Lancaster, PA 
D. F. Buchmiller Park Share
Uploaded By: coolkid32901 Hole #5
3 / 341ft.   3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
worth checking out!

1    5/9/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful scenic park in lancaster, PA!
i was there the day before a tourney, so there were OB flags EVERYWHERE. playing the course with all the mandos and OB made for a pleasantly challenging experience!
very few "long" holes. there are some downhill shots that "appear" long, but it turns out a putter/midrange will float that far.
conversely, some of the uphill holes look close but play FAR.
i liked how the rough/ob areas were not tangled webs of impenetrable branches and pricklies!
also NO ONE else playing course on a friday mid day. and only came across a sole other park goer.
elevation change is always a plus in my book, and this place HAD IT :)
Cons: minus the OBs, the course would really be rather easy and much much less challenging.
you will need to download/printout the layout or you are in TROUBLE when it comes to navigation.
some holes had 2nd baskets, which can be confusing, especially on blind holes.
am not sure a single tee sign is accurate distance wise :(
Other Thoughts: really interesting tourney layout. otherwise it is a very nice beginner/amateur course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Back to My Hometown

1    4/25/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: obi1keno
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course consisted of 18 holes in a beautiful park in Lancaster, PA. I really enjoyed the long bombs you got to throw on some of the holes (like 5, 7 and especially 18). There are also some nice technical holes thru the trees.

The tees are in excellent condition! They are big, and concrete! I have yet to play a course with better tees than these and frankly that makes a huge difference.

The course wasn't too crowded for a nice Friday afternoon. There were a couple players out there with a handful of discs just practicing. All of them politely let me play thru. Honestly if I lived closer, I'd be doing the same thing. There are no muddy areas and the grass is in very good condition.

The course is a smaller 18 holes, so you should be able to hammer in a round within an hour or so if it is just 1 or two of you.

Don't be afraid to send your group-mates ahead on some of the holes that turn in the wooded areas (such as 9 and/or 12) so you don't lose your disc.
Cons: As you have already read, some holes are very close to the main road, and the main road is super busy. You'd practically be crazy to throw a backhand hyser on Hole #3. I read some complaints about Hole #13 as well, but frankly the road there is in the park and the cars traveling on it are few and far between. You rarely have to worry about clubbing a car coming at you at 45 mph.

I also had some difficulty finding my way from tee to tee and finding the holes. I didn't find the tee signs helpful at all. The walk form 8 to 9 was especially confusing because you walk past the tee for 11 and the hole for 10 on the way to #9 tee.

Finally, while all holes are marked as having 2 baskets, I was only able to find them on a handful of holes. So either the second basket isn't there for some reason, or it's darn near impossible to find (probably led to my difficulty in reading the tee signs since the sign showed 2 holes, but I could only find one).
Other Thoughts: I grew up in Lancaster, PA 25 years ago. I wish the sport had been around then because I would have been there every other day. The course is literally just miles from the house where I grew up. The park is well maintained and safe. The course is just outside of and south of the city so if you're driving south thru the city, don't be frightened because the course will not be that scary.

I did have some trouble finding the first tee/hole. If you are coming into the park off of Rt 72, then drive your way thru the park until yo get to an intersection where you must turn either left or right. Turn left and immediately park on the left. Right smack in front of you will be the first tee! Happy discing!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Park Course

1    8/2/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: jbetz45453
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located in a nice park. Nice mix of wooded and open holes. Concrete tee pads.
Cons: All hole signs show two baskets on each hole but most only had 1 when I was there.
Some holes are really close to the road especially number 13.
Other Thoughts: Was a nice course and in good shape when I was there. Most of the holes are not real long which makes it good for newer players. Not close to home but would play there again if I am in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Throw In A Beautiful City Park!

1    7/18/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buchmiller Park is a lovely green city park with rolling hills, lots of mature trees and acres of lush green grass, just about a perfect environment for disc golf course. The multi-use park features everything you would expect here. I spent a few minutes watching a group playing pickleball, one of my favorites.

I played early on a perfect July morning so the park and course were both relatively empty. The course features nice, extra long concrete tee pads and great, vandal proof colored tee signs. There was a kiosk at the beginning but it had no information about disc golf on it.

