Lancaster, PA
D. F. Buchmiller Park Share
Uploaded By: coolkid32901 Hole #9
3 / 216ft.   3 / 331ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice Park Course

1    8/2/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: jbetz45453
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located in a nice park. Nice mix of wooded and open holes. Concrete tee pads.
Cons: All hole signs show two baskets on each hole but most only had 1 when I was there.
Some holes are really close to the road especially number 13.
Other Thoughts: Was a nice course and in good shape when I was there. Most of the holes are not real long which makes it good for newer players. Not close to home but would play there again if I am in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Pleasant Park

2-4    7/28/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 36  Reviewed: 15
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pretty, well kept park makes for a nice walk during your round

-Good mix of shot shapes and elevation. I felt that most shots a person would throw (with the exception of the 450' bomb) were represented on this course. The use of elevation was excellent and made the round much more interesting.

-Tees were in great shape and the signage was thorough and informative.

-The wooded holes that were sprinkled had well defined fairways and were a nice change of pace.

-Hole 18 was a nice way to finish a round. Big sweeping hyzer from an elevated tee that you can empty your bag on.
Cons: -Hole 13 presented a bit of a safety concern for me as the easiest route for a rhbh player would be to throw a spike hyzer up the hill and over the road. As the pin is at the crest of a hill and the pin below it you can't see oncoming cars from the tee.
-Lots of non discgolfer's near fairways the last time i played which isn't a big con but requires caution on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I have really enjoyed my rounds here at buchmiller, pleasant is the first word that comes to mind to describe it. The layout is well done and none of the holes feel boring or like filler holes. It isn't overly challenging and even with the long pins the course is pretty short, but I think its about as well done as a true par 54 golf course can be. If you're an intermediate player you can come and enjoy challenging par and if you're an advanced player you can certainly get it in the forties here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun for the Win!

1    9/22/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: el_duder
Played: 32  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee Pad: Nice concrete pads
-Layout: Good use of the terrain, some nice elevation changes, good use of woods/trees as obstacles, no two holes felt the same.
-Maintenance/Facilities: Bathrooms available, water available, picnic tables, well maintained fairways. Course was very clean too.
Cons: -Safety: Holes 3, 6, and 13 run along roads with a good risk for an errant throw going into traffic, it's especially dangerous on 3 as that is a busy road. Not much can be done about this so keep an eye out for cars and send a spotter on 13 before throwing.
-Baskets/Tee Signs: Not a major con as the baskets are generally in good condition but some could use numbers painted on them and the tee signs could use a little updating. The long pins could be better identified. Kind of nit picky but it would help first timers and out-of-towners.
Other Thoughts: Buchmiller was a blast to play! It's a beginner friendly course so it might not offer a great challenge to experienced golfers but it does offer a good time to all golfers. If you do want more of a challenge there are long pins on several holes. We had a nice morning round and saw a few locals out, one was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction to the next tee on the two occasions we needed it. The course did seem to have a slight RHBH bias but not to the point were lefties would get frustrated.

Overall, this is a nice park with a very fun disc golf course. I recommend playing it and we'll definitely look to hit this course up whenever we're in the area!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    5/9/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice mix of elevation with a variety of open fields, with wooded "roughs".

If you're accurate off the tee, you'll have a nice walk though the park!

This course is very good for beginners! It's not short enough to be boring, and it's not long enough to intimidate any beginner or child.

Many holes are great "ace run" practice for the advanced and pros.

If you're playing solo - you can zip through the round in an hour.

All teepads are concrete - and teesigns are are accurate with distance, and shrubbery.

Always very well groomed. In all the times ive played, i never remember any "hayfields", so get some practice with your rollers!

Water fountain on the back nine!

Navigation is a snap, and parking has never been an issue in the years i've played there.
Cons: As with every "multi-activity" park in the summer time, the non disc golfers will wander onto the front 9 fairways. Be patient, they are enjoying the park just as we are. give em a courtesy shout.

Two holes come a close to the main road (heavy traffic...seemingly endless) It's not an issue unless you're prone to shanking. It's really just the constant sound of cars that gets to me.

The walk from 9 to 10 and 15 -16 is a bit long when compared to the rest of the course - but it isn't obscene. Trust me - i've walked some obscene distances from one hole to another - but if you're a "first-timer" just follow your nose.

