Central, SC 
Grand Central Station Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #10 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 321ft.   3 / 321ft.   3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Grand layout!

2-4    9/28/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 90  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is laid out on a beautiful piece of property. Quiet country setting with the occasional train whistle blowing in the background. Mown grass fairways & mulched woods holes. Disc golf only (no hikers, bike riders, etc). Excellent mix of long & short holes. Straight shots, lefts, rights, up & down hill shots! Elevation was in play but it was not a difficult hike. Wide open & heavily wooded shots. Holes that start in the woods & throw into the open & open shots that throw into the woods! Par 3, 4 & 5's! Large wood benches, trash cans, practice basket, bathrooms (port-a-johns), information kiosk with course maps & score cards. A large covered gazebo area with picnic benches. Outstanding tee signs & directional signs bring you in to the course from the street. New DisCatcher baskets & large tee pads. Some O.B., mandos & a small creek in play. Ammenities nearby (WalMart, BBQ, Subway, etc). Good flow to the course layout with next tee signs. Enough design change from hole to hole to keep play interesting. Large parking lot. Hole 9 ends at the parking lot if you need a break or only have enough time to play 9 holes.
Cons: Tee pads are a flat, corrugated plastic grate design with wood frame. They were fine for me (large with good traction) but some players may prefer concrete.
Other Thoughts: I was able to play the course with the designer & he was very open to any suggestions. The course recieves maintenance assistance from the city/county. He said he designed the course to be everything that a disc golfer could ever want. I'd say he succeeded!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Challenging Course

2-4    9/22/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: DiscGolfMaster
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Perfect mixture of long and short holes in woods and out in the open. Great long holes which is a nice change from the short hold courses which dominate the area. Elevation adds alot of fun to this course and makes it a nice hike as well.
Cons: 11 is awful. Extremely hard hole to me. You need a semi long and perfectly accurate shot to get to the opening of the woods. Then another perfect and long shot just to get near the hole which is almost impossible with the random trees in the middle of the fairway and huge ditch right before the basket. And then theres a huge drop off behind the basket. Just a little too much stuff to deal with all on one hole. Cut down the trees in the fairway and fill the ditch and leave the drop off and you would have a great hole. This hole is the only reason why I did not rate this course and 5 disc.
Other Thoughts: 13 and 18 are rather difficult. Depending on your skill level this could be a pro or con. They are long holes with narrow fairways and require pin point accuracy. Little hard to get a disc to fly with the fairway on 18. it dog legs right then back left and then opens up. Still haven't managed to get my understable wraith to go right then left on it quite right yet. But I love a challenge!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 High Quality

1    9/25/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: goober
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - can't add more than the other reviews but overall great layout, great variety of types and lengths of holes, elevation changes etc
- the mats are pretty unique but effective - plastic snowcone foundation with gravel - I guess preventing the grvel from becoming worn
Cons: stretching here but:
- holes 14-17 are sort of bland for a high caliber course
Other Thoughts: I keep forgetting the course is new so time will only help; lots of prickily brush so be careful

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quite Grand Indeed

1    6/27/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grand Central Station DGC is a terrific new course that is fun and well conceived. The front and back 9 both begin and end near the parking lot, but I can't see playing only half of this course because it's too good. Varying degrees of elevation change mixed into several holes throughout the course, and fairways ranging from short to long, and wide open and nicely mowed, to dense woods and rough provide ever changing looks from hole to hole. To add to the pleasure, the course is furnished with awesome tee signs, boxes, and baskets. The tee signs give the name of each hole as well as distance, and a accurate illustrated map. The tee boxes are not concrete, but they are a great alternative I found as good or better, somewhat to my surprise. They are large rubber mats on flat foundations, and they have cells in the tread that were filled with a fine grained gravel. I liked the feel of them under my feet after a little getting used to: firm and level and allowing very smooth pivots. The baskets are very nice new Innova Discatchers. There is a practice basket next to the parking lot as well. No trails or other recreational uses in this area means only disc golfers are likely to be seen on the course.

All of the holes on this course are nice quality, with several that are quite memorable. The wide open (except for the massive power lines), downhill, 760 foot number 6 comes to mind. A couple of holes later, number 8 is not as lengthy at just over 450', but displays the opposite extreme with going over the stream and through the woods, but not to Grandmother's house. Number 11, Beauty and the Beast according to the sign, is the reason I was 3 over, instead of par. Tee over 300 feet of open fairway into a small window into the woods, then take a turn and negotiate the trees another couple hundred feet. There are some good chances to make 2's on the last few holes, and these will all take different shapes, keeping the flow fresh and fun.
Cons: Not much to pick on here. There were not much in the way of benches. I only remember one trash can at the parking lot. The second hole crossed over the road leading into the park, so keep an eye out for cars.
Other Thoughts: The Grand Central Station DGC is really excellent. There are points that are challenging, and possibly even frustrating, but at all times it is fun disc golfing. In a vicinity with a few nice courses, this is probably the best, and also among a handful of the best in the state.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular

2-4    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 92  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some of the prettiest greens I have seen. Holes 8 and 15 really highlight this feature. They're both in the midst of woods, cleared out areas, with really pretty grass. Very picturesque.

The secluded feel of this course is very nice. This aspect of the course is highlighted in that this area is DG only.

Out of every course that I've played, this course has the best mix of open and wooded. The ratio is perfect. To shoot well at GCS you have have to be long and accurate.

The tee pads are excellent! Almost all of them are now packed sand and gravel which offer great footing.

Baskets are all new DISCatchers. All double chains.

Tee Signs and Course Map