Reedsville, WI
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #13 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 320ft.   3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Long Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
Wow is all I can say

1    9/16/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: Glo Roc
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 3 sets of tees on almost every hole. Great mix of wooded and open holes. Varying lengths and difficulty. Beautiful landscaping which apparently is only going to improve.
Cons: Mosquito's weren't too bad when we played but I can see how they could be terrible. Forgot the bug spray in the car so we lucked out. There were a few extra baskets out there that made a few holes confusing. We played to the wrong basket twice.
Other Thoughts: The dedication and love that went into designing/constructing this course is quite special. Sounds like it is only going to get better. Wish is was closer to home for sure. Great job and look forward to playing it again!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Private beauty and dedication - one of an area trifecta of excellent courses

5+    3/25/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: superberry
Played: 158  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 16 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is disc golf dedication to the max. A wonderful love of the sport, some dedicated landowners, partners, and volunteers, and the desire to build something great is ensuring this and will remain a top notch course. At Rollin Ridge, you almost have it all (missing the huge downhill bomber), and my preference for wooded technical courses is balanced superbly with some wide open rippers (soon to include watergardens and other beautiful landscaping), long and short wooded goodness along a rollin' ridge, awesome balance of left, right, straight, and mulit-route holes, water hazards, OB, and risky greens galore. Distance is varied well from short technical to long wooded and long open. There is not one throwaway hole. Three distinct tees are present on most holes, all well constructed to be grippy, plenty wide, and including a follow through zone. Multiple pin placements further add to the enjoyment by showcasing more of the beautiful property and more difficult routes through these wooded airways. There is not one throwaway hole! Two of the long wooded holes are legitimate par 4 holes, and one of the longer open holes could be with more strategic OB water hazard built where Blue level players typically land. Elevation is used to the fullest and maximized for well designed uphill throws and exciting downhill throws. Throwing along the crest of the rollin' ridges is also used to keep in line with the namesake. Memorable holes are thrown at you left and right in a variety of ways from neat gimmicks like the raised tire pin, tee in bridge, and also just with the beautiful natural terrain and setting of the property. Standing on the tees invokes the true disc golfer in me. They make you look down the fairway and get excited about stepping up and ripping the perfect drive to sail through such a gorgeous airway! I love challenge and risk, and a wooded course like this offers the need for accurate play, but then you throw in risky greens perched on the edge of excavated pits, surrounded by trees, or on a risky slope and I'm in disc golf nirvana. The attention to detail with the retaining walls and landscaping continues to get nicer and neater on a daily basis. Pay to play (on private property!) keeps the worthless chuckers off the course, and this is a huge bonus.
Cons: No tee signs yet. I'd like to see three distinct tees per hole. IMO this completes the skill specific round and challenge for each individual skill level player in your group. Hole 3 would be an absolute par 4, with some strategic OB built about 325-375' from the pad, making it a decision to layup short, or bomb out over. The low portions of the course at the SW area of the property can get swampy, wet, overgrown, and mosquito infested. This sucks when you can't even focus on playing, but I can't deduct from the score. I have no doubt that the love of the game and this property will yield some fill, more bridges, and the amount of play will keep the undergrowth down. The property is right on US 10 between Manitowoc and Appleton. This introduces quite a bit of road noise and lack of seclusion on a handful of holes, and I love the quiet solitude of remote courses. I have not seen poison ivy, although the area is known for fields of it, only some nettles. Despite not deducting for bugs, I do deduct for poison ivy and other plants that can be controlled. Color labels for the tees bugs me. The corresponding pdga consistent tee pad color layout per skill here would be white, blue, gold. The short tees here are harder than red recreational tees, they are probably equivalent to white tees (especially with many being shared use). The middle tees here are equivalent to blue tees. The long tees here are equivalent to low gold tees.
Other Thoughts: I didn't get to play the tee built into the bridge yet, but what a wonderful addition to this amazing course. This will be a great gem of a private "club" course in the northeast WI area. Rollin Ridge offers a perfect trifecta with the brutal untamed nature of Winter Park in Kewaunee and the manicured city park design setting at Silver Creek in Manitowoc. The course alone is worth a trip out of your way. If travelling through or near the area on business or pleasure, make this a stop. When you include Winter and Silver, you'd be insane not to take a day (LONG day) to play all three! To me, in the battle of the Ludington ferry courses, this trifecta offers lightyears more variety and balance than the Leviathan/Flip/Mason trifecta. These are the blood red baskets won from DGA in one of the first basket giveaways, they will hold up great and look awesome in the woods. Despite the course not falling into 100% complete balance and variety with a huge downhill ripper, or a definite formidable water hazard, the clubhouse and private feel make this an amazing course. It shakes out to a 4.7 in my spreadsheet, and I would round up to a 5.0 for the atmosphere, dedication, and absolute certainty that this will only get better, but the road noise bugs me, and total variety is vital to my 5.0 ratings. Make no mistake, 4.5 is an awesome score in my book. I hear talk of waterfalls, watergardens, incredible clubhouse, and all kinds of special events and can't help but smile at what this course is soon to become.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Blue Ribbon Pines meets Standing Rocks

