Lancaster, PA
D. F. Buchmiller Park Share
Uploaded By: coolkid32901 Hole #8
3 / 312ft.   3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Pleasant Experience

1    8/22/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in a nice, family-oriented park on the outskirts of Lancaster. A couple of peeks into the woods, but mostly open, well-manicured course with defined fairways and mature trees to challenge you throughout. Rolling hills and elevation a big plus and add nicely to the experience. Colored signs at each hole indicate number, distance and desired flight path. Navigation very easy and course has good, natural flow. Cement tee pads are oversized and more than sufficient. About half the holes have both a long and short basket placement.
Cons: Many of the baskets have shallow catches and/or single chains which hurt me on several occasions, spitting out perfectly good putts. Most of the basket numbers are missing or worn off. Course will not appeal to those who prefer great distance, as most holes are in the 250-350 range. Some holes play close to each other so be careful.
Other Thoughts: Buchmiller presents a very enjoyable play- manageable for all skill levels, and you'd be hard pressed to find anyone who dislikes the course. Though good for tournaments, it is an ideal place to introduce someone to the sport, play a casual round or work on rollers, flicks, etc. The local club has worked hard to improve and enhance the Lancaster-area courses. Do yourself a favor and play here before taking on the challenge of playing the considerably more difficult Roland Park across town.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Early days Home Course

5+    7/18/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: beaverdisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 44.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short yet challenging course with alternates. I was there during the construction of this cousre and learned how to play Disc Golf here. Alot of people start out at this couse and then move onto Akron for the next step up. I got my first ace here. Hole 14. It is the only known ace on this hole. Concrete tee pads and alot of challenging Drives for the duece. 14 under is the couse record If I remember correctly.
Cons: None. Simply put. It is a short couse with challenging shots and elevation changes, Also JUST outside of :ancaster City.
Other Thoughts: Nice Quiet area and couse. Please pick up any trash you may find along the way. Thank You.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  great time.

5+    7/25/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: xtremeunleashed
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice clear fairways and interesting basket locations. Nice clean cut grass, very well maintained, Very cool to play in when it's extremely hot out. My buddies and I went here many times during 100+ temperatures for some reason it is cooler than most locations period. good parking close by for easy access for a cool drink. Plenty of benches for you whining Girl friend/wife to sit and complain. Plenty of near by bathrooms/port-potties. Close access to gas stations and restaurants. Have seen hot girls come out.
Cons: lots of underbrush in area to lose a disc, and get 7 minute inch. Oh yeah I went digging for my disc on hole 10 and found other discs in the process up set a honey bee hive and got stung at least 15 times on my hands, legs and torso.
Other Thoughts: Good place for a novice Player to learn and get basics. My friend been playing disc golf for only two months and has already had one Hole in one on the firs hole here. on many Occasions I have hit the bottom of the basket many times on a few holes. Good place to try and get your first Ace. But I never said it was easy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Fun!

1    5/13/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: Caelstrom
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is very well marked and the tees are real easy to throw from. The setting is relaxing and very interesting to play, as there are no real "straight shots," almost every throw has an obstacle to avoid. Loads of fun for all playing levels!
Cons: More experienced players may not find this course much of a challenge. Also, while most of the baskets appeared to be as marked, a few of the long-course baskets appeared to be either missing, or just too hidden for me to find.
Other Thoughts: The open space is deceiving on this course. Even in the really open areas, there tends to be a tree or two that gets in the way of a real long drive.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 birdies galore!

2-4    4/27/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: disc gopher
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: D.F. Buchmiller is a great little course to go out and just have fun at. For the more advanced player this course may not be a challenge but it's a very short play (took me, solo, about an hour and a half to play) and the course flows from hole to hole very nicely. theres deuces to be had on each and every hole on this course. This makes it a great confidence booster. Most holes can be easily played with a hyzer for both righties and lefties. As other reviewers have already said, this course is beautiful due to its excellent maintenance and plethora of mature trees and shrubbery.
Cons: this course doesn't require many different shots. I used mids for most of the round. So it won't help you work on distance driving at all with the exception of 18. My biggest gripe with D.F. buchmiller is that it's a multi-use park so there are people on the fairways often times. Also, IMO, hole 1 was not safe. there's a playground directly on the left side of the fairway. While I was there some poor noob almost hit a kid due to an errant drive. Also, on the back 9, off the fairways there was some stinging nettle.
Other Thoughts: This is a great little course overall. Very easy to shoot under par and an awesome place to boost your confidence and work on longer midrange drives.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mid Range Skills Course

