Independence, MN 
Pioneer Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: tarzan612 Hole #1 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 155ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Unimaginative and dangerous

1    10/18/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: Craig639
Played: 212  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is one of the only disc golf courses in the area. There is signage, concrete tee pads, and mowed fairways. A pond and a little stream also come into play on a few holes. There is a little elevation and few trees that force throwers to hit a line. The course plays very fast if one is trying to squeeze in a quick round.
Cons: There are numerous dangerous hole designs. The basket on hole one is just beyond the tee pad for hole two. Several tee pads are too close to baskets. The holes themselves are very short and quite boring. No holes have any serious length.
Other Thoughts: I understand that there just isn't enough room for longer holes, but a proper design would eliminate the danger of possibly hitting any other disc golfers. This may not be an issue though as it looks like nobody plays the course. I feel sorry for any disc golfers who plays this course because it is their only option (lack of transportation). It's a shame that the course doesn't utilize the gigantic hill with the park benches on top (which I presume is for sledding). Other reviews note the new disc catcher baskets in their "pros". I don't believe this should be a "pro" as any actual basket is a "pro". It seems like this course is geared towards new disc golfers or families but the water hazards would deter newbs/families from playing it.
I wish the designer would have consulted with someone with any experience designing a course before pouring concrete tee pads, setting pins, and benches. Backtracking, throwing over other tee pads and fairways and the lack of holes where holes could be is very disappointing.
I would not recommend this course to any dg travelers.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected

2-4    9/12/2012   9/12/2012
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 204  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The landscaping is immaculate, I've never seen such a clean course
-Good hole diversity from using natural obstacles and elevation changes. Every hole feels different than the one before.
-The creek and little pond that run through the course are very easy to avoid and add a nice little touch that you don't see on 9-holers very often.
-Decent signage, tells # and distance but not direction
Cons: -From Tee 1 you will see 2 baskets in front of you, you will assume that 1 is the closer one, it is not, 1 is a wicked tight blind hook to the right, you will be throwing over tee 2 so be careful.
-The first 3 holes are cramped, the next tee is in the fairway, could be dangerous if busy.
- From hole 7 you have to backtrack down 7s fairway to the bridge by tee 6, not that big a deal but something to think about.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a nice course for an area that doesn't have too many.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/1/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: timj5304
Played: 102  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Our group of 7 played this one today as the sun was going down after a round/mini tourney at crown with 13 guys! We played at 810 til 9 and ran out of light but had fun throwing a ton of shots fast. Enjoyed that every single hole had concrete tee pads and a nice bench to sit on, a very clean park. Brand new discatcher baskets. Worth your time if your playing crown or baylor, empty beautiful park where you can play a round in 20 minutes I bet!
Cons: Bad flow to the course, hole #1 is flat out dangerous if anyone is on hole 2, you have to throw a sidearm over the teepad of 2. Teeing off on hole 3 your staring at 9's basket, turns out you need a different shot than you though.
Other Thoughts: I will play this one again, especially would be a fun night round. Our group has high standards and although they did not get met by the long shots they were met with nice baskets, teepad and park!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short course with some challenge

1    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: Rentadot
Played: 50  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees, brand new Disc Catcher baskets. Good course flow. Water comes into play on 4 holes, either the small pond or the namesake Pioneer Creek. Excellent use of existing trees, shrubs and creek as obstacles.

#1 is a blind hole - basket is to the right just past the #2 tee, slightly downhill.

#2is fairly straight-forward with a very slight incline

#3 is another blind hole, basket to the right of visible #9 basket

#4 brings the pond into play to the left

#5 follows around the pond and also adds the creek for a narrow approach alley

#6 is another blind tee with the basket guarded by a group of evergreens

#7 is on a narrow point between bends of the creek

#8 uses the pond on the left and a large oak to create a narrow approach lane

#9 is slightly uphill, but otherwise straight-away.
Cons: A desciptive pictogram on the tee markers would remove some confusion on targets - my old eyes couldn't see the hand-written 9 on the basket visible from the second tee.

