Lancaster, PA 
D. F. Buchmiller Park Share
Uploaded By: coolkid32901 Hole #15
3 / 161ft.   3 / 203ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 other reviews are perfect

5+    3/9/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 293  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everything already mentioned in the reviews is very true! I enjoy playing here a lot. The alternate basket positions, tee signs, yellow baskets that can be seen from the cement tees are all a plus. Elevation changes on almost every hole. The tee shot on 18 is GREAT. This is probably true anywhere but I will say precise drives here are well rewarded if you can putt.Very clean well maintained park with cut grass.



Cons: I hate to nick pick...single chain baskets...hole 16 might be hard to find, after 15 follow the road left and downhill and find 16 on your right.

Other Thoughts: Play here and Roland in nearby Akron and you'll have a nice disc golf day.



5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hersheypark, Dutch Wonderland, Buchmiller Park!

2-4    6/8/2008   2/8/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park setting. I believe that a lot of this course was cut out of an old ball golf course... and it shows. To look at it, it still has the feel of a ball golf course. The grass is great and the fairways are lined with trees.

There are restroom, tennis and playground facilities on sight. Hole #13 comes back around very close to hole #1 and the parking lot. And hole #9 isn't too far of a walk if you have to cut it short after the front 9.

The concrete tees are nice. The baskets are in good condition. The on course signage definitely helps you find your way around effectively.

Although not particularly long, the course is very entertaining. The fairways are mainly open and clearly defined, but have "shape" to them. Your tee shots require controlled hyzers, anhyzers or S shaped shots, working around bends and elevation changes on the fairways. #17 & #18 are prime examples of this. Check out the pics of these holes, although they can't fully do the holes justice. The pins are mostly protected by trees. Plus there are about 4 holes that play a little deeper into the woods, although I wouldn't call them "heavily" wooded. Another 3-4 holes play up hill a lot, adding length beyond what the footage says.

This course is well suited for all varieties of players, from the greenest of green to the old pro. Ther are only a few holes where the beginner might feel overwhelmed and only a couple that an old pro might sleepwalk through.
Cons: More distance would be nice. Some water or more heavily wooded holes would add a little more variety too. But it's hard to complain with what they've done with the available land.

And as mentioned in a previous review, getting out of the parking lot and back out onto the highway, especially when trying to make a left turn, can be a bit of a chore... if not a nightmare. The traffic is relentless. It might make sense to make a right hand turn out of the parking lot and then turn around somewhere down the road.

Other Thoughts: If you haven't been to Lancaster, PA there's a lot to like in the general area. Harrisburg is the state capital and is just a little trip up the road. Hershey Park is only about half an hour away or so. Dutch Wonderland is even closer. There's an A+ train museum. And the old town itself is really nice. Plus check out this site's course directory to find other courses that aren't too far away. I played Akron which is also most excellent and Riverside in Harrisburg which makes great use of a really interesting piece of real estate. And if your into mini disc golf, apparently Lancaster is the mecca of that version of the game. There are several mini courses in the area.

Cubby has some videos of the course on Youtube if you're into that kind of thing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...&index=10

If you're in the Harrisburg area and have the time, I'd definitely check out Buchmiller. And if you're actually in Lancaster and don't stop by, that's just not right.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Buch

5+    10/7/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: Ned947
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very well kept overall, nice tee boxes, the signs for each hole are very helpful at times... very descriptive.
Cons: Hole 14 now sucks... some dick busted the metal hole where the post goes in for changing hole position... so now its always the alternate long position which is basically impossible to birdie(let alone par) without a pretty good first shot off the tee.
Other Thoughts: Nicely maintained and a nice course to just have fun with and try new things.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Easy, yet Fun

2-4    8/16/2008   8/16/2008
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There was a pretty good variety in the holes with pins tucked away in little nooks and on top of hills.

There are alternate pin placements (regular and alternate is how they are defined, not A, B, C, etc). Typically the alternate pin was farther and tougher, though not always I don't think.

