Reedsville, WI 
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #6 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 299ft.   3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Short Tee



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Disc Golf Awesomeness

5+    8/4/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: Shuie
Played: 627  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
17 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is one of the most amazing disc golf course that i have had the pleasure to play. It all start when you drive up to the parking lot an you see this massive deck, driving range and putting area in front of the club house. Then, as you walk in to the club house your jaw just drops as you see flat screens on the wall and a decked out beer bar with an amazing selection plus food from snacks to pizza. The disc selection at Rollin' Ridge i by far the best selections i have seen in Northeastern Wisconsin plus Rollin' Ridge Clothing. You can also choose to camp out for the evening and they even offer a bathroom and shower for the campers to use!!
Now, lets get down to the golf for the most part every hole at the Ridge has 3 sets of tees and 3 pin placements each and offer a lot of variety to players. The course mainly plays in the woods but offers many opportunities to air your disc out but also at times it demands you hit some fairly tight lines and get a little creative with some of you upshots. The Ridge also seems to have several Signature holes that any course would love to have just one of these(9 and 18 from any tee). The Orange tees are the shortest set of tees and offer a large variety of shot but still manages to be quite scoreable for most blue level players. The Red tees are in middle but some of red tees boast some of the tougher/tightest lines on the course, this set start to really challenge blue level players. Last but not least is the Black Tees not only are they long but still manage to have those crazy tight lanes all the other tees have, this is the most challenging lay out the course has currently. With that being said each tee doesn't just add length to it, it might be a completely different look from the other two sets of tees. They really use every bit of elevation the have out at the ridge and in areas where the didn't have any they built raised wooden structures to add in even more challenge. There also two holes with water in play which i have personally seen several people find. All in all the Ridge maybe Wisco's toughest course.
Cons: Showers are $2 for 10 minutes. Camping maybe consider a bit pricey at 25 Dollars a person for the weekend or 20 per person per night.(This includes Green fees) Not really much of a con considering your bringing your own food and beers along .
Other Thoughts: Rollin' Ridge is an amazing place, i really am blessed to have this course be within an hour of my house. Steve and his crew seem to be constantly evolving the Ridge, i look forward to the next set of improvements.

17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

The Real Deal

1    8/10/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: Recob25
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Rollin Ridge is the real deal... 

Your experience starts with you walking past the driving range and into the best clubhouse on the planet.  Here you can grab a drink at their bar, play a game of pool, or stock up on their awesome inventory of discs.  The customer service is top notch with every person wanting to know who you are and why you decided to take the venture to their masterpiece.

Before you head to the tee, you can hit the range, load up on complimentary bug spray and grab a score card.

When you get to the 1st tee you can pick between 3 different tee boxes... Each tee box is groomed to perfection and really makes the course pop with originality.  EVERY tee box has a detailed map of the hole and pin position.

Every hole here would be a signature hole on another course so remember to stop and really admire the little details this course has to offer.  The fairways are mowed to perfection and the pins are easy to find because of their classic crimson color.

This course is easy to navigate because they follow the cardinal rule... You can never have too many signs!
Cons: No cons... It's the only 5 I have ever rewarded.
Other Thoughts: -It's the best Pay to Play in the State... Only $5.
-Hole 2 is amazing but make sure you put a little extra mustard on it to avoid the swamp.
-Trash does not exist on this course... I was speechless at the amount of care and consideration.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Wisconsin DG

2-4    8/4/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: Skankin77
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Pro Shop, Clubhouse, Pool Table, Flat Screens, Disc Golf Driving Range (great for warming up), Great change in elevation, great hole placements for different types of shots, awesome man made structures, great pads, great signage and hospitality. Steve and his Wife are awesome. This is a must play for anyone.
Cons: Not many, other than the typical mosquitoes but there are cans available for sale and a few by the pay box. One of the best courses in Wisconsin.
Other Thoughts: Going back next weekend because I can't get enough.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/22/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: AdamE
Played: 215  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rollin Ridge is a pay to play course which is open to the public. It's $5 a day to play and is well worth it to play a course of this caliber.

The course design here is fantastic. The course is mostly wooded with only a few open holes. I consider this course to be championship caliber, but the three sets of tees and multiple pin positions make the course friendly to a wide variety of skill levels and will challenge everyone. There are elevation changes on almost every hole, some are slight while others are more extreme. The shot variety here is excellent and you will need every shot in your bag at this course. There are a number of multi shot holes here, more from the longs, less from the shorts. I'm a big fan of multi shot holes and the ones here are great. There are definitely some unique holes here, I could consider a number of them the signature hole. The fairways are fair but tight on many of the holes. They force you to hit your line to score well. There is good risk/reward here. You can choose to pull out a driver and hope that you hit your line and have a chance at a birdie. Miss your line and you'll whack a tree, fly way off the fairway and be lucky to get par. Alternatively you can grab your midrange and if you keep it in the fairway par shouldn't be a problem to achieve. Many of the putting greens are protected or on hills and slopes which adds to the challenge. The course is very challenging and well designed.

