Central, SC
Grand Central Station Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #12 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course that will only get better

5+    9/30/2013   3/2/2014
Review By: filobedo
Played: 160  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In the conversation for best course in SC and part of what I think is the trilogy of great new courses (2011 - present) in SC which includes GCC, Chester State Park and Socastee Recreation Park. Teepads are mats similar to what you would see in a restaurant kitchen and they are very large with sand beneath and framed. I really like these type of teepads ever since seeing them at Kure Beach in early 2011 and several courses in the South now have them as well as they are used at Hampton Park for the Charleston Classic. The signage is also spectacular. There are several holes that could qualify as the signature hole as noted below for rhbh,

#2 - Great tweener hole (par 3 or 4) where 2 is rare for an average player and possible signature hole. Low shot through a tunnel of trees to road and then anhyzer or thumber to basket.

#3 - Very tight downhill to short basket to right or longer basket uphill to left with small green.

#4 - Two basket locations and I prefer the original up the hill to the right. The original plays as an anhyzer downhill and then up hill. A 2 is phenominal.

#5 - Fun open downhill shot to tree guarded tunnel with basket tucked in the back.

#8 - Possibly the signature hole with a tight tunnel shot and low ceiling to a creek then over the creek up a hill in narrow gap.

#11 - Possibly the signature hole with a wide open downhill shot to a very narrow gap in the woods then another 200' downhill around a corner with the basket sitting atop a drop off behind. A 3 is spectacular on this difficult hole but I did see a youtube video of Schweb making a 3 with a fantastic tee shot and then blind thumber to the basket.

#13 - Two difficult teepads and possibly the signature hole with narrow downhill tunnel shot down to basket on right side of small green. Both teepads make it difficult to get close for a 2.

#14 - Fun downhill ace run depending on basket placement with creek behind

#15 - Great hole across the creek and fun hyzer or anhyzer from short tee to a tree guarded green. The long teepad makes this very challenging.

#17 - Frustrating hole for me but very challenging. I have made 2on it and taken a 6 in both tournaments I have played there and seen others take 4 more often than 3. Elevated hyzer uphill on a tight tree lined fairway. Better to be right than left off the fairway for a chance at 3. I have seen several people get in the trees on the left and had no chance at 3.
Cons: #2 playing across the entrance road is a little dangerous unless someone is spotting. #3 long basket placement green needs more attention due to brush impeding on the basket as well as low lying limbs. When I played in Sept 2013, it appeared The course can also get slick in spots such as #8 and #14 - #17 teepad so be careful if rain has been present in the area recently.
Other Thoughts: If you vote less than 4 stars for this course, you need to have a serious argument to back it up. I think it is between GCC and Stoney Hill for best course in SC and both are 4.5 if not 5 star courses. For #2, I think it would be interesting to see another teepad added 50' in front of the current pad or put another basket placement to the left the current basket and a little further back behind the large tree to have the option of playing a variation of the hole like on #3. The only throwaway hole appears to be #1 which is a straight forward shot for a 2 or 3 unless you throw in tree line on the right which is comprised of an old barbwire fence. I also wish great courses with this type of length would not only show the distance from the tee but also the length into the basket when in a fairway like in traditional golf. I only recall seeing this at Nevin on a few holes when you are about 150' from the basket. #6, #8 and #11 are good examples of where this could definitely help with disc selection in tournaments. Also, bring water if you plan to play this course in the heat because it is long and lots walking with some elevation. With it being so close to Clemson, football game weekends may interfere with hotels. I played a tournament there during homecoming weekend and rooms nearby were $350 and sold out immediately. If you plan to play a tournament, check accommodation availability before registering or plan to stay with friends or in Greenville. Also, check the wind if playing out of the woods into open areas.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and fun!

1    10/19/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: BASIC STUFF:

Great course out on its own piece of land. good signs from the road to get you to the course, great kiosk with a course map, portal-potty in the parking lot, and good teepads.

COURSE:

This course was well thought out and a lot of love and care have obviously gone into making it a great course in the Clemson Area. It's a long course that makes you throw several shots for distance, short shots, anny, tunnel shots, open to tunnel, tunnel to open, open, wooded, hyzer, downhill and uphill. Trash cans throughout the course and it is in great condition with Innova baskets. A few holes play over or along water and even some power lines as obstacles.
Cons: I did have a few moments of getting turned around going to the next tee, signs were mostly there, but I did not see them initially. A few more signs and a way to make the existing next tee signs pop more would go a long way for players playing it for the first time. I would not say it's bad, and common sense of disc golf will get you to the right place. In trying my best to remember specific holes.....1 to 2 I looked to the left and saw it was teepad for 11, not sure if a NexT sign was there......4 to 5 is up to the right and I don't recall a NEXT sign there but found the teepads.....I think I got turned around on holes 14, 15, 16, and 18 but found my way.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course in a tiny town just outside of Clemson. I was there to see the NOLES rock the Tigers and had the time to go play this jewel.

