Central, SC 
Grand Central Station Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #10 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 321ft.   3 / 321ft.   3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 One of the best in SC!

2-4    3/17/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 60  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a super layout! Very nice mix of open and wooded holes. And as everyone has mentioned, the signage is now the Gold Standard of what signage should be. If you're planning a course, check this one out.

This course also had a good mix Grip-and-Rip holes where you can open your bag and watch'em fly, down to precision putter shots and strings of birdie-holes

The wooded holes definitely reward well placed shots, and can HAMMER you if you don't!
Cons: Very few, primarily a mix bag of tee sizes. Some are HUGE, some are short. And there is some slippage with the aggregate used to fill the boxes. But overall, they work just fine
Other Thoughts: Even though the course looked really long, we found that you can play with 3 discs: Stable Driver, Midrange and Putter. I through a DGA Squall and Discraft Wasp on more holes than I through a driver

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well Worth a Detour

1    1/5/2013   1/11/2013
Review By: Toro71
Played: 64  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Challenge: Nice balance here. Even the toughest holes were reasonable, nothing here feels impossible or makes you think too much about drawing devil horns on a photo of the designer. The pacing of the more troublesome holes vs the more straightforward was particularly well thought out, I thought, adding to the fun of the round; the toughest shots (for me,) the super-snug, snaky wooded holes, were mostly on the back nine.

--Layout: good, interesting piece of land that was probably asking for a course, and well used. Several different "flavors" as you progress through the round, two different feels to the early vs later wooded holes, non-repetitive open holes, good use of elevation, big D, open-woods and woods-open transition holes, stretch of ace runs. Great variety and no two holes remotely similar.

--"Best signage in the upstate" is not an exaggeration. Massive kiosk with a practically life-size map of the course right by the parking lot. Tee signs are consistent, descriptive (even 1st time through, only a couple of the blind shots made me feel like I needed to do serious recon,) and naming the holes is a touch that makes you feel the love...and leaves no doubt as to the signature hole. Made navigation pretty self evident for the most part.

--Tee pads of ample size, and played pretty close to concrete for me, but I have mixed feelings about them...more below.

--other amenities: the covered picnic area with an observation deck on the roof overlooking the open holes is a cool idea, loved it. Property is DG only, no other park activities to deal with. Plenty of trashcans, though the day I played the vast majority on site were around the parking lot. They were wheeled, making me think that maybe they're more spread around usually? The course was pristine, so trash not an issue either way. One portajohn...new looking, clean.
Cons: Not many.

The tee pads are currently made from the plastic no-slip mats like used in restaurant kitchens. All but two were framed and filled in with some sort of aggregate. All done this way played close enough to concrete that I didn't notice. The other two, 1 and 15 I think, were just the mats, so I teed from the dirt. These mats alone are problematic in my mind because they don't really allow a consistent pivot, and depending on the shoes you play in, could result in NO pivot and injury. As long as the aggregate fill is maintained, and the feeling the course gave me is that it will be, then these pads are really no problem in my book. I don't know if the plan is to pour 'Crete in the future....

No water on site that I saw, but it's maybe 10 minutes to Walmart etc, so don't forget to stop!

1 portajohn may not be ideal for some, no sweat for me.

If one of your rating criterion is total natural seclusion, you might have a beef with the line towers as obstacles on 6, the crossing of the entrance road on 2, or possibly even the old shacks near the parking lot (these are part of the flavor for me,) but none of these really ding the course for me, given the "make the most of the available land" heroics of my hometown layouts.

The rough here features some of the pinky finger thick briars that will tear you apart. I put my tee shot on 7 onto the OB islandish obstacle just over the creek to the right and got chewed up good retrieving it. OB/rough should be rough, I think, but this felt like a double penalty. Note to self: keep it in play, a&$!
Other Thoughts: This is one of the courses that makes me wish for quarter disc reviews, because it's solidly at least a 4.25 now. Still pretty new, but doesn't have many of the "new course" issues that some will. Feels pretty finished.

I played after dropping someone at the GSP airport, from Charlotte, so drove the extra 30-40 min to play here, and it was absolutely worth it. It's made my list of courses to hit when driving down the I-85 corridor. Total DG fun for a wide range of players/skill levels. Don't miss out!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Grand layout!

