Romeoville, IL
Lewis University DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #6 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 380ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Nice with a Little Challenge

1    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 32  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signs and nice baskets.

Good use of elevation, pin placements, and shot variety.

Mix of RHBH and RHFH shots.

Clean course located on the Lewis campus.

Not crowded when I played.
Cons: Dirt/gravel and uneven tee pads in spots.

Layout was very weird, holes 1-5 are alright to find, but you have to walk a ways to hole 6 then walk back to get to some tees.

Bad throws can be punished badly with thick rough and trees. Poison ivy was spotted.
Other Thoughts: This course can be quite difficult with small narrow fairways and tough rough to look through. It is a nice and some what challenging course for 9 holes but I haven't had the urge to play here again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough little course

1    8/4/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a moderately hilly area on a college campus with a mix of open areas and dense woods. There is a stream running through that comes into play on a couple holes, adding a little bit of fun risk/reward. The available elevation is used well, especially to make the open holes more challenging and interesting. Many holes have pins tucked into the woods, punishing inaccurate drives and approaches and adding some nice challenges on some of the greens.

There is a nice mix of shorter reachable holes, and longer holes that require accurate drives and usually a solid approach to hole out in 3. You will need right and left turning shots, as well as long straight drives to score well here, and to stay out of the woods and brush. The design does a great job of taking advantage of the space to make a course that is challenging and fun.

There are decent signs for every hole, that make it pretty clear how long the hole is and where to find the basket which is nice on the few blind holes. The baskets were in good shape. There was almost no trash around on the course, and it seemed like a well taken care of area in general. Some real work went into carving out the wooded holes, and building steps up and down the ravine. The college clearly supports the course, and the attendant at the front gate was very helpful with directions and parking instructions.
Cons: The biggest issue this course has is navigation. There are a couple spots where it isn't at all obvious where to go to find the next tee. There are next tee markers on the signs, but they weren't always clear.

The woods were filled with spiders and other bugs, so make sure you stay on the fairway if that's something that bothers you. You might want a spotter on a couple of the longer holes, as the brush off the fairway in the woods makes it easy to lose an errant drive (not really a big con, just an observation).
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better 9 hole courses around the area, and presents enough variety and challenge that experienced players will enjoy a round here. This isn't the best place for beginners, with lots of chances to lose a disc and a few tough navigation issues.

The course is definitely worth playing if you're in the area, and the University seems very supportive of the course. If you're up for a tough little course that will punish you for errant shots, you'll enjoy a round or two here.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Bery Bery Nice 9-Holer

1    7/15/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9-hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B (2 of the holes have tunnel fairways though very dense wood. It is easy to turn an aggressive shot into a 4 on those. A couple other have pins tucked into dense alcoves in the underbrush punishing go-for approaches that do not land very close to the pins)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+ (Several holes are too long for me to reach, but are not long enough to make the ensuing approach at all challenging)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+ (Great variety for a 9-holer. Thows over the raving are fun and a few holes make good use of the available up and down elevation)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B- (A few places are quite pretty, but the course bumps up to University parking lots and view of buildings to get a good grade in this area)

5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Hole

5+    8/2/2008   4/2/2009
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 105  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow. Mostly wooded technical course.
This place is great and always empty.
If it was 18 it would be one of Chicago's best.
Hole 3 is one of the coolest I have played.
Cons: Lots of bugs.
Easy to lose discs, even with a spotter.
Kinda hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Lewis rocks!
Don't bother with the nearby romeoville course, it is one of Illinois' worst.
Combine this with the 9 hole in Oakbrook, Il and youv'e got something special.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent if not for the bugs.

2-4    9/6/2008   9/6/2008
Review By: Hitmetal
Played: 161  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent 9 hole course. A couple 400+ and a short 190. Plays over a deep stream bed on 3 and 6. Although the tee boxes are packed clay, they are in good shape. Not forgiving if you throw off the fairway, thick foliage, bugs and terrain make discs disappear. I think this course is the best 9 hole I have ever played. It packs a punch.
Cons: A little tough to navigate the first time. Hole 6 is back up the #3 fairway to the service road and to the right. But there are signs at each tee box.
BUGS. Wow, lots of bugs. I really like this course, except for the bugs. I am looking forward to playing this in the late fall when the cold takes the bugs away.
Other Thoughts: Nobody ever here. I have played 3 times on the weekend and have seen one other player and even he said "I never see anyone else here"

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.