Reedsville, WI 
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: lteppen Hole #6 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 299ft.   3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Good but overrated

5+    9/6/2014   10/18/2014
Review By: ActionJackson
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: Clubhouse is pretty cool but not something I need. The practice net is a nice feature. A lot of work went into this course. Tee pads are excellent. Some of the holes are very well thought out and are extremely fun to play. Descent variety of shots to pull from.
Cons: this place is a swamp in the spring. You will have a hard time finding a course with more mosquitoes in July. Some holes make little to no sense at all. Some wooded holes are so tight that it's hard to tell what the design is if there even is one.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course but no where near its rating. If you've played up at Highbridge or maybe flip city in Michigan where the ratings are justified. You will be disappointed when you go here. Definitely worth playing to decide for yourself. The 5 bucks they charge is fine in my opinion. I never mind paying to play.

6 of 26 people found this review helpful.

the gold standard

1    8/10/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 210  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 7.5 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -wonderful piece of land with lots of woods, open space, and subtle rolling hills throughout the course
-three distinct sets of tees with appropriate challenges off the tee for a wide range of players and usually three pin locations per hole
-the gold standard for amenities: the best clubhouse you've seen, concrete tees, great signs, navigational aids, benches, wooden safety walls protecting the tees from other fairways, numerous bridges, 2 practice baskets, and a driving net
-a few water hazards (swamps) that come into play
-red baskets are easy to see in the woods
-pay to play, $5, and it clearly goes back into the course
Cons: -too many hyzer fairways, i think i only threw one anhyzer off the tee and it wasn't the required line
-the plastic signs were fine but i wasn't sure if the circled basket position was indeed the current one; not all of them had a circled position
-for me, this course really doesn't have any signature holes; maybe hole 2 or 18
Other Thoughts: Rollin Ridge sets the gold standard for amenities in a disc golf course. From the moment I pulled into the ample sized parking lot and saw the clubhouse, I knew this was going to be a stellar experience. There are two practice baskets and a driving net outside the clubhouse as well as a deck with several picnic tables and a fire pit. The clubhouse has a full disc shop, quality bathrooms, a bar, pool table, big screen TV's, the works. You can have nearly just as much hanging out at the clubhouse as you can on the course. The course has three distinct sets of large, concrete tees; usually three positions on each hole for the red, powder-coated baskets; helpful tee signs, benches, and trash buckets at each tee; navigational aids around the course; and wooden safety walls around the tees where other fairways may come into play. The only thing I've seen at another course that I didn't see here was brooms at each tee pad.

The course itself is a lot of fun to play and definitely offers a challenge for any player from the appropriate tee. The various tees are more than just added distance. They all offer different looks and lines and really add to the replay value for those lucky enough to play here often. The tight woods require accuracy but the predominant shot is a hyzer. You also need to be able to throw a straight line and finish straight in the fairway but those are the only 2 shots you need on this course unless you find yourself off the fairway. However, given the thick woods on most of the course, finding yourself off the fairway is probably only a matter of time.

Rollin Ridge is a phenomenal course and you can see how far it has come in relatively little time just by comparing the course as it is today with the pictures on this site. The fairways are much more clear of schule and debris and the landscaping is more extensive. I love the p2p model and this course is a shining example of how well it can work. It just lacks a bit of shot variety and wow factor for me to give it the perfect 5.0 rating. I think the course would get a 4.0-4.5 from most people if there were no clubhouse. That said, it is easily a destination course and a really fun round of disc golf!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Amenities galore

2-4    9/2/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: discNDav
Played: 295  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private...country club like setting. $5 to play and I consider this a plus, it's that good!

The amenities include: practice basket, driving range net, pro shop, indoor restroom and shower, indoor bar, fire pit and on site camping is also available.

3 sets of CEMENT tees, black (long), red (medium) and orange (short). The landscaped tees are were the best I've seen in over 300+ courses that I have played. They were usually raised above ground level, had benches, trash buckets and rock gardens and/or gravel surrounding them.

A lot of variety shots are required: downhill, uphill, right to left, left to right, straight, open, wooded, nothing extremely tight or unfair.

They have built wooded structures near some tees to protect you from errant shots.

No map is needed, I found my way around easily because there are plenty of signs pointing you in the right direction. The back 9 has un-natural flow but is easy to navigate though. The path to #15 passed #7's tee.

A few water/hazards aka swamps that can affect play especially on #9's approach shot.

#14 wall/walls built leading up to the basket.

Per the tee signs multiple pins placements although the A, B or C wasn't always circled on the sign.

A few bridges were built to help you over wet or muddy ground.
Cons: Just a few...Bugs...bring bug spray.
Muddy in some of the lower terrian (I played here before and after rain)
Bring appropriate foot wear which I always do anyway.



Other Thoughts: I drove 4 hours and got to RR at 7:40a on Labor Day and played here and came back the next morning by 8:30a for another round so I missed the pro shop and bar being open. I had the course to myself and loved it. The course was very FUN to pay!

