Reedsville, WI 
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #7 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 366ft.   3 / 426ft.   4 / 426ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Area



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Rollin' Like I'm in Heaven

2-4    6/2/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2012
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Rollin' Ridge is 18 holes of throw-down-the-gauntlet, no-holds-barred, pure badassedness. Set in the rolling terrain of Wisconsin, the course starts at Steve's front drive into the woods, plays past a small marshy area in the open, plays back into the deep woods before winding back and forth throughout. Tight technical wooded shots. Long open bombers. Fairways that split into two fairways and then converge again. A crazy array of looks from the three different tee pads on many holes. Water. Elevation. Long wooded technical water holes. I mean, this course brings it for the entire 18. It's fair, but man you better manage your game well or risk getting a severe beat down.
- Elevation. Oh yeah there are some cool shots. Raised tees in places add elevation artificially where appropriate.
- Amenities. This is basically a private disc golf paradise with every luxury. It's done right. The color-coded tees are SICK. The wooden walkways over the marshy areas are gorgeous. One tee is even built into the wooden walkway! Oh yeah, the clubhouse, too.
- Beautiful. I mean, yeah. This course LOOKS like a disc golf course.
- Challenge. Each level of tees offers fair, progressively difficult challenges in a manner that all players should find very enjoyable (although certainly not easy). This course captures well the spirit, and helps bridge the gap, between old school Steady Ed type courses from the early 80's and the newer style of longer holes with defined landing zones.
Cons: - WOW can the mosquitoes be bad here at certain times of year. Bring bug spray and pray.
- Nothing else. Really.
Other Thoughts: - I was lucky enough to play Rolling Ridge (before the tees were poured!) during the 2010 Halloween doubles glow tourney. That round and a half made a deep impression on me and I've been hyping the Ridge since. A couple of years later I again got to play the Ridge during the T. O. Tourney. It was a real pleasure to see the immense strides the already solid course had taken. What Steve and the Crew have done here in a few short years is inspiring. The variety in tees is pure genius. The variety in shots required might be unparalleled, once each set of tees is taken into consideration. Not to mention most tees offer a completely different look to the hole, not merely adding distance to the same shot.
- I typically don't gush too much in reviews, but Rollin' Ridge is the real deal to me. There's no real flaw, excepting perhaps mother nature, and I pretty much never mark a course down for acts of nature. This is a destination course. Go play Rollin' Ridge already, jeez.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 What a hidden treat!

2-4    11/1/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: Putter
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.5 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Finally something local that understands what a disc golfer is looking for!!!
Challenging wooded narrows to long stretching open meadows.
Multiple concrete tee's.
Multiple Mach 3 basket locations.
Provides all styles of shot requirement.
Well groomed grass and wood-chip pathways.
Well marked signage.
Friendly staff.
Cons: Mosquitoes - bring your bug spray!
Other Thoughts: Course was under construction every time I've been out to play. Nothing that would ever stop me from going again. The course just keeps getting better and better with each visit. I would HIGHLY recommend stopping out to play!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  One of Wisconsin's finest

1    10/13/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: Gopack12
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great tee's, well wooded with great craftmanship that keeps the discgolfer in mind. Quiet course that's relaxing and brings out the inner disc golfer's soul.
Cons: Red baskets were hard to spot in the fall, other than that it was a great find thanks to dgcoursereview!!
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to playing more rounds here in the future. Even bought an awesome hat from the pro shop. Friendly staff and just a friendly atmosphere for disc golf

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/20/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: Brogie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Awesome course it will be the premier course in the area. There are two bridges with cement tiles on the bridge for the tee box they have put a tremendous amount of work into this course with a lot of visual features.
Cons: Closes November 12th to 25th CLOSED for deer hunting.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best Amenities Around

1    8/12/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow. So much hard work and time has been put into this course. This is the most well done course amenity wise I have ever been to. This course actually has staff working full time I believe. The pay to play is definitely worth it and the money has been put to good use. There are not 2, but 3 sets of concrete landscaped tees here and they are well color coordinated. There are long and even have a concrete zone on the end of the pad marked by a white line to follow through on. There is a fun mix of wooded shots with several open bombs, like the par 4 2nd hole. Some of the greens are very cool and creative. Hole 6's green especially stands out to me. The basket sits on the edge of a steep drop off which you must throw up. Check out the pictures as it is hard to do it justice with words. Hole 4's basket sits atop 3 giant tires. The elevation here is great overall and adds a lot to the course. There are many par 4s here and a great, nasty par 5 9th hole. The first shot is a uphill tight tunnel shot to a small landing zone. It is then a very skinny fairway all the way to the basket near the clubhouse. It's great that the front 9 ends at the beginning of the course. The directional signs are very helpful for navigation. The wooden structures, sculptures, and bridges all look great. They give a great aesthetic to the course and make it memorable.
Cons: There are a lot of left curving holes and lines. It gets repetitive.