1    9/14/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent Teepads! Course layout is fantastic with the multiple pads to appeal to a broader audience. Course manicuring and structures built by the locals are some of the most rewarding things to see on any disc golf course. The lattice work and field fences were my favorite current touches. People are constantly still working on this course (seen while we were there)
Cons: No signs, yet. Course is 80-90% complete as far as extras and final placement.
Other Thoughts: This course is my new favorite in the state. Such a diverse setup of shots, distances, and styles that can get you through the tough/challenging design. The longs are quite a beating if you don't have your A+ game, but never felt like the course was unfair by any means. Extremely fun to play and challenging at the same time. Quite a difficult hybrid to achieve in such a new course.

I absolutely would give this a 5 if the tee signs were up. Such a great place for so many reasons. Play it, you won't regret it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really like Rollling

1    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rolling Ridge is a great newer course. The entrance is not marked from the main road coming in so keep an eye out for a gravel drive. The course plays in and out of a nice wooded area. They have done a great job of cleaning up the wooded fairways. There are also several holes in the open. Rolling hills come into play in and out of the woods. A few wetland areas come into play too.

New Red DGA Mach 3's. They were won at the 2007 Am Worlds in the DGA drawing. It's great seeing them on the course.

What can I say about the tee pads. EVERY course should have tee pads like this. They are level and plenty long. They have a line that marks the front and there is room to follow thru on the front side. AWESOME! Not only that there are 3 sets of them on every hole. WOW!

There are some nice par 4's & 5's on this course. The black tees are tough! The short course measures 5,700 feet. The long course measures 7300 feet. If you come here expecting to get a bunch of birdie 2's like the traditional disc golf you are going to be disappointed.

There were directional arrows on the course. We had no problem navigating it the first time thru. They pointed to each tee even saying go this way for the long and this way for the medium.

They have spent a ton of money on lumber. There are several foot bridges and benches. Along with that they've made some impressive structures and landscaping near many of the tees.

I really liked the stacked tires on the green of #5.

The hillside green on #6 was cool.

Cons: Right now there are no tee signs. They said they have plans for them and a grand opening next year.

A practice basket in the are right by #1 would be nice.

There are a lot of RHBH holes. There are many holes with scattered trees in the fairway. The lines were a bit tricky and didn't have the ultimate fun factor that I like. At times the course felt repetitive. In the end I went with 4.5 due to the awesome concrete tees and work that has been done knowing tee signs are on the way.
Other Thoughts: This is well worth the trip and they should be charging a minimum of $5.00 to play. $3.00 is a bargain! While we were there 3 guys were hard at work on the course. I have a feeling it's going to keep getting better.