The amenities here are the BEST I've ever seen in my disc golf travels. There is a nice big club house with drinks, beer, snacks, pro shop, tv, pool table, restroom, shower for campers. Just outside there is a driving range, practice basket and huge deck with picnic tables, bulletin board, course map and money drop to pay for playing this awesome course.

The amenities don't stop at the club house. On the course there are three concrete tee pads on nearly every hole, nice baskets, and benches at almost every tee. The landscaping that's been done here is absolutely amazing! There are a number of structures throughout the course to protect some tee pads from errant shots on other holes, there are large landscaping rocks around every tee pad, elevated walkways, raised baskets, a stair step wall with multiple landing platforms and the basket at the top. I really can't say enough good things about the immense amount of work that's gone into this amazing course. The course landscaping and amenities rival those at Blue Ribbon Pines IMHO and it could be debated that they surpass them.

The few open holes have tall grass growing off the fairway but they had the bright idea to cut some rows into the rough to make it easier to find your disc in the event of an errant shot. This is just another example of the great things they're doing here.

As impressive as the course is now, the best thing about the course is they continue to make improvements. Tons of work had already been put into the course when I first visited in March 2013. When I returned in July 2013, just 4 months later, an impressive amount of work has been done.
Cons: The course could use tee signs and/or a more detailed course map. Like I said, they're not done working on the course and I know from talking to the owner and his brother that these things are on the way.

The basket on hole 4 has a number of trees in the fairway as you approach it. In my opinion it doesn't make the approach very fair, but thankfully this is the only place on the course I felt this way.

I heard the course can get buggy but they sprayed a little before my visit so I didn't have any problem with the bugs.
Other Thoughts: This is a top notch destination course, it deserves its high ratings, and is well worth traveling out of your way to play.

I really want to give this course a 5, I have added it to my list of favorite courses and it is amazing. The lack of tee signs are literally the only thing stopping me from giving the course a 5 and I'll change that as soon as I hear they are added. It is phenomenal but I'm sorry, I can't say it's the best of the best without tee signs.

Even without them this course is amazing, go check it out!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

An absolute gem

1    7/27/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: 2chainz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is the best manicured course i have ever been to, it truly was just a joy to play and every single hole left me wanting to play the next. Really there was plenty of length in the course and such great GREAT tee pads. Never have i seen so much work go into creating an experience that is like this.
Cons: The only thing i can think of is that it gets busy, which because it is such a fantastic course is completely understandable.
Other Thoughts: Only question is did the owner make this in his back yard? Was the course his own private property? Cause that is so great.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Simply Amazing!

1    6/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: TheDGWizard
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everything. Seriously. It's phenomenal.

All of the amenities you can think of. Good signage, nice map/scorecard, perfect teepads, benches on every teepad, garbages at every teepad, bugspray by the pro shop, large deck/patio area, and a pool table and bar in the pro shop. There are bridges in the low/wet areas.
There are wooden structures that not only look good, but also protect throwers on a teepad from errant shots on adjacent holes.
Every teepad has a colored circle on it so you know you're throwing from the right one. There are signs all over the woods telling you which direction to go to which teepad.

Great layout. Everything about every hole, from all three teepads, was very well thought out. It's a very difficult course that can give anyone a hard time. There's a great mix of shorter, more technical holes, and longer, more open holes. Lots of elevation change as well as a few small water hazards.

It's really almost everything you could ask for in a course.
Cons: No hilltop bomber.
Other Thoughts: Steve is a great guy and it was a pleasure to meet him. His love for the course shows and he's constantly working to add more features and improvements. His dedication is incredible.

The entrance is now marked with a sign on a large, red mailbox. It's pretty easy to spot.

I don't know if any course should truly be rated a 5, but I did because 4.9 wasn't an option.

The $5 to play absolutely reasonable for everything that this course offers. I'll certainly be making the trip to come back to one of the best courses this state has to offer.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Course which will only get better

1    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: BriZimm
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first two holes alone freaked me out and as a newer player, I thought I might have regretted going out here due to the challenge. However, the course evolved and ended up being amazing. So much so that we played two rounds in sweltering heat and humidity of the Sunday in the July 4th weekend.

There are wooded platforms over muddy spots and open woods that make loosing discs relatively impossible. Basket placement varies too. Some are high, some are slightly raised, some are low. Every hole has a challenge. The course itself is great exercise and feels like a hike without throwing the discs. I'm a bigger guy and lost 9 pounds on the day.

