Central, SC 
Grand Central Station Share
Uploaded By: TheOtherBill Hole #6 (Taken 4/2012)
4 / 760ft.   4 / 560ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach: Basket tucked under power tower



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Ridin' that Train

1    4/26/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a good one, very well designed. Good mixture of open/wooded and long/short. Big variety on shot types and you'll need to work the disc over a range of distances.

Shots that come out of the woods and some that go in. A nice mixture of placement shots as well as gap hitting shots.

Multiple pads on about half the holes which usually shortens the hole on the same fairway. Seven par 4's and one par 5 which combine different elements within the hole.

Good elevation change here, some bigger hill shots as well as smaller changes throughout holes.

Nicely designed greens that are guarded well or use elevation to make your approach tricky.

Water and OB come in to play via a creek. Though it never presents any real danger of disc loss or trouble.

I really enjoyed how the holes fit together in terms of weaving the short/long holes and open/wooded. Allows for an interesting round that never gets boring by changing things up.

Equipment - Baskets in great shape. Some of the best signage I've ever seen that gives you a colorful map and info. Pads are large. Big Kiosk at the beginning with a course map and other info. Trashcans throughout.

Atmosphere - DG only park... awesome. Gives you a private feel to the place because you're not going to run in to anyone else out there but disc golfers and an occasional dog walker. Really beautiful park with rolling hills and a remote wooded feel in parts.

You might catch the train in the distance which gives you the full effect.
Cons: Layout - Biggest con here is the flow of the course, it's quite confusing and you loop back upon places you already were more than once.

There are a few less inspiring shots thrown in. Is probably a side effect of so many great holes but it is what it is.

Some tweener holes.

A lot of my complaints about the place are due to it's lack of play; it needs to be broken in more. The rough here is super rough; there are places not far from the fairway where you are in total jail. I'd like to see at least the immediate rough cleared out a bit more.

I didn't think the back 9 was as enjoyable as the front but it's still good. I do like the finishing hole.

Equipment - Pads are nice and big but they are the hexagonal filled with gravel type. I didn't have a big problem with them but they were starting to get un-level in a few places.

No bathrooms or water access here and it's kind of remote.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course that is a super fun round and some beautiful holes. Highly recommend anyone in the area stop by. I only wish it was a bit closer to town so it would get the play it needs.

I could see with some more breaking in and attention this course getting a higher rating from me in the future.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in SC!

2-4    3/17/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 64  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a super layout! Very nice mix of open and wooded holes. And as everyone has mentioned, the signage is now the Gold Standard of what signage should be. If you're planning a course, check this one out.

This course also had a good mix Grip-and-Rip holes where you can open your bag and watch'em fly, down to precision putter shots and strings of birdie-holes

The wooded holes definitely reward well placed shots, and can HAMMER you if you don't!
Cons: Very few, primarily a mix bag of tee sizes. Some are HUGE, some are short. And there is some slippage with the aggregate used to fill the boxes. But overall, they work just fine
Other Thoughts: Even though the course looked really long, we found that you can play with 3 discs: Stable Driver, Midrange and Putter. I through a DGA Squall and Discraft Wasp on more holes than I through a driver

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well Worth a Detour

1    1/5/2013   1/11/2013
Review By: Toro71
Played: 64  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Challenge: Nice balance here. Even the toughest holes were reasonable, nothing here feels impossible or makes you think too much about drawing devil horns on a photo of the designer. The pacing of the more troublesome holes vs the more straightforward was particularly well thought out, I thought, adding to the fun of the round; the toughest shots (for me,) the super-snug, snaky wooded holes, were mostly on the back nine.

--Layout: good, interesting piece of land that was probably asking for a course, and well used. Several different "flavors" as you progress through the round, two different feels to the early vs later wooded holes, non-repetitive open holes, good use of elevation, big D, open-woods and woods-open transition holes, stretch of ace runs. Great variety and no two holes remotely similar.

--"Best signage in the upstate" is not an exaggeration. Massive kiosk with a practically life-size map of the course right by the parking lot. Tee signs are consistent, descriptive (even 1st time through, only a couple of the blind shots made me feel like I needed to do serious recon,) and naming the holes is a touch that makes you feel the love...and leaves no doubt as to the signature hole. Made navigation pretty self evident for the most part.

--Tee pads of ample size, and played pretty close to concrete for me, but I have mixed feelings about them...more below.

--other amenities: the covered picnic area with an observation deck on the roof overlooking the open holes is a cool idea, loved it. Property is DG only, no other park activities to deal with. Plenty of trashcans, though the day I played the vast majority on site were around the parking lot. They were wheeled, making me think that maybe they're more spread around usually? The course was pristine, so trash not an issue either way. One portajohn...new looking, clean.
Cons: Not many.

