Reedsville, WI 
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #18 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 539ft.   5 / 617ft.   5 / 726ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Mid Fairway Split



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Challenging and Fun

2-4    9/21/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: GrannyGolfer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This is worth the time and trip to golf here. Love the course, and the grounds are well maintained. Awesome club house and pro shop. Looking forward to making this a regular place to go. Heading out this weekend with hopes of some fall colors and sunshine while going through the woods on the course. Try this one out, you will love it!
Cons: Not really a con, but worth the 20 minute drive out there from the valley.
Other Thoughts: Check out the bar and pro shop. Great deck and fire pit for enjoying between games. Nice place, best around

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course

5+    10/5/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Disc goddess
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is definitely the best I have ever played. It is like the country club of disc golf and has a GREAT disc selection that is very well priced and a beautiful clubhouse. There are a variety of shots and 3 tee pads on most of the holes and 3 pin placements on every hole. I have played all of the placements and loved every one of them. The tee pads are really nice and extra long and the course is very well marked. You MUST come play this course!!! They have camping and showers, that is such a bonus!
Cons: I really can't think of any cons.
Other Thoughts: It is well worth the $5 to play all day here!

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Gotta Play

5+    8/30/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: Discer4
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: A very well designed course! The front and back 9 both end up at the clubhouse/proshop which is very handy for restocking, bathroom breaks, etc. The teepads are extra long and have really nice foul areas on the ends so you never have to worry about falling into the holes that seem to be at the end of teepads on most courses. Overall just an awesome course with no real flaws that i can think of! The craftsmanship of everything is amazing from the proshop/clubhouse to all the wood walls and benchs all throughout the course. By far the best course i've ever played!!
Cons: The waterfall hole isn't in yet - i hear that hl #3 long teepad is going to be in a tunnel and will have water to shoot between! Not really a con it just isn't done yet but will definitely be a signature hl when completed.
Other Thoughts: Go play this course as soon as you can you will not be dissapointed!

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 HUMP DAY!!!

5+    10/5/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: disc dame
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Heres what NEEDS to be said!!!! WHAT ARE YOU EAITING FOR??? This course is the best ive ever seen...the care and quality of all involved with this world class course is phenonmenal. The bathrooms are some how nicer than the ones i have at home..and mine are nice! The crew is great, put your name on your disc, if they find it...THEY CALL YOU...WHAT??? The tee pads have been free of falling leaves and have a great diversity, weather you play long med or short..its alot of courses for a minimal five buck fee. Play all day, get a nice cold beer or soda water, whatevr u choose. Play play play play play...maybe if i say it enough you'll make the journey. O!!! Bring a tent..
Cons: You have to go home!!
Other Thoughts: Meeting Bogey the Ridge dog is worth the trip alone..

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

One of Wisconsin's best by far

2-4    9/7/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 10.3 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses I've seen by far. The course is set on a beautiful piece of property right off highway 10 in Manitowoc county. The tee pads here are fantastic. They are level, grippy and flared concrete pads that face each pin perfectly. There are 3 sets of concrete tees on almost all the holes with a few having only 2. The different tees drastically change the shots which is what you look for in multiple tee holes. They aren't just 20 feet further back like a lot of courses. The baskets are awesome looking red powder coated Mach 3's that are in superb shape and catch great. The flow is very easy to figure out. They have a ton of signs showing not just next tee but next tee for the different tees, long, medium and shorts. They also have multiple pin placements for most if not all the holes which just adds to the challenge here. Theres a great mix of left, right and straight shots. The distances vary quite a bit from hole to hole. There's a ton of elevation which makes for a real challenge. The majority of the course is pretty wooded but with very fair lines to the pin on all of them. There are a few water hazards here as well. There's a wetland area to the right of hole 2 which is pretty dangerous. They have long telescoping poles to retrieve discs out of the swamp on the edge of the swamp which is super cool. There's benches at every hole with enough trash cans throughout too. there are a few elevated baskets in the middle of the course which once again adds to the challenge. The landscaping and man made structures and retaining walls here are just unbelievable. This is by far the most visually appealing course I've played due to these structures. They offer camping on site which is a bonus. There's a practice basket and a driving range/cage in front of the pro shop as just another of the awesome features here. They have probably over 1000 discs with an excellent variety in the pro shop as well. This was the best selection I've seen to date with the exception being maybe sandy point.
Cons: It's too far away from me to play as much as I'd like to. I honestly can't think of anything else. It's as close to perfect as I've seen.
Other Thoughts: Go out of your way to play this course. It's $5 a day which is ridiculously cheap for what you get. I've played almost 100 courses so far and this is the best of all of them. There is no way anyone who discs seriously will not love this course. I only rated it 4.5 because I haven't played every course so I don't know if it's the best of the best but to be honest I was very tempted to give it a 5. It's that good.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/23/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: Jake920
Played: 49  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Very fun course, every hole has a uniqueness to it. Camping right on site, could stay for days and be having fun the whole time.
Cons: None that I can think of
Other Thoughts: Absolutely love this course, some of the best golf around