There's no benches. But it's also not long course. A minor ding - I know.

If youve never been to the course, just keep your eyes peeled for the turn into the park! it can come up fast with no warning. that that isnt the course's fault.
Other Thoughts: Truly a lancaster gem. I've started many beginners on this exact course that have moved onto competative play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Family Park

1    8/21/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses elevation change and out of bounds areas to its advantage. The tee pads and signs are very nice. The fairways themselves are extremely well manicured. The park sits in a hidden area off a main road just outside Lancaster. Very beautiful park with many amenities. More of a technical shot course with maybe one or two big arm tee offs. Course will require one to throw many different shots that will require some point of accuracy. It has alternate pin locations for longer/shorter games. Course is extremely beginner friendly and intermediate to advanced players will have a blast hitting birdies and possible ace runs.
Cons: Single Chain Baskets with very shallow catcher will cause putts to fall out or not stick. The tee signs are slightly faded but still alright. Some holes play very close to others but not to bad for the most part. Other than that, i really cant think of other cons.
Other Thoughts: This course is PERFECT to bring the entire family out for the day. Plenty of area for picnicking, water, bathrooms, pavilions and of course Disc Golf! Like i said earlier, very nice course for individuals just getting into the sport. Not very intimidating for a first timer and will more likely enjoy the experience and get them hooked :) I thoroughly enjoyed playing this course and will be returning with friends to play it again. Great job to the Lancaster guys that made it happen! Keep up the good work!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Pleasant Experience

1    8/22/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in a nice, family-oriented park on the outskirts of Lancaster. A couple of peeks into the woods, but mostly open, well-manicured course with defined fairways and mature trees to challenge you throughout. Rolling hills and elevation a big plus and add nicely to the experience. Colored signs at each hole indicate number, distance and desired flight path. Navigation very easy and course has good, natural flow. Cement tee pads are oversized and more than sufficient. About half the holes have both a long and short basket placement.
Cons: Many of the baskets have shallow catches and/or single chains which hurt me on several occasions, spitting out perfectly good putts. Most of the basket numbers are missing or worn off. Course will not appeal to those who prefer great distance, as most holes are in the 250-350 range. Some holes play close to each other so be careful.
Other Thoughts: Buchmiller presents a very enjoyable play- manageable for all skill levels, and you'd be hard pressed to find anyone who dislikes the course. Though good for tournaments, it is an ideal place to introduce someone to the sport, play a casual round or work on rollers, flicks, etc. The local club has worked hard to improve and enhance the Lancaster-area courses. Do yourself a favor and play here before taking on the challenge of playing the considerably more difficult Roland Park across town.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    3/16/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: JJantzi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A variety of shots and paths for each hole. Good course for learning the basics of a shot. Cement tees are very nice and yellow signs are relatively clear where the pin is. Park is maintained year round by the county.
Cons: Alternate pins are changed erratically. Definitively some tweener holes especially hole 7 alternative pin. Relatively short course, can bird almost all holes with a mid and a putter. Is a county park so anyone and their grandmother come out on nice days to walk and picnic in the fairways. Single chain baskets with rust. Getting out of parking lot onto the highway is tricky.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 is a very good hole to end on and often me and my friends empty out our bags multiple times on the tee to try and birdie it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 An Enjoyable Park Course

5+    10/18/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buchmiller Park is a very nice park easily accessible just south of Lancaster, PA. I really enjoy playing here...it's simply a nice park with small rolling hills and mature trees, and you're walking on decent grass almost the entire round.

Although outdated by newer champion level courses, I've come to appreciate the layout more and more as I've improved to an advanced am golfer. Most holes play between 225' and 275' with an elevation change and some trees, one or two of which makes a specific challenge. I disagree with the reviews stating that too many holes are too hard to birdie, yet unlikely to bogey. If you can throw your mid-range discs around 250' and your drivers a little farther, you'll be attacking the "regular"-position pin from the tee on 15 holes (all except 3, 7, and maybe 18). This course actually should fit blue-level players very well, although I can see design issues for other skill levels.

