Reedsville, WI 
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #3 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 621ft.   4 / 717ft.   4 / 901ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Top Tier Course

5+    10/19/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Koerner26
Played: 77  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rollin Ridge is a top tier course and well deserves to be a top 5 rated course in the world. The course offers many amenities including a large club house with a bar and pro shop inside, 3 separate tees and pin placements on every hole, a warm up "driving range" net next to the club house, and many structures throughout the course to provide challenges such as elevated greens and tees and large wooden barriers for safety and visual appeal. The course is 5 dollars to play per day, but this is a very minor fee and is well worth it because you can see your money being put back into the course throughout all the amenities there. Overall I feel that Rollin Ridge is designed very well. There is good use of elevation here and has a good hole variety from both Right to Left shots, and Left to Right shots. The 3 sets of tees allow players to play on a tee most suitable to their level of ability. The orange tees are very good for rec players looking to have a fun round while still receiving a good challenge, while the black tees allow for a championship style layout that has some very punishing rough for errant shots and very narrow but rewarding fairways. As stated earlier pretty much every hole has something unique about it. Most of the holes either have some sort of structure including wooden barriers, elevated greens, bridges, etc. Every hole also includes large wooden benches and large concrete tees. It seems every time I return to the course something new has been added. The course also allows camping onsite. Overall in my opinion Rollin Ridge definitely deserves a 5 for a rating. The work that has been put in throughout this course and the excellent course design makes it a "must play" destination for any disc golfer.
Cons: Although I feel Rollin Ridge deserves a 5 for a rating every course will include some cons. One of the biggest cons of Rollin Ridge in my mind was the Tee-Signs. Although very descriptive and accurate the current tee signs just don't cut it for me on this course. With all of the other unique structures throughout this course I felt the Tee-Signs lacked in that same uniqueness with the rest of the course. Another con of the Ridge would be the bugs/mosquitos in the spring/summer months. This isn't a huge factor to me but it should be noted as I know some people will avoid a course because of the bugs. The last major con that comes to mind when reviewing this course would be that some of the holes have some very narrow/unforgiving lines. I however cannot rate a course lower because of this because this is only a personal opinion and I would still consider the holes to be fair even with the narrow lines
Other Thoughts: Rolling Ridge is a "must play" if you get the opportunity to visit! The course is very well laid out and has good flow. Every time I visit I see something new and the staff are always very friendly! To date Rollin Ridge is probably my favorite course I have played and it's only getting better! I am looking forward to the next time I get to play here!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Rollin Ridge: My new favorite course

1    10/17/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2014
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Where do I begin?
The course has a bar and driving range! The hole variety is mixed very well. Such a terrific design. Everyone is so polite and want to help you in any way possible. The course was very well manicured and in tournament condition. Beautiful scenery all around the course. Very nice signs for all 3 of the tee boxes. Number 9 is such an awesome hole.
Cons: Absolutely no major cons about this course.
Other Thoughts: Such a beautiful course in a beautiful state. I was on a buisness trip in the area so I checked it out the last day I was there. Being from Ohio, I obviously wish this gem of a course was closer.

Criteria:
Landscape: 5/5
Baskets, tees, and hole diagrams: 5/5
Variety in hole distances: 4.5/5
Variety in hole types: 4.5/5
Difficulty/Challenge: 5/5
Course flow: 5/5
Outside interference(Pedestrians, Distractions, etc.) 5/5
Fun Factor: 5/5
Use of available land: 5/5
Overall Grade: 5/5

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Top Tier Course

5+    7/8/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: Horsman
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hands down the best course that I have ever played.

-This is the top tier course in WI, and that is saying a lot since WI has a lot of top level courses.

-There are multiple pins and teepads for every hole.

-Pro Shop

-Makes you use every disc in your bag and every shot in your aresenal.

-Good mix of woods, open, long, short, super hard, kinda easy holes.

-The structures around the tees and pins are amazing to look at and serve as a safety barrier for errant shots.

-Every time I go there, there is something new that they didnt have last time.

-There is a warm up net, batting cage like structure.
Cons: There really are not too many cons for this course.

-The bugs are sometimes an issue depending on what time of the year you play.

-It seems as though some of the black tees are a touch easier than some of the red tees.

Thats pretty much my only complaints.
Other Thoughts: Words cannot explain hole well this course is maintained and laid out.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Fun

2-4    9/21/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: GrannyGolfer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This is worth the time and trip to golf here. Love the course, and the grounds are well maintained. Awesome club house and pro shop. Looking forward to making this a regular place to go. Heading out this weekend with hopes of some fall colors and sunshine while going through the woods on the course. Try this one out, you will love it!
Cons: Not really a con, but worth the 20 minute drive out there from the valley.
Other Thoughts: Check out the bar and pro shop. Great deck and fire pit for enjoying between games. Nice place, best around

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course

5+    10/5/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Disc goddess
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is definitely the best I have ever played. It is like the country club of disc golf and has a GREAT disc selection that is very well priced and a beautiful clubhouse. There are a variety of shots and 3 tee pads on most of the holes and 3 pin placements on every hole. I have played all of the placements and loved every one of them. The tee pads are really nice and extra long and the course is very well marked. You MUST come play this course!!! They have camping and showers, that is such a bonus!
Cons: I really can't think of any cons.
Other Thoughts: It is well worth the $5 to play all day here!

