Reedsville, WI 
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #10 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 247ft.   3 / 266ft.   3 / 326ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Red/Black Tee



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 too much awesomeness

5+    3/20/2015   3/20/2015
Review By: gdbeams
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Awesome upon awesome
Good looks
Some insane distances
Cons: A little too far away from oshkosh. Would like to play it more
Other Thoughts: Bogie will need several belly rubs
Bring a lunch and stay all day.Give your pay to play dollars a challenge

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    6/28/2014   3/13/2015
Review By: discgolfchampion
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Awesome tee pads! 3 pads and pin locations per hole!
Variety of holes, varrying from heavily wooded, to open with hills.
Cons: Sometimes gets muddy and mushy.
Other Thoughts: Fix the mushy parts. Otherwise everything is perfect

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Another WI gem

5+    3/8/2015   3/9/2015
Review By: GB Phil G
Played: 102  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.2 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is a must play in N.E Wisconsin. The pay 2 play here brings you everything you want. Pick your level of challenge with 3 pin placements and 3 tee pads on almost every hole. The visual appeal is above all. Not one detail was missed on each tee, fairway, and basket.
Cons: You just know more improvements are coming. Tee signs could be upgraded. I personally don't know if they will be. Currently 'they' do a good job of identifying basket placements on the tee signs. They are also doing a good job of keeping the bugs down and the wet areas in check. What I'm saying is, if there is a "con" then I can think of something that has been tried to fix it. "They" being the handful of champions responsible for this course.
Other Thoughts: Its been a pleasure to watch this course take shape since its installation. I'm lucky to have been invited to play those first few years. Their weekend league strikes the perfect balance of competition and fun. There is no "signature hole". But there are too many "signature throws" to count. With over 9 different layouts, of which I played them all, I can't agree with anyone who says this course lacks variety. 5.0 stars. Based on my rating system, the challenge and fun factor are sky high.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

The New Standard

5+    3/9/2015   3/9/2015
Review By: Pinhigh
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course sets the new standard in excellence. I can only imagine the amount of attention to detail that went into this course from the perfect tee pads to the fun and challenging fairways. After finishing a great round, you can relax in the clubhouse and enjoy watching some disc golf on 1 of many TVs available or pick up some new plastic in it's separate pro shop. Everytime I go there, I see something new that they have added to make the course and place even better. This is truly a destination that should go on anyone's bucket list.
Cons: I never want to leave.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 awesome course!

5+    12/7/2014   12/20/2014
Review By: Rocs8x9x
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Clean course! Challenging holes. Lots of pin placements and tee pads to make the course as easy or as hard as you want it to be. Well worth the trip!
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Course has a great clubhouse that serves beer. They also sell discs and they always have the latest plastics.

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 amazing!!!!!

5+    12/13/2014   12/13/2014
Review By: areignier2
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Great owners,fun players, and the course is something out of a dream. 18 holes with multiple pin and pad locations. The clubhouse/ pro shop has several different disk brands to choose from at a good prices. If you show up and want to meet people almost anyone there is willing to play a round with you. It's mostly wooded with clear fairways going through. A few open holes in a field. This course is a fun challenge for the casual player and pros alike. If you lose a disk in the pond they go our and get them and put them on a lost and found shelf. The environment here is great for a day out with the family or just to get out of the house for a few hours. The course is open all year and has winter league and in the summer there is a glo league that's just so much fun.
Cons: You won't want to go play any other course after playing here! !!!

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/31/2014   10/31/2014
Review By: one more round
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 1.Excellent course that is being improved constantly

2.Pro shop with a lot of discs and accessories

3.Various basket locations change the look and lines of the hole instead of just adding distance.

4.Various pad locations add a lot of distance or a different look to each hole.

5.Level concrete pads that extend past foul line.

6.Very clean and well maintained course.
Cons: I don't live 5 min away from course.
Other Thoughts: Rollin Ridge is an awesome course and just when I think it doesn't get any better they add another pad or they try an new thoughtful basket location. These guys are passionate about this sport and don't settle for good enough.
I heard someone say they wanted to have baskets at every location on every hole. The basket placements are so spread out and thoughtfully placed that it would add a lot to the course. Making it feel like 3 different courses.