This is probably the hardest review in terms of rating this a 4 or 4.5 that I've done. I've gone back and forth in terms of fun factor and signature/memorable holes.

Lucky for us we got a cool and windy morning. The skeeters left us alone. By the time we left they were starting to come out. Bring bug spray!

We got a nice dry time to play but a few spots were a little soft due to some rain a few days before. If you are making a long trip I'd check the conditions before leaving.

We played Winter Park after. What a great day of disc golf. 2 great courses.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Tough and fun!

1    6/2/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic piece of wooded property with rolling hills. Many of the shots bring some minor to moderate elevation changes into play, with several fun downhill shots and some tricky uphills. A few of the holes have greens with rollaway potential, and many others have obstacles in play to keep the short game challenging. Water comes into play on a few holes, with swamp areas on 1 and 2 that can easily come into play on an errant drive, and a lurking pond on 18 in a potential landing zone for players going for a birdie.

The three sets of tees add an amazing variety here. Each offers very different lengths and lines, so the replay value here is high and there is a great opportunity for most skill levels to find an appropriate challenge here. Each set of tees has a good mixture of hole lengths, from bombers to some reachable shots. There are a handful of open or half open holes to balance out the majority of tightly wooded shots with tough punishment for missing the fairways.

The concrete tees are a great size, and have plenty of grip. There are inset colored dots on each for the red, orange and black sets of tees. An enormous amount of work has gone into making this a special place to play, with protective walls, built up elevated tees, bridges over creeks and a boardwalk with inset paver tees in a wet portion of the course.
Cons: The layout is a little heavy on RHBH hyzer shots, especially from the shorter sets of tees. There's a little more variety on the blacks, but it still seemed like that was the predominant shot. There are no tee signs, even to show the hole number, so navigation can be a little tricky if you get at all turned around, and some of the tees are a little out of the way to find. With lots of long blind shots in the woods you'll have to do some extra walking your first time out if you want to know where to throw. There are a few low areas of the course that seem to hold water for a while and provide a breeding ground for the copious and especially vicious mosquitoes that inhabit this area.
Other Thoughts: Beginners might find even the shortest tees a little tough, though they do provide a pretty reasonable length for newer players. More experienced players will find the orange tees a nice challenge, and the blacks will test even top players, there's plenty of challenge here with tough rough to contend with if you miss your lines.

I would definitely recommend a stop here, it's one of my favorites in the state and well worth the trip. The clubhouse is a great place to hang out between rounds, with a pool table, bar, and tables around the windows facing the greens for holes 9 and 18. All the little extra touches are a nice bonus here, and add to the great vibe they have going.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Expert