2-4    6/6/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Shooter
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful little park in Lancaster, PA. Easy to find. Nice use of park property to generate a petite course. Definately a Mid Range game here. All T boxes are close to the pins so not a tremendous amount of walking from one to the next. All holes are a par 3 but still have some challenges built in. Nice use of elevations and wooded areas as well as open areas. Nice T pads when dry. Shaded and somewhat protected even when windy. Birdie's are very likely.
Cons: Single Chain Disc Catchers will screw you. So back off the power or you will go right through them. T pads can be slick if they get wet. Busy park, be cautious of picnicker's on weekends especially on #10. Careful pulling out of the drive...very busy road.
Other Thoughts: Very nice park for quick action and conservative play. Great for beginners and intermediates to learn disc control and putting skills. Hole #1 is at the 2nd parking area as you come in the drive.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Zaminski
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee signs and the fairways seemed to be kept after nicely. The holes were layed out nicely, even though most are fairly open with a few trees to navigate through. Elevation was used very nicely on this course, it rolls pretty well.
Cons: One hole runs along a fairly busy road which takes away some of the peacefulness. It is pretty open with only a few narrow fairways.
Other Thoughts: The course really reminded me of a ball golf course besides a few on the back nine. It was a very nice course for where it lays. I noticed a creek back in the woods along one of the holes. If 9 holes were added through those woods and along the creek it would make this course a little tougher and really bring up the difficulty level. If you play the other courses in the area it is defiantely worth a day trip to Lancaster.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great Flowing Course

5+    5/12/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: RickyS06
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained course, in good shape. Very fun to play, some challenging holes, some easy to get your score down. The course flows very nicely from hole to hole, especially when the short holes are in rotation. There is also a 4 hole string starting at 12 - 15 in the alternate hole setup where you can ace or birdie, which is always a blast to play through. I have fun everytime I come here. I recommend this course to players of all levels.
Cons: Now there is a tree down going from hole 9 to 10 that blocks the pathway so you must go around the left through trees. Other than that this course has no negatives except maybe could be a little longer for players of higher ability.
Other Thoughts: Check the course out, well worth it, best course in Lancaster.

Can't wait for short course setup so I can easily get under par, just curious to see how far.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course in Suburban Park

1    5/1/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two pin positions per hole. Concrete tees. Well maintained lawn. Very nice blend of elevation changes, turns, and tightness - moderate across all three categories. Bathrooms at site, not far from food/petrol.
Cons:
Single-chain baskets. Tee signs doesn't indicate current position. Tee #11 "misaligned" from basket location. Number 17 didn't have a basket. A few baskets near road.
Other Thoughts:
Courses is set on the gently rolling grounds of a public park containing many copses of large hardwoods, and bordered by a small forest. Holes 1-8, 16-18 play through/around the groupings of trees, or the fairways defined by them, while 9-15 play in, out, or along the woods bordering the open space. A few flat holes, but most incorporate some minor change in elevation - only short holes #12 (open and up) and #13 (down and through trees) have major changes. More left/straight holes than right - about a 40/40/20 ratio. Stays away from other park facilities (picnic tables, playground, etc), but you never know when someone might decide that "your" fairway is a perfect place to pitch a blanket or have a ballgame!

Suitable for many levels of players. Beginners should enjoy the course, although there is some chance of disc loss on some holes - 9-14, primarily, which have woods/brush along the leftside. Quite appropriate for intermediate players - decent distances and fairways. Advancing players throwing well should plenty of birdy of opportunities, but no freebies.

Navigation was fairly simple and straightforward, as most tees are near, but not too close, to the previous basket. Note: After finishing #8, cross the road and find tee #9 on the far side of the pavilion. The teesign for #11 indicated the basket was straight or slightly left, but it actually was in a far right position the day we played, about a 45-degree angle from the tee, near the road. After finishing #15, go left and down the road a bit, finding tee #16 to your right.

Favourite hole #18: Longest hole at over 400'. Slightly-down-then-up blind left-turner. Cut the corner too soon and you'll find the edge of a forest, straight but too low will find the tops of small trees, too long/too right will find the branches of the larger trees in the background - challenging but fair flightpath to hit.

Played four courses in the greater Lancaster-area in one day, and this was the best one - certainly worth a visit if in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    3/16/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: JJantzi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A variety of shots and paths for each hole. Good course for learning the basics of a shot. Cement tees are very nice and yellow signs are relatively clear where the pin is. Park is maintained year round by the county.
Cons: Alternate pins are changed erratically. Definitively some tweener holes especially hole 7 alternative pin. Relatively short course, can bird almost all holes with a mid and a putter. Is a county park so anyone and their grandmother come out on nice days to walk and picnic in the fairways. Single chain baskets with rust. Getting out of parking lot onto the highway is tricky.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 is a very good hole to end on and often me and my friends empty out our bags multiple times on the tee to try and birdie it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.