The course has three really enjoyable open downhill holes. #5 is a little over 300' and allows you to throw down the sloping hillside at a pin on a mound on the right. #11 is similar but the pin is nestled in a grove of evergreen trees, with which you must contend at the end of the disc's flight. #18 is longer than 400' and allows you to launch a driver down the hill and let it bend left with the fairway to approach the basket as you make your way back up toward the parking lot. Each of the other holes is unique and usually finds an interesting and fair way to force you to "make a shot" around one or two trees.

The park seems to be kept up very well, and some people have helped mulch and install helpful stone steps in a couple places relatively recently.
Cons: There are a couple spots on the course that present some danger to other users of the park. On #13, a park road runs to the right, and drivers could come quickly and blindly over the hill. On #18, it's really fun to launch a drive, but it's possible someone unseen could be hidden from view where the drive lands. There's a pavilion nearby, and groups often spill over into the (hidden) landing area of a 350'-400' downhill drive on hole 18.

It's still a 1990's Par 3 course, and space limitations will probably keep it that way. However it does appear someone's working to make some of the holes more challenging.

Baskets have only a single layer of chains.
Other Thoughts: There seems to be some experimentation with new and different pin positions on #9 and #11, so double-check because the tee signs could be old. The new (2nd) alternate basket is 50-100' past the old one on #9, and the new alternate basket on #11 is to the right of the regular basket out in the open (the sign does not reflect this). Otherwise, check the pin position document on the bulletin board, and the tee signs should be a good guide.

With the grass and trees and hills, this course really brings out the joy of sending a disc flying through the air! I'd be happy to Buchmiller as my home course, even if it's not quite championship caliber. Installing three pin positions Pittsburgh-style around a green could instantly refresh the course and allow for some design tweaking.

If you're playing without anyone else in the park (for safety/park etiquette), this course lends itself to an awesome gold/blue-level safari course. Here's how I play it:
1) 1 Tee to 2 Basket, Par 4, 565 ft
2) 3 Tee to 7 Basket, Par 3, 310 ft
3) 4 Tee to 5 Basket, Par 4, 560 ft
4) 6 Tee to 3 Basket, Par 5, 580 ft
5) 8 Tee to 10 Basket, Par 4, 555 ft
6) 11 Tee to 12 Basket, Par 4, 540 ft
7) 13 Tee to 14 Basket, Par 4, 420 ft
8) 15 Tee to 18 Basket, Par 3/4, 250/400 ft
9) 16 Tee to 17 Basket, Par 4, 420 ft
10) 18 Tee to 14 Basket, Par 4, 495 ft

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Aging Gracefully

5+    5/30/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: Neophyte
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is always incredibly well maintained. There is great use of elevation on this course and a good mix of wooded open holes. I would say that this course caters to a RHBH or LHFH dominate player because most of the fairways are pretty straight or require a left fade. I do not see this as a negative because it requires me to work on that aspect of my game and allows me to see the progress I am making.
For me the 18th hole is my favorite and it is also a great measuring stick for the progress of my BH. When I first started playing this course I was lucky if I could get my drive to land downhill in the middle of the fairway and needed at least two approach shots to get it within putting range. Now I am able to lift my drive high enough to clear the right most trees on the left of the fairway and then have it fade nicely down to the fairway in line for an easy approach and par putt. Maybe in time I will be trying for a birdie on that hole?
Cons: It has been mentioned that the baskets are single chain but I do not really think that hurts the course that much. I agree that many of the holes do feel like "tweeners," difficult to birdie but hard to do worse than par. This can be a very good thing for developing players or if you are playing with a group of varied ability (it keeps the game close). I guess the only think I would say is that the course would benefit from one or two longer holes or placing permanent baskets in a few of the longer alternate positions. Other than that I think this is a great course.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the first that I played when I started playing disc golf because it was close to my parents-in-law. I therefore play it infrequently and can easily see the developments in my game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 other reviews are perfect

5+    3/9/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 27.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everything already mentioned in the reviews is very true! I enjoy playing here a lot. The alternate basket positions, tee signs, yellow baskets that can be seen from the cement tees are all a plus. Elevation changes on almost every hole. The tee shot on 18 is GREAT. This is probably true anywhere but I will say precise drives here are well rewarded if you can putt.Very clean well maintained park with cut grass.



Cons: I hate to nick pick...single chain baskets...hole 16 might be hard to find, after 15 follow the road left and downhill and find 16 on your right.

Other Thoughts: Play here and Roland in nearby Akron and you'll have a nice disc golf day.



5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.