Romeoville, IL 
Lewis University DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #3 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Mid-Fairway: Up the stairs



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 

5+    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Offers a good mix of long shots, technical shots, and elevation changes... especially for a nine hole. When classes are out, you'll almost definitely have the course to yourself (and when they're in session it's usually empty except for the kids who go back in the woods to smoke). I haven't played a course that has anything similar to hole #3, a shot over a ravine that is definitely the course's signature hole. Navigation is fairly straightforward for the most part.
Cons: Definitely not a beginner-friendly course (which could be a pro depending how you look at it). Unless you're a marksman or play very conservatively, count on having to dig through the forest at some point, it's probably a little better in the fall, but during the summer the brush is heavy and many of the shots go through tight fairways...especially hole #5. The grass that comes into play on #1 and #2 can also eat your disc if you're not careful.

#6 is hard to find and no signs exist. Coming back from #5 you have to turn right on the gravel path and walk about 50ft. Similar to #3 there isn't a tee box, you just have to throw from the path (and there's pretty serious fall if you get carried away and go off the path). You then have to go back to the ravine crossing which sucks if you threw your disc in the grass as you will lose sight of it (a spotter is definitely recommended)
Other Thoughts: As a Lewis grad, this course holds a special place in my heart, and the more courses I play, the more I appreciate how good of a course this is. With Oak Brook gone, this is arguably best 9er in the SW burbs.

If you're unfamiliar with the campus it could be a little hard to find. Once you turn into campus turn left and follow the curve to the second stop sign. Turn left and then make the first left into the lot for Benilde Hall. You'll see a sign for the "Lewis University Disk Golf Course" at the back of the parking lot (leave it up to Lewis to mess up the spelling on a sign for something they spent a couple $1000 for...).

If you go while classes are in, I think you're technically supposed to get a visitor's pass for your car from the guard shack in front of campus, or you could get a "ticket". I wouldn't worry about this though, even if you do, you can just throw the ticket away.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice with a Little Challenge

1    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 35  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signs and nice baskets.

Good use of elevation, pin placements, and shot variety.

Mix of RHBH and RHFH shots.

Clean course located on the Lewis campus.

Not crowded when I played.
Cons: Dirt/gravel and uneven tee pads in spots.

Layout was very weird, holes 1-5 are alright to find, but you have to walk a ways to hole 6 then walk back to get to some tees.

Bad throws can be punished badly with thick rough and trees. Poison ivy was spotted.
Other Thoughts: This course can be quite difficult with small narrow fairways and tough rough to look through. It is a nice and some what challenging course for 9 holes but I haven't had the urge to play here again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough little course

1    8/4/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a moderately hilly area on a college campus with a mix of open areas and dense woods. There is a stream running through that comes into play on a couple holes, adding a little bit of fun risk/reward. The available elevation is used well, especially to make the open holes more challenging and interesting. Many holes have pins tucked into the woods, punishing inaccurate drives and approaches and adding some nice challenges on some of the greens.

There is a nice mix of shorter reachable holes, and longer holes that require accurate drives and usually a solid approach to hole out in 3. You will need right and left turning shots, as well as long straight drives to score well here, and to stay out of the woods and brush. The design does a great job of taking advantage of the space to make a course that is challenging and fun.

There are decent signs for every hole, that make it pretty clear how long the hole is and where to find the basket which is nice on the few blind holes. The baskets were in good shape. There was almost no trash around on the course, and it seemed like a well taken care of area in general. Some real work went into carving out the wooded holes, and building steps up and down the ravine. The college clearly supports the course, and the attendant at the front gate was very helpful with directions and parking instructions.
Cons: The biggest issue this course has is navigation. There are a couple spots where it isn't at all obvious where to go to find the next tee. There are next tee markers on the signs, but they weren't always clear.

The woods were filled with spiders and other bugs, so make sure you stay on the fairway if that's something that bothers you. You might want a spotter on a couple of the longer holes, as the brush off the fairway in the woods makes it easy to lose an errant drive (not really a big con, just an observation).
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better 9 hole courses around the area, and presents enough variety and challenge that experienced players will enjoy a round here. This isn't the best place for beginners, with lots of chances to lose a disc and a few tough navigation issues.

The course is definitely worth playing if you're in the area, and the University seems very supportive of the course. If you're up for a tough little course that will punish you for errant shots, you'll enjoy a round or two here.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Bery Bery Nice 9-Holer

1    7/15/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9-hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B (2 of the holes have tunnel fairways though very dense wood. It is easy to turn an aggressive shot into a 4 on those. A couple other have pins tucked into dense alcoves in the underbrush punishing go-for approaches that do not land very close to the pins)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+ (Several holes are too long for me to reach, but are not long enough to make the ensuing approach at all challenging)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+ (Great variety for a 9-holer. Thows over the raving are fun and a few holes make good use of the available up and down elevation)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B- (A few places are quite pretty, but the course bumps up to University parking lots and view of buildings to get a good grade in this area)

5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Hole

5+    8/2/2008   4/2/2009
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 146  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow. Mostly wooded technical course.
This place is great and always empty.
If it was 18 it would be one of Chicago's best.
Hole 3 is one of the coolest I have played.
Cons: Lots of bugs.
Easy to lose discs, even with a spotter.
Kinda hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Lewis rocks!
Don't bother with the nearby romeoville course, it is one of Illinois' worst.
Combine this with the 9 hole in Oakbrook, Il and youv'e got something special.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent if not for the bugs.

2-4    9/6/2008   9/6/2008
Review By: Hitmetal
Played: 165  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent 9 hole course. A couple 400+ and a short 190. Plays over a deep stream bed on 3 and 6. Although the tee boxes are packed clay, they are in good shape. Not forgiving if you throw off the fairway, thick foliage, bugs and terrain make discs disappear. I think this course is the best 9 hole I have ever played. It packs a punch.
Cons: A little tough to navigate the first time. Hole 6 is back up the #3 fairway to the service road and to the right. But there are signs at each tee box.
BUGS. Wow, lots of bugs. I really like this course, except for the bugs. I am looking forward to playing this in the late fall when the cold takes the bugs away.
Other Thoughts: Nobody ever here. I have played 3 times on the weekend and have seen one other player and even he said "I never see anyone else here"

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.