2-4    6/2/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on a large piece of property that is devoted to disc golf. There shouldn't be any interference during a typical round.
- A large amount of holes are set in densely populated woods, with lots of trees to force lines and punish errant shots. #1 is a dog leg left off the tee, with a long tee that is tucked hard left behind dense woods and low branches. #5 finishes left, can play straight or flexed off the tee. #6 is better suited for a RHBH anny, and has a tough basket placement behind a steep pit. #7 is a big downhill hyzer shot, with the basket amongst a sparse grove of trees. #8 is another straight shot that finishes hyzer, with the basket in a clearing past an opening in the woods. #9 is a monster dog leg left with a pinch point before the turn, with a diminishing fairway to the basket. #10 and #11 are both downhill straight/hyzer shots with baskets out in the clearing. #15 is a long, tight shot that eventually hyzers out with a protected basket. #18 is a long, multi-shot hole that can play as a hyzer or flex off the tee, with a large patch of woods that splits the fairways halfway through, getting to that point and choosing which way to go is a smart play.
- While there are a lot of hyzers present in these holes, the different tee pads make a HUGE difference on what kind of shot is needed just to get down the fairway. Lots of pads almost force a layup shot or a perfectly executed flex shot to avoid various gaps, pinch points, or kinks.
- Other holes play in more open parts of the course; still with trees and woods, but not nearly as much. #2 is a shot out of the woods that has to clear a large swamp, the hyzer is taken away for the most part (except for laying up). #3 is the most open hole, with hardly any trees to worry about, although it's 720' from the middle tee. #4 is a downhill shot into the woods, that finishes with a hard left turn to an elevated basket. #12 is a longer downhill shot with the pin tucked in the woods, and #13 is a straighter downhill shot in to the woods as well.
- Overall, an excellent mix of length and difficulty from hole to hole, especially depending on which tees are being played. A large amount of holes play VERY differently from the short/mid/long teepads, though none are too easy. No matter what, there are going to be tough lines, good length, plenty of challenge, and lots of opportunities for rewarding golf.
- There isn't a large amount of water here, but it is used very well! Hole #1 has a swamp on the right hand side of the fairway close to the tee; definitely in play on a shanked drive. It also has a decent-sized creek running through in front of both the short and long green. Definitely in play to snag short shots. The swamp on #2 is present off the tee and on the approach, clearing it from the tees is not a gimmee. The small pond on the right side of #18's fairway is also in a dangerous spot, and must be avoided at all costs.
- Elevation changes are present throughout the course, mostly in the form of downhill tee shots. #4, #7, #10, #11, #12, and #13 all have pretty severe downhill slopes, lots of fun to all of these shots. Some are open, some are pretty tight, and most are long enough to see the disc fly for a long time. #6, #9, #14, and #16 play uphill; with #6 and #14 sloping up by the basket, and #9 and #16 off the tee. Good challenge.
- Great baskets, and absolutely fantastic teepads. Ridiculously top notch. The built up wooden platforms and walkways are fantastic. Wow. No tee signs as of right now, though there are lots of signs for navigation. A map and a scorecard is a good idea though.
Cons: - Probably the only drawback that I can think of is the abundance of hyzer shots and left-turning fairways. While there are different lines off the tee to manage, so many holes either start, continue, or end with a left curve. #1, #4, #5, #7, #8, #9, #10, #11, #13, #15, and #17 all fall into this category. Can make a few holes feel a little similar.
Other Thoughts: - This is a serious course, with some serious holes. What more can I say that I haven't said already? Bring your A-game to this course, and don't miss those lines. Beginners might want to stay far away from this beast until some experience is gained.
- I'm giving it a 5. I could play this course forever.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Rollin, rollin, rollin!

