Lancaster, PA
D. F. Buchmiller Park Share
Uploaded By: coolkid32901 Hole #12
3 / 223ft.   3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great course

5+    3/31/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: cblack129
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All baskets in excellent condition. Most holes have at least 2 pin positions that get changed regularly. Tee pads are are big concrete slabs. Tee signs are in great condition, showing regular and alternate pin position and lengths. Park is kept in great condition. The layout is great, no holes crossing into other holes. Great mix of uphill, downhill, hyzer, and anhyzer holes. Good mix between open holes and tight holes. Restrooms are on site. This course caters to all skill levels. Beginners should like the course without having too much trouble and pros shouldn't get bored.
Cons: Some tee signs will need to be updated to include new pin positions. Water does not come into play on any hole. Could use a little more parking as this course gets crowded on a nice day.
Other Thoughts: Only 2 times to possibly get lost. After hole 8 go across road and right next to the pavilion is hole 9. After hole 15 follow the road to the left and hole 16 will be on your right.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Much fun

2-4    8/11/2008   11/11/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 114  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 18.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As the risk of repeating what others have said---

It's a beautiful park, rolling hills, well-mown grass, mature trees. Most holes use elevation in some way, and have enough trees so you have to shape your shot. Some holes suitable for rollers, with the excellent grassy surface. Some holes have thick underbrush if you miss the fairway, but others have none at all.

A lot of this course rewards 300' accurate throws for birdie opportunities. Otherwise, a lot of 3s.

Refreshing variety of holes, if not lengths; no 2 holes are the same.
Cons: One hole (14? 15?) tees off from up high through a very narrow gap, to a blind basket placement far below. If you miss the gap and hit a tree, you might be searching the steep hillside, or throwing from a really poor lie.

One hole with very heavy traffic running parallel to the fairway. I'd imagine a few errant throws end up in traffic.
Other Thoughts: The setting and variety make this a lot of fun. Not long or tough, won't wear you out. Players of a wide range of skill levels should enjoy this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Buchmiller

1    11/6/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: Joe Hollywood
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park. Holes lengths are long enough to make it fun but not too long to where you have to put all you force into your drvies. The tee off boxes are concrete and are long, which give you good room for run ups. The signs are clearly understood and the course is relatively easy to navigate. There are one or two spots that you might have to look around for the next tee off, but it's not too bad. There are also alternative hole locations for each hole.
Cons: On hole 3 your beside the main road and your disc flys parallel to the road. If you have a bad throw or catch a crazy cross wind you could be playing frogger. And hole 5 is located between hole 2 and 4, all of which run parallel to each other and are a little cramped. If others are playing it could be a little congested. Hole 9 is a little hard to find (its on the other side of the pavillion). Hole 16 is a little hard to find as well (from hole 15 go left down the road...you'll see it on the right side of the road). The baskets only have one set of chains and look a little aged.
Other Thoughts: This park was easy to find and is clean and well kept. It is a nice course with great flow to it. I had a very bad game on a windy day but that won't stop me from going back. I definately want to play this course again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An Enjoyable Park Course

5+    10/18/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buchmiller Park is a very nice park easily accessible just south of Lancaster, PA. I really enjoy playing here...it's simply a nice park with small rolling hills and mature trees, and you're walking on decent grass almost the entire round.

Although outdated by newer champion level courses, I've come to appreciate the layout more and more as I've improved to an advanced am golfer. Most holes play between 225' and 275' with an elevation change and some trees, one or two of which makes a specific challenge. I disagree with the reviews stating that too many holes are too hard to birdie, yet unlikely to bogey. If you can throw your mid-range discs around 250' and your drivers a little farther, you'll be attacking the "regular"-position pin from the tee on 15 holes (all except 3, 7, and maybe 18). This course actually should fit blue-level players very well, although I can see design issues for other skill levels.

The course has three really enjoyable open downhill holes. #5 is a little over 300' and allows you to throw down the sloping hillside at a pin on a mound on the right. #11 is similar but the pin is nestled in a grove of evergreen trees, with which you must contend at the end of the disc's flight. #18 is longer than 400' and allows you to launch a driver down the hill and let it bend left with the fairway to approach the basket as you make your way back up toward the parking lot. Each of the other holes is unique and usually finds an interesting and fair way to force you to "make a shot" around one or two trees.

The park seems to be kept up very well, and some people have helped mulch and install helpful stone steps in a couple places relatively recently.
Cons: There are a couple spots on the course that present some danger to other users of the park. On #13, a park road runs to the right, and drivers could come quickly and blindly over the hill. On #18, it's really fun to launch a drive, but it's possible someone unseen could be hidden from view where the drive lands. There's a pavilion nearby, and groups often spill over into the (hidden) landing area of a 350'-400' downhill drive on hole 18.

It's still a 1990's Par 3 course, and space limitations will probably keep it that way. However it does appear someone's working to make some of the holes more challenging.

