Reedsville, WI
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #9 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 230ft.   4 / 280ft.   4 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Short Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Amazing Course which will only get better

1    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: BriZimm
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first two holes alone freaked me out and as a newer player, I thought I might have regretted going out here due to the challenge. However, the course evolved and ended up being amazing. So much so that we played two rounds in sweltering heat and humidity of the Sunday in the July 4th weekend.

There are wooded platforms over muddy spots and open woods that make loosing discs relatively impossible. Basket placement varies too. Some are high, some are slightly raised, some are low. Every hole has a challenge. The course itself is great exercise and feels like a hike without throwing the discs. I'm a bigger guy and lost 9 pounds on the day.

There is a really nice "man cave" style clubhouse here as well. Not finished when I visited, but I've heard from many people that this course has been under construction for years and they don't sit on their hands, so I suspect this will be completed shortly.
Cons: As my buddy and I were playing our second round of the day, we sat down waiting for the group in front of us at the hilltop tee on 12. I asked him, "What is it about this course that makes it less than perfect?" We both agreed that not having tee signage yet was the glaring thing and we got confused a few times, even with the scorecard. Yes, there are bugs, but I don't blame a course for having bugs. It's the sacrifice you make for the seclusion and the atmosphere. Bring bug spray and you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: This is a difficult yet fair course, as a newer player, you shouldn't be afraid to play it. Courses like this make you appreciate a great disc golf course and it also helps your game.

If you live in Appleton like me, it will take you about 35 minutes to get there and it costs $5 for the day. I will definitely be making this trip about once a month or so and bringing more people each time. This place deserves to be seen, they have definitely put in the work and I wish them the best. This course makes O'Hauser look like the Summer 2013 version of Telulah park

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Must Play in WI

1    5/18/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: mubhcaeb78
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The meticulous care of the course and continuous improvements makes this course stand out.

Think BRP about how crafted and kept up this course is. #14 is a marvel of platform targets.

The wooded holes remind me of tower 2 on how you have to follow the fairways at the right distances to have open shots at baskets.

The holes have a couple open bombers, but for the most part play in woods with tight fairways. Shots to left, right, dead straight.. a good mix. An accurate thrower will excel here.

Tees are amazing.. bench or two at every tee pad.. (3+ per hole) alternate pin locations can keep it new.

Signs in the woods pointing to next tees are very helpful, you rarely have to refer to the map on the back of the scorecard.

Parking lot and entrance to the pro shop is amazing. Well done with a patio/deck they are putting in now.

Great people who run it. Friendly, and avid in making rollin ridge the best course possible.
Cons: There isn't much for risk vs reward.

Parking lot could easily fill up for the tournaments, same with the garbage cans.. they are at every hole but are small buckets.

Can be soggy.. just the type of ground, which they try to deal with, and it was great to see woodchip paths, and even boards laid out as a path over some of the soggy spots. Not really a con as far as rating, just a warning to bring shoes you can get wet if you play april/may.
Other Thoughts: If I could, I would rate it 4.95. That .05 is just my preference to have some sort of risk..

Hole 2 and 18 are the only one's that have water hazard in play for approaching the basket. I would personally want to see this maximized to force players to lay up or risk a long putt missing and going ob.
6 will be great with the improvements they are going to make.. a very tough pin placement with huge roll away potential.

There really isn't any very narrow paths that shortcut the dogleg holes either. Additions like that would to me at least, make it perfect.

The subtleties of design should not be overlooked. Instead of just distance to the tees, they are often placed at different angles.
18 for instance:
Long - A straight shot that needs to finish right to put you in best position to hit basket.
Middle - Hyzer to left to get the spot long was going to.
Short - Guardian tree on right that will kick you into woods, otherwise a straight shot with a bit of fade to line you up.

I think this course will be kept up to the highest standards in courses.

Talking to locals, they even have people come work on the course to get some free rounds. What a great idea.

These guys are enthused, and are putting major effort and $ into this course.