1    5/28/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2013
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Excellent infrastructure for this pay to play course. A nice large parking lot welcomes you, and a clubhouse to be used during tourneys and such will give you a nice place to sit down after your round.
2) Massive trapezoidal concrete tees with a fall-a-way area at the end of the teepad. This is the first time I have ever seen this and it makes great sense. You need to release the disc before the square area at the end, but can fall forward onto this area after you release. Much safer than mulch, eroded soil, lannon stones, like you see on most other courses.
3) Red powder coated DGA baskets are awesome. The number plates also face the hole, so it makes it easier to know where you are going. They are red and are fairly visible in the woods. There are better colors for the woods, but red is better than just the standard metal color.
4) Alternate pins are always appreciated to alter up the course from time to time.
5) 3 sets of colored tees, if I remember right . . . Black, Orange, Red, I thought maybe another color too. Some of these tees are shared between colors, but there are always at least separate tees per hole.
6) Incredible property with a nice variety of trees and density. There are a few really tight fairways, some that allow you to air them out and watch the disc glide around the scattered trees, and then even a couple prairie holes thrown in there. I love it when you get a little bit of everything on a course.
7) Water is in play on a couple shot on this course. Depending on the season, there may be more or less water in play. I know the springtime, the course holds water, but I am unsure of what water is considered casual and what water is considered to be OB.
8) Incredible basket locations, look at #1, that is just awesome. There are plenty of other baskets that are unique, challenging, and fun to go for.
9) There are some really unique features on this course. I like the basket that is slightly set over the apex of a hill with stumps in front of it. It will make a skip ace virtually impossible, but it will also knock down a slightly low upshot or putt. You have to know how to play that shot for sure.
10) #1 long basket location reminds me of Idlewild in Kentucky, and that cannot be a bad thing because Idlewild is my second favorite course in the country (that I have played). DGCR agrees with that sentiment.
11) Directionals help you find which tee you are looking for when they are not on shared tees.
12) Scorecard is available near the clubhouse on your walk up from the parking lot.
13) There is a pay box located where the scorecards are, I suggest paying the $3 minimum, I gave him more, because I think the course warrants more $, and the quicker they get money the quicker the course can be improved and finished!!!
14) Excellent use of terrain and rolling fairways. Rollin' Ridge is certainly accurate, because you go up and down up and down and then you finish each 9 on the ridge!
15) Distance variation is incredible with a wide variety of distances, this forces different shots, different approaches, etc.
16) The elevated tire basket is unique and a nice touch to alter things slightly.
17) Underbrush is pretty decent except in a few places. You can easily hit a tree and kick 50' to one side of the fairway, but for the most part, recovery shots are possibly.
Cons: 1) Even though there are multiple tees, I would say this course is not super beginner friendly. Each hole is very challenging for one reason or another. I can't take this course down much for this because it is clearly designed for the serious tournament level player and not the casual beginner.
2) The worst thing about this course is probably the fact that it can become unplayable under heavy precipitation periods. I came a week after some really heavy storms and there were 4-5 holes that were completely unplayable due to 12 inches of water covering the whole low areas. I am unsure if there is the potential to run drain-tile, but to me it looks like some of the wooded area is in flood plain.
3) Tee signs are not in place yet, but they do provide a scorecard at least.
4) There is some compaction and erosion happening in the woods. Some of the sidehills are packed down and will eventually erode away.
5) When I first played here, I was afraid for my life because I literally saw large branches falling down out of the trees . . . in all fairness it was blowing 70-80 MPH that day last fall. I would hope that the dead stuff has come down, and only healthy trees remain, but it is worth mentioning.
6) There seems to be some thorny stuff in a few areas on the course. I would be careful if you miss the fairway because you might get all scratched up. It is not all over the course by any means, in most of the course is pretty clean of underbrush.
Other Thoughts: This is a private pay to play course and is so worth the money! The baskets were donated by a local who won all 18 baskets in the drawing at the Am Worlds that took place in Milwaukee. The property is just incredible and it has all the features that make for a top level course. I think this one could ascend into the nationally ranked courses, maybe not top 10, but definitely top 50. It is still a little work in progress, but they are putting the infrastructure in to make it the best. They are putting money and materials in to their landscaping like so many courses do not do. They had to build an extremely long bridge (which actually houses two teepads, and they didn't skimp here, they actually inlayed pavers into the wood boardwalk. How awesome is that!!!
The only other thing I can say about this incredible course is . . . get out there and play it now, so that when it is finished you will appreciate all of the hard work and $ that has been put into the course. It is going to be outstanding in my opinion! I just hope the neighbors don't mind the traffic and the zoning allows for this to be setup the way it is. Best of luck everyone, I will be out there a couple times a year for sure!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    4/28/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: adoubleudisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Risk/reward is great at this course. Difficult but very fair fairways is a huge pro for me. Loved the variety of downhill/uphill and open/wooded holes. The creation of the fairways was excellent, it's amazing how one or two trees not being cleared can effect a hole. Nice wooded bridges were great for low lying areas. This was simply a BLAST to play, I played from the orange tees.
Cons: Tee signs would be nice, but I understand it's coming. Having the map was nice so it's not a huge negative. Other than being very wet in some areas (can't do much to control that) I can't find many cons with this course.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely loved this course, I plan on playing here often. Paying $3 for this course is the best $3 I have spent, worth every penny. The best part is that I live less than 5 minutes away. I haven't played a ton of courses, but I have played most in Northeastern Wisconsin and this is the best course I have played. If at anytime any course work needs to be done send me a PM and I would be glad to help.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Take a Flying Flick at a Rollin Ridge