The tee pads are currently made from the plastic no-slip mats like used in restaurant kitchens. All but two were framed and filled in with some sort of aggregate. All done this way played close enough to concrete that I didn't notice. The other two, 1 and 15 I think, were just the mats, so I teed from the dirt. These mats alone are problematic in my mind because they don't really allow a consistent pivot, and depending on the shoes you play in, could result in NO pivot and injury. As long as the aggregate fill is maintained, and the feeling the course gave me is that it will be, then these pads are really no problem in my book. I don't know if the plan is to pour 'Crete in the future....

No water on site that I saw, but it's maybe 10 minutes to Walmart etc, so don't forget to stop!

1 portajohn may not be ideal for some, no sweat for me.

If one of your rating criterion is total natural seclusion, you might have a beef with the line towers as obstacles on 6, the crossing of the entrance road on 2, or possibly even the old shacks near the parking lot (these are part of the flavor for me,) but none of these really ding the course for me, given the "make the most of the available land" heroics of my hometown layouts.

The rough here features some of the pinky finger thick briars that will tear you apart. I put my tee shot on 7 onto the OB islandish obstacle just over the creek to the right and got chewed up good retrieving it. OB/rough should be rough, I think, but this felt like a double penalty. Note to self: keep it in play, a&$!
Other Thoughts: This is one of the courses that makes me wish for quarter disc reviews, because it's solidly at least a 4.25 now. Still pretty new, but doesn't have many of the "new course" issues that some will. Feels pretty finished.

I played after dropping someone at the GSP airport, from Charlotte, so drove the extra 30-40 min to play here, and it was absolutely worth it. It's made my list of courses to hit when driving down the I-85 corridor. Total DG fun for a wide range of players/skill levels. Don't miss out!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Grand layout!

2-4    9/28/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 91  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is laid out on a beautiful piece of property. Quiet country setting with the occasional train whistle blowing in the background. Mown grass fairways & mulched woods holes. Disc golf only (no hikers, bike riders, etc). Excellent mix of long & short holes. Straight shots, lefts, rights, up & down hill shots! Elevation was in play but it was not a difficult hike. Wide open & heavily wooded shots. Holes that start in the woods & throw into the open & open shots that throw into the woods! Par 3, 4 & 5's! Large wood benches, trash cans, practice basket, bathrooms (port-a-johns), information kiosk with course maps & score cards. A large covered gazebo area with picnic benches. Outstanding tee signs & directional signs bring you in to the course from the street. New DisCatcher baskets & large tee pads. Some O.B., mandos & a small creek in play. Ammenities nearby (WalMart, BBQ, Subway, etc). Good flow to the course layout with next tee signs. Enough design change from hole to hole to keep play interesting. Large parking lot. Hole 9 ends at the parking lot if you need a break or only have enough time to play 9 holes.
Cons: Tee pads are a flat, corrugated plastic grate design with wood frame. They were fine for me (large with good traction) but some players may prefer concrete.
Other Thoughts: I was able to play the course with the designer & he was very open to any suggestions. The course recieves maintenance assistance from the city/county. He said he designed the course to be everything that a disc golfer could ever want. I'd say he succeeded!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Challenging Course

2-4    9/22/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: DiscGolfMaster
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Perfect mixture of long and short holes in woods and out in the open. Great long holes which is a nice change from the short hold courses which dominate the area. Elevation adds alot of fun to this course and makes it a nice hike as well.
Cons: 11 is awful. Extremely hard hole to me. You need a semi long and perfectly accurate shot to get to the opening of the woods. Then another perfect and long shot just to get near the hole which is almost impossible with the random trees in the middle of the fairway and huge ditch right before the basket. And then theres a huge drop off behind the basket. Just a little too much stuff to deal with all on one hole. Cut down the trees in the fairway and fill the ditch and leave the drop off and you would have a great hole. This hole is the only reason why I did not rate this course and 5 disc.
Other Thoughts: 13 and 18 are rather difficult. Depending on your skill level this could be a pro or con. They are long holes with narrow fairways and require pin point accuracy. Little hard to get a disc to fly with the fairway on 18. it dog legs right then back left and then opens up. Still haven't managed to get my understable wraith to go right then left on it quite right yet. But I love a challenge!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 High Quality

1    9/25/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: goober
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - can't add more than the other reviews but overall great layout, great variety of types and lengths of holes, elevation changes etc
- the mats are pretty unique but effective - plastic snowcone foundation with gravel - I guess preventing the grvel from becoming worn
Cons: stretching here but:
- holes 14-17 are sort of bland for a high caliber course
Other Thoughts: I keep forgetting the course is new so time will only help; lots of prickily brush so be careful

