure they'll fix that I'm time.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this course. It is a great destination spot to combine with silver creek. Every nine holes you can stop back at the clubhouse and take a breather. They're constantly adding new features and doing work on the course. This course is already awesome, and it's only gonna get better. Watch out for hole 2, it's a disc eater.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One Heck Of A Course!!!

1    9/12/2015   9/24/2015
Review By: ForKyleigh
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Multiple tee box and pin selections available, so it can cater to all skill levels.

Scoring cards made with correct pars for each teebox/pin layout.

Country Club setting! Pro Shop, Pool Table, Drinks, Food!

Much nicer than the other "pay to play" parks I have been at. For basically the same price.

Some holes are more open and other require some precision shots.

A par 5 is an actual par 5! Over 800 feet in length using the longest tee box!

No litter on the course. There are garbages that are maintained.

Lots of signs to help you find your way.
Cons: The holes that show water on them were only swampy with the exception of one of the last holes.

Other Thoughts: I can't knock them for this but a beverage cart would be AWESOME!

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievable amenities

1    9/15/2015   9/21/2015
Review By: cydisc
Played: 172  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 20.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The amenities. On-site huge pro shop. Putting practice area. Driving 'range' (basically a batting cage). On-site camping.

- Private course. No conflicts with other park uses like you might have in a public park.

- Looping 9's layout. Holes 9 and 18 return you to the clubhouse, so you can reload on discs or beverages or have a bite to eat.

- Multiple tees and baskets on each hole.

- Logical flow. Short walks to the next tees from previous basket.

- Good variety. Good topography. Lots of trees and some water.

- Very good tee areas with benches landscaping. Some interesting elevated baskets.

- Clean. Not a speck of litter to be found.

- Fogging for mosquites.
Cons: - I wish there were more multi-shot holes (par 4's and 5's).
Other Thoughts: This is the poster child for pay-to-play disc golf. Nice wooded property and obviously a lot of work went into not only clearing fairways, but building the facilities into a 'country club' type of setting. The holes were challenging, yet fair. It's a full-service course, with a full pro shop with discs and accessories as well as food and beverages.

What I appreciated the most is the use of multiple baskets and tees on each hole. You essentially have 9 separate layouts to play, which means you're less likely to tire of playing and it can accommodate a wide range of player skills.

Above and beyond bonus points: This being in the woods of Wisconsin, I was armed with bug spray. However, not a mosquito was to be found, since the management fogs the course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Perfection in Wisconsin

1    9/20/2015   9/21/2015
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 19  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Each hole has multiple tees, most of them 3, and every hole has 3 baskets leaving you with numerous ways to play. The tees are all in immaculate condition with the only exception being hole 8, I believe, can be slippery as it's located under tree cover and never fully dries out. Add to that, the fact it's not concrete but a paver type attachment placed on a beautifully crafted deck and that's the only iffy tee in the entire place.
The baskets are mach x and catch like Jerry Rice using extra stick-em. The exception to that are the red baskets which are mach 3 or 5 I can never tell the difference. These however are set up with lights for night rounds adding even more reason why this course is amazing.
The lines are challenging but still open enough a clean shot will get you through. The only thing in question is the distance as the holes are not for the weak of arm. Especially anyone who plays black to black.... 1000ft is a crazy long hole. Fun, but crazy long. Orange to orange is their amateur set up and even that is a touch long for beginners but just about right for an 850 rec level player.
The grounds are immaculately well kept with paths mowed through any long grass so you can criss cross and more likely find an errant throw. The water hazards are well placed and easy enough to avoid but if you do drop in you can't go and get your disc back. You are to tell the staff and they drag the pond and search the marsh and woods occasionally and if your name and number is on the disc they call you to get it back. They also have a lost and found that seems well used.
The proshop is well stocked and fairly priced, internet is still cheaper but that is always the case.
There is a clubhouse for drinks food and beer, a deck for lounging between rounds, camping near by and many other amenities, really too many pluses to list them all. This place was set up to be a play all day location, and it serves that well.
Cons: The length can be daunting to beginners but nothing out of the question. The only real negative is it would be nice to have a bathroom or two along the course as it's a long round and there are times one is soarly needed before even the halfway point.
Other Thoughts: For $5 this place is a great price for a course this well managed and maintained. Easy to spend an entire day without blinking an eye and the best course I've ever played. There isn't even a close second. This is a must for anyone who loves to play and lives in Wisconsin, or is visiting.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/17/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: James McGirr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 9/13/2015
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: A great track of land.Almost can't believe some one put all this time and money into such a course. Some of the holes were magnifceint
Cons: As nice of a course I thought it was there were two or three heavily wooded holes to wear if there were gaps and alleyways to advance your disc I did not see it.If it were not for that. I would have rated the course at the highest level
Other Thoughts: A magnificeint place for disc golf.Parts of course are wooded and few holes are heavily wooded.The wooded parts are very playable a skilled player has a lot of workable space to play a shot in between the trees and toward the basket.

