Wilmore, KY 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: tennissaxplaya Hole #1 (Taken 11/2009)
4 / 329ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Pretty Family Park Course

2-4    12/20/2013   12/20/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 177  Reviewed: 159  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Centennial Park in Wilmore, Kentucky has a lot of space behind a family-friendly neighborhood, with three parking areas, a gazebo, playground, basketball court, sports fields, a long, paved jogging path, and an updated nine hole disc golf course. The course consists of smallish concrete tee pads well-aimed at their respective Discatcher baskets. There is a tee sign by hole one (and I assume the others were removed during the redesign). The flow is mostly obvious, but you might want to print out the newer aerial map. Though the course is mostly open and devoid of obstacles, the hole lengths vary greatly, and the traverse of the creek, the play along the woodline on 6, and the long bomber back to the new raised mound ninth basket give it some good variety, and a signature finish.

Scaled in distance for the Recreational to Intermediate arm, this is not a bad course to practice your basic shots. It probably won't attract too many higher level players, due to the limited challenges. It's interesting to note that they've planted a couple of stands of decorative grasses in the 'fade' line (rhbh) of most of the holes, meaning if your disc deflects off of these, it will make your finishing putt just a bit trickier.

The signature feature of this course has got to be the large white stone benches at each tee. Very attractive and well-placed.
Cons: The lack of obstacles out here will turn off players wanting more challenge, and the distances on all but one hole would make this a pitch and putt for advanced to open players. All the holes can be approached with a left-fading shot (or practically any shot for that matter, as there aren't really any major obstacles to force particular lines). And the course is very open, with wind often coming into consideration here. There was very little opportunity to use elevation here, either.

The flow gets - interesting - in a few places: Hole two was apparently shortened to a basket perhaps 160' from the tee, but you still angle across the corner of the parking lot, over the path sign, a handicapped parking sign, and the port-o-let, all of which come into play. And if it's wet, the drainage creek just past the basket is a nuisance (hazard). Hole three plays straight up along the walking path, and the ninth tee is actually within the putting circle. Speaking of the ninth, while it is a cool, long, uphill hole finishing at a mound-topping basket, the fairway crosses the first fairway.
Other Thoughts: I created a new map for the current layout of the course, as there were obviously changes desired to move hole nine away from the soccer field. The redesign moved teepads and the amazing stone benches. I can't imagine the grunt work needed to move those! Nice job: it looks awesome!

Also, I noted that the entrance to the park is at the corner of Kinslow and Corbitt Drives, and not off of Harrodsburg Road (68).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated

1    5/24/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: brettricewku
Played: 62  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Kept very well. Grass mowed beautifully with well defined fairways and greens. Concrete teepads with teesigns on each hole. A good 9 hole course. Baskets were very nice.
Cons: Very repetitive. No obstacles besides the tree on hole 1. Can see how when crowded the walking path could produce problems.
Other Thoughts: I would not go out of my way to play here again but it is definately worth checking out if you are in the area. I loved the last hole. Teepads arent bad at all unless youre doing 360's IMO, just not as wide as usual.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A bit suprised.

1    6/19/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: dwellman
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of long(ish) and short. Variable terrain.
Cons: The Tee Pads are way too small. Might as well not have them.
The sign posts not set properly and some had fallen down-- not that they are necessary.
Uninspired design leads to monotonous shot selection: Straight Drive. Putt. Straight Drive. Putt. Straight Drive Putt. ect, ect.
Other Thoughts: I had no plans to play disc golf during this time, but when I found there was a course I high tailed it to Hobbytown USA in Lexington to procure (at greater expense than normal) some discs, since the wife had removed my bag from the vehicle.

I played this, such as it was, during Ichthus festival. #1 was partially obstructed (but played as a nice dog leg left adding about 80 ft to the original layout). #3 and #4 were completely blocked.

# 8. Sure it's 165, but you're throwing down hill and underneath a tree. No ace for me. I tried three times.

#9 Tough lie on the slope toward the football pitch makes for interesting footwork for one's approach.

