Disc Golf Center
Lancaster, PA 
D. F. Buchmiller Park Share
Uploaded By: coolkid32901 Hole #14
3 / 260ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Enjoyable Throw In A Beautiful City Park!

1    7/18/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buchmiller Park is a lovely green city park with rolling hills, lots of mature trees and acres of lush green grass, just about a perfect environment for disc golf course. The multi-use park features everything you would expect here. I spent a few minutes watching a group playing pickleball, one of my favorites.

I played early on a perfect July morning so the park and course were both relatively empty. The course features nice, extra long concrete tee pads and great, vandal proof colored tee signs. There was a kiosk at the beginning but it had no information about disc golf on it.

Each long had at least two tee positions. I played from the shorts which played as just a perfect little recreational length course. Holes 12,14 and 15 were cool little ACE runs bunched in a group. I really enjoyed # 8 and it's lovely little natural fairway.

Superb use of the elevation. Nice mix between open and more technical wooded holes. This course, even from the shorts, gives you opportunities to throw every shot in your arsenal.
Cons: Very few, IMO.

From the short pads, holes starting to blend together. A lot of 250'-300' with a hyser. But this could easily be fixed by playing from the longs.

A couple of the concrete pads sloping uphill. A personal pet peeve of mine.

Not quite challenging enough for some.
Other Thoughts: D.F. Buchmiller would be about the perfect home course for many of us Rec types. This is a course that I could see myself playing in a stress free environment over and over. You're not worrying about losing discs in the thick underbrush or down that steep embankment or in the water. It's just a really fun, easy, walk in the park, type of day spent disc golfin!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

D.F. Buchmiller Park

5+    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: globe
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2013
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -- Located in a beautiful park
-- Navigation is relatively easy
-- Great flow: you never find yourself retracing your steps or throwing the same shot over and over
-- Good for a quick, fun, relaxing round
-- Forgiving to beginners (while still challenging them to shape different shots)
-- ace runs!
-- signage, baskets, and tee pads are all solid
Cons: I don't like to nitpick. I think this is a great course, although advanced players may not find it challenging enough, especially if they are looking to bomb some drives or prefer a tight, technical, wooded course.

If I had one complaint, it is that it would be nice if all of the holes had a permanent alternate basket (some are permanent, some have one basket that is moved occasionally).
Other Thoughts: Buchmiller was my favorite course when I lived in Lancaster, and I still try to play it whenever I'm in the area. It's not the most challenging course--there aren't any really long holes or tight tunnel shots, and on many holes you can let your drive get away from you and still make a pretty routine par--but you do need to throw a variety of shots, and the elevation change keeps it interesting.

Advanced players will find themselves trying to birdie (or ace) every hole. Beginners will be able to enjoy learning the game without feeling overwhelmed.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 An enjoyable experience

1    3/30/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: softball29
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I absolutely loved this course. It was a pretty solid layout. Very easy to follow. And pretty straight forward. Some thoughts.

- Easy to navigate. Even with some holed having more than one basket, it was easy to see what you were doing. Good tee signs.

- Nice layout. The course featured a bunch of different holes and shots. Not everything was the same. Only a few "big arm" holes, but many holes that made you work some.

- Elevation. Though not a ton of elevation changes, it was well done enough so that there was a challenge. A couple of cool holes where you had to go up or down. Nicely done.

- Pretty layout. There are some really nice holes with some nice looking views of the park. It does a nice job showing off the park a bit.

- Flows nice. There were a lot of people there the night we went and everything flowed very well.
Cons: There weren't many cons. A couple small things.

- Some of the baskets were a little worn and could use a little TLC. But overall not bad.

- Second baskets. We played the short baskets, but could see where if you were playing the longer baskets, it could have been slightly confusing.
Other Thoughts: This course was one we were hoping to play during our trip to the area. We played 18 in about 1:15-1:30, which was really nice. I love a quick course that flows well and this was it.

The overall atmosphere of the course seemed relaxed and that was really nice. I enjoyed this course a ton and would definitely play it again when in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A walk in the park with discs

5+    1/23/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: jonmcd
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course. I learned to play here. It is a great place to learn. Experienced ams will enjoy building their confidence with birdie runs. Most pros will be able to get to the majority of the baskets off the tee and get to go for those big, double-digit under rounds. Relatively open with lots of mature trees to keep things interesting. Spacious concrete tees are a plus. 2 pin positions on most holes. 3 placements for #9. Don't miss the long, long on 9...one of the more challenging 3s on the course. Permanently placed long baskets on 2, 6, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, & 16. The other ones move a few times per year. Family and dog friendly.
Cons: Watch out for picnickers! And remember to be nice, they probably don't know they are in your fairway. Some of the long baskets are in positions that are not on the signs as the signs are pretty old and there have been some changes. 9 doesn't have the super-long placement marked. It is about 50-60 feet behind the 2nd position. 11 long is off to the right, near the road, not off to the left. 15 long is straight ahead with the parking lot behind it. 17 has 3 positions. The third one is not marked. It is down the hill to the right. Hope that helps. After 15, follow the road downhill to 16 tee. Beware the burn hazel.
Other Thoughts: This is a popular course so it's easy to find people to play with, but there are also some traffic jams. Local club holds regular events here. If you're coming from out of town combine with Roland Park in Akron for a great day trip.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Really nice park