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Awesomeness

5+    8/4/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: Shuie
Played: 617  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
17 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is one of the most amazing disc golf course that i have had the pleasure to play. It all start when you drive up to the parking lot an you see this massive deck, driving range and putting area in front of the club house. Then, as you walk in to the club house your jaw just drops as you see flat screens on the wall and a decked out beer bar with an amazing selection plus food from snacks to pizza. The disc selection at Rollin' Ridge i by far the best selections i have seen in Northeastern Wisconsin plus Rollin' Ridge Clothing. You can also choose to camp out for the evening and they even offer a bathroom and shower for the campers to use!!
Now, lets get down to the golf for the most part every hole at the Ridge has 3 sets of tees and 3 pin placements each and offer a lot of variety to players. The course mainly plays in the woods but offers many opportunities to air your disc out but also at times it demands you hit some fairly tight lines and get a little creative with some of you upshots. The Ridge also seems to have several Signature holes that any course would love to have just one of these(9 and 18 from any tee). The Orange tees are the shortest set of tees and offer a large variety of shot but still manages to be quite scoreable for most blue level players. The Red tees are in middle but some of red tees boast some of the tougher/tightest lines on the course, this set start to really challenge blue level players. Last but not least is the Black Tees not only are they long but still manage to have those crazy tight lanes all the other tees have, this is the most challenging lay out the course has currently. With that being said each tee doesn't just add length to it, it might be a completely different look from the other two sets of tees. They really use every bit of elevation the have out at the ridge and in areas where the didn't have any they built raised wooden structures to add in even more challenge. There also two holes with water in play which i have personally seen several people find. All in all the Ridge maybe Wisco's toughest course.
Cons: Showers are $2 for 10 minutes. Camping maybe consider a bit pricey at 25 Dollars a person for the weekend or 20 per person per night.(This includes Green fees) Not really much of a con considering your bringing your own food and beers along .
Other Thoughts: Rollin' Ridge is an amazing place, i really am blessed to have this course be within an hour of my house. Steve and his crew seem to be constantly evolving the Ridge, i look forward to the next set of improvements.

17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

The Real Deal

1    8/10/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: Recob25
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Rollin Ridge is the real deal... 

Your experience starts with you walking past the driving range and into the best clubhouse on the planet.  Here you can grab a drink at their bar, play a game of pool, or stock up on their awesome inventory of discs.  The customer service is top notch with every person wanting to know who you are and why you decided to take the venture to their masterpiece.

Before you head to the tee, you can hit the range, load up on complimentary bug spray and grab a score card.

When you get to the 1st tee you can pick between 3 different tee boxes... Each tee box is groomed to perfection and really makes the course pop with originality.  EVERY tee box has a detailed map of the hole and pin position.

Every hole here would be a signature hole on another course so remember to stop and really admire the little details this course has to offer.  The fairways are mowed to perfection and the pins are easy to find because of their classic crimson color.

