Romeoville, IL 
Lewis University DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #8 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 190ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Inexcusable, but fun and challenging

1    11/23/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: BionicRib
Played: 187  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Hole one is close to parking lot
-Interesting/fun/challenging shots with punishment for poor execution
-Nice baskets
-Elevation was used well
-Somewhat of a challenge for experienced players
-Doesn't seem to get played often as the tees showed little evidence of play.
Cons: -The layout IMO is just awful, there are so many shared/crossing fairways. (4 and 5) (6 and 2) granted the holes are fun to play, but if there is any sort of traffic out here it makes the course dangerous for players and the joggers/walkers on the blind shot on hole 3.
-Tee signs are broken
-Hole 6 has a ladder that is placed in the ravine to get down, but be careful because its shaky and a bit dangerous.
-Tees are a mixture of mud and limestone
-hole 8 is right next to a parking lot (somewhat protected by a fence)
-navigation is tough for first timers so get a guide
Other Thoughts: This course IMO would be an easy 3 if you left the holes the way they were and somehow got rid of the crossing fairways. I completely understand the argument for a higher rating based solely on the quality of shots. I am a big proponent of safety for players as well as safety for other people/cars/activities on a disc golf course. If this course was on private land and wasn't open to the public I wouldn't have a problem with it, but IMO the layout is pretty inexcusable. Even though I rated it a 1.5 I would definitely play it again if I had time and was in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best 9 hole in Illinois.

2-4    9/21/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: Tom_rrsh
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of changing elevation.

Not Crowded.

Good mix of long / technical holes.

Beautiful Course.
Cons: Easy to lose discs.

Broken signs make it difficult to find the right basket or next hole.

Some holes share cross each other. hole 6 crosses hole 2. Hole 4 and hole 5 share a fairway. Hole 7 crosses hole 9. This could be a problem if it was ever busy.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite 9 hole in Illinois. Hole 3 is amazing. It is a blind shot over a gully, and if you have never played this course before you have no idea that there is a second, slightly smaller, gully between you and the basket.
** There is a running path atop the hill, between the gullies, so exercise caution when teeing off.**

Hole 6 might be my favorite hole, anywhere. You tee off from the top of a ridge, through a narrow window, The narrow fairway is lined with tall grass making it difficult of find errant discs. It is very challenging, but very fun. Holes 3 & 6 are the reason I gave this course a 3.5, otherwise I would have given it a 2.5 or 3.

The sign for hole 2 is broken, so if you have never played this course before, you will have no clue which basket you are throwing to.

I don't live anywhere near this course, but i go whenever I am able to make the drive. It is worth it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not horrible, but a little worse than expected

1    3/24/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 98  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Because I'm dumb, I chose to go play Lewis University DG course right before a blizzard so it was super cold and super windy. Despite this, I think that my round there would have been much more enjoyable had I timed my trip better. Here's what I liked about the course

*Some of the hole designs were pretty fun. Holes 3 and 6 come to mind... fun wooded tunnel shots with high risk reward

*The course designers used the limited available elevation on site very well

*very scenic part of the campus

*Abundant parking
Cons: Many cons come to mind that have nothing to do with the weather conditions I was playing in.

*The teepads at this course aren't very good. They are a sand/muddy/gravelly material. Not the greatest of footing even in the dry time of the year

*Hole 1's basket was very low...the bottom of the basket was maybe a foot off the ground

*The most interesting hole on the course, hole 3, is also extremely dangerous. It blindly throws over a running path. Also, you have to go back up hole 3's fairway to get from hole 5 to hole 6. On a crowded day one must be very careful.

*Holes on this course are not isolated from the rest of the course or the university in any way. There are many ways that an errant disc can be harmful
Other Thoughts: If I was a Lewis University student I'd be thrilled to have a fun, somewhat challenging course like this one right on my campus and I'd play it all the time.

As a non-student, I probably won't be playing this one again given some of the far superior courses in the area

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Where is everyone?