5+    12/1/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: FlexDiesel28
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Really good environment for the whole family. Some really tricky shots, along with some easier ones. Challenges you to use all types of throws. I really got my backhand going at this course. The course is also very well kept. Nice concrete tee pads.
Cons: Some cons would be that every hole is par 3. There are some alternate holes, but not enough for a full game. Some of the regular holes could be par 4s (Hole 3,7, 18). Other then that, its a fine course.
Other Thoughts: Myself and partner (known as the Cardinal and the Bandit at Buchmiller) play this course quite often. My best round is a bogey free -7. I also ACED hole 13 with a champion beast. Backhanded it smoothly into the chains.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Early days Home Course

5+    7/18/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: beaverdisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 44.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short yet challenging course with alternates. I was there during the construction of this cousre and learned how to play Disc Golf here. Alot of people start out at this couse and then move onto Akron for the next step up. I got my first ace here. Hole 14. It is the only known ace on this hole. Concrete tee pads and alot of challenging Drives for the duece. 14 under is the couse record If I remember correctly.
Cons: None. Simply put. It is a short couse with challenging shots and elevation changes, Also JUST outside of :ancaster City.
Other Thoughts: Nice Quiet area and couse. Please pick up any trash you may find along the way. Thank You.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  great time.

5+    7/25/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: xtremeunleashed
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice clear fairways and interesting basket locations. Nice clean cut grass, very well maintained, Very cool to play in when it's extremely hot out. My buddies and I went here many times during 100+ temperatures for some reason it is cooler than most locations period. good parking close by for easy access for a cool drink. Plenty of benches for you whining Girl friend/wife to sit and complain. Plenty of near by bathrooms/port-potties. Close access to gas stations and restaurants. Have seen hot girls come out.
Cons: lots of underbrush in area to lose a disc, and get 7 minute inch. Oh yeah I went digging for my disc on hole 10 and found other discs in the process up set a honey bee hive and got stung at least 15 times on my hands, legs and torso.
Other Thoughts: Good place for a novice Player to learn and get basics. My friend been playing disc golf for only two months and has already had one Hole in one on the firs hole here. on many Occasions I have hit the bottom of the basket many times on a few holes. Good place to try and get your first Ace. But I never said it was easy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Fun!

1    5/13/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: Caelstrom
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is very well marked and the tees are real easy to throw from. The setting is relaxing and very interesting to play, as there are no real "straight shots," almost every throw has an obstacle to avoid. Loads of fun for all playing levels!
Cons: More experienced players may not find this course much of a challenge. Also, while most of the baskets appeared to be as marked, a few of the long-course baskets appeared to be either missing, or just too hidden for me to find.
Other Thoughts: The open space is deceiving on this course. Even in the really open areas, there tends to be a tree or two that gets in the way of a real long drive.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great Flowing Course

5+    5/12/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: RickyS06
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained course, in good shape. Very fun to play, some challenging holes, some easy to get your score down. The course flows very nicely from hole to hole, especially when the short holes are in rotation. There is also a 4 hole string starting at 12 - 15 in the alternate hole setup where you can ace or birdie, which is always a blast to play through. I have fun everytime I come here. I recommend this course to players of all levels.
Cons: Now there is a tree down going from hole 9 to 10 that blocks the pathway so you must go around the left through trees. Other than that this course has no negatives except maybe could be a little longer for players of higher ability.
Other Thoughts: Check the course out, well worth it, best course in Lancaster.

Can't wait for short course setup so I can easily get under par, just curious to see how far.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    3/31/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: cblack129
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All baskets in excellent condition. Most holes have at least 2 pin positions that get changed regularly. Tee pads are are big concrete slabs. Tee signs are in great condition, showing regular and alternate pin position and lengths. Park is kept in great condition. The layout is great, no holes crossing into other holes. Great mix of uphill, downhill, hyzer, and anhyzer holes. Good mix between open holes and tight holes. Restrooms are on site. This course caters to all skill levels. Beginners should like the course without having too much trouble and pros shouldn't get bored.
Cons: Some tee signs will need to be updated to include new pin positions. Water does not come into play on any hole. Could use a little more parking as this course gets crowded on a nice day.
Other Thoughts: Only 2 times to possibly get lost. After hole 8 go across road and right next to the pavilion is hole 9. After hole 15 follow the road to the left and hole 16 will be on your right.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center