Great job to the designer and whoever assisted them getting the course in and installed.

Some will say the walks and overall course length from hole to hole or overall walking distance is too far, I say thanks for spreading it out and giving me some great walking exercise!

Thank you for taking the time to make that course as good as it is.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Grand is the key word in the course name!

5+    9/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Grand is the word to describe a course like this one. Once you see the arrows pointing you to the course, you are on your way to an amazing course on a pretty small piece of property. Anything could have been chosen to be on this property and not only is it a disc golf course, it's a grand destination course! FOLLOW THE ARROWS!!
-Well, a grand course has some seriously well and unique holes. Grand Central Station has so much uniqueness, scenery, variety, water and elevation! It has every hole you can think of.
-Every hole has something special to it. Whether I liked it or not, I noticed something special from holes 1 to 18!! You start off with an easy downhill, open shot and you end with a sick (Meaning epic) double dogleg par 4 baby!! Course comes from easy and straightforward to extreme (AKA 11).
-Some good consequences to the course. Heavy woods, OB and weeds. Doesn't seem to always be a pro but it can be fun to try to ditch trouble in general. Hole 7 is a downhill par 4 with a creek over 300 ft past the tee and it's always fun to try to get over and possibly make eagle if you are really impressive. I did the Huk Central tournament and the second day (Today) we played a different layout. Some holes were longer, like #6, we teed off on the orange pad and the basket was NOT under the power tower like it was the first day, it was 220 ft past it exactly. We played a few of the short pads as well and #13, believe it or not is severly punishing on the short. It's a sidearm par 3 that I triple bogeyed because I kept shanking it. Baskets were moved in easier and more difficult spots but this layout is only for tournaments here except for the teepads. We played the original layout yesterday and the special layout today.
-#15 actually has a long tee. The original layout has the short tee that's 250 ft and the long tee is relatively new! It's a really fun pro par 3 only 285 feet long but it's a deceptively difficult hole. A righty backhander or lefty sidearmer has an advantage. You want to start off with an understable disc so it will go right and you want it to turn back just a little because you still have to go through one of the lanes (preferably the right one) so you can make a possible birdie. A two on this hole is quite rewarding but it's a pretty easy three.
-Great mix of open and wooded holes. As well as long and short holes. I always tried to get some strokes back on the easy ones. Like after 11, I tried to birdie 12 and I successfully did on the final round!
-Like I said before. Every hole is special, every hole has its own name to it. The only name that needs to be changed is #16's. #16 was actually my favorite hole! It now has a left mando on the tree right in front of the tee pad. The hole is called "Better Safe than Sorry." Now that you can't go safe, I think it should be called "Risky but Rewarding!" I love the hole and the challenge of avoiding the creek to the left. That mando makes it super fun. I don't know why most people don't like it when I usually don't love mandos but love this one. It's so fun!!
-Plenty of benches and next tee signs. The only long transitions are the ones from 8 to 9 and 17 to 18 but both of the holes are worth the wait because they are both very fun and scenic.
-Arrows pointing you to the course. In the GPS you should definitely type in the address because on your way you will see the arrows pointing you to the course. Don't go down Sanders Rd when the GPS says to because it takes you to the neighborhood and loops back to where the arrows points you to the course. I do cross country and I get the point of doing loops in a CROSS COUNTRY meet because it's a specified distance but doing a loop before you turn where the arrow points you to is disc golf course is pointless. By the time you see the arrow, turn left! You will get there more quickly. Type in the address because the GPS will get to to the arrow except it doesn't tell you to TURN to where it points.
Cons: -The weeds are not trouble but there are many thorns in the woods. I got cut up because I played terribly on a few holes. I played too consistantly too. 67, 67, 67, 65. I wish I could've found a way to get better than +6. The special layout was a par 58 and the first was the original.
-Good luck on #11. It's terribly frightening. If you are uninpressive like me, I'd go short of the opening. Every round I went for it and made the distance to the woods but not the opening. My other triple bogey was on this hole on the second round. I came from +2 to +5 and parred 12, bogeyed 13 and parred 14 (Wimpy tee shot). I started on #15 everytime except the first round.
Other Thoughts: -Wow! Such a standout course in South Carolina. Not something you should ever skip. All the holes I played terribly on were my fault that I did. Even on the "extreme" hole 11. This course is better than some of the ratings given in the previous reviews. A 3 rating would be the rating for a generic course that I wouldn't play so often just because I wouldn't really feel like it. There are so many holes here that I really loved.