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    9/5/2015   9/7/2015
Review By: JRouse
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Multiple baskets for each tee pad
Great view
Tricky holes
Pro shop/employee was very friendly to first timers
Driving range
Deck to relax on between rounds
Locals were friendly
Cons: Water hazards were a bit dried up(not a big con)
Some spongey/ damp areas
Few holes get near each other making it a bit confusing
Other Thoughts: Definitely deserves it's rating of #1 in the state. Some holes are pretty long and pars are somewhat questionable for amateur players. My group played the red(middle) tees and the red and orange baskets can look similar color from afar.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Rollin Ridge - Where Dreams Come True

5+    8/22/2015   8/26/2015
Review By: Gleck33
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Outstanding Design
- Every line, approach and green is perfectly placed with altitude, OB and water maximized for the land
- No drive, approach or putt is a gimmie, with every shot continually challenging your mental game
Lines & Distances are extremely challenging/yet fair
- Lines will push you to your brink and have you coming back time and time again with a new idea on how to hit it, yet every line is fair. There are 0 holes in my opinion that are "throw and hope", but nearly every hole will require precise accuracy
- The distance is fair as well. Rarely are you required a 600 foot max drive, rather controlled distance is needed where placement is more important

Beautifully manicured
- The course is always in stellar condition and always a beautiful place to spend an afternoon
- Tee pads are the best I've played on, perfect size, follow through zone, surrounded by rocks
- Baskets are excellent, wood blockers, bridges & walkways, green settings with elevated pins & tiers/manicured greens, clubhouse with pro shop, fireplace, outdoor fireplace, bar, TV, driving range, practice green, score cards and & pencils all put this course over the top

Variety
- 3 tee pads and 3 baskets per hole!!!!!!!
o Variation between the 3 isn't limited to distance (although it adds that too), but completely changes the lines/greens/approaches to holes
o All formats offer their own element of challenge, some of the short baskets are actually the hardest placement in my opinion (2,11,12)

Improvements
- Everyone at the Ridge continues to keep improving this course and it gets better every day!
Cons: - No cons to this course, sure cool tee signs would be a nice addition, sure it can get swampy in spots, sure there are no huge downhill bombers or prominent water factors, but absolutely nothing that will make you say "dang I wish this was better" on your car ride home
- Do think there was an opportunity to make the black pin on hole #2 out on a peninsula over the water
Other Thoughts: Overall the Ridge is the place I would prefer to play nearly all of my rounds. It is a true destination course that has a high difficulty level and a high fun factor. Come camp for the weekend and enjoy the wonderful hospitality. You must play black-black at least once. Pure definition of a 5 star course.

It is truly impossible to have a bad time out at the Ridge. Miss your lines and have your score climb to new heights, but yet any day at the Ridge is a great day to be alive.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hard to imagine a better course...

5+    8/14/2015   8/18/2015
Review By: lxames
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm going to try to avoid repeating what other reviewers have written. Yes, the clubhouse is great, and the course will make you throw every disc in your bag, yadda yadda...

What sets Rollin Ridge apart, to me, is its unique setup. I have played other courses with multiple tee positions, but RR dramatically changes nearly every hole by not only altering the distance with each tee, but the angle. Hole 2--the signature hole, in my opinion--is a great example of this. The longer tees require a heart-pounding shot over the reedy pond, while the short orange tee fronts the fairway to the left of the pond--though a shot over the water is still necessary to go for the birdie.

Even better are the three baskets ON EACH HOLE! Again, playing the longs (the black baskets) will not only make the course longer than the medium (red) or orange (short) baskets, it will change the direction of the hole. Dogleg right in one setup becomes a tunnel shot in another, and a dogleg left in another. Or, on the bomber 3rd whole, the black tees add mega distance and a downhill pin-placement in a tree-surrounded depression, making the hole feel different than the red or orange baskets.

With the ability to play nine different setups on each hole, the amount of fun to be had at Rollin Ridge far exceeds a typical course. And the best thing about this variety is that each setup is a heck of a lot of fun. While the short tees at a course like Vallarta-Ast in the Madison area (another of my favorites) are, in my opinion, pretty dull, my favorite set-up at Rollin Ridge is actually orange to orange--short tees to short baskets. Even though this is the amateur setup, few holes are easy; rather, they require finesse and touch with putters and mids, and make for an enormously fun 45 minute blast of disc golf that flows beautifully, tee to basket to tee.

I could go on, but I'll cut it there.
Cons: The cliche is that it's two hours from my house--but that is the main con. The owners have really thought of nearly everything to make the course a great play, and well worth the long drive.
Other Thoughts: I played three rounds here both times I've visited; for the majority of my weekday trips--in the middle of the summer--my playing partner and I were alone on the course. We felt like we were in our own private disc golf paradise. I'm sure the course will only get busier as disc golf grows in popularity. If you can, drive up on a mid- to late-summer weekday, pay your five bucks, and play all day. Stop for a drink and a disc and a chat with the owner in the clubhouse, then go play some more. It's a great experience, and one not to be missed for any disc golfer.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center