Each long had at least two tee positions. I played from the shorts which played as just a perfect little recreational length course. Holes 12,14 and 15 were cool little ACE runs bunched in a group. I really enjoyed # 8 and it's lovely little natural fairway.

Superb use of the elevation. Nice mix between open and more technical wooded holes. This course, even from the shorts, gives you opportunities to throw every shot in your arsenal.
Cons: Very few, IMO.

From the short pads, holes starting to blend together. A lot of 250'-300' with a hyser. But this could easily be fixed by playing from the longs.

A couple of the concrete pads sloping uphill. A personal pet peeve of mine.

Not quite challenging enough for some.
Other Thoughts: D.F. Buchmiller would be about the perfect home course for many of us Rec types. This is a course that I could see myself playing in a stress free environment over and over. You're not worrying about losing discs in the thick underbrush or down that steep embankment or in the water. It's just a really fun, easy, walk in the park, type of day spent disc golfin!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very Pleasant Park

2-4    7/28/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 44  Reviewed: 16
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pretty, well kept park makes for a nice walk during your round

-Good mix of shot shapes and elevation. I felt that most shots a person would throw (with the exception of the 450' bomb) were represented on this course. The use of elevation was excellent and made the round much more interesting.

-Tees were in great shape and the signage was thorough and informative.

-The wooded holes that were sprinkled had well defined fairways and were a nice change of pace.

-Hole 18 was a nice way to finish a round. Big sweeping hyzer from an elevated tee that you can empty your bag on.
Cons: -Hole 13 presented a bit of a safety concern for me as the easiest route for a rhbh player would be to throw a spike hyzer up the hill and over the road. As the pin is at the crest of a hill and the pin below it you can't see oncoming cars from the tee.
-Lots of non discgolfer's near fairways the last time i played which isn't a big con but requires caution on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I have really enjoyed my rounds here at buchmiller, pleasant is the first word that comes to mind to describe it. The layout is well done and none of the holes feel boring or like filler holes. It isn't overly challenging and even with the long pins the course is pretty short, but I think its about as well done as a true par 54 golf course can be. If you're an intermediate player you can come and enjoy challenging par and if you're an advanced player you can certainly get it in the forties here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

D.F. Buchmiller Park

5+    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: globe
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2013
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -- Located in a beautiful park
-- Navigation is relatively easy
-- Great flow: you never find yourself retracing your steps or throwing the same shot over and over
-- Good for a quick, fun, relaxing round
-- Forgiving to beginners (while still challenging them to shape different shots)
-- ace runs!
-- signage, baskets, and tee pads are all solid
Cons: I don't like to nitpick. I think this is a great course, although advanced players may not find it challenging enough, especially if they are looking to bomb some drives or prefer a tight, technical, wooded course.

If I had one complaint, it is that it would be nice if all of the holes had a permanent alternate basket (some are permanent, some have one basket that is moved occasionally).
Other Thoughts: Buchmiller was my favorite course when I lived in Lancaster, and I still try to play it whenever I'm in the area. It's not the most challenging course--there aren't any really long holes or tight tunnel shots, and on many holes you can let your drive get away from you and still make a pretty routine par--but you do need to throw a variety of shots, and the elevation change keeps it interesting.

Advanced players will find themselves trying to birdie (or ace) every hole. Beginners will be able to enjoy learning the game without feeling overwhelmed.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for the Win!

1    9/22/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: el_duder
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee Pad: Nice concrete pads
-Layout: Good use of the terrain, some nice elevation changes, good use of woods/trees as obstacles, no two holes felt the same.
-Maintenance/Facilities: Bathrooms available, water available, picnic tables, well maintained fairways. Course was very clean too.
Cons: -Safety: Holes 3, 6, and 13 run along roads with a good risk for an errant throw going into traffic, it's especially dangerous on 3 as that is a busy road. Not much can be done about this so keep an eye out for cars and send a spotter on 13 before throwing.
-Baskets/Tee Signs: Not a major con as the baskets are generally in good condition but some could use numbers painted on them and the tee signs could use a little updating. The long pins could be better identified. Kind of nit picky but it would help first timers and out-of-towners.
Other Thoughts: Buchmiller was a blast to play! It's a beginner friendly course so it might not offer a great challenge to experienced golfers but it does offer a good time to all golfers. If you do want more of a challenge there are long pins on several holes. We had a nice morning round and saw a few locals out, one was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction to the next tee on the two occasions we needed it. The course did seem to have a slight RHBH bias but not to the point were lefties would get frustrated.