Hole 17 does not have a line which was disappointing. There is also not really a line on the approach to 18's basket.
The mosquitoes are horrible here, especially towards the end of the back 9. Beware.

There are no tee signs yet.
Other Thoughts: If the course was better designed I would definitely up this rating half a disc or maybe even award it a 5.

Don't come hear expecting to rack up the deuces. This course is no deuce or die course.

The entrance to the course is not marked. Keep your eye for the gravel drive.

These baskets are from the DGA Basket Giveaway from Worlds a few years back. It's great they were put to good use.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Cream of the crop

1    9/23/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Huge piece of magnificent disc golf heaven.
Different tee pads for intermediate to pro level players.
With each new hole came more and more excitement.
Elevation changes, severe and rolling.
Columns of trees. Multiple routes.
Wide open holes that still offer some degree of difficulty if not a lot of difficulty due to the insane length.
From the tee to the basket of every hole someone was very creatively inclined.
Most holes need to be laced very well with a little or strong hyzer towards the end of the flight path.
Cons: Kept running into hole 7's tee pad. Had a map on the back of the scorecard. But I still had a little navigation problem.
No other complaints.
Other Thoughts: It really is the cream of the crop. Its location is out in the middle of nowhere. Seclusion can be found.
I completely lost myself in the game at this course. Its incredible.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wow is all I can say

1    9/16/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: Glo Roc
Played: 89  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 3 sets of tees on almost every hole. Great mix of wooded and open holes. Varying lengths and difficulty. Beautiful landscaping which apparently is only going to improve.
Cons: Mosquito's weren't too bad when we played but I can see how they could be terrible. Forgot the bug spray in the car so we lucked out. There were a few extra baskets out there that made a few holes confusing. We played to the wrong basket twice.
Other Thoughts: The dedication and love that went into designing/constructing this course is quite special. Sounds like it is only going to get better. Wish is was closer to home for sure. Great job and look forward to playing it again!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Private beauty and dedication - one of an area trifecta of excellent courses

5+    3/25/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: superberry
Played: 169  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.6 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is disc golf dedication to the max. A wonderful love of the sport, some dedicated landowners, partners, and volunteers, and the desire to build something great is ensuring this and will remain a top notch course. At Rollin Ridge, you almost have it all (missing the huge downhill bomber), and my preference for wooded technical courses is balanced superbly with some wide open rippers (soon to include watergardens and other beautiful landscaping), long and short wooded goodness along a rollin' ridge, awesome balance of left, right, straight, and mulit-route holes, water hazards, OB, and risky greens galore. Distance is varied well from short technical to long wooded and long open. There is not one throwaway hole. Three distinct tees are present on most holes, all well constructed to be grippy, plenty wide, and including a follow through zone. Multiple pin placements further add to the enjoyment by showcasing more of the beautiful property and more difficult routes through these wooded airways. There is not one throwaway hole! Two of the long wooded holes are legitimate par 4 holes, and one of the longer open holes could be with more strategic OB water hazard built where Blue level players typically land. Elevation is used to the fullest and maximized for well designed uphill throws and exciting downhill throws. Throwing along the crest of the rollin' ridges is also used to keep in line with the namesake. Memorable holes are thrown at you left and right in a variety of ways from neat gimmicks like the raised tire pin, tee in bridge, and also just with the beautiful natural terrain and setting of the property. Standing on the tees invokes the true disc golfer in me. They make you look down the fairway and get excited about stepping up and ripping the perfect drive to sail through such a gorgeous airway! I love challenge and risk, and a wooded course like this offers the need for accurate play, but then you throw in risky greens perched on the edge of excavated pits, surrounded by trees, or on a risky slope and I'm in disc golf nirvana. The attention to detail with the retaining walls and landscaping continues to get nicer and neater on a daily basis. Pay to play (on private property!) keeps the worthless chuckers off the course, and this is a huge bonus.
Cons: No tee signs yet. I'd like to see three distinct tees per hole. IMO this completes the skill specific round and challenge for each individual skill level player in your group. Hole 3 would be an absolute par 4, with some strategic OB built about 325-375' from the pad, making it a decision to layup short, or bomb out over. The low portions of the course at the SW area of the property can get swampy, wet, overgrown, and mosquito infested. This sucks when you can't even focus on playing, but I can't deduct from the score. I have no doubt that the love of the game and this property will yield some fill, more bridges, and the amount of play will keep the undergrowth down. The property is right on US 10 between Manitowoc and Appleton. This introduces quite a bit of road noise and lack of seclusion on a handful of holes, and I love the quiet solitude of remote courses. I have not seen poison ivy, although the area is known for fields of it, only some nettles. Despite not deducting for bugs, I do deduct for poison ivy and other plants that can be controlled. Color labels for the tees bugs me. The corresponding pdga consistent tee pad color layout per skill here would be white, blue, gold. The short tees here are harder than red recreational tees, they are probably equivalent to white tees (especially with many being shared use). The middle tees here are equivalent to blue tees. The long tees here are equivalent to low gold tees.
Other Thoughts: I didn't get to play the tee built into the bridge yet, but what a wonderful addition to this amazing course. This will be a great gem of a private "club" course in the northeast WI area. Rollin Ridge offers a perfect trifecta with the brutal untamed nature of Winter Park in Kewaunee and the manicured city park design setting at Silver Creek in Manitowoc. The course alone is worth a trip out of your way. If travelling through or near the area on business or pleasure, make this a stop. When you include Winter and Silver, you'd be insane not to take a day (LONG day) to play all three! To me, in the battle of the Ludington ferry courses, this trifecta offers lightyears more variety and balance than the Leviathan/Flip/Mason trifecta. These are the blood red baskets won from DGA in one of the first basket giveaways, they will hold up great and look awesome in the woods. Despite the course not falling into 100% complete balance and variety with a huge downhill ripper, or a definite formidable water hazard, the clubhouse and private feel make this an amazing course. It shakes out to a 4.7 in my spreadsheet, and I would round up to a 5.0 for the atmosphere, dedication, and absolute certainty that this will only get better, but the road noise bugs me, and total variety is vital to my 5.0 ratings. Make no mistake, 4.5 is an awesome score in my book. I hear talk of waterfalls, watergardens, incredible clubhouse, and all kinds of special events and can't help but smile at what this course is soon to become.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Blue Ribbon Pines meets Standing Rocks