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Gotta Play

5+    8/30/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: Discer4
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: A very well designed course! The front and back 9 both end up at the clubhouse/proshop which is very handy for restocking, bathroom breaks, etc. The teepads are extra long and have really nice foul areas on the ends so you never have to worry about falling into the holes that seem to be at the end of teepads on most courses. Overall just an awesome course with no real flaws that i can think of! The craftsmanship of everything is amazing from the proshop/clubhouse to all the wood walls and benchs all throughout the course. By far the best course i've ever played!!
Cons: The waterfall hole isn't in yet - i hear that hl #3 long teepad is going to be in a tunnel and will have water to shoot between! Not really a con it just isn't done yet but will definitely be a signature hl when completed.
Other Thoughts: Go play this course as soon as you can you will not be dissapointed!

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 HUMP DAY!!!

5+    10/5/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: disc dame
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Heres what NEEDS to be said!!!! WHAT ARE YOU EAITING FOR??? This course is the best ive ever seen...the care and quality of all involved with this world class course is phenonmenal. The bathrooms are some how nicer than the ones i have at home..and mine are nice! The crew is great, put your name on your disc, if they find it...THEY CALL YOU...WHAT??? The tee pads have been free of falling leaves and have a great diversity, weather you play long med or short..its alot of courses for a minimal five buck fee. Play all day, get a nice cold beer or soda water, whatevr u choose. Play play play play play...maybe if i say it enough you'll make the journey. O!!! Bring a tent..
Cons: You have to go home!!
Other Thoughts: Meeting Bogey the Ridge dog is worth the trip alone..

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

One of Wisconsin's best by far

2-4    9/7/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 148  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 10.4 Years
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses I've seen by far. The course is set on a beautiful piece of property right off highway 10 in Manitowoc county. The tee pads here are fantastic. They are level, grippy and flared concrete pads that face each pin perfectly. There are 3 sets of concrete tees on almost all the holes with a few having only 2. The different tees drastically change the shots which is what you look for in multiple tee holes. They aren't just 20 feet further back like a lot of courses. The baskets are awesome looking red powder coated Mach 3's that are in superb shape and catch great. The flow is very easy to figure out. They have a ton of signs showing not just next tee but next tee for the different tees, long, medium and shorts. They also have multiple pin placements for most if not all the holes which just adds to the challenge here. Theres a great mix of left, right and straight shots. The distances vary quite a bit from hole to hole. There's a ton of elevation which makes for a real challenge. The majority of the course is pretty wooded but with very fair lines to the pin on all of them. There are a few water hazards here as well. There's a wetland area to the right of hole 2 which is pretty dangerous. They have long telescoping poles to retrieve discs out of the swamp on the edge of the swamp which is super cool. There's benches at every hole with enough trash cans throughout too. there are a few elevated baskets in the middle of the course which once again adds to the challenge. The landscaping and man made structures and retaining walls here are just unbelievable. This is by far the most visually appealing course I've played due to these structures. They offer camping on site which is a bonus. There's a practice basket and a driving range/cage in front of the pro shop as just another of the awesome features here. They have probably over 1000 discs with an excellent variety in the pro shop as well. This was the best selection I've seen to date with the exception being maybe sandy point.
Cons: It's too far away from me to play as much as I'd like to. I honestly can't think of anything else. It's as close to perfect as I've seen.
Other Thoughts: Go out of your way to play this course. It's $5 a day which is ridiculously cheap for what you get. I've played almost 100 courses so far and this is the best of all of them. There is no way anyone who discs seriously will not love this course. I only rated it 4.5 because I haven't played every course so I don't know if it's the best of the best but to be honest I was very tempted to give it a 5. It's that good.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/23/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: Jake920
Played: 54  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Very fun course, every hole has a uniqueness to it. Camping right on site, could stay for days and be having fun the whole time.
Cons: None that I can think of
Other Thoughts: Absolutely love this course, some of the best golf around

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Awesomeness

5+    8/4/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: Shuie
Played: 623  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
17 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is one of the most amazing disc golf course that i have had the pleasure to play. It all start when you drive up to the parking lot an you see this massive deck, driving range and putting area in front of the club house. Then, as you walk in to the club house your jaw just drops as you see flat screens on the wall and a decked out beer bar with an amazing selection plus food from snacks to pizza. The disc selection at Rollin' Ridge i by far the best selections i have seen in Northeastern Wisconsin plus Rollin' Ridge Clothing. You can also choose to camp out for the evening and they even offer a bathroom and shower for the campers to use!!
Now, lets get down to the golf for the most part every hole at the Ridge has 3 sets of tees and 3 pin placements each and offer a lot of variety to players. The course mainly plays in the woods but offers many opportunities to air your disc out but also at times it demands you hit some fairly tight lines and get a little creative with some of you upshots. The Ridge also seems to have several Signature holes that any course would love to have just one of these(9 and 18 from any tee). The Orange tees are the shortest set of tees and offer a large variety of shot but still manages to be quite scoreable for most blue level players. The Red tees are in middle but some of red tees boast some of the tougher/tightest lines on the course, this set start to really challenge blue level players. Last but not least is the Black Tees not only are they long but still manage to have those crazy tight lanes all the other tees have, this is the most challenging lay out the course has currently. With that being said each tee doesn't just add length to it, it might be a completely different look from the other two sets of tees. They really use every bit of elevation the have out at the ridge and in areas where the didn't have any they built raised wooden structures to add in even more challenge. There also two holes with water in play which i have personally seen several people find. All in all the Ridge maybe Wisco's toughest course.
Cons: Showers are $2 for 10 minutes. Camping maybe consider a bit pricey at 25 Dollars a person for the weekend or 20 per person per night.(This includes Green fees) Not really much of a con considering your bringing your own food and beers along .
Other Thoughts: Rollin' Ridge is an amazing place, i really am blessed to have this course be within an hour of my house. Steve and his crew seem to be constantly evolving the Ridge, i look forward to the next set of improvements.

17 of 21 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.