The golf shots and course weren't extremely difficult. I'm an Adv Grand Master rated just below 900 and shot right just about par (using a couple of mulligans on the drives). I'm used to harder courses in the Mid-Atlantic/Pennsylvania area and was expecting more par 4 's for being a top 5 course. I did not play the pro black tees though.

Compared to the other 4 star rated courses in the area (Silver Creek and Winter Park) I'd play here every time over those two.

I'd love to come back someday in the future and play RR later in the day. It is now listed as one of my favorites here on DGCR.


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

best clubhouse ever!

1    9/9/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: blazerico
Played: 187  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: RR has everything. The clubhouse is better than some bars I've been to, with multiple flatscreen TVs, pool table, fireplace, beer, food, discs, driving "range", etc. Then there's the course. The course is challenging and has what you would expect in a top level course...elevation changes, long holes, water/swamp hazard, multiple tees and pin placements. They do a great job with safety too, putting in walls where they need to be and making them nice so they are not eyesores. The teepads are perfect and signage, is there when you need it.
Cons: Hard to find anything wrong with RR, except maybe the walk back up the hill to 13 from 12 basket.
Other Thoughts: I normally don't care about amenities, but the clubhouse was so great that I had to add an extra half disc to give RR a 5.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disney land for disc golfers

2-4    8/10/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: michaelzenith
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 9/28/2014
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When you pull up to the parking lot you are immediately impressed with the club house. First of all I was expecting just a small building but what we found was a bar, a pro shop with a huge selection of discs, driving range, putting area with sand, patio, clean bathrooms and numerous individuals who where enjoying conversation all about the sport.
The Course:
Best pads I have ever played. clean and landscaped. Multiple pads each hole
Nice mix of wooded technical shots and open long drives.
Very creative landscaping giving each hole it's unique personality.
Very clean and well maintained.
A HUGE amount of work must go into keeping this place as clean as it is.
Everyone we came in contact with was very nice and you can tell they were enjoying the grounds as much as we were.
All shots were used on the course. Rollers, long drives, etc.
Beautiful location

Cons: Easy to drive by the entrance, need to be looking for the sign.
You may need to walk each hole before playing as the baskets may be hidden far in the distance or around a corner
Can get wet and soggy. It was perfect while we were there but I could see it getting a bit soggy.
Largest con is by far that you need to leave at some point. I could have stayed for days.
Other Thoughts: If you are with in 150 miles and are a into disc golf this is the Disney Land of the sport, its a no brainer you need to check it out. If you are from out of the state it is worth it to check out the campground onsite. Now that I have played the course a few times, all other courses will be measured against it and I just can not see one offering what Rollin Ridge does. Amazing place.
Update 9/2014
I continue to play this course weekly even if I need to take time off from work, I consider it a quality of life decision. I have gotten to know a few of the employees who have been top notch people.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Nirvana

1    8/3/2014   8/5/2014
Review By: wisconnyjohnny
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: where to start, full bar and pro shop. complimentary bug spray theday we were there. Not too much traffic on course, actually none the day we played.
Scorecards. very well done course map and markers and signs. Best tee boxes ive played off yet. Its like augusta national for disc golfers.
tough course
Cons: Nothing this place is perfect.
Other Thoughts: I like the secludedness of the place and 5 bucks to play all day is nothing when you are playing a course of this caliber.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Rollin' Ridge DGC Review

2-4    7/26/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: FoxRacer23TW
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2014
5 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: The course was well planned out, and is very clean. Each hole has a dynamic setup, and is fun to play. They put a ton of time and effort to make this course enjoyable and decisive. The shop has a ton of merchandise, food/drinks, restrooms, and a game room.
Cons: It has a few spots that are really wet and squishy. The two holes that go over/around a swamp are bad if you are a beginner thrower. If you toss one in, its there until someone gets it out from the shop. You have to be careful, or you'll be waiting or hoping you get your disc back. It is $5 to play every day, which kinda sucks but it keeps the grounds good.
Other Thoughts: For my first time being there, I was impressed. Every hole has its own personality to it. I'd go back more if it were cheaper or if the season pass wasn't so expensive.

5 of 20 people found this review helpful.

All kinds of amazing

2-4    7/18/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: kmac88
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Driving range and two practice practice baskets to warm up.
2. Camping grounds and showers for travelers from afar.
3. 3 sets of tees with 3 possible pin placements.
4. Proshop with multiple disc manufacturers and disc golf apparel/paraphenalia.
5. Clubhouse that serves cold drinks and hot sandwiches, complete with a pool table and 5 big screen TVs.
6. Concrete tee pads with ample length for those with a long run up. There is also a follow addition on the front of each tee pad so you don't twist your ankle of the front of the pad.
7. Landscaping is top notch, with some holes having tiers built into the slope for different pin placements, while other holes feature large wooden fences to prevent errant discs from other fairways.
8. As most courses should, the front nine and back nine both loop back to the clubhouse.
9. High performance baskets.
10. Never neede to reference the course map once, going from one basket to the next tee was relatively easy.
11. Wide variety of shots required to master this course.
12. Pay to play, which is becoming a growing trend that I fully support if we want to play course like this. Only cost $5 to play for the whole day, but I would have been willing to pay $10-$15 dollars.