2-4    9/28/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 91  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is laid out on a beautiful piece of property. Quiet country setting with the occasional train whistle blowing in the background. Mown grass fairways & mulched woods holes. Disc golf only (no hikers, bike riders, etc). Excellent mix of long & short holes. Straight shots, lefts, rights, up & down hill shots! Elevation was in play but it was not a difficult hike. Wide open & heavily wooded shots. Holes that start in the woods & throw into the open & open shots that throw into the woods! Par 3, 4 & 5's! Large wood benches, trash cans, practice basket, bathrooms (port-a-johns), information kiosk with course maps & score cards. A large covered gazebo area with picnic benches. Outstanding tee signs & directional signs bring you in to the course from the street. New DisCatcher baskets & large tee pads. Some O.B., mandos & a small creek in play. Ammenities nearby (WalMart, BBQ, Subway, etc). Good flow to the course layout with next tee signs. Enough design change from hole to hole to keep play interesting. Large parking lot. Hole 9 ends at the parking lot if you need a break or only have enough time to play 9 holes.
Cons: Tee pads are a flat, corrugated plastic grate design with wood frame. They were fine for me (large with good traction) but some players may prefer concrete.
Other Thoughts: I was able to play the course with the designer & he was very open to any suggestions. The course recieves maintenance assistance from the city/county. He said he designed the course to be everything that a disc golfer could ever want. I'd say he succeeded!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Challenging Course

2-4    9/22/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: DiscGolfMaster
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Perfect mixture of long and short holes in woods and out in the open. Great long holes which is a nice change from the short hold courses which dominate the area. Elevation adds alot of fun to this course and makes it a nice hike as well.
Cons: 11 is awful. Extremely hard hole to me. You need a semi long and perfectly accurate shot to get to the opening of the woods. Then another perfect and long shot just to get near the hole which is almost impossible with the random trees in the middle of the fairway and huge ditch right before the basket. And then theres a huge drop off behind the basket. Just a little too much stuff to deal with all on one hole. Cut down the trees in the fairway and fill the ditch and leave the drop off and you would have a great hole. This hole is the only reason why I did not rate this course and 5 disc.
Other Thoughts: 13 and 18 are rather difficult. Depending on your skill level this could be a pro or con. They are long holes with narrow fairways and require pin point accuracy. Little hard to get a disc to fly with the fairway on 18. it dog legs right then back left and then opens up. Still haven't managed to get my understable wraith to go right then left on it quite right yet. But I love a challenge!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 High Quality

1    9/25/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: goober
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - can't add more than the other reviews but overall great layout, great variety of types and lengths of holes, elevation changes etc
- the mats are pretty unique but effective - plastic snowcone foundation with gravel - I guess preventing the grvel from becoming worn
Cons: stretching here but:
- holes 14-17 are sort of bland for a high caliber course
Other Thoughts: I keep forgetting the course is new so time will only help; lots of prickily brush so be careful

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quite Grand Indeed

1    6/27/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 242  Reviewed: 135  Exp: 12 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grand Central Station DGC is a terrific new course that is fun and well conceived. The front and back 9 both begin and end near the parking lot, but I can't see playing only half of this course because it's too good. Varying degrees of elevation change mixed into several holes throughout the course, and fairways ranging from short to long, and wide open and nicely mowed, to dense woods and rough provide ever changing looks from hole to hole. To add to the pleasure, the course is furnished with awesome tee signs, boxes, and baskets. The tee signs give the name of each hole as well as distance, and a accurate illustrated map. The tee boxes are not concrete, but they are a great alternative I found as good or better, somewhat to my surprise. They are large rubber mats on flat foundations, and they have cells in the tread that were filled with a fine grained gravel. I liked the feel of them under my feet after a little getting used to: firm and level and allowing very smooth pivots. The baskets are very nice new Innova Discatchers. There is a practice basket next to the parking lot as well. No trails or other recreational uses in this area means only disc golfers are likely to be seen on the course.

All of the holes on this course are nice quality, with several that are quite memorable. The wide open (except for the massive power lines), downhill, 760 foot number 6 comes to mind. A couple of holes later, number 8 is not as lengthy at just over 450', but displays the opposite extreme with going over the stream and through the woods, but not to Grandmother's house. Number 11, Beauty and the Beast according to the sign, is the reason I was 3 over, instead of par. Tee over 300 feet of open fairway into a small window into the woods, then take a turn and negotiate the trees another couple hundred feet. There are some good chances to make 2's on the last few holes, and these will all take different shapes, keeping the flow fresh and fun.
Cons: Not much to pick on here. There were not much in the way of benches. I only remember one trash can at the parking lot. The second hole crossed over the road leading into the park, so keep an eye out for cars.
Other Thoughts: The Grand Central Station DGC is really excellent. There are points that are challenging, and possibly even frustrating, but at all times it is fun disc golfing. In a vicinity with a few nice courses, this is probably the best, and also among a handful of the best in the state.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular

2-4    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 112  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some of the prettiest greens I have seen. Holes 8 and 15 really highlight this feature. They're both in the midst of woods, cleared out areas, with really pretty grass. Very picturesque.