2-4    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: freezermink
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I consider this a great practice course. Its 9 holes with distances ranging from 190 to 435. the course makes good use of the elevation changes that are there. its got a decent variation with wide open fairways and tight tunnels. the course looks like it is maintained fairly well by the university with mowed fairways/paths. the course was very clean.
Cons: the course layout leaves a bit to be desired. i have been the only one on the course every time i've played, so i didn't have to worry about it, but there is some crossing of fairways that could be dangerous. #2 and #6 cross, walking from #5 basket to #6 tee puts you directly in the path of #3, and #9 crosses #7. the other thing i've noticed is that it seems as though when the course was measured, a rolling type measuring device was used (i'm assuming) as flight path distances seem to be contradictory. as an example, #1 is marked at 305ft, but after skying the basket a few times i used google maps measuring and it marks at 268ft. it doesn't detract from the course much, but its something to note.
Other Thoughts: with only 9 short holes, i can't consider it a serious players course, but it is great for getting familiar with some new discs or working on your short game. as long as there isn't too much traffic on the course, ill continue to stop and shoot a quick round if i'm in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 PlayitTwice

5+    1/17/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: gowiththeFLOW
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Excellent 9 Hole
-Easy to get to
-Nice course set up
-COLLEGE GIRLS
-Definently worth the drive
Cons: -No concrete tees
-School grounds
Other Thoughts: Nice challenging 9 hole. Perfect to play a couple rounds while your near Lewis. And on those summer days, you can catch some college chicas running out on the trails. And thats always a plus,

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My top 9er thusfar

5+    5/9/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This course has an amazing shot variety. The holes are all super unique, and feel very different. I'd consider hole 6 the signature hole, an off a hill, through a tunnel, and down another tunnel to the pin shot. I can't say I've ever seen a hole like this anywhere.

-Adding to that, all the elevation changes here are taken advantage of to their fullest potential. No typical flat 9er here.

-The signs here were in good shape, and seemed very accurate.

-The baskets were also in great condition, and caught well.

-There's a sweet variety of length on all these holes, from <200' to well over 400', which was a shock, considering several 18 hole courses in the area don't have 400'+ holes.

-The area is well maintained, no trash/litter on the course.

-Several greens have cool roll away potentials, making the holes that much tougher.

-This course is tough! I consider myself a pretty good player, but it took me 3 rounds just to shoot even here. Always nice to not have a pitch and putt scenario.
Cons: -The biggest con I have for this course is the tee pads. They leave a lot to be desired, and in my opinion, keep this course from being a 3.5 (the equivalent of a 5 for a nine hole by my ratings).

-The navigation here can be spotty once or twice, but it's manageable.
Other Thoughts: This is by far my favorite 9 hole course I've played, and certainly would serve well as a warm up for anyone coming to play the other courses in the area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 9 Interesting Holes

1    3/19/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lewis University is home to a decent 9-hole course that criss-crosses a small prairie, a wooded ravine with a tiny creek at the bottom, and a grassy area abutting the bullpen area of the college's baseball field.
-Elevation, while not epic, is well implemented on most holes. Hole #6, for example, forces a downhill shot over the ravine and through the wooded gap, across the field and to a pin located somewhat precariously on another downward slope. Several pin positions are located on slightly elevated or depressed terrain in order to increase the chance of rollaways.
- Decent signage shows hole number, distance, and a basic map of the hole.
- A good variety of distances and hole types for a 9-hole course.
Cons: - Lewis' bustling campus surrounding the course detracts somewhat from the natural element in places. Two holes have baskets very near crowded parking lots, while another's fairway is defined to the right by a fence and another parking lot. One hole's basket can be in the way of bullpen activities if a baseball game is going on.
- Natural tees. Soft sand in some places, but not terrible.
- Watch out for parked cars on several holes.
- Navigation can be slightly tricky the first time through, as the flow isn't intuitive in places. This shouldn't be an issue for most discers.
Other Thoughts: - The main thing holding this course back from being one of the better (or best) 9 holers I've played was the lack of decent tee pads. Even crushed gravel would be an upgrade from the soft sand used in places.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    6/26/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great mix of different types of holes at this course. Most are out in the open, with a decent amount of mature trees in play. A good variety of shots into, through, and out of the forest on most holes as well.
- Elevation changes on about half of the holes really make a difference. Long holes uphill are a true test of distance. The shot out of the forest to the downhill basket on #6 is a great hole at any course (includes a walk around the creek to get to the fairway). A small valley over an even smaller creek is also good to see in this region.
- All types of shots needed here. Good mix of left, right, and straight needed, with little choice in many places. Thick rough, and some water, make accuracy very important.
- A couple of good ace runs with downhill elevation changes also help to make the course very diverse.
- Teepads were decent, good baskets. Signage was also pretty clear, with helpful next tee direction on the signs.
Cons: - Pretty much my only gripe with this course is the layout. One of the baskets is pretty much in another hole's fairway, and another hole has you backtracking a bit down the fairway. The worst is getting from #5 to #6, and then from the #6 tee to the #6 fairway, where you have to cross right through the heart of #3. Inconvenient and possibly dangerous.
Other Thoughts: - Course in located in the east-southeast part of the campus. There are some maps around, look for the water on the map if you get lost.
- Some flooding the last time I was there; a smaller island green was present which I'm sure shouldn't be there. Probably just due to the recent rains, so I hard a tough time gauging the difficulty of the hole in normal conditions.
- I really liked the difficulty level of this course. There were some easier ones, some medium ones, and some pretty tough ones, both in and out of the forest. Definitely one of the most complete 9 holer I have ever played in this region.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 nice niner