Overall, I had no problems with pedestians or soccer/football players. I think that one would soon get bored with this course and head towards (better, I understand) courses in Lexington.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Your Wind Game

5+    5/17/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 9 hole course is great for practicing drives (since there are very few obstacles) and especially for practicing your wind game. The park sits at the end of a very large open chunk of property with no wind break at all. This makes drives and putts more of a challenge.

The park is picturesque and very family friendly. There are beautiful stone benches on each hole. The tee signs are simple but effective. The bridge on Hole #2 is very nice.
Cons: The course has some issues. It was not designed well (which is a long story). It is not really ideal for any particular level of disc golfer.

Compounding the design issues, after the course was installed, a walking path was put in that runs through and along the middle of 7 of the 9 holes. This creates dangerous situations with walkers and bikers, especially on nice days. These bystander issues increase exponentially when there are soccer games, as one soccer field runs the length of the longest hole on the course.

In addition to these design flaws, if you hyzer (which new players almost all do), you run the risk of flying into a parking lot on one hole and over a fence on 3 other holes. Two of those holes have fences that are buried in thorns and thick schule, while the other fence guards a cow pasture. Since locals are tempted to bring new golfers here, this makes for a dangerous combination.

Another con is the lack of obstacles. There are literally only 2 trees that are on the course. There is a small creek that comes into play on only one hole. The most interesting obstacles are the park signs and port-a-pot on Hole #2.
Other Thoughts: This course is probably not best suited for beginning players. The wind and the length of the course (it is actually longer than it seems) make it less than ideal for true beginners. Combined with the hazards for extreme hyzers, I would recommened it for non-beginners who are developing into more advanced golfers and who need to work on their wind game. I would also not recommened it for advanced and pro players as it is pretty boring and too short for them.

To make this course more interesting, we have taken to playing the walking path as OB. With the wind, this makes this course far more technical than it would be otherwise.

My bottom line for this course is this: this course is the closest to my house (ten minutes closer than any other) and I do not play it very often, really only if I don't have the time to go somewhere else. If you are in the county, go to Mingo or Riney. However, if you are preparing for a windy tournament (Bowling Green, etc.) this is a good place to practice.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth the trip

1    12/12/2008   1/19/2009
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can't really name a pro...except maybe that it has potential. When I played in a local tournament there they expanded this to a 12 hole course. The 3 additional holes were really good.
Cons: The T-pads are the smallest teepads I've ever seen. They look like one section of sidewalk that the parks people just tractored in...they stick up about 3 inches so if you do a run up and slide your feet...you are tripping over yourself.

After the course went in, the parks decided to put in a paved walking trail. Now you have pedestrian traffic weaving thru some holes.

Hole #2 is basically a hyzer over a parking lot...which also has a port-a-potty between you and the basket. Try having some peace and quiet in there when a discs hits the door....scary.
Other Thoughts: This course has potential. It should be directed more towards a beginner park and shorten a few of the longer holes to put in the 18. There are some excellent places for tees and baskets that are away from the walking trails. Maybe the parks could spring for a few trees to plant as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Starter course