5+    7/1/2013   4/15/2012
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2013
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. Despite the fact that most of the holes seem to favor a RHBH from the shortest (orange) tees, shooting well out here will require a lot of different shot types, especially if you find yourself in a trouble spot (of which there are many!). The course plays through some tight but fair forested land and - as the name implies - over rolling terrain on the more open holes. Great examples of risk/reward abound, such as the swamp shot on #2 (with ample bailout space but with early trouble, unlike the black tee which is much more forgiving off the tee), a basket elevated on a stack of tires on #4, the strategic landing-zone shot required before the 90-degree turn on #9 (one of three legitimate Par 4s out here), and the fairway-splitting island of trees about halfway up the 507'-707' Par 4 finisher (a perfectly placed manmade pond is off to the right, arguably the more popular route, of the fairway-splitting island). Hole #1 has a channel of water draining around the front of the green, requiring some thought on your approach. From the orange tees, there are many chances to run straight at the pin, but not without risk; similarly from the reds, you will have some deuce opportunities, but the focus of the game shifts more to making smart plays as opposed to running at the pin. The woods, terrain, and design mean that you won't have line of sight to the pin on some holes, but it's usually clear based on fairway shapes and the course map where you're throwing. Some scouting ahead will be required if you really want to plan your tee shot. One thing I loved about the design here was that on some holes (like #2, where the black tee allows a much safer landing away from the swamp, while the shared orange/red forced either a nearly 400' drive - mostly over water - to reach the pin, or a very short RHBH hyzer out to the bailout zone for a safer but long approach), the shorter tee was a trickier shot than the longer ones - a perfect way to encourage people to experience all the tees out here, as they truly create vastly different holes, and the shorts are not just the typical "easy" tees.

UPDATE: The variety has been greatly increased out here, in turn justifying my rating change to a 5.0. I have played all tees but not all pin locations (now 3 per hole!), but I can say that they tend to drastically change how each hole plays. There is a new pin position on #7 that sits elevated on a wooden cylinder, and a cool manmade three-tiered green on #14. The pins are changed frequently, and course length now ranges 4525'-6490' for Orange, 5855'-7830' for Red, and 7120'-9204' for Black (though some of the longest tees like #3, which will be on an elevated platform and play 1035' to the longest pin, are still under construction).

2. Distance. True Par 4s are always a cool feature and a welcome change from the "play everything as a 3" mentality (they range the long tees). The orange tees play 5730' in the current configuration, reds 6831', and blacks 7346'. From the shortest tees (orange), fourteen holes are under 350' and seven of those are under 250', allowing plenty of runs at the pin for the average player. From the mediums (red), only two holes are under 250' while nine are over 350', and the longest (black) has one hole under 250' and nine are 400' and above. Something for everyone!

UPDATE: The range of distances is as per my above update. Many of the original distances have changed as the official measurements have been borne out and new pins added, so most of my points in #2 here are outdated, but rest assured that there is much more distance (and distance variety) than previously.

3. Tees. With three tees per hole (some are currently shared tees, but more are being added), there are options for every type of disc golfer. The pads themselves are amazingly generous concrete runways, and there should never be any doubt which pad you're on - colored (occasionally eccentric when tees are shared) circular indicators on the front left corner not only guarantee you're on the right tee, but are also very aesthetically pleasing. It wasn't clear to me if the "official" tee ends where the first slab meets the second (see photos), with the front-most area intended for follow-through footing (a la Flip City), or if the entire concrete slab is the tee, so our group just used the whole thing, although it wouldn't surprise me if the former is a rule for tourney play.