Baskets have only a single layer of chains.
Other Thoughts: There seems to be some experimentation with new and different pin positions on #9 and #11, so double-check because the tee signs could be old. The new (2nd) alternate basket is 50-100' past the old one on #9, and the new alternate basket on #11 is to the right of the regular basket out in the open (the sign does not reflect this). Otherwise, check the pin position document on the bulletin board, and the tee signs should be a good guide.

With the grass and trees and hills, this course really brings out the joy of sending a disc flying through the air! I'd be happy to Buchmiller as my home course, even if it's not quite championship caliber. Installing three pin positions Pittsburgh-style around a green could instantly refresh the course and allow for some design tweaking.

If you're playing without anyone else in the park (for safety/park etiquette), this course lends itself to an awesome gold/blue-level safari course. Here's how I play it:
1) 1 Tee to 2 Basket, Par 4, 565 ft
2) 3 Tee to 7 Basket, Par 3, 310 ft
3) 4 Tee to 5 Basket, Par 4, 560 ft
4) 6 Tee to 3 Basket, Par 5, 580 ft
5) 8 Tee to 10 Basket, Par 4, 555 ft
6) 11 Tee to 12 Basket, Par 4, 540 ft
7) 13 Tee to 14 Basket, Par 4, 420 ft
8) 15 Tee to 18 Basket, Par 3/4, 250/400 ft
9) 16 Tee to 17 Basket, Par 4, 420 ft
10) 18 Tee to 14 Basket, Par 4, 495 ft

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    8/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very pretty course that lies in Buchmiller Park outside the city of lancaster. This course is very easy to find as it is right off of 222 heading out of the city. My friends and I played this course early in the morning and ran into no other disc golfers. We had problems finding the first tee as there were numerous parking lots and no directional signs for disc golf. The layout on the front nine was pretty as the holes flow through some big trees that carve out fairways. Numbers 5 and 8 are beautiful in that you have an elevated tee that looks down upon the hole. The front nine is extremely open and it would be difficult to lose a disc. Yes, there may be some large trees to knock a disc down, but nowhere to really lose one. Holes 12-15 are the most interesting and fun on the course. They are not the longest, but they give you really good chances at possibly acing a hole or getting close. These holes also make you use different types of hyzers and move your disc around. 18 was a nice hole to finish on. It is a long drive that wraps around a large section of trees to an open hole back in the corner. This course was a fun course to play that I would definitely play again if I'm in the area. As always, this is like any course that you will play better the second time since you will know where you're going. This park was very well maintained and had pretty landscape. The tees were concrete and had really nice signs with a picture of the hole and the distance.
Cons: There is hardly any postage as to where the next hole is. As recent reviews have stated, there are not a lot of signs to tell you where the tee is, and many times, the baskets were not in the position the sign said they were in. Numbers 9 and 11 I believe were sharing a basket, and I don't really think that the basket they were sharing, was the one that it was originally supposed to be in. The biggest complaint that we had with this course was poor markings and direction. I know it's a small thing, but I do always like to have a scorecard, and they did not have any.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun play that my friends and I would do again. We felt challenged enough to make pars on the holes, and we still feel like we could have done a lot better. The park had an old philadelphia feel to it and I really enjoyed how the holes were shaped out by the trees lining the fairways and the natural beauty of the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old Green Short but Fun!

1    4/12/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very well maintained course with concrete tees, multiple pins, signs, generally easy to navigate, beginner friendly but still fun for experts, nice fairways with a moderate feel....that is very moderate hills, moderate trees, and moderate challenge. Will not frustrate you but won't bore you either. Hole 18 is a fun hole driving downhill and then approaching uphill. Short holes are fun birdie-ace runs that require some skill. Hole 14 is a very technical hole shooting down a tight lane to a wooded hollow. Hole13 is a short dart uphill. Hole 7 has a nice elevated green area after a gentle drive uphill.A very nice city park and a pleasant setting for a round of disc golf. Not too many chances to lose a disc.
Cons: Nothing really stands out here. It's too short to provide any real challenge. Prior reviews were on point when stating many holes are unrealistic to birdie and equally unrealistic to bogey. Thus a scoring spread amongst different levels of players does not exist here. I played on Easter Sunday, many people who had no concept of disc golf had set up picnics in the middle of the fairways and used the tees as home base for cookout activities. Ugh! The holes are close to one another, especially on the first 6 holes. Busy Highway along hole 3 and hole 13 which is fun is spoiled by the park road running along the entire right fairway with a blind chance to hit a car coming over the hill. I got lost once trying to find tee 9...its across the street and behind the pavillion.
Other Thoughts: Despite the course having many shortcomings there still is much fun to be had here. Not a destination course in any manner but a fine course for locals. The basics are here...concrete tees, navigatability, ease of flow, etc. If the course was lengthened it would be too dangerous/reckless for it's current setting so it is an appropriate size for it's current locale. Lancaster is not a very nice city..it has some rough areas especially on Rt. 222 your way into the park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Aging Gracefully