Holes I loved!

#2. As unusual as this hole is, I really liked it. The basket is in a yard close to a decrepit shed and the tee shot is over the road.

#3 long. This hole was mean to me but it's something else! It's a tight 245 foot anhyzer shot that needs to turnover by the time you are sort of close to where the short basket location is or you will be in the trees.

#4. This hole has two positions. The original is a super fun downhill anhyzer shot around the high wire and over the crap and the special position is just a straight 420 foot downhill shot. Don't want to go left because it's very messy in there.

#6 original. 760 ft long!! Throw under or hyzering around the power tower is extremely fun and you get you throw another shot just as far as you can and hope to get to the basket under the second power tower!

#7 in general. This hole has a great view from the top and I found it so tempting to attempt to throw a big shot over the creek but I wanted a birdie. #7 on the special layout was a cool hyzer shot over the creek. #7 on what I call the special layout is a fun hyzer shot over the creek.

#8 original. Such a difficult par 4, but quite interesting. The first shot, you want to lay up with a midrange to get in good shape for the second up the 20 something foot hill!

#9. This hole is a great birdie attempt. Take advantage of it if you had trouble on #8.

#11. This hole was super mean to me but I will be the good guy in this and say that it's such a unique pro par 4 that goes into the woods. If you go right into the mouth 280 ft from the tee. You are quite impressive. It's a definite payback for a couple of birdies you made if you are not careful.

#14 original. Before you get to this one you may be wishing the approach shot for #8 was downhill instead up going uphill. On #14's tee pad, you are about 50 feet to the right of #8's basket and you just throw down the hill and then you are maybe 70 feet from the basket. Pretty easy birdie and it's aceable.

#15 special. This hole is super fun and challenging! To get to this tee, go straight past the original tee and go the left. Try to start your throw to the right and left it turn. Easy par but rewarding birdie.

#16. My favorite hole. Tough ace run. Throw left of the mando with a slight anhyzer with a disc that will turn back just a little. The creek can be tricky to avoid.

#17. Hyzer king!! Throw an overstable disc. Timing is everything!

#18. Double dogleg! Throw a rightly flick or lefty backhand for your tee shot ACCURATELY. A birdie is seriously rewarding. You will have to rip a driver accurately out of the woods. Great finish.

-I'm coming back for sure. I encouage everyone to come out and do the annual Huk Central Tournament. On the special layout holes 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 13, 14, and 15 have a different tee, basket or both.
-Standout to Bryan Schaupp. He's was such an amazing host to the tournament and I never got to play with him. Great guy and he designed an epic course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Challenging Course

2-4    9/22/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: DiscGolfMaster
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Perfect mixture of long and short holes in woods and out in the open. Great long holes which is a nice change from the short hold courses which dominate the area. Elevation adds alot of fun to this course and makes it a nice hike as well.
Cons: 11 is awful. Extremely hard hole to me. You need a semi long and perfectly accurate shot to get to the opening of the woods. Then another perfect and long shot just to get near the hole which is almost impossible with the random trees in the middle of the fairway and huge ditch right before the basket. And then theres a huge drop off behind the basket. Just a little too much stuff to deal with all on one hole. Cut down the trees in the fairway and fill the ditch and leave the drop off and you would have a great hole. This hole is the only reason why I did not rate this course and 5 disc.
Other Thoughts: 13 and 18 are rather difficult. Depending on your skill level this could be a pro or con. They are long holes with narrow fairways and require pin point accuracy. Little hard to get a disc to fly with the fairway on 18. it dog legs right then back left and then opens up. Still haven't managed to get my understable wraith to go right then left on it quite right yet. But I love a challenge!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Spectacular

2-4    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 72  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some of the prettiest greens I have seen. Holes 8 and 15 really highlight this feature. They're both in the midst of woods, cleared out areas, with really pretty grass. Very picturesque.