UPDATE: Yes, of course, the line on the tee is a foul line! One issue that has come up is the longevity of the paint used for the tee indicators - some of these have completely worn off in less than a year. Several new tees have been constructed since my original review, including a new orange tee for #2 that no longer forces a water carry (the current red tee used to be red/orange shared). The concrete is still in great shape on every single tee.

4. Navigation. The scorecards provided near the first tee have a simple but accurate map printed on the reverse side, but honestly I only used this a few times…bright orange wooden directional signs are abundant out here, making getting around a piece of cake. There are plenty of signs indicating where you need to walk one direction for the medium tee, but a different route to reach the long, so you should never find yourself walking towards the wrong tee as long as you pay attention to the signage - and it's pretty hard to miss!

UPDATE: You still have to rely on the arrow signs for navigation, and surprisingly I find myself still relying on them after multiple visits out here, a testimonial once again to the variety here!

5. Seclusion. While the noise from US-10 is prevalent, especially on the open holes #3 and #12, the fact that you are on private land, removed from the "chucker" crowd of the busier free public courses nearby, is a welcome escape and really lets you enjoy your round. Instead of witnessing a bunch of unsupervised brats cussing, littering, smoking, etc., the primary noise out here is people having fun!

6. Baskets. Bright red Mach 3s are perfect for this heavily wooded course and are in perfect shape. The recipient of a past DGA "Dream Course" basket giveaway, Rollin' Ridge is the poster child for how to put this annual prize to use!

UPDATE: Baskets are still in terrific shape.

7. Amenities. A clubhouse between the Front 9 and Back 9 is in the works but incomplete as of this review, and it's rumored that beverage sales and a pro shop will be available in the future…that definitely adds a lot to making this feel like a golf course, especially when you will be spending hours out here, as opposed to your traditional city park Par-3 courses. Scorecards and "Rollin' Ridge" emblazoned pencils are available where you drop your money (and you had BETTER pay!). Trash receptacles are available at many tees (some were close to overflowing, but litter didn't seem to be a problem at all, and probably never will be). The parking area was ample as well. New benches have been added, a welcome bonus on this lengthy course.

UPDATE: The clubhouse/pro shop is within weeks of officially opening, and it looks gorgeous, with several TVs, plenty of space to chill inside and out, a large grill patio, bar, and more! The restrooms here are the nicest I think I've ever seen at a private course (in fairness to well-established courses, these are brand new!). A netted-in driving range (similar to a batting cage) is also in the works alongside the ramp up to the clubhouse. Benches at nearly every single tee on every single hole.

8. Location. Removed from any metropolitan areas, yet totally within reach for the Fox Cities, Green Bay, Manitowoc, and Sheboygan (less than an hour drive from all of these locations).

9. Pay to play. The $3 per round is a terrific deal, and it's obvious that money will be going back into the course.

UPDATE: It is now $5 per person, but this covers all-day play! This is still a steal!
Cons: 1. No tee signs. I understand these are forthcoming, so I'm not docking the rating; besides, as mentioned above, the maps and directional signage are sufficient. I'm not sure if the plan is to have a sign at each tee as opposed to one sign covering all tees, but with the distance between some of the tees I'd love to see individual ones. The lack of signage led to a bit of confusion on one hole for our group (and we discovered later that a group behind us had made the same mistake) - at the tee for #6, we shot to #14's basket, as they are both visible and reachable, but the number on the plate wasn't quite readable.

UPDATE: Still no tee signs. This is more of an issue now with 3 pin positions per hole that tend to be VERY spread out, still necessitating a walk ahead to locate the basket. How can this be a 5-disc course when it still lacks tee signs? Well, because between the scorecards and arrows, you have ample information at your disposal, and the minor inconvenience of some occasional scouting ahead is far outweighed by the superb golf here.

2. The more open holes where there will be a lot of grippin' and rippin' might lead to discs straying near other fairways/tees. On #3, for example, a RHBH drive that hyzers out early may wind up near #12's tee, or even #11's basket; similarly, on #12, a flipped RHBH could come close to #13's tees (I know because I witnessed both on my separate visits out here).

