Lancaster, PA 
D. F. Buchmiller Park Share
Uploaded By: coolkid32901 Hole #5
3 / 341ft.   3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 birdies galore!

2-4    4/27/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: disc gopher
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: D.F. Buchmiller is a great little course to go out and just have fun at. For the more advanced player this course may not be a challenge but it's a very short play (took me, solo, about an hour and a half to play) and the course flows from hole to hole very nicely. theres deuces to be had on each and every hole on this course. This makes it a great confidence booster. Most holes can be easily played with a hyzer for both righties and lefties. As other reviewers have already said, this course is beautiful due to its excellent maintenance and plethora of mature trees and shrubbery.
Cons: this course doesn't require many different shots. I used mids for most of the round. So it won't help you work on distance driving at all with the exception of 18. My biggest gripe with D.F. buchmiller is that it's a multi-use park so there are people on the fairways often times. Also, IMO, hole 1 was not safe. there's a playground directly on the left side of the fairway. While I was there some poor noob almost hit a kid due to an errant drive. Also, on the back 9, off the fairways there was some stinging nettle.
Other Thoughts: This is a great little course overall. Very easy to shoot under par and an awesome place to boost your confidence and work on longer midrange drives.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course in Suburban Park

1    5/1/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two pin positions per hole. Concrete tees. Well maintained lawn. Very nice blend of elevation changes, turns, and tightness - moderate across all three categories. Bathrooms at site, not far from food/petrol.
Cons:
Single-chain baskets. Tee signs doesn't indicate current position. Tee #11 "misaligned" from basket location. Number 17 didn't have a basket. A few baskets near road.
Other Thoughts:
Courses is set on the gently rolling grounds of a public park containing many copses of large hardwoods, and bordered by a small forest. Holes 1-8, 16-18 play through/around the groupings of trees, or the fairways defined by them, while 9-15 play in, out, or along the woods bordering the open space. A few flat holes, but most incorporate some minor change in elevation - only short holes #12 (open and up) and #13 (down and through trees) have major changes. More left/straight holes than right - about a 40/40/20 ratio. Stays away from other park facilities (picnic tables, playground, etc), but you never know when someone might decide that "your" fairway is a perfect place to pitch a blanket or have a ballgame!

Suitable for many levels of players. Beginners should enjoy the course, although there is some chance of disc loss on some holes - 9-14, primarily, which have woods/brush along the leftside. Quite appropriate for intermediate players - decent distances and fairways. Advancing players throwing well should plenty of birdy of opportunities, but no freebies.

Navigation was fairly simple and straightforward, as most tees are near, but not too close, to the previous basket. Note: After finishing #8, cross the road and find tee #9 on the far side of the pavilion. The teesign for #11 indicated the basket was straight or slightly left, but it actually was in a far right position the day we played, about a 45-degree angle from the tee, near the road. After finishing #15, go left and down the road a bit, finding tee #16 to your right.

Favourite hole #18: Longest hole at over 400'. Slightly-down-then-up blind left-turner. Cut the corner too soon and you'll find the edge of a forest, straight but too low will find the tops of small trees, too long/too right will find the branches of the larger trees in the background - challenging but fair flightpath to hit.

Played four courses in the greater Lancaster-area in one day, and this was the best one - certainly worth a visit if in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Much fun

2-4    8/11/2008   11/11/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As the risk of repeating what others have said---

It's a beautiful park, rolling hills, well-mown grass, mature trees. Most holes use elevation in some way, and have enough trees so you have to shape your shot. Some holes suitable for rollers, with the excellent grassy surface. Some holes have thick underbrush if you miss the fairway, but others have none at all.

A lot of this course rewards 300' accurate throws for birdie opportunities. Otherwise, a lot of 3s.

Refreshing variety of holes, if not lengths; no 2 holes are the same.
Cons: One hole (14? 15?) tees off from up high through a very narrow gap, to a blind basket placement far below. If you miss the gap and hit a tree, you might be searching the steep hillside, or throwing from a really poor lie.

One hole with very heavy traffic running parallel to the fairway. I'd imagine a few errant throws end up in traffic.
Other Thoughts: The setting and variety make this a lot of fun. Not long or tough, won't wear you out. Players of a wide range of skill levels should enjoy this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Buchmiller