The secluded feel of this course is very nice. This aspect of the course is highlighted in that this area is DG only.

Out of every course that I've played, this course has the best mix of open and wooded. The ratio is perfect. To shoot well at GCS you have have to be long and accurate.

The tee pads are excellent! Almost all of them are now packed sand and gravel which offer great footing.

Baskets are all new DISCatchers. All double chains.

Tee Signs and Course Map are top notch, in the top 3 of all courses I have played.

All challenges are present at GCS: Distance, tight gaps, Creeks, OB, Precarious putts, etc.
Cons: The rough is ROUGH in most parts. Briars, poison oak/Ivy/etc. This should get better the more the course is played.

Somewhat lacking in parking. There is a small gravel lot right next to the course map which is ample space 99% of the time. But more space is required for a tournament.

No bathroom or water source! This is what really cost GCS and prevented me from giving this course a 5. For such a long and strenuous course, amenities are almost necessary.

One thing I really can't fault it for, but would make it that much better, is the presence of a lake. If you had a lake to contend with on one or two holes, it would be that much better.
Other Thoughts: This course is just flat out amazing. Great variety of shots, beautiful fairways, great pads/baskets, etc.

I would recommend this course to any player Intermediate-Pro, but Grand Central Station has it all and is worth the trip for any level player! The course that it is most similar to (In my opinion) is Lake Russell in Elberton, GA.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Masterpiece

1    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: JBryant
Played: 82  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All shots are required here. It will test your game at every turn.

Tees are not concrete but a honeycomb system filled with sand. Grip was fantastic on a hot summer day. Not sure about rainy days. Some tees are not complete yet but no issue on natural surface.

Secluded filling really adds to the allure of Grand Central.
Cons: Very hilly in some spots so some might think this is a hike of a course. I enjoy that aspect in most cases.

No bathrooms/facilities of any kind. Could use some trash cans which I imagine will get put in soon.

My only concern was a few more bridges need to be added when finishing a hole and moving to another tee box. In a few cases you have to walk backwards to the same bridge. I would imagine this would cause a problem during tournament play. The bridges were beautiful so I'm sure it was a cost factor as to why only one was installed at each creek crossing.
Other Thoughts: Course was put in after I moved to Greenville. BUT my old stomping grounds are 5 minutes away so road trips are planned.

Warning: It is a difficult course and if you enter the woods you can expect high numbers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Complete Package

5+    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: muneebee
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has it all. A little bit of everything, and not too much of anything. This is a course I could play a few times a week and not get tired of it, as it tests every shot in the bag. Since I don't know every shot it will be a long time before I tire of the course, and hopefully by then I'll be good at every shot!
Cons: The only thing wrong with this course is that's it's not quite done, and that it wasn't built a few years ago because I would have been playing it longer!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Great Frontier of Upstate Disc golf is at this course

2-4    5/20/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: WeenusWrinkle
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Before I begin the bullet-list, I want to say that I played this course twice in one day for the Upstate Foothills Open, the weekend the course opened. It's still very raw and filled with unpredictable forms of nature, but it's a very professionally designed course. It tests every shot in your arsenal, and will highlight all flaws in your game. It's not a beginner-friendly course, and will be most enjoyed by intermediate-advanced players. There are some holes that are densely wooded, some sparsely wooded, some open, and some that combine a mix of all three. The pace of play is nice - long distance holes are evenly spaced between shorter, technical holes. Bryan Schaupp did a fantastic job in designing this course, and it fills a big need for a high-quality course in the Clemson/Seneca/Central area.

- Teepads were unlike anything I've ever seen before. It was a honeycomb mat with very fine gravel poured into all of the little holes. I never thought a teepad surface could be superior to concrete, but this stuff passes the test. It's just as grippy when dry, but much less slippery when wet.

- Tee signs were far and away best I've seen - very professional and informative. They are behind glass enclosures on wooden house-shaped posts. It sounds cheesy to go out of my way to mention the tee signs, but they were very pleasing to the eye.

- Baskets were Innova Discatchers

- The fairways on the open holes are very unique because of the way the grass is cut. It's similar to ball golf fairways in that the rough is very tall grass. It's very neat-looking because you can see clearly defined fairways for most of the open holes.

- The 'rough' on the wooded holes can be treacherous - but the added difficulty really adds to the character of the course. It's not too dense to find errant discs, but it's dense enough that most of the time the best shot is a short pitch back into the fairway. You'll want to be able to competently sidearm or overhead discs as space is usually limited in the rough.

- Creek runs through the course - several holes run through/near it.