5+    5/30/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: Neophyte
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is always incredibly well maintained. There is great use of elevation on this course and a good mix of wooded open holes. I would say that this course caters to a RHBH or LHFH dominate player because most of the fairways are pretty straight or require a left fade. I do not see this as a negative because it requires me to work on that aspect of my game and allows me to see the progress I am making.
For me the 18th hole is my favorite and it is also a great measuring stick for the progress of my BH. When I first started playing this course I was lucky if I could get my drive to land downhill in the middle of the fairway and needed at least two approach shots to get it within putting range. Now I am able to lift my drive high enough to clear the right most trees on the left of the fairway and then have it fade nicely down to the fairway in line for an easy approach and par putt. Maybe in time I will be trying for a birdie on that hole?
Cons: It has been mentioned that the baskets are single chain but I do not really think that hurts the course that much. I agree that many of the holes do feel like "tweeners," difficult to birdie but hard to do worse than par. This can be a very good thing for developing players or if you are playing with a group of varied ability (it keeps the game close). I guess the only think I would say is that the course would benefit from one or two longer holes or placing permanent baskets in a few of the longer alternate positions. Other than that I think this is a great course.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the first that I played when I started playing disc golf because it was close to my parents-in-law. I therefore play it infrequently and can easily see the developments in my game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simultaneously aging and being improved?

1    2/27/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alternate pins on many holes, though only one at a time. A really pretty park setting, with well groomed fairways. Plenty of shot variety, trees, elevation. 14 especially has great pin placement in the woods, and 18 is a downhill-then-uphill beaut.
Cons: No alternate tees for rec players. Much of the signage seems outdated. Chains are getting old. Seems like most of the holes are "tweeners" - hard to get birdie, possibly harder to get bogey.
Other Thoughts: Played in February, so I don't know what park traffic is like. Seems like people shouldn't get in the way too much. It really is pretty here. And because of the outdated signs, I take that to mean that they're improving the course regularly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 other reviews are perfect

5+    3/9/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 27.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everything already mentioned in the reviews is very true! I enjoy playing here a lot. The alternate basket positions, tee signs, yellow baskets that can be seen from the cement tees are all a plus. Elevation changes on almost every hole. The tee shot on 18 is GREAT. This is probably true anywhere but I will say precise drives here are well rewarded if you can putt.Very clean well maintained park with cut grass.



Cons: I hate to nick pick...single chain baskets...hole 16 might be hard to find, after 15 follow the road left and downhill and find 16 on your right.

Other Thoughts: Play here and Roland in nearby Akron and you'll have a nice disc golf day.



5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hersheypark, Dutch Wonderland, Buchmiller Park!

2-4    6/8/2008   2/8/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 66  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park setting. I believe that a lot of this course was cut out of an old ball golf course... and it shows. To look at it, it still has the feel of a ball golf course. The grass is great and the fairways are lined with trees.

There are restroom, tennis and playground facilities on sight. Hole #13 comes back around very close to hole #1 and the parking lot. And hole #9 isn't too far of a walk if you have to cut it short after the front 9.

The concrete tees are nice. The baskets are in good condition. The on course signage definitely helps you find your way around effectively.

Although not particularly long, the course is very entertaining. The fairways are mainly open and clearly defined, but have "shape" to them. Your tee shots require controlled hyzers, anhyzers or S shaped shots, working around bends and elevation changes on the fairways. #17 & #18 are prime examples of this. Check out the pics of these holes, although they can't fully do the holes justice. The pins are mostly protected by trees. Plus there are about 4 holes that play a little deeper into the woods, although I wouldn't call them "heavily" wooded. Another 3-4 holes play up hill a lot, adding length beyond what the footage says.

This course is well suited for all varieties of players, from the greenest of green to the old pro. Ther are only a few holes where the beginner might feel overwhelmed and only a couple that an old pro might sleepwalk through.
Cons: More distance would be nice. Some water or more heavily wooded holes would add a little more variety too. But it's hard to complain with what they've done with the available land.

And as mentioned in a previous review, getting out of the parking lot and back out onto the highway, especially when trying to make a left turn, can be a bit of a chore... if not a nightmare. The traffic is relentless. It might make sense to make a right hand turn out of the parking lot and then turn around somewhere down the road.

Other Thoughts: If you haven't been to Lancaster, PA there's a lot to like in the general area. Harrisburg is the state capital and is just a little trip up the road. Hershey Park is only about half an hour away or so. Dutch Wonderland is even closer. There's an A+ train museum. And the old town itself is really nice. Plus check out this site's course directory to find other courses that aren't too far away. I played Akron which is also most excellent and Riverside in Harrisburg which makes great use of a really interesting piece of real estate. And if your into mini disc golf, apparently Lancaster is the mecca of that version of the game. There are several mini courses in the area.

Cubby has some videos of the course on Youtube if you're into that kind of thing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...&index=10

If you're in the Harrisburg area and have the time, I'd definitely check out Buchmiller. And if you're actually in Lancaster and don't stop by, that's just not right.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.