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quite Grand Indeed

1    6/27/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 242  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grand Central Station DGC is a terrific new course that is fun and well conceived. The front and back 9 both begin and end near the parking lot, but I can't see playing only half of this course because it's too good. Varying degrees of elevation change mixed into several holes throughout the course, and fairways ranging from short to long, and wide open and nicely mowed, to dense woods and rough provide ever changing looks from hole to hole. To add to the pleasure, the course is furnished with awesome tee signs, boxes, and baskets. The tee signs give the name of each hole as well as distance, and a accurate illustrated map. The tee boxes are not concrete, but they are a great alternative I found as good or better, somewhat to my surprise. They are large rubber mats on flat foundations, and they have cells in the tread that were filled with a fine grained gravel. I liked the feel of them under my feet after a little getting used to: firm and level and allowing very smooth pivots. The baskets are very nice new Innova Discatchers. There is a practice basket next to the parking lot as well. No trails or other recreational uses in this area means only disc golfers are likely to be seen on the course.

All of the holes on this course are nice quality, with several that are quite memorable. The wide open (except for the massive power lines), downhill, 760 foot number 6 comes to mind. A couple of holes later, number 8 is not as lengthy at just over 450', but displays the opposite extreme with going over the stream and through the woods, but not to Grandmother's house. Number 11, Beauty and the Beast according to the sign, is the reason I was 3 over, instead of par. Tee over 300 feet of open fairway into a small window into the woods, then take a turn and negotiate the trees another couple hundred feet. There are some good chances to make 2's on the last few holes, and these will all take different shapes, keeping the flow fresh and fun.
Cons: Not much to pick on here. There were not much in the way of benches. I only remember one trash can at the parking lot. The second hole crossed over the road leading into the park, so keep an eye out for cars.
Other Thoughts: The Grand Central Station DGC is really excellent. There are points that are challenging, and possibly even frustrating, but at all times it is fun disc golfing. In a vicinity with a few nice courses, this is probably the best, and also among a handful of the best in the state.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular

2-4    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 113  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some of the prettiest greens I have seen. Holes 8 and 15 really highlight this feature. They're both in the midst of woods, cleared out areas, with really pretty grass. Very picturesque.

The secluded feel of this course is very nice. This aspect of the course is highlighted in that this area is DG only.

Out of every course that I've played, this course has the best mix of open and wooded. The ratio is perfect. To shoot well at GCS you have have to be long and accurate.

The tee pads are excellent! Almost all of them are now packed sand and gravel which offer great footing.

Baskets are all new DISCatchers. All double chains.

Tee Signs and Course Map are top notch, in the top 3 of all courses I have played.

All challenges are present at GCS: Distance, tight gaps, Creeks, OB, Precarious putts, etc.
Cons: The rough is ROUGH in most parts. Briars, poison oak/Ivy/etc. This should get better the more the course is played.

Somewhat lacking in parking. There is a small gravel lot right next to the course map which is ample space 99% of the time. But more space is required for a tournament.

No bathroom or water source! This is what really cost GCS and prevented me from giving this course a 5. For such a long and strenuous course, amenities are almost necessary.

One thing I really can't fault it for, but would make it that much better, is the presence of a lake. If you had a lake to contend with on one or two holes, it would be that much better.
Other Thoughts: This course is just flat out amazing. Great variety of shots, beautiful fairways, great pads/baskets, etc.

I would recommend this course to any player Intermediate-Pro, but Grand Central Station has it all and is worth the trip for any level player! The course that it is most similar to (In my opinion) is Lake Russell in Elberton, GA.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Masterpiece

1    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: JBryant
Played: 87  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All shots are required here. It will test your game at every turn.

Tees are not concrete but a honeycomb system filled with sand. Grip was fantastic on a hot summer day. Not sure about rainy days. Some tees are not complete yet but no issue on natural surface.

Secluded filling really adds to the allure of Grand Central.
Cons: Very hilly in some spots so some might think this is a hike of a course. I enjoy that aspect in most cases.

No bathrooms/facilities of any kind. Could use some trash cans which I imagine will get put in soon.

My only concern was a few more bridges need to be added when finishing a hole and moving to another tee box. In a few cases you have to walk backwards to the same bridge. I would imagine this would cause a problem during tournament play. The bridges were beautiful so I'm sure it was a cost factor as to why only one was installed at each creek crossing.
Other Thoughts: Course was put in after I moved to Greenville. BUT my old stomping grounds are 5 minutes away so road trips are planned.

Warning: It is a difficult course and if you enter the woods you can expect high numbers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Complete Package

5+    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: muneebee
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has it all. A little bit of everything, and not too much of anything. This is a course I could play a few times a week and not get tired of it, as it tests every shot in the bag. Since I don't know every shot it will be a long time before I tire of the course, and hopefully by then I'll be good at every shot!
Cons: The only thing wrong with this course is that's it's not quite done, and that it wasn't built a few years ago because I would have been playing it longer!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.