The secluded feel of this course is very nice. This aspect of the course is highlighted in that this area is DG only.

Out of every course that I've played, this course has the best mix of open and wooded. The ratio is perfect. To shoot well at GCS you have have to be long and accurate.

The tee pads are excellent! Almost all of them are now packed sand and gravel which offer great footing.

Baskets are all new DISCatchers. All double chains.

Tee Signs and Course Map are top notch, in the top 3 of all courses I have played.

All challenges are present at GCS: Distance, tight gaps, Creeks, OB, Precarious putts, etc.
Cons: The rough is ROUGH in most parts. Briars, poison oak/Ivy/etc. This should get better the more the course is played.

Somewhat lacking in parking. There is a small gravel lot right next to the course map which is ample space 99% of the time. But more space is required for a tournament.

No bathroom or water source! This is what really cost GCS and prevented me from giving this course a 5. For such a long and strenuous course, amenities are almost necessary.

One thing I really can't fault it for, but would make it that much better, is the presence of a lake. If you had a lake to contend with on one or two holes, it would be that much better.
Other Thoughts: This course is just flat out amazing. Great variety of shots, beautiful fairways, great pads/baskets, etc.

I would recommend this course to any player Intermediate-Pro, but Grand Central Station has it all and is worth the trip for any level player! The course that it is most similar to (In my opinion) is Lake Russell in Elberton, GA.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Masterpiece

1    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: JBryant
Played: 53  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All shots are required here. It will test your game at every turn.

Tees are not concrete but a honeycomb system filled with sand. Grip was fantastic on a hot summer day. Not sure about rainy days. Some tees are not complete yet but no issue on natural surface.

Secluded filling really adds to the allure of Grand Central.
Cons: Very hilly in some spots so some might think this is a hike of a course. I enjoy that aspect in most cases.

No bathrooms/facilities of any kind. Could use some trash cans which I imagine will get put in soon.

My only concern was a few more bridges need to be added when finishing a hole and moving to another tee box. In a few cases you have to walk backwards to the same bridge. I would imagine this would cause a problem during tournament play. The bridges were beautiful so I'm sure it was a cost factor as to why only one was installed at each creek crossing.
Other Thoughts: Course was put in after I moved to Greenville. BUT my old stomping grounds are 5 minutes away so road trips are planned.

Warning: It is a difficult course and if you enter the woods you can expect high numbers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Complete Package

5+    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: muneebee
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has it all. A little bit of everything, and not too much of anything. This is a course I could play a few times a week and not get tired of it, as it tests every shot in the bag. Since I don't know every shot it will be a long time before I tire of the course, and hopefully by then I'll be good at every shot!
Cons: The only thing wrong with this course is that's it's not quite done, and that it wasn't built a few years ago because I would have been playing it longer!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Great Frontier of Upstate Disc golf is at this course

2-4    5/20/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: WeenusWrinkle
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Before I begin the bullet-list, I want to say that I played this course twice in one day for the Upstate Foothills Open, the weekend the course opened. It's still very raw and filled with unpredictable forms of nature, but it's a very professionally designed course. It tests every shot in your arsenal, and will highlight all flaws in your game. It's not a beginner-friendly course, and will be most enjoyed by intermediate-advanced players. There are some holes that are densely wooded, some sparsely wooded, some open, and some that combine a mix of all three. The pace of play is nice - long distance holes are evenly spaced between shorter, technical holes. Bryan Schaupp did a fantastic job in designing this course, and it fills a big need for a high-quality course in the Clemson/Seneca/Central area.

- Teepads were unlike anything I've ever seen before. It was a honeycomb mat with very fine gravel poured into all of the little holes. I never thought a teepad surface could be superior to concrete, but this stuff passes the test. It's just as grippy when dry, but much less slippery when wet.

- Tee signs were far and away best I've seen - very professional and informative. They are behind glass enclosures on wooden house-shaped posts. It sounds cheesy to go out of my way to mention the tee signs, but they were very pleasing to the eye.

- Baskets were Innova Discatchers

- The fairways on the open holes are very unique because of the way the grass is cut. It's similar to ball golf fairways in that the rough is very tall grass. It's very neat-looking because you can see clearly defined fairways for most of the open holes.

- The 'rough' on the wooded holes can be treacherous - but the added difficulty really adds to the character of the course. It's not too dense to find errant discs, but it's dense enough that most of the time the best shot is a short pitch back into the fairway. You'll want to be able to competently sidearm or overhead discs as space is usually limited in the rough.