A must play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Play this course

2-4    3/7/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: jeepluvr81
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pros: Everything.
It's got everything. Trees, elevation, water, bridges, huge benches, 2-3 tee pads on every hole, wooded holes, wooded out into open field holes, open holes, long open holes, open field into the woods holes. Very well maintained.
Nice scorecards, pencils, a clubhouse with a pool table and bar. Merchandise. Onsite camping. You name it.
Cons: Cons: Mosquitoes in summer. Bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played it yet, kick yourself. Then go play it.
Play it in the fall for one of the most beautiful courses ever.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/17/2012   1/2/2013
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where do I even start? This course is absolutely outstanding with 18 holes with each hole having 3 sets of tees and benches. Each tee has rocks around it and is beautifully landscaped. The tees are nice and long with a follow through area at the end with a colored circle to indicate the set of tees you are playing. The baskets are nice red Mach 3s (I believe) that stand out nicely when in the woods. Around the property there are tall wooden structures that lessen your chances of being hit by an errant shot from other holes. The course has a winter layout that shortens the course for play in the snow. The course has a club house on site with the building of a patio/deck area underway so now you can stand on the deck and watch the approaches and putts on holes 9 and 18. Another nice thing about this course is the lay out. If you are pressed for time and can only play 9 holes the basket for the 9th hole is fairly close to the parking area. Each hole out here is a different challenge weather it be length, tight gaps, baskets on the edges of hills, or a basket on a stack of tractor tires. Not a very crowded course but not dormant by any means. There is also a great deal of signage that makes navigation a breeze.
Cons: I have heard the bugs are bad in the summer but that is just Mother Nature and should in no way stop anyone from playing this awesome course or affect my review.
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing and from what I have been told from the designer is not completed to what was in visioned in the design process.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Rollin' Like I'm in Heaven

2-4    6/2/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2012
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Rollin' Ridge is 18 holes of throw-down-the-gauntlet, no-holds-barred, pure badassedness. Set in the rolling terrain of Wisconsin, the course starts at Steve's front drive into the woods, plays past a small marshy area in the open, plays back into the deep woods before winding back and forth throughout. Tight technical wooded shots. Long open bombers. Fairways that split into two fairways and then converge again. A crazy array of looks from the three different tee pads on many holes. Water. Elevation. Long wooded technical water holes. I mean, this course brings it for the entire 18. It's fair, but man you better manage your game well or risk getting a severe beat down.
- Elevation. Oh yeah there are some cool shots. Raised tees in places add elevation artificially where appropriate.
- Amenities. This is basically a private disc golf paradise with every luxury. It's done right. The color-coded tees are SICK. The wooden walkways over the marshy areas are gorgeous. One tee is even built into the wooden walkway! Oh yeah, the clubhouse, too.
- Beautiful. I mean, yeah. This course LOOKS like a disc golf course.
- Challenge. Each level of tees offers fair, progressively difficult challenges in a manner that all players should find very enjoyable (although certainly not easy). This course captures well the spirit, and helps bridge the gap, between old school Steady Ed type courses from the early 80's and the newer style of longer holes with defined landing zones.
Cons: - WOW can the mosquitoes be bad here at certain times of year. Bring bug spray and pray.
- Nothing else. Really.
Other Thoughts: - I was lucky enough to play Rolling Ridge (before the tees were poured!) during the 2010 Halloween doubles glow tourney. That round and a half made a deep impression on me and I've been hyping the Ridge since. A couple of years later I again got to play the Ridge during the T. O. Tourney. It was a real pleasure to see the immense strides the already solid course had taken. What Steve and the Crew have done here in a few short years is inspiring. The variety in tees is pure genius. The variety in shots required might be unparalleled, once each set of tees is taken into consideration. Not to mention most tees offer a completely different look to the hole, not merely adding distance to the same shot.
- I typically don't gush too much in reviews, but Rollin' Ridge is the real deal to me. There's no real flaw, excepting perhaps mother nature, and I pretty much never mark a course down for acts of nature. This is a destination course. Go play Rollin' Ridge already, jeez.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

What a hidden treat!

