Romeoville, IL 
Lewis University DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #5 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 390ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My top 9er thusfar

5+    5/9/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This course has an amazing shot variety. The holes are all super unique, and feel very different. I'd consider hole 6 the signature hole, an off a hill, through a tunnel, and down another tunnel to the pin shot. I can't say I've ever seen a hole like this anywhere.

-Adding to that, all the elevation changes here are taken advantage of to their fullest potential. No typical flat 9er here.

-The signs here were in good shape, and seemed very accurate.

-The baskets were also in great condition, and caught well.

-There's a sweet variety of length on all these holes, from <200' to well over 400', which was a shock, considering several 18 hole courses in the area don't have 400'+ holes.

-The area is well maintained, no trash/litter on the course.

-Several greens have cool roll away potentials, making the holes that much tougher.

-This course is tough! I consider myself a pretty good player, but it took me 3 rounds just to shoot even here. Always nice to not have a pitch and putt scenario.
Cons: -The biggest con I have for this course is the tee pads. They leave a lot to be desired, and in my opinion, keep this course from being a 3.5 (the equivalent of a 5 for a nine hole by my ratings).

-The navigation here can be spotty once or twice, but it's manageable.
Other Thoughts: This is by far my favorite 9 hole course I've played, and certainly would serve well as a warm up for anyone coming to play the other courses in the area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    6/26/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 418  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great mix of different types of holes at this course. Most are out in the open, with a decent amount of mature trees in play. A good variety of shots into, through, and out of the forest on most holes as well.
- Elevation changes on about half of the holes really make a difference. Long holes uphill are a true test of distance. The shot out of the forest to the downhill basket on #6 is a great hole at any course (includes a walk around the creek to get to the fairway). A small valley over an even smaller creek is also good to see in this region.
- All types of shots needed here. Good mix of left, right, and straight needed, with little choice in many places. Thick rough, and some water, make accuracy very important.
- A couple of good ace runs with downhill elevation changes also help to make the course very diverse.
- Teepads were decent, good baskets. Signage was also pretty clear, with helpful next tee direction on the signs.
Cons: - Pretty much my only gripe with this course is the layout. One of the baskets is pretty much in another hole's fairway, and another hole has you backtracking a bit down the fairway. The worst is getting from #5 to #6, and then from the #6 tee to the #6 fairway, where you have to cross right through the heart of #3. Inconvenient and possibly dangerous.
Other Thoughts: - Course in located in the east-southeast part of the campus. There are some maps around, look for the water on the map if you get lost.
- Some flooding the last time I was there; a smaller island green was present which I'm sure shouldn't be there. Probably just due to the recent rains, so I hard a tough time gauging the difficulty of the hole in normal conditions.
- I really liked the difficulty level of this course. There were some easier ones, some medium ones, and some pretty tough ones, both in and out of the forest. Definitely one of the most complete 9 holer I have ever played in this region.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Offers a good mix of long shots, technical shots, and elevation changes... especially for a nine hole. When classes are out, you'll almost definitely have the course to yourself (and when they're in session it's usually empty except for the kids who go back in the woods to smoke). I haven't played a course that has anything similar to hole #3, a shot over a ravine that is definitely the course's signature hole. Navigation is fairly straightforward for the most part.
Cons: Definitely not a beginner-friendly course (which could be a pro depending how you look at it). Unless you're a marksman or play very conservatively, count on having to dig through the forest at some point, it's probably a little better in the fall, but during the summer the brush is heavy and many of the shots go through tight fairways...especially hole #5. The grass that comes into play on #1 and #2 can also eat your disc if you're not careful.

#6 is hard to find and no signs exist. Coming back from #5 you have to turn right on the gravel path and walk about 50ft. Similar to #3 there isn't a tee box, you just have to throw from the path (and there's pretty serious fall if you get carried away and go off the path). You then have to go back to the ravine crossing which sucks if you threw your disc in the grass as you will lose sight of it (a spotter is definitely recommended)
Other Thoughts: As a Lewis grad, this course holds a special place in my heart, and the more courses I play, the more I appreciate how good of a course this is. With Oak Brook gone, this is arguably best 9er in the SW burbs.

If you're unfamiliar with the campus it could be a little hard to find. Once you turn into campus turn left and follow the curve to the second stop sign. Turn left and then make the first left into the lot for Benilde Hall. You'll see a sign for the "Lewis University Disk Golf Course" at the back of the parking lot (leave it up to Lewis to mess up the spelling on a sign for something they spent a couple $1000 for...).

If you go while classes are in, I think you're technically supposed to get a visitor's pass for your car from the guard shack in front of campus, or you could get a "ticket". I wouldn't worry about this though, even if you do, you can just throw the ticket away.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great 9 Hole

5+    8/2/2008   4/2/2009
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 123  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow. Mostly wooded technical course.
This place is great and always empty.
If it was 18 it would be one of Chicago's best.
Hole 3 is one of the coolest I have played.
Cons: Lots of bugs.
Easy to lose discs, even with a spotter.
Kinda hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Lewis rocks!
Don't bother with the nearby romeoville course, it is one of Illinois' worst.
Combine this with the 9 hole in Oakbrook, Il and youv'e got something special.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent if not for the bugs.

2-4    9/6/2008   9/6/2008
Review By: Hitmetal
Played: 165  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent 9 hole course. A couple 400+ and a short 190. Plays over a deep stream bed on 3 and 6. Although the tee boxes are packed clay, they are in good shape. Not forgiving if you throw off the fairway, thick foliage, bugs and terrain make discs disappear. I think this course is the best 9 hole I have ever played. It packs a punch.
Cons: A little tough to navigate the first time. Hole 6 is back up the #3 fairway to the service road and to the right. But there are signs at each tee box.
BUGS. Wow, lots of bugs. I really like this course, except for the bugs. I am looking forward to playing this in the late fall when the cold takes the bugs away.
Other Thoughts: Nobody ever here. I have played 3 times on the weekend and have seen one other player and even he said "I never see anyone else here"

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.