- Creek runs through the course - several holes run through/near it.

- The course is fairly long, but it does loop back near the parking lot. Parking lot is big enough that it should never be an issue.

- Park is exclusively for disc golf. There is virtually no worries about other non disc golfers in the park.

Hole 1: This is a warm-up hole with light woods on the right. Fairly easy duece with a straight shot, but both times I played I was spooked by the woods and ended up outside the putting circle to the left.

Hole 2: This hole is the first indication of what is to come. The Tee shot leads to a narrow clearing at the road (entrance of the park) at about 275 feet. From this spot, the basket is across the road hard to the right shielded by trees. The basket is invisible until you are across the road 100 feet from the basket.

Hole 3: Short, right turning hole that bends 90 degrees quick. The hole can't be more than 200 feet long , but it requires a clean line as the fairway is only about 20 feet wide.

Hole 4: Wide open hole that features both downhill and uphill shots. The first 250 feet is downhill. The last 200 feet is uphill and to the right. A good tee-shot is a shot that turns right late in the flight (after it clears the trees around 250 feet from the tee) and holds that line until touchdown on the hill going back up.

Hole 5: Deceptively difficult hole. The first 200 feet are open leading to a narrow gap into the woods (around 20 feet wide). If you miss the gap (which is easy to do), the woods are so dense that you're forced to pitch back into the fairway and take a 4. If you hit the gap, it's a pretty simple 2.

Hole 6: The longest hole on the course - I think the tee sign said 700+ feet. The fun of this hole is the gigantic power line tower that you have the option to throw through from the tee. It almost seems as if there should be a mando to throw through them...The basket is under the 2nd tower. Whatever you do, don't get into the woods on the left side of the fairway.You've been warned.

Hole 7: The "Signature hole" of the course. It's a slightly downhill open bomb - however, there is a creek about 350 feet making a natural divider between laying up or going for the deuce.

Hole 8: A very difficult hole - but quite pretty. The tee shot is into a lush grass fairway with some trees blocking easy lines. It's better to stay on the left side of the fairway (creek on the right side and easier angle for approach shot) off the tee, then test your accuracy on your approach uphill across a creek.

Hole 9: Open hole, slightly uphill - A nice break after hole 8.

Hole 10: Another wide-open hole, but the terrain hides the basket from view. A nice, straight 300 foot drive will get you into the circle, but you won't know until you walk over to it.

Hole 11: This hole is very memorable for it's difficulty - the tee shot is wide open, but the fairway heads into the woods at around 300 feet and immediately turns hard right. However, the entrance is narrow. If you aren't lined up just right after your tee shot, the next right-turning shot is impossible because of the trees. Once in the woods, the basket is way down a narrow right-turning path with unforgiving woods lining it and a drop-off immediately behind the basket. I got a 5 on this hole and celebrated it like a birdie.

Hole 12: This hole is a much-needed break after hole 11. It's only around 250 feet, but it's uphill so plays a little longer. For RHBH, a nice-easy hyzer drive will get you close without much trouble. It's better to miss right than left, however because of a huge mutant tree.

Hole 13: This hole makes an S-curve in the woods, making accuracy king.

Hole 14: Easiest hole on the course - A short downhill pitch-and-putt. It's conveniently placed after a difficult hole - worth noting because the pace of the course is great in this regard.

Hole 15: This hole is picturesque - by far the prettiest hole. It's actually almost surreal, like an oasis admist the harsh woods. Basket and tree placement allows for two lines - Hyzer line and Anhyzer line. Straight shots won't work.

Hole 16: Short, easier hole - but requires some decision-making. There are 2 lines because of a tree right in front of the tee. You can throw a straight shot and flirt with the creek to the left where the basket is placed, or you can play it safer by swinging out to the right and hoping it fades back close to the basket.

Hole 17: Sharp uphill hole that bends 90 degrees to the left. Good shots get deuces with a good putt. A bad putt can roll all the way down the hill. Bad tee shots end up causing me to whip out the floppy putter so they it doesn't get a wicked rollaway on the approach.

Hole 18: Super fun hole, but difficult. The 25' wide fairway in the woods intitially turns hard right, but then turns back left before opening up into the main field at around the 250' mark. If your tee shot ends up too far to the right, you will have no angle to throw out of the woods at the basket to try for a 3.
Cons: - Because the course is brand new, there is a lot of nature hazards such as poison ivy, thick thorns/briar patches, and insects. If you're prone to errant shots, wear tall socks.