1    2/4/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very narrow green entrances.
Informative, old metal tee signs. Yardages seemed correct.
A few roll-a-way greens.
Couple interesting o.b. holes. #7 especially, is an interesting hole; finishing on an elevated green; with roll-a-way potential. Road above green, and parking lot below. (One of our crew threw directly into lot and through two rows of parked vehicles and a student gave him his disc back with a smile. Evidently, students are aware of the danger of parking in this lot.)
#8 is a short hole. But, again, their is an o.b. fence running the entire right side of the fairway; with parked vehicles and a lot to right of fence. Thick schule to the left.
A couple of 400+ foot semi bombers; both uphill finishes, essentially making hole play even longer.
Beautifully done, steep stairway on ravine hole.
Attendant at gate was very helpful. Gave us directions and a parking pass; no charge.
Cons: Natural tees. We played in winter; with some snow and ice; and therefore hard to tell how rutted tees are. They seemed to be in pretty good shape.
The parking area holes....while interesting in an o.b. sense; could easily cause trouble. I am sure cars get hit here.
Navigation at this course is the biggest issue. Tee signs do have an arrow telling where to find next tee; once hole is finished. However, as noted by another reviewer; these give you a general idea; but are not precise.
After driving hole #6, you must back track towards #5 and descend stairs to cross bridge. Navigation is not that difficult, but you will have to have your thinking caps on a bit; and will probably wander slightly; first time through.
Other Thoughts: I would say this course is nearly a three rated course; which I very rarely give nine hole courses. I thought they used the land available to it's fullest. Lewis University DGC is one of the better college courses I've played. This is not just a stuck in afterthought of a course.
For those playing the multitude of nine hole; rather boring courses in Chicago land; I suggest you come and play all of the gems in the Joliet area. This would be the first you would arrive at; coming from the north; and will provide a good warm up. Combined with Trinity Links, Highland Park, West Park, Community Park, and Shorewood Park, this set makes for destination disc.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Offers a good mix of long shots, technical shots, and elevation changes... especially for a nine hole. When classes are out, you'll almost definitely have the course to yourself (and when they're in session it's usually empty except for the kids who go back in the woods to smoke). I haven't played a course that has anything similar to hole #3, a shot over a ravine that is definitely the course's signature hole. Navigation is fairly straightforward for the most part.
Cons: Definitely not a beginner-friendly course (which could be a pro depending how you look at it). Unless you're a marksman or play very conservatively, count on having to dig through the forest at some point, it's probably a little better in the fall, but during the summer the brush is heavy and many of the shots go through tight fairways...especially hole #5. The grass that comes into play on #1 and #2 can also eat your disc if you're not careful.

#6 is hard to find and no signs exist. Coming back from #5 you have to turn right on the gravel path and walk about 50ft. Similar to #3 there isn't a tee box, you just have to throw from the path (and there's pretty serious fall if you get carried away and go off the path). You then have to go back to the ravine crossing which sucks if you threw your disc in the grass as you will lose sight of it (a spotter is definitely recommended)
Other Thoughts: As a Lewis grad, this course holds a special place in my heart, and the more courses I play, the more I appreciate how good of a course this is. With Oak Brook gone, this is arguably best 9er in the SW burbs.

If you're unfamiliar with the campus it could be a little hard to find. Once you turn into campus turn left and follow the curve to the second stop sign. Turn left and then make the first left into the lot for Benilde Hall. You'll see a sign for the "Lewis University Disk Golf Course" at the back of the parking lot (leave it up to Lewis to mess up the spelling on a sign for something they spent a couple $1000 for...).

If you go while classes are in, I think you're technically supposed to get a visitor's pass for your car from the guard shack in front of campus, or you could get a "ticket". I wouldn't worry about this though, even if you do, you can just throw the ticket away.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.