1    9/14/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent Teepads! Course layout is fantastic with the multiple pads to appeal to a broader audience. Course manicuring and structures built by the locals are some of the most rewarding things to see on any disc golf course. The lattice work and field fences were my favorite current touches. People are constantly still working on this course (seen while we were there)
Cons: No signs, yet. Course is 80-90% complete as far as extras and final placement.
Other Thoughts: This course is my new favorite in the state. Such a diverse setup of shots, distances, and styles that can get you through the tough/challenging design. The longs are quite a beating if you don't have your A+ game, but never felt like the course was unfair by any means. Extremely fun to play and challenging at the same time. Quite a difficult hybrid to achieve in such a new course.

I absolutely would give this a 5 if the tee signs were up. Such a great place for so many reasons. Play it, you won't regret it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really like Rollling but lacks Professional Design

1    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2014
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rolling Ridge is a great newer course. The entrance marked by a red mailbox coming in so keep an eye out for a gravel drive. It's tough to find.The course plays in and out of a nice wooded area. They have done a great job of cleaning up the wooded fairways of rough. There are also several holes in the open. Rolling hills come into play in and out of the woods. A few wetland areas come into play too.

New Red DGA Mach 3's. They were won at the 2007 Am Worlds in the DGA drawing. It's great seeing them on the course.

What can I say about the tee pads. EVERY course should have tee pads like this. They are level and plenty long. They have a line that marks the front and there is room to follow thru on the front side. AWESOME! Not only that there are 3 sets of them on every hole. WOW!

There are some nice par 4's & 5's on this course. The black tees are tough! The short course measures 5,700 feet. The long course measures 7300 feet. If you come here expecting to get a bunch of birdie 2's like the traditional disc golf you are going to be disappointed.

There were directional arrows on the course. We had no problem navigating it the first time thru. They pointed to each tee even saying go this way for the long and this way for the medium.

They have spent a ton of money on lumber. There are several foot bridges and benches. Along with that they've made some impressive structures and landscaping near many of the tees.

I really liked the pyramid on #5.

The hillside green on #6 was cool.

Cons: Right now there are no tee signs. They said they have plans for them and a grand opening next year.

There are a lot of RHBH holes. There are many holes with scattered trees in the fairway. The lines were a bit tricky and didn't have the ultimate fun factor that I like. At times the course felt repetitive. In the end I went with 4.0 due to the awesome concrete tees and work that has been done knowing tee signs are on the way.
Other Thoughts: This is well worth the trip and they should be charging a minimum of $5.00 to play. $3.00 is a bargain! While we were there 3 guys were hard at work on the course. I have a feeling it's going to keep getting better.

This is probably the hardest review in terms of rating this a 4 or 4.5 that I've done. I've gone back and forth in terms of fun factor and signature/memorable holes.

Lucky for us we got a cool and windy morning. The skeeters left us alone. By the time we left they were starting to come out. Bring bug spray!

We got a nice dry time to play but a few spots were a little soft due to some rain a few days before. If you are making a long trip I'd check the conditions before leaving.

We played Winter Park after. What a great day of disc golf. 2 great courses.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.