- As of this review, there are no benches or trash bins on the course, and there aren't bathroom/water fountain facilities on the premises either.
Other Thoughts: This course has set the new bar for disc golf courses in the area. I look forward to this course helping to grow the sport's popularity in the region.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best in the Upstate

2-4    5/20/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: Voice of Reason
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What is not to like. This course has a little bit of everything and is definitely the way a Disc Golf Course should be designed. From the amazing tee signs to the well thought out layout this piece of land was used to it full potential. When you arrive at the park you are greeted by a great big map of the course, listing all the holes, lengths and locations. the first hole is right by the parking area along with a practice basket. Hole 2 is when the course starts to take shape, a tough tee shot that must be placed well if there is going to be any chance at a 3. Something I have noticed about the course after a few rds is that the really hard holes are generally followed by a nice par 3 or 4 with a good chance for birdie.

for example.

hole 2 (par 4)
hole 3 ( birdie hole)
hole 6 ( LONG hole)
hole 7 (shorter par 4, very birdieable)
hole 8 (tough par 4)
holes 9 and 10 (birdieable par 3s)
hole 11 (tough par 4)
hole 12 (birdieable)
hole 13 (fairly tough par 4)
holes 14-17 (all birdieable par 3s)
hole 18 - great finishing hole!!

All in all I have nothing but positive things to say about this course. It will test the advanced and pro level players while also making it fun for lower level intermediates. you can score well by making smart decisions and staying in the fairway.

Bryan Shaupp did an amazing job designing and building this course and I look forward to seeing the final product.
Cons: there really is nothing wrong with this course that wont work itself out over time. the only negatives are due to its newness.
Other Thoughts: Please go play this course. it is a public course in a park that is for Disc Golf! how cool is that. Most of the time we are an add in to an existing park. This time we are the attraction.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Getting in Shape

1    4/22/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jcphenom
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tons of distance. Great mix of open bombs and tight fairways. Good LH and RH mix. Elevation changes include long uphill/downhill slopes plus a couple of steep drops/rises.
Cons: Unfinished course as of 4/22/12. Potentially high difficulty for beginners. Hole 2 plays across the entrance road.
Other Thoughts: This course will give you a workout. Between the long distance and the elevation Grand Central will keep you winded. Don't expect to finish this one in less than an hour and a half. Until all tees are in and signs posted you will probably do some wandering trying to find each basket.
#1 - A deceptively easy opener.
#2 - The throw over the road is a little weird, but the technicality of this hole reveals a little more of what Grand Central has to offer. The basket is tucked tight against the trees to the right.
#3 - An easy LHBH or BHFH with lots of open air to the left.
#4 - This is your first chance to bring out the strength. The basket is very high on the hill near the extreme edge of the course. A late break right will keep you out of the woods and the rough.
#5 - A great open air to wooded fairway shot.
#6 - Bring out the long arm for this downhill shot. It's the only hole over 600', but it offers plenty of forgiveness in the open.
#7 - The water hazard could prove to be a problem for many. Some may want to lay up while others will want to go for gold with a 400'+ tee shot down the hill.
#8 - My favorite hole on the course. The view up is great and the distance is perfect to test most players possibility.
#9 - This right hyzer from the edge of the woods brings you back out to the wide open area near the parking lot.
#10 - I love the blind shot over the terrace ridge. There is one small tree that can be used to line up the shot from the tee area.
#11 - This is a killer. The right dogleg into the woods will hurt you if you don't get near or into the entrance into the woods. The basket placement near the downward slope makes any long-distance putts more intimidating.
#12 - The many-trunked tree in front of the basket has offered this hole a moniker: "Medusa". Playing to the right of the basket will make putting much easier.
#13 - One of the more open holes in the woods.
#14 - A beautiful drop shot out of the woods to the creek.
#15 - This is probably the most photogenic hole on the course. Beautiful green with lots of trees to navigate before arriving at the basket nestled near the back corner of the property.
#16 - A short shot along the creek with a couple of possible shots - either against the water's edge or out through the sewer cut.
#17 - Unplayable. No basket or tee and many trees have yet to be cut.
#18 - A long right hyzer from near the #7 tee at the edge of the woods allllll the way out and up to the parking lot.
Grand Central Station is going to be one of the highlights of South Carolina disc golf. The town of Central owns the property, so it will be a disc golf "park", with picnic benches and a gazebo on the way. I can't wait to play the finished course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.