The course was pretty easy, which was nice for a confidence booster. The pins when I played were not consistently in "regular" or "alternate" positions, though the unused pin placements had a yellow pole in them, so I could tell where they were. Generally, the "regular" pin placements were in pretty easy, out in the open, birdie-able places while the "alternates" were a little farther or guarded more from the tee.

It was really easy to get around the course, especially with a map, though no map was needed. "Next Tee" signs were located when needed.

Really well maintained course.
Cons: The holes were really close together. Standing on #2 tee box, I could see #3-#6 tee boxes. Could get really crowded and I did have to wait on people to finish #4 AND #5 before I could safely play #4.

There was no rhyme or reason to if the pins were in regular or alternate placements. It was trial and error the first time around.

While the signs were helpful they were a little misleading the first time I played. Some trees are marked but others (that I think should be) were not. One play through, though, and that is alleviated.
Other Thoughts: Numbers 13 and 14 were my favorite holes. 13 because of the uphill toss - simple and to the point. #14 because of the challenge. I would have been really happy with a 3 on this one. I got bogey 4's both times I played. It shoots through a narrow fairway to a pin placed far off to the left, downhill on a fast green.

As I mentioned earlier, the regular position is pretty easy and one good throw gets you putting close. Even many in the alternate position can be birdied with a good throw. There are the occasional alternate pin placements that would take a great throw and a good throw to get a two (or a good throw and then a great throw) .

I had a fun time playing this course. It was a beautiful day and it was good to be able to see the sun instead of being trapped in woods all the time. The course plays very quickly. I played 2 rounds in just over 2 hours.

Overall, I had a good time and a lot of the little things (signs, ease to navigate, concrete tee pads) are in place on this course. For me, it is just lacking a true signature hole (though could be, in my opinion, #13 or #18) and the challenge to keep me coming back. If this were my local home course, I would not be disappointed at all and probably play there a lot, though I am not going to drive a long way to play it regularly. It is a better than average course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

6/24/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: Ty9339
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to learn how to play on. its well kept and features cement tee off pads at every hole. it is also very easy to navigate. The signs placed at each hole are very detailed and well done. There are alternates for all the holes but a select few never get used. There are also some nice elevation changes mixed in with a few nice dog legs.
Cons: The only real negatives i see to this course is that it is rather short, with only 2 holes that measure more then 400 ft it feels almost like a pitch and putt course.
Other Thoughts: this is my home course i play here probably 3 to 4 times a week.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course

6/3/2008   6/6/2008
Review By: coolkid32901
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All of the tee boxes on the course are cement. The holes are easy to find and easy to navigate from hole to hole. The course is kept in good condition and they pins get switched up every few months. The long pin settings give an added challenge.
Cons: Your day can be troublesome if you happen to lose your disc off the fairway on a few holes ( like way left on hole 9...its gone haha )
Other Thoughts: Great course if your in the area and are looking to have some fun. I recommend this course.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite Local course

6/7/2007   6/12/2007
Review By: Mrebuck
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well designed, with moderate woods. This is by far my favorite course of my 3 local ones ( Codorus and Boulder woods at Pinchot). Its very easy to navigate and just a breeze to play. They alternate the basket positions every now and then to change it up also.
Cons: The woods sometime are difficult to find your disc, and their is this plant called a stinging nettle that stings you instantly and then itches like poison for a day. Look it up and stay away from it, if your an amateur and are prone to shooting in the woods. Trust me you'll be glad you did.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 50/50

2-4    4/11/2007   6/5/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with concrete tees. A good deal of mixture with some elevation and some tighter wooden holes (10 comes to mind). All holes par 3, but all holes are makeable three's. Will yield quite a few birdies, depending on the hole position. Course is well maintained. Water fountains provided, but probably shut off during winter.
Cons: Hole 3 throws kind of close to the highway (Rt.222), any throw that goes wide left risks carrying into the highway. I also found it diffucult to make a left hand turn out of the park.
Other Thoughts: The course is a short drive out of Lancaster, a few minutes from Rt.30. It is also about 25 minutes away from Roland Park in nearby Akron. Any disc golf trip to this area of Pennsylvania should include BOTH of these courses.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.