This course is easy to navigate because they follow the cardinal rule... You can never have too many signs!
Cons: No cons... It's the only 5 I have ever rewarded.
Other Thoughts: -It's the best Pay to Play in the State... Only $5.
-Hole 2 is amazing but make sure you put a little extra mustard on it to avoid the swamp.
-Trash does not exist on this course... I was speechless at the amount of care and consideration.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Wisconsin DG

2-4    8/4/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: Skankin77
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Pro Shop, Clubhouse, Pool Table, Flat Screens, Disc Golf Driving Range (great for warming up), Great change in elevation, great hole placements for different types of shots, awesome man made structures, great pads, great signage and hospitality. Steve and his Wife are awesome. This is a must play for anyone.
Cons: Not many, other than the typical mosquitoes but there are cans available for sale and a few by the pay box. One of the best courses in Wisconsin.
Other Thoughts: Going back next weekend because I can't get enough.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/22/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rollin Ridge is a pay to play course which is open to the public. It's $5 a day to play and is well worth it to play a course of this caliber.

The course design here is fantastic. The course is mostly wooded with only a few open holes. I consider this course to be championship caliber, but the three sets of tees and multiple pin positions make the course friendly to a wide variety of skill levels and will challenge everyone. There are elevation changes on almost every hole, some are slight while others are more extreme. The shot variety here is excellent and you will need every shot in your bag at this course. There are a number of multi shot holes here, more from the longs, less from the shorts. I'm a big fan of multi shot holes and the ones here are great. There are definitely some unique holes here, I could consider a number of them the signature hole. The fairways are fair but tight on many of the holes. They force you to hit your line to score well. There is good risk/reward here. You can choose to pull out a driver and hope that you hit your line and have a chance at a birdie. Miss your line and you'll whack a tree, fly way off the fairway and be lucky to get par. Alternatively you can grab your midrange and if you keep it in the fairway par shouldn't be a problem to achieve. Many of the putting greens are protected or on hills and slopes which adds to the challenge. The course is very challenging and well designed.

The amenities here are the BEST I've ever seen in my disc golf travels. There is a nice big club house with drinks, beer, snacks, pro shop, tv, pool table, restroom, shower for campers. Just outside there is a driving range, practice basket and huge deck with picnic tables, bulletin board, course map and money drop to pay for playing this awesome course.

The amenities don't stop at the club house. On the course there are three concrete tee pads on nearly every hole, nice baskets, and benches at almost every tee. The landscaping that's been done here is absolutely amazing! There are a number of structures throughout the course to protect some tee pads from errant shots on other holes, there are large landscaping rocks around every tee pad, elevated walkways, raised baskets, a stair step wall with multiple landing platforms and the basket at the top. I really can't say enough good things about the immense amount of work that's gone into this amazing course. The course landscaping and amenities rival those at Blue Ribbon Pines IMHO and it could be debated that they surpass them.

The few open holes have tall grass growing off the fairway but they had the bright idea to cut some rows into the rough to make it easier to find your disc in the event of an errant shot. This is just another example of the great things they're doing here.

As impressive as the course is now, the best thing about the course is they continue to make improvements. Tons of work had already been put into the course when I first visited in March 2013. When I returned in July 2013, just 4 months later, an impressive amount of work has been done.
Cons: The course could use tee signs and/or a more detailed course map. Like I said, they're not done working on the course and I know from talking to the owner and his brother that these things are on the way.

The basket on hole 4 has a number of trees in the fairway as you approach it. In my opinion it doesn't make the approach very fair, but thankfully this is the only place on the course I felt this way.

I heard the course can get buggy but they sprayed a little before my visit so I didn't have any problem with the bugs.
Other Thoughts: This is a top notch destination course, it deserves its high ratings, and is well worth traveling out of your way to play.

I really want to give this course a 5, I have added it to my list of favorite courses and it is amazing. The lack of tee signs are literally the only thing stopping me from giving the course a 5 and I'll change that as soon as I hear they are added. It is phenomenal but I'm sorry, I can't say it's the best of the best without tee signs.

Even without them this course is amazing, go check it out!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.