Overall, this is a nice park with a very fun disc golf course. I recommend playing it and we'll definitely look to hit this course up whenever we're in the area!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    5/9/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice mix of elevation with a variety of open fields, with wooded "roughs".

If you're accurate off the tee, you'll have a nice walk though the park!

This course is very good for beginners! It's not short enough to be boring, and it's not long enough to intimidate any beginner or child.

Many holes are great "ace run" practice for the advanced and pros.

If you're playing solo - you can zip through the round in an hour.

All teepads are concrete - and teesigns are are accurate with distance, and shrubbery.

Always very well groomed. In all the times ive played, i never remember any "hayfields", so get some practice with your rollers!

Water fountain on the back nine!

Navigation is a snap, and parking has never been an issue in the years i've played there.
Cons: As with every "multi-activity" park in the summer time, the non disc golfers will wander onto the front 9 fairways. Be patient, they are enjoying the park just as we are. give em a courtesy shout.

Two holes come a close to the main road (heavy traffic...seemingly endless) It's not an issue unless you're prone to shanking. It's really just the constant sound of cars that gets to me.

The walk from 9 to 10 and 15 -16 is a bit long when compared to the rest of the course - but it isn't obscene. Trust me - i've walked some obscene distances from one hole to another - but if you're a "first-timer" just follow your nose.

There's no benches. But it's also not long course. A minor ding - I know.

If youve never been to the course, just keep your eyes peeled for the turn into the park! it can come up fast with no warning. that that isnt the course's fault.
Other Thoughts: Truly a lancaster gem. I've started many beginners on this exact course that have moved onto competative play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An enjoyable experience

1    3/30/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: softball29
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I absolutely loved this course. It was a pretty solid layout. Very easy to follow. And pretty straight forward. Some thoughts.

- Easy to navigate. Even with some holed having more than one basket, it was easy to see what you were doing. Good tee signs.

- Nice layout. The course featured a bunch of different holes and shots. Not everything was the same. Only a few "big arm" holes, but many holes that made you work some.

- Elevation. Though not a ton of elevation changes, it was well done enough so that there was a challenge. A couple of cool holes where you had to go up or down. Nicely done.

- Pretty layout. There are some really nice holes with some nice looking views of the park. It does a nice job showing off the park a bit.

- Flows nice. There were a lot of people there the night we went and everything flowed very well.
Cons: There weren't many cons. A couple small things.

- Some of the baskets were a little worn and could use a little TLC. But overall not bad.

- Second baskets. We played the short baskets, but could see where if you were playing the longer baskets, it could have been slightly confusing.
Other Thoughts: This course was one we were hoping to play during our trip to the area. We played 18 in about 1:15-1:30, which was really nice. I love a quick course that flows well and this was it.

The overall atmosphere of the course seemed relaxed and that was really nice. I enjoyed this course a ton and would definitely play it again when in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A walk in the park with discs

5+    1/23/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: jonmcd
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course. I learned to play here. It is a great place to learn. Experienced ams will enjoy building their confidence with birdie runs. Most pros will be able to get to the majority of the baskets off the tee and get to go for those big, double-digit under rounds. Relatively open with lots of mature trees to keep things interesting. Spacious concrete tees are a plus. 2 pin positions on most holes. 3 placements for #9. Don't miss the long, long on 9...one of the more challenging 3s on the course. Permanently placed long baskets on 2, 6, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, & 16. The other ones move a few times per year. Family and dog friendly.
Cons: Watch out for picnickers! And remember to be nice, they probably don't know they are in your fairway. Some of the long baskets are in positions that are not on the signs as the signs are pretty old and there have been some changes. 9 doesn't have the super-long placement marked. It is about 50-60 feet behind the 2nd position. 11 long is off to the right, near the road, not off to the left. 15 long is straight ahead with the parking lot behind it. 17 has 3 positions. The third one is not marked. It is down the hill to the right. Hope that helps. After 15, follow the road downhill to 16 tee. Beware the burn hazel.
Other Thoughts: This is a popular course so it's easy to find people to play with, but there are also some traffic jams. Local club holds regular events here. If you're coming from out of town combine with Roland Park in Akron for a great day trip.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center