- The course is fairly long, but it does loop back near the parking lot. Parking lot is big enough that it should never be an issue.

- Park is exclusively for disc golf. There is virtually no worries about other non disc golfers in the park.

Hole 1: This is a warm-up hole with light woods on the right. Fairly easy duece with a straight shot, but both times I played I was spooked by the woods and ended up outside the putting circle to the left.

Hole 2: This hole is the first indication of what is to come. The Tee shot leads to a narrow clearing at the road (entrance of the park) at about 275 feet. From this spot, the basket is across the road hard to the right shielded by trees. The basket is invisible until you are across the road 100 feet from the basket.

Hole 3: Short, right turning hole that bends 90 degrees quick. The hole can't be more than 200 feet long , but it requires a clean line as the fairway is only about 20 feet wide.

Hole 4: Wide open hole that features both downhill and uphill shots. The first 250 feet is downhill. The last 200 feet is uphill and to the right. A good tee-shot is a shot that turns right late in the flight (after it clears the trees around 250 feet from the tee) and holds that line until touchdown on the hill going back up.

Hole 5: Deceptively difficult hole. The first 200 feet are open leading to a narrow gap into the woods (around 20 feet wide). If you miss the gap (which is easy to do), the woods are so dense that you're forced to pitch back into the fairway and take a 4. If you hit the gap, it's a pretty simple 2.

Hole 6: The longest hole on the course - I think the tee sign said 700+ feet. The fun of this hole is the gigantic power line tower that you have the option to throw through from the tee. It almost seems as if there should be a mando to throw through them...The basket is under the 2nd tower. Whatever you do, don't get into the woods on the left side of the fairway.You've been warned.

Hole 7: The "Signature hole" of the course. It's a slightly downhill open bomb - however, there is a creek about 350 feet making a natural divider between laying up or going for the deuce.

Hole 8: A very difficult hole - but quite pretty. The tee shot is into a lush grass fairway with some trees blocking easy lines. It's better to stay on the left side of the fairway (creek on the right side and easier angle for approach shot) off the tee, then test your accuracy on your approach uphill across a creek.

Hole 9: Open hole, slightly uphill - A nice break after hole 8.

Hole 10: Another wide-open hole, but the terrain hides the basket from view. A nice, straight 300 foot drive will get you into the circle, but you won't know until you walk over to it.

Hole 11: This hole is very memorable for it's difficulty - the tee shot is wide open, but the fairway heads into the woods at around 300 feet and immediately turns hard right. However, the entrance is narrow. If you aren't lined up just right after your tee shot, the next right-turning shot is impossible because of the trees. Once in the woods, the basket is way down a narrow right-turning path with unforgiving woods lining it and a drop-off immediately behind the basket. I got a 5 on this hole and celebrated it like a birdie.

Hole 12: This hole is a much-needed break after hole 11. It's only around 250 feet, but it's uphill so plays a little longer. For RHBH, a nice-easy hyzer drive will get you close without much trouble. It's better to miss right than left, however because of a huge mutant tree.

Hole 13: This hole makes an S-curve in the woods, making accuracy king.

Hole 14: Easiest hole on the course - A short downhill pitch-and-putt. It's conveniently placed after a difficult hole - worth noting because the pace of the course is great in this regard.

Hole 15: This hole is picturesque - by far the prettiest hole. It's actually almost surreal, like an oasis admist the harsh woods. Basket and tree placement allows for two lines - Hyzer line and Anhyzer line. Straight shots won't work.

Hole 16: Short, easier hole - but requires some decision-making. There are 2 lines because of a tree right in front of the tee. You can throw a straight shot and flirt with the creek to the left where the basket is placed, or you can play it safer by swinging out to the right and hoping it fades back close to the basket.

Hole 17: Sharp uphill hole that bends 90 degrees to the left. Good shots get deuces with a good putt. A bad putt can roll all the way down the hill. Bad tee shots end up causing me to whip out the floppy putter so they it doesn't get a wicked rollaway on the approach.

Hole 18: Super fun hole, but difficult. The 25' wide fairway in the woods intitially turns hard right, but then turns back left before opening up into the main field at around the 250' mark. If your tee shot ends up too far to the right, you will have no angle to throw out of the woods at the basket to try for a 3.
Cons: - Because the course is brand new, there is a lot of nature hazards such as poison ivy, thick thorns/briar patches, and insects. If you're prone to errant shots, wear tall socks.

- As of this review, there are no benches or trash bins on the course, and there aren't bathroom/water fountain facilities on the premises either.
Other Thoughts: This course has set the new bar for disc golf courses in the area. I look forward to this course helping to grow the sport's popularity in the region.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.