There is a really nice "man cave" style clubhouse here as well. Not finished when I visited, but I've heard from many people that this course has been under construction for years and they don't sit on their hands, so I suspect this will be completed shortly.
Cons: As my buddy and I were playing our second round of the day, we sat down waiting for the group in front of us at the hilltop tee on 12. I asked him, "What is it about this course that makes it less than perfect?" We both agreed that not having tee signage yet was the glaring thing and we got confused a few times, even with the scorecard. Yes, there are bugs, but I don't blame a course for having bugs. It's the sacrifice you make for the seclusion and the atmosphere. Bring bug spray and you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: This is a difficult yet fair course, as a newer player, you shouldn't be afraid to play it. Courses like this make you appreciate a great disc golf course and it also helps your game.

If you live in Appleton like me, it will take you about 35 minutes to get there and it costs $5 for the day. I will definitely be making this trip about once a month or so and bringing more people each time. This place deserves to be seen, they have definitely put in the work and I wish them the best. This course makes O'Hauser look like the Summer 2013 version of Telulah park

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Must Play in WI

1    5/18/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: mubhcaeb78
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The meticulous care of the course and continuous improvements makes this course stand out.

Think BRP about how crafted and kept up this course is. #14 is a marvel of platform targets.

The wooded holes remind me of tower 2 on how you have to follow the fairways at the right distances to have open shots at baskets.

The holes have a couple open bombers, but for the most part play in woods with tight fairways. Shots to left, right, dead straight.. a good mix. An accurate thrower will excel here.

Tees are amazing.. bench or two at every tee pad.. (3+ per hole) alternate pin locations can keep it new.

Signs in the woods pointing to next tees are very helpful, you rarely have to refer to the map on the back of the scorecard.

Parking lot and entrance to the pro shop is amazing. Well done with a patio/deck they are putting in now.

Great people who run it. Friendly, and avid in making rollin ridge the best course possible.
Cons: There isn't much for risk vs reward.

Parking lot could easily fill up for the tournaments, same with the garbage cans.. they are at every hole but are small buckets.

Can be soggy.. just the type of ground, which they try to deal with, and it was great to see woodchip paths, and even boards laid out as a path over some of the soggy spots. Not really a con as far as rating, just a warning to bring shoes you can get wet if you play april/may.
Other Thoughts: If I could, I would rate it 4.95. That .05 is just my preference to have some sort of risk..

Hole 2 and 18 are the only one's that have water hazard in play for approaching the basket. I would personally want to see this maximized to force players to lay up or risk a long putt missing and going ob.
6 will be great with the improvements they are going to make.. a very tough pin placement with huge roll away potential.

There really isn't any very narrow paths that shortcut the dogleg holes either. Additions like that would to me at least, make it perfect.

The subtleties of design should not be overlooked. Instead of just distance to the tees, they are often placed at different angles.
18 for instance:
Long - A straight shot that needs to finish right to put you in best position to hit basket.
Middle - Hyzer to left to get the spot long was going to.
Short - Guardian tree on right that will kick you into woods, otherwise a straight shot with a bit of fade to line you up.

I think this course will be kept up to the highest standards in courses.

Talking to locals, they even have people come work on the course to get some free rounds. What a great idea.

These guys are enthused, and are putting major effort and $ into this course.

A must play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Play this course

2-4    3/7/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: jeepluvr81
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pros: Everything.
It's got everything. Trees, elevation, water, bridges, huge benches, 2-3 tee pads on every hole, wooded holes, wooded out into open field holes, open holes, long open holes, open field into the woods holes. Very well maintained.
Nice scorecards, pencils, a clubhouse with a pool table and bar. Merchandise. Onsite camping. You name it.
Cons: Cons: Mosquitoes in summer. Bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played it yet, kick yourself. Then go play it.
Play it in the fall for one of the most beautiful courses ever.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/17/2012   1/2/2013
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where do I even start? This course is absolutely outstanding with 18 holes with each hole having 3 sets of tees and benches. Each tee has rocks around it and is beautifully landscaped. The tees are nice and long with a follow through area at the end with a colored circle to indicate the set of tees you are playing. The baskets are nice red Mach 3s (I believe) that stand out nicely when in the woods. Around the property there are tall wooden structures that lessen your chances of being hit by an errant shot from other holes. The course has a winter layout that shortens the course for play in the snow. The course has a club house on site with the building of a patio/deck area underway so now you can stand on the deck and watch the approaches and putts on holes 9 and 18. Another nice thing about this course is the lay out. If you are pressed for time and can only play 9 holes the basket for the 9th hole is fairly close to the parking area. Each hole out here is a different challenge weather it be length, tight gaps, baskets on the edges of hills, or a basket on a stack of tractor tires. Not a very crowded course but not dormant by any means. There is also a great deal of signage that makes navigation a breeze.
Cons: I have heard the bugs are bad in the summer but that is just Mother Nature and should in no way stop anyone from playing this awesome course or affect my review.
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing and from what I have been told from the designer is not completed to what was in visioned in the design process.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.