Romeoville, IL 
Lewis University DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #3 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 245ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Mid-Fairway: Up the stairs



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Where is everyone?

2-4    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: freezermink
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I consider this a great practice course. Its 9 holes with distances ranging from 190 to 435. the course makes good use of the elevation changes that are there. its got a decent variation with wide open fairways and tight tunnels. the course looks like it is maintained fairly well by the university with mowed fairways/paths. the course was very clean.
Cons: the course layout leaves a bit to be desired. i have been the only one on the course every time i've played, so i didn't have to worry about it, but there is some crossing of fairways that could be dangerous. #2 and #6 cross, walking from #5 basket to #6 tee puts you directly in the path of #3, and #9 crosses #7. the other thing i've noticed is that it seems as though when the course was measured, a rolling type measuring device was used (i'm assuming) as flight path distances seem to be contradictory. as an example, #1 is marked at 305ft, but after skying the basket a few times i used google maps measuring and it marks at 268ft. it doesn't detract from the course much, but its something to note.
Other Thoughts: with only 9 short holes, i can't consider it a serious players course, but it is great for getting familiar with some new discs or working on your short game. as long as there isn't too much traffic on the course, ill continue to stop and shoot a quick round if i'm in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice niner

1    2/4/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very narrow green entrances.
Informative, old metal tee signs. Yardages seemed correct.
A few roll-a-way greens.
Couple interesting o.b. holes. #7 especially, is an interesting hole; finishing on an elevated green; with roll-a-way potential. Road above green, and parking lot below. (One of our crew threw directly into lot and through two rows of parked vehicles and a student gave him his disc back with a smile. Evidently, students are aware of the danger of parking in this lot.)
#8 is a short hole. But, again, their is an o.b. fence running the entire right side of the fairway; with parked vehicles and a lot to right of fence. Thick schule to the left.
A couple of 400+ foot semi bombers; both uphill finishes, essentially making hole play even longer.
Beautifully done, steep stairway on ravine hole.
Attendant at gate was very helpful. Gave us directions and a parking pass; no charge.
Cons: Natural tees. We played in winter; with some snow and ice; and therefore hard to tell how rutted tees are. They seemed to be in pretty good shape.
The parking area holes....while interesting in an o.b. sense; could easily cause trouble. I am sure cars get hit here.
Navigation at this course is the biggest issue. Tee signs do have an arrow telling where to find next tee; once hole is finished. However, as noted by another reviewer; these give you a general idea; but are not precise.
After driving hole #6, you must back track towards #5 and descend stairs to cross bridge. Navigation is not that difficult, but you will have to have your thinking caps on a bit; and will probably wander slightly; first time through.
Other Thoughts: I would say this course is nearly a three rated course; which I very rarely give nine hole courses. I thought they used the land available to it's fullest. Lewis University DGC is one of the better college courses I've played. This is not just a stuck in afterthought of a course.
For those playing the multitude of nine hole; rather boring courses in Chicago land; I suggest you come and play all of the gems in the Joliet area. This would be the first you would arrive at; coming from the north; and will provide a good warm up. Combined with Trinity Links, Highland Park, West Park, Community Park, and Shorewood Park, this set makes for destination disc.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice with a Little Challenge

1    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signs and nice baskets.

Good use of elevation, pin placements, and shot variety.

Mix of RHBH and RHFH shots.

Clean course located on the Lewis campus.

Not crowded when I played.
Cons: Dirt/gravel and uneven tee pads in spots.

Layout was very weird, holes 1-5 are alright to find, but you have to walk a ways to hole 6 then walk back to get to some tees.

Bad throws can be punished badly with thick rough and trees. Poison ivy was spotted.
Other Thoughts: This course can be quite difficult with small narrow fairways and tough rough to look through. It is a nice and some what challenging course for 9 holes but I haven't had the urge to play here again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Bery Bery Nice 9-Holer

1    7/15/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9-hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B (2 of the holes have tunnel fairways though very dense wood. It is easy to turn an aggressive shot into a 4 on those. A couple other have pins tucked into dense alcoves in the underbrush punishing go-for approaches that do not land very close to the pins)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+ (Several holes are too long for me to reach, but are not long enough to make the ensuing approach at all challenging)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+ (Great variety for a 9-holer. Thows over the raving are fun and a few holes make good use of the available up and down elevation)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B- (A few places are quite pretty, but the course bumps up to University parking lots and view of buildings to get a good grade in this area)

5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.