Hanford, CA
Freedom Park Share
Uploaded By: lion Hole #9 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice park. Horrible course

1    7/3/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 78  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Nice park

2. Mowed grass

3. No chances to lose discs

4. Nice concrete circles around all baskets
Cons: 1. Very big baskets and discs fall through

2. really really short

3. Par's are off

4. concrete pads arent big enough to throw off of

Other Thoughts: I really dont know what they were thinking when they made this course. I dont think they consulted one person that's actually played disc golf before. It's too bad really cause the concrete setup with all the hole info any everything on them is cool and im sure it wasnt cheap but the baskets are really strange and not designed for PDGA discs. We ended up just making up our own course so we could air a few out and actually have true run at a 9 hole par 3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Superclass Course

2-4    5/15/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: lion
Played: 493  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. First off the course has plenty of parking.
2. Restrooms at numerous areas of the park.
3. Course has the feel that is was designed for frisbees or superclass discs.
4. The park did a good job not putting any benches or other activities near the course.
5. Course does have paths as OB and does have a few well placed baskets that make it tough.
6. Course has elevation changes on half the holes.
7. There were no crossing fairways, but if you were here with lids or frisbees I'm sure you could cross a path.
8. Course good for kids and families.
9. Should be designated as a pitch and putt course if you come here with regular discs.
10. The park is mowed regularly and very green. Park is well maintained.
Cons: 1. You have to walk aways from where you park to hole 1. Design could of been netter to start and finish near the car.
2. Tee pads are informative and look nice but to small for a good run up.
3. The baskets will not catch regular disc golf discs, but will catch larger lids.
4. Parks sign and main map blocks your shot on hole 1 and gets hit pretty often.
5. The course is short and offer little challenge.
6. A few of the last holes tee pads dont have a good drainage system and water builds up and covers some of the tees.
7. The mornings are very wet and water stands for many hours. Best to play in the afternoon or evening.
Other Thoughts: We played this course with superclass discs like Condors, Jaguars, and superhero's. We had a blast. Good course to introduce the game to a new crowd and for families on the weekends. I wont be back, but if the course was in my back yard I would take my younger kids to this park all the time with all the other activities offered.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

LAME DUCK COURSE

1    9/28/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: Johnny Rokketts
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A nice little park to take the family to, walk the dog, fly a kite or barbeque, ANYTHING BUT DISC GOLF.
Cons: 1st: the tees resemble (in both size & appearance) ornamental stepping stones.2nd:The baskets appear as though they were fabricated in someone's garage as they are HUGE and not at all designed for standard golf discs.
Other Thoughts: This 'course' was so poorly designed and executed it's not even worth the effort to visit. I suppose this could be somewhere to play if you're new to disc golf & wish to work on developing form, putting etc., but Centennial park is the course to play if making the trip into Hanford.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.