1    11/6/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: Joe Hollywood
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park. Holes lengths are long enough to make it fun but not too long to where you have to put all you force into your drvies. The tee off boxes are concrete and are long, which give you good room for run ups. The signs are clearly understood and the course is relatively easy to navigate. There are one or two spots that you might have to look around for the next tee off, but it's not too bad. There are also alternative hole locations for each hole.
Cons: On hole 3 your beside the main road and your disc flys parallel to the road. If you have a bad throw or catch a crazy cross wind you could be playing frogger. And hole 5 is located between hole 2 and 4, all of which run parallel to each other and are a little cramped. If others are playing it could be a little congested. Hole 9 is a little hard to find (its on the other side of the pavillion). Hole 16 is a little hard to find as well (from hole 15 go left down the road...you'll see it on the right side of the road). The baskets only have one set of chains and look a little aged.
Other Thoughts: This park was easy to find and is clean and well kept. It is a nice course with great flow to it. I had a very bad game on a windy day but that won't stop me from going back. I definately want to play this course again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    8/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very pretty course that lies in Buchmiller Park outside the city of lancaster. This course is very easy to find as it is right off of 222 heading out of the city. My friends and I played this course early in the morning and ran into no other disc golfers. We had problems finding the first tee as there were numerous parking lots and no directional signs for disc golf. The layout on the front nine was pretty as the holes flow through some big trees that carve out fairways. Numbers 5 and 8 are beautiful in that you have an elevated tee that looks down upon the hole. The front nine is extremely open and it would be difficult to lose a disc. Yes, there may be some large trees to knock a disc down, but nowhere to really lose one. Holes 12-15 are the most interesting and fun on the course. They are not the longest, but they give you really good chances at possibly acing a hole or getting close. These holes also make you use different types of hyzers and move your disc around. 18 was a nice hole to finish on. It is a long drive that wraps around a large section of trees to an open hole back in the corner. This course was a fun course to play that I would definitely play again if I'm in the area. As always, this is like any course that you will play better the second time since you will know where you're going. This park was very well maintained and had pretty landscape. The tees were concrete and had really nice signs with a picture of the hole and the distance.
Cons: There is hardly any postage as to where the next hole is. As recent reviews have stated, there are not a lot of signs to tell you where the tee is, and many times, the baskets were not in the position the sign said they were in. Numbers 9 and 11 I believe were sharing a basket, and I don't really think that the basket they were sharing, was the one that it was originally supposed to be in. The biggest complaint that we had with this course was poor markings and direction. I know it's a small thing, but I do always like to have a scorecard, and they did not have any.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun play that my friends and I would do again. We felt challenged enough to make pars on the holes, and we still feel like we could have done a lot better. The park had an old philadelphia feel to it and I really enjoyed how the holes were shaped out by the trees lining the fairways and the natural beauty of the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old Green Short but Fun!

1    4/12/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very well maintained course with concrete tees, multiple pins, signs, generally easy to navigate, beginner friendly but still fun for experts, nice fairways with a moderate feel....that is very moderate hills, moderate trees, and moderate challenge. Will not frustrate you but won't bore you either. Hole 18 is a fun hole driving downhill and then approaching uphill. Short holes are fun birdie-ace runs that require some skill. Hole 14 is a very technical hole shooting down a tight lane to a wooded hollow. Hole13 is a short dart uphill. Hole 7 has a nice elevated green area after a gentle drive uphill.A very nice city park and a pleasant setting for a round of disc golf. Not too many chances to lose a disc.
Cons: Nothing really stands out here. It's too short to provide any real challenge. Prior reviews were on point when stating many holes are unrealistic to birdie and equally unrealistic to bogey. Thus a scoring spread amongst different levels of players does not exist here. I played on Easter Sunday, many people who had no concept of disc golf had set up picnics in the middle of the fairways and used the tees as home base for cookout activities. Ugh! The holes are close to one another, especially on the first 6 holes. Busy Highway along hole 3 and hole 13 which is fun is spoiled by the park road running along the entire right fairway with a blind chance to hit a car coming over the hill. I got lost once trying to find tee 9...its across the street and behind the pavillion.
Other Thoughts: Despite the course having many shortcomings there still is much fun to be had here. Not a destination course in any manner but a fine course for locals. The basics are here...concrete tees, navigatability, ease of flow, etc. If the course was lengthened it would be too dangerous/reckless for it's current setting so it is an appropriate size for it's current locale. Lancaster is not a very nice city..it has some rough areas especially on Rt. 222 your way into the park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simultaneously aging and being improved?

1    2/27/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alternate pins on many holes, though only one at a time. A really pretty park setting, with well groomed fairways. Plenty of shot variety, trees, elevation. 14 especially has great pin placement in the woods, and 18 is a downhill-then-uphill beaut.
Cons: No alternate tees for rec players. Much of the signage seems outdated. Chains are getting old. Seems like most of the holes are "tweeners" - hard to get birdie, possibly harder to get bogey.
Other Thoughts: Played in February, so I don't know what park traffic is like. Seems like people shouldn't get in the way too much. It really is pretty here. And because of the outdated signs, I take that to mean that they're improving the course regularly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.