#7 - low-lying ground between the tee and basket was ankle deep muck this morning

Think hard before venturing into the creek to retrieve errant shots: it is MUCH deeper than you would think for such a winding little creek (~5-6 feet!)
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area and want to throw a quick 9, this is one not to miss. Some holes require shot-shaping even though they are short.

My second visit made me wonder why I didn't metion the extremely narrow approaches on holes 4-7...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lake area needed a course

2-4    6/27/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 333  Reviewed: 331  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice Innova Discatcher baskets
-Cement tees which are big enough for the distance needed here
-Signs with hole number and distance as well as numbers on the baskets make navigation not too bad.
-4 is the signature hole with a small landing pad on a peninsula over water. Trees and bushes on the left make a safe landing hard as well.
-This park doesn't look to get a lot of use so you probably won't have to worry about the flow issues listed in the cons section and you will probably have a peaceful round.
-Adequate parking and a bathroom closer to the entrance.
-Good for a quick round or two as long as you keep your discs out of the water.
Cons: -The flow isn't the greatest;
You can see 9's basket when on 3's tee
Walking to 4's basket could get you killed by someone on 9
A long walk back to hole 8's tee from 7's basket
-Could lose a disc on a few holes. I lost one on 5 but the creek is unusually high right now. If anybody finds a Z wasp on hole 5 enjoy or pm me for return info and a reward.
-This course is partially a beginner course and partially a very hard course. It is an awkward mix that might turn away good and bad players alike. I wouldn't want many beginners to try hole 4 and I imagine there are already quite a few discs in that dirty pond.
-The rough is rough and the bugs are mean! Especially the horse flys.
-Is in a lower area so if wet the stream will be moving fast and it might be soggy in areas.
Other Thoughts: As I have said, this course is pretty good. It is a mix of easy holes and some that are very challenging. If you are a good player you might come and have fun on a few holes and be bored on the others and if you are an average player you might come and be scared on some holes and have fun on the others. I would recommend this course because it is the only one in this immediate area and it is pretty unique. Be careful on hole 4!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 pitch-n-putt

5+    5/22/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: Double Helix
Played: 102  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, nice benches, tee signs and brand new Innova disc catchers on each hole. Quiet, well manicured park.
Cons: Short, sometimes to the extreme. Teeing off on #1 could get someone hurt if a group is in #2 tee pad, but park is so under-used that it probably won't happen.
Other Thoughts: Don;t make a special trip to play this, but if you're there play it. #'s 3, 7 and 9 are actually challenging and the new disc catchers make it worth a good short-game tester.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Not sure who this course is designed for

5+    4/11/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: newaha
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, benches on every hole, concrete pads, I've been the only person there every time I've gone.
Cons: No maps on signs, poor course design, no holes over 300ft, water very close to some pins.
Other Thoughts: The course is designed in such a way that the best line to the #1 pin goes over the tee-pad for #2, and the walk from #3 pin to #4 pad goes down the fairway for #9 coming back the other way. Luckily I have never seen another human here, so its really not an issue.

Water: there's a pretty sizable pond on the left side of #4 that does't leave much room for error, since the pin is ~15 ft from water in 3 directions. The same pond is also on the left side of 8 coming back, so errant backhands have a high chance of being lost. And to get from hole #7 to #8 you have to walk back through the #7 fairway about 200 yards since there is only one bridge that spans the creek. There are a few holes were you could conceivably go in the creek but its only 4-5 feet wide and no more than a foot deep so not a big deal.

It seems like there's a lot of room in this park, so I'm not sure why they laid it out the way they did, but the park is new, so maybe they're looking into it. There are a few moderately difficult shots, but overall this is a short, flat, mostly wide open easy course, if you're in the area check it out, but I wouldn't go out of my way to play here. I'd give it a 2, but its always empty and the equipment is nice, so I'll go 2.5.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.