Cons: 1. Three of the holes share the middle and long tee pad, however, after talking to one of the owners, we learned the plans for two of those holes' long teepads. One will feature trowing through a waterfall, while another will be an elevated lookout-type teepad high up with the option to throw high over the trees. So take this con with a grain of salt.
Other Thoughts: After talking to one of the owners, it is evident that they put everything into constantly improving this course and never settling for satisfactory results. This cours is a must play if you are ever in the area, or even if you are ever driving through Wisconsin from Minnesota to Michigan, or vice versa.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome.

5+    7/7/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 56  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super fun disc golf.
Masterful coarse design.
Dedicated group of friends and family working hard to be a model of the future of disc golf.
great camping on site.
Friendly dogs welcome.
No stone is left unturned, no deck left unbuilt to deliver jaw dropping golf fun.
Full bar and pro shop.
Bogey.
Cons: None to speak of.
Other Thoughts: This was the 6th coarse visited by my wife and I on our vacation and it was truly a highlight.
We camped for 2 days over 4th of July weekend and had a wonderful time. Our dog Murray and Bogey were instantly best friends. I played 6 rounds and loved every one of them, especially the 6AM rounds as my campsite was just a few feet from the 1st tee.
Don't miss this place.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Destination course at it's finest.

5+    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 89  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.2 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I waited to review this course until I played it in most of the combinations of tees/basket placements, as I didn't want to throw out a homer drive-by type review.

With that said, this is as good as it gets in the disc golf world. Not only is the disc golf absolutely top notch, but I can't imagine better amenities for a single course property.

18 red powder coated DGA baskets, all in fantastic shape, pop right out in this mostly wooded course. 3 tee positions on nearly every hole (2 on the others) keep the layout fresh. Different positions really change the hole concepts.

3 teepads on nearly every hole (2 on the others). Nearly every tee on every hole provides a completely different shot and line (outside of hole 3, the one big open bomber on the course) All teepads are trapezoid concrete, with a level concrete run off area at the end. The best of the best.

It's an old cliche, but in this case, it's true. You WILL use every shot in your arsenal at this course. The mostly wooded lanes all offer at least one, and in most cases more, possible line to the baskets. The opportunities to get creative are everywhere, but you'll get punished if you miss. It's easy to pull 5's and 6's on many holes, or get 2's and 3's. Scoring separation is what really sets this course apart. A lot of distance variety, especially when you switch tee pads.

Flow and navigation is very intuitive, and very rarely will you not be able to find exactly the tee pad and hole you're looking for. Next tee signs abound, when you do need them.

Great use of the elevation on the property. Holes roll up and down through the woods, with some really nice up and downhill shots, especially with the baskets in the long positions.

Erosion is nearly non-existent because of the great use of man-made structures throughout. Baskets raised on structures, tee pads mounted in bridges, protective walls around tees where there could be trouble...it's all here. Also a waterfall exit on Hole 3 is in the works.
Cons: Anything here is nit picking.

The tee signs are informative, but are basically plastic signs, garage sale sign style. They have them on every tee on every hole, which is nice, though. They seem to get replaced whenever necessary, so it's really not a problem.

I'm listing this in the cons, but to me it's not one. $5 pay to play...all day. I don't even like putting this in this section, but I understand that some people don't like P2P.

It has some low lying areas, and gets swampy in the spring. I was there yesterday, though, and it was dry and wonderful.

Not a lot of open bomber holes here. Hole 3 is basically it. Hole 13 is a nice downhill shot, too.
Other Thoughts: This course offers everything you could possibly want in a destination course. 18 championship level holes, 2 practice baskets, a netted driving range, a pro shop, a BAR (with pool table, adult beverages, flat screen TV's, and great people), clean and updated bathrooms, free score cards/pencils...it's just crazy how much you get for $5/day.


Very little risk of losing discs here. They've managed to keep good rough without it being ridiculous. Most rough is bushes, and not heavy undergrowth. Even the few open holes have lanes mowed through the prairie grass. Oh, and with it being in WI, you'd think bugs would be horrible. Not so here, because they fog the course for bugs.

Even with it being on Hwy 10 (which is a usually busy road), you totally get the "out there" secluded feel. It's in a rural area, so you don't get much 2 disc chucker action, and to be honest, outside of leagues, you'll never see it crazy busy.

This is a course that will test your skills, especially accuracy. I always wish I could play this course more often. Pair it with Silver Creek, or nearby Lower Cato Falls, and you'll have as good of a discing day as you could possibly ask for.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.