2-4    11/1/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: Putter
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.9 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Finally something local that understands what a disc golfer is looking for!!!
Challenging wooded narrows to long stretching open meadows.
Multiple concrete tee's.
Multiple Mach 3 basket locations.
Provides all styles of shot requirement.
Well groomed grass and wood-chip pathways.
Well marked signage.
Friendly staff.
Cons: Mosquitoes - bring your bug spray!
Other Thoughts: Course was under construction every time I've been out to play. Nothing that would ever stop me from going again. The course just keeps getting better and better with each visit. I would HIGHLY recommend stopping out to play!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of Wisconsin's finest

1    10/13/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: Gopack12
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great tee's, well wooded with great craftmanship that keeps the discgolfer in mind. Quiet course that's relaxing and brings out the inner disc golfer's soul.
Cons: Red baskets were hard to spot in the fall, other than that it was a great find thanks to dgcoursereview!!
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to playing more rounds here in the future. Even bought an awesome hat from the pro shop. Friendly staff and just a friendly atmosphere for disc golf

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/20/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: Brogie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Awesome course it will be the premier course in the area. There are two bridges with cement tiles on the bridge for the tee box they have put a tremendous amount of work into this course with a lot of visual features.
Cons: Closes November 12th to 25th CLOSED for deer hunting.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Best Amenities Around

1    8/12/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 155  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow. So much hard work and time has been put into this course. This is the most well done course amenity wise I have ever been to. This course actually has staff working full time I believe. The pay to play is definitely worth it and the money has been put to good use. There are not 2, but 3 sets of concrete landscaped tees here and they are well color coordinated. There are long and even have a concrete zone on the end of the pad marked by a white line to follow through on. There is a fun mix of wooded shots with several open bombs, like the par 4 2nd hole. Some of the greens are very cool and creative. Hole 6's green especially stands out to me. The basket sits on the edge of a steep drop off which you must throw up. Check out the pictures as it is hard to do it justice with words. Hole 4's basket sits atop 3 giant tires. The elevation here is great overall and adds a lot to the course. There are many par 4s here and a great, nasty par 5 9th hole. The first shot is a uphill tight tunnel shot to a small landing zone. It is then a very skinny fairway all the way to the basket near the clubhouse. It's great that the front 9 ends at the beginning of the course. The directional signs are very helpful for navigation. The wooden structures, sculptures, and bridges all look great. They give a great aesthetic to the course and make it memorable.
Cons: There are a lot of left curving holes and lines. It gets repetitive.

Hole 17 does not have a line which was disappointing. There is also not really a line on the approach to 18's basket.
The mosquitoes are horrible here, especially towards the end of the back 9. Beware.

There are no tee signs yet.
Other Thoughts: If the course was better designed I would definitely up this rating half a disc or maybe even award it a 5.

Don't come hear expecting to rack up the deuces. This course is no deuce or die course.

The entrance to the course is not marked. Keep your eye for the gravel drive.

These baskets are from the DGA Basket Giveaway from Worlds a few years back. It's great they were put to good use.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Cream of the crop

1    9/23/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Huge piece of magnificent disc golf heaven.
Different tee pads for intermediate to pro level players.
With each new hole came more and more excitement.
Elevation changes, severe and rolling.
Columns of trees. Multiple routes.
Wide open holes that still offer some degree of difficulty if not a lot of difficulty due to the insane length.
From the tee to the basket of every hole someone was very creatively inclined.
Most holes need to be laced very well with a little or strong hyzer towards the end of the flight path.
Cons: Kept running into hole 7's tee pad. Had a map on the back of the scorecard. But I still had a little navigation problem.
No other complaints.
Other Thoughts: It really is the cream of the crop. Its location is out in the middle of nowhere. Seclusion can be found.
I completely lost myself in the game at this course. Its incredible.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.