I gladly support these guys because I know the money is going back into course improvements.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

the gold standard

1    8/10/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 220  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.3 Years
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -wonderful piece of land with lots of woods, open space, and subtle rolling hills throughout the course
-three distinct sets of tees with appropriate challenges off the tee for a wide range of players and usually three pin locations per hole
-the gold standard for amenities: the best clubhouse you've seen, concrete tees, great signs, navigational aids, benches, wooden safety walls protecting the tees from other fairways, numerous bridges, 2 practice baskets, and a driving net
-a few water hazards (swamps) that come into play
-red baskets are easy to see in the woods
-pay to play, $5, and it clearly goes back into the course
Cons: -too many hyzer fairways, i think i only threw one anhyzer off the tee and it wasn't the required line
-the plastic signs were fine but i wasn't sure if the circled basket position was indeed the current one; not all of them had a circled position
-for me, this course really doesn't have any signature holes; maybe hole 2 or 18
Other Thoughts: Rollin Ridge sets the gold standard for amenities in a disc golf course. From the moment I pulled into the ample sized parking lot and saw the clubhouse, I knew this was going to be a stellar experience. There are two practice baskets and a driving net outside the clubhouse as well as a deck with several picnic tables and a fire pit. The clubhouse has a full disc shop, quality bathrooms, a bar, pool table, big screen TV's, the works. You can have nearly just as much hanging out at the clubhouse as you can on the course. The course has three distinct sets of large, concrete tees; usually three positions on each hole for the red, powder-coated baskets; helpful tee signs, benches, and trash buckets at each tee; navigational aids around the course; and wooden safety walls around the tees where other fairways may come into play. The only thing I've seen at another course that I didn't see here was brooms at each tee pad.

The course itself is a lot of fun to play and definitely offers a challenge for any player from the appropriate tee. The various tees are more than just added distance. They all offer different looks and lines and really add to the replay value for those lucky enough to play here often. The tight woods require accuracy but the predominant shot is a hyzer. You also need to be able to throw a straight line and finish straight in the fairway but those are the only 2 shots you need on this course unless you find yourself off the fairway. However, given the thick woods on most of the course, finding yourself off the fairway is probably only a matter of time.

Rollin Ridge is a phenomenal course and you can see how far it has come in relatively little time just by comparing the course as it is today with the pictures on this site. The fairways are much more clear of schule and debris and the landscaping is more extensive. I love the p2p model and this course is a shining example of how well it can work. It just lacks a bit of shot variety and wow factor for me to give it the perfect 5.0 rating. I think the course would get a 4.0-4.5 from most people if there were no clubhouse. That said, it is easily a destination course and a really fun round of disc golf!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Amenities galore

2-4    9/2/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: discNDav
Played: 327  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 29.2 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Private...country club like setting. $5 to play and I consider this a plus, it's that good!

The amenities include: practice basket, driving range net, pro shop, indoor restroom and shower, indoor bar, fire pit and on site camping is also available.

3 sets of CEMENT tees, black (long), red (medium) and orange (short). The landscaped tees are were the best I've seen in over 300+ courses that I have played. They were usually raised above ground level, had benches, trash buckets and rock gardens and/or gravel surrounding them.

A lot of variety shots are required: downhill, uphill, right to left, left to right, straight, open, wooded, nothing extremely tight or unfair.

They have built wooded structures near some tees to protect you from errant shots.

No map is needed, I found my way around easily because there are plenty of signs pointing you in the right direction. The back 9 has un-natural flow but is easy to navigate though. The path to #15 passed #7's tee.

A few water/hazards aka swamps that can affect play especially on #9's approach shot.

#14 wall/walls built leading up to the basket.

Per the tee signs multiple pins placements although the A, B or C wasn't always circled on the sign.

A few bridges were built to help you over wet or muddy ground.
Cons: Just a few...Bugs...bring bug spray.
Muddy in some of the lower terrian (I played here before and after rain)
Bring appropriate foot wear which I always do anyway.



Other Thoughts: I drove 4 hours and got to RR at 7:40a on Labor Day and played here and came back the next morning by 8:30a for another round so I missed the pro shop and bar being open. I had the course to myself and loved it. The course was very FUN to pay!

The golf shots and course weren't extremely difficult. I'm an Adv Grand Master rated just below 900 and shot right just about par (using a couple of mulligans on the drives). I'm used to harder courses in the Mid-Atlantic/Pennsylvania area and was expecting more par 4 's for being a top 5 course. I did not play the pro black tees though.

Compared to the other 4 star rated courses in the area (Silver Creek and Winter Park) I'd play here every time over those two.

I'd love to come back someday in the future and play RR later in the day. It is now listed as one of my favorites here on DGCR.


15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

best clubhouse ever!

1    9/9/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: blazerico
Played: 202  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: RR has everything. The clubhouse is better than some bars I've been to, with multiple flatscreen TVs, pool table, fireplace, beer, food, discs, driving "range", etc. Then there's the course. The course is challenging and has what you would expect in a top level course...elevation changes, long holes, water/swamp hazard, multiple tees and pin placements. They do a great job with safety too, putting in walls where they need to be and making them nice so they are not eyesores. The teepads are perfect and signage, is there when you need it.
Cons: Hard to find anything wrong with RR, except maybe the walk back up the hill to 13 from 12 basket.
Other Thoughts: I normally don't care about amenities, but the clubhouse was so great that I had to add an extra half disc to give RR a 5.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.