5+    12/12/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: tennissaxplaya
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 8/24/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open course is good for beginners and learning new shots. Good course for introducing new players to the game since there are not many obstacles. Good place to play 9 holes if you only have about 20-25 minutes. You do have a variety of shots with at least one long downhill hole (#1), one long uphill hole (#7), and one long hole with some obstacles such as a cow pasture and little kids playing soccer (#9). You do have to avoid 2 trees, but that is on the hole course (see cons). Hole #2 is probably my favorite hole because of the creek, and in the spring it is really pretty. (plus the portapotty can be fun to aim at.)
Cons: Once your game gets to a certain level, this course is not a great challenge. I feel fairly disappointed on a calm day if I do not shoot at least 27. The two biggest complaints with the course that I have are the openness (only two trees that are suppose to come into play, hole 1 and 8) and the wind. Some people may list the walking path as a con as well since many people use it for exercise and it may slow your game down. You are not required to dig deep into your bag since most of the shots are pretty straight forward.
Other Thoughts: Great place to introduce people to frisbee golf. A friend and I took a Saturday to experiment with possibly increasing the number of holes to 18. We used the land around the creek with the trees on the ichthus property and submitted a proposal to the powers that be. No word at this time, but it would add more character to the course. So if anyone knows somebody with some pull in Wilmore who could encourage the expansion, jump on the bandwagon.
***As of 8-24-11, holes 7, 8, and 9 have been moved. The old Hole 7 tee pad is obsolete now, and the tee is in close proximity to basket #6.( you have toback track about 50 feet) Hole 8 is just beyond basket 7, over the creek bed, and parallel to the main creek. Hole 8 is still a short hole.Then #9 tee is close to basket #3 on the other side of the walking path, with the basket being up past tee #1. For about 3 weeks, the holes had been moved, but were not as good as the originals, andthen they moved them to the current location. Hole 7 is a nice looking hole, but the tee my be in the throwing lane of many rhbh throwers for # 6. There is at least an obstacle with the creek bed on #8, but it is very straight forward. I like hole #9, with the uphill challenge and the distance, and the one tree, but it is going to be awful for traffic flow with #1, and the tee for #2. I appreciate it finishing by the parking lot, but we will have to see how challenging it is if the course is busy.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course!

1    12/13/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners, with only a handful of obstacles such as a small creek, walking path, and 2 large trees. Great place to learn Large Hyzers and Anhyzers, rollers, or just about any shot in the game. It's kind of like throwing in a field only with a purpose. Super nice Stone benches. No where to lose a disc unless it actually leaves the park.
Cons: Really small tee pads. They are only about 3-4 feet wide and maybe 6 feet long. However there is ample space to achieve a run up from behind the pad.
For Advanced and Pro's all but 1 or 2 holes should be a Deuce if thrown correctly.
Signs are very basic, only a hole number and length. However with the course as open as it is there is no real need for a description.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place if you are new to the sport. Not much of an elevation change, wide open fields with little to hit. Baskets are all installed on pretty flat surfaces. It is great place to learn shots for use at much more challenging courses. Also a great warm-up course for the Jessimine County Cup. After playing there I was ready for the challenge of Riney B that is less than 10 minutes away.
Not Worth the drive though for upper class disc golfers.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Frequent Player

5+    11/9/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: loledu
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quick and simple. Great for learning new discs. Always a tail and head wind.
Cons: Obstacles are few. However, if you want more of a challenge then play around 5-6pm. This is when the soccer field alongside hole 9 is in use.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy the course because it's close to school and works great for busy schedules. It's an excellent place for beginners because of the lack of obstacles.

Bought several new discs over the summer and played the course around 30 times in the past year. Think of it as a demo course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/15/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fairly advanced design for a course that doesn't utilize the usage of TREES. Decent neighborhood. Nice STONE BENCHES (maybe some of the nicest benches I've ever seen), NO TREES, NO WATER
Cons: NO TREES, NO WATER comes into play. I take that back, ONE TREE comes into play. can be very WINDY.

Nice clean port a john came into play, so if your inside doing your thing, you've been warned!!
Other Thoughts: Nice clean port a john. Watch speed when traveling through neighborhood as I saw a few future disc golfers riding their trikes in the street.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 pleasant

5+    8/1/2008   8/2/2008
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pleasant people and fields. Nice stone benches and signs at each hole. Well kept. Never crowded. Exceedingly easy to navigate, and a very nice gazebo near hole #1.
Cons: You can actually count the obstacles/challenges on this course. There are six, counting the two trees and the constant wind. The other three are: the port-a-potty in #2's fairway, a usually-dry drainage ditch, and the always-in-use walking path that interferes with 7 of the 9 holes. There is only one really long hole (which passes over a children's soccer field) and no technical shots. And tiny tee pads.
Other Thoughts: The absence of trees means much wind; I go here to work on putting and driving in the wind. On calm days, this is a good, quick, simple course on which to introduce people to disc golf. Not for pros; pretty decent for dates or family outings. (There is a nice playground next to the course.)

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.