UPDATE: These exact issues have been addressed with large wooden walls (see the "Course Structures Slideshow" in the "Links/Files" tab) to reduce, possibly eliminate, the aforementioned conflicts. Bravo to the RR crew for taking my review points so seriously (I jokingly give myself credit since I wrote the first review)!

3. The low-lying areas in the woods are VERY soggy and squishy, even with a paucity of recent heavy precipitation, so it appears that this is a more permanent feature of this terrain and one that will hopefully be ameliorated by the obvious clearing that has occurred. The RR crew is obviously tackling this problem with woodchips and boardwalks, but be prepared to get your shoes and discs a little muddy…besides, who DOESN'T carry a towel?

UPDATE: This has also been addressed, as best as can be expected. There are still plenty of soggy areas, but not anywhere near problematic.

4. Although located right on US-10, you need to watch closely for the course entrance, as there is no big flashing sign (and if this was my property, I wouldn't want a big flashing sign!)…the hand-painted "Parking" sign is tucked back a bit from the highway and can cause confusion for first-timers. We actually pulled in the wrong driveway, and the neighbor was actually on her way out to her mailbox; she smiled, waved, and as we rolled down our windows, before we could even ask for directions she happily exclaimed, "Oh, you must be looking for the Frisbee golf place! One more driveway up! Great day for playing!" Hopefully a positive relationship with the neighbors and community will continue to flourish!

UPDATE: There is a large red mailbox that says "Rollin Ridge" in big black letters. Hard to miss.

5. Port-a-potties would be nice, although I'm guessing the clubhouse will provide something along those lines once completed; again, no points off for this.

UPDATE: See above in my update on Amenities in the Pros.
Other Thoughts: I've been anxiously waiting to play this course for several years, and although it's still a work in progress, it is more than ready for play, including tournaments. From what I understand, it's a year-round course except for deer-hunting week. This is a fantastic addition to the local DG scene, and while the $3 shouldn't be a problem for anyone to cough up, it should be enough of a deterrent to keep the chuckers at home by their free courses. The course is a true test of skills, and while one hole might be particularly punishing if you get into trouble, the next could be very rewarding with a well-placed shot. As mentioned, there is some RHBH bias, at least from the shortest tees, and some people might also be bothered by the fact that several greens have trees within the 30' circle (a feature that doesn't irk me at all). I have played one round from the orange tees and one from the reds, which has given me a pretty good feel for the design (I'll play black when I'm in a more masochistic mood). Steve, the designer, highly recommends playing from the shortest tees first to get a feel for the course, and I concur - these aren't your typical community park short tees!

Everything I'd heard prior to playing led me to believe that this would be Wisconsin's next 5-disc course. While the potential is definitely there, I don't rate courses based on potential. That said, it's spectacular enough to warrant the 4.5 (even though I'd say it currently stands closer to a 4.25). As courses change, so do my reviews, so a 5 definitely isn't out of the question. One benefit I hope to see to the local DG scene is that the attention Rollin' Ridge draws might help Freitag in Forest Junction get up to a playable condition (I still haven't played Freitag, but have heard about its untamed quirkiness); from what I hear, that course coupled with this one would make for a real DG adventure, but for now this course alone is well worth any voyage, from any direction.

UPDATE: Well, I now consider this worthy of a 5.0. I am beyond impressed with the improvements that have been made since the course officially opened. I encourage anyone who reviewed the course last year or early this year to get back out here and update your reviews…I feel that a lot of the 4.5s will be bumped to 5s, and it won't be long before Rollin Ridge busts into the Top Ten! With the recent expansion of nearby Silver Creek in Manitowoc to 27 holes (not to mention the upcoming A-tier involving both of these courses!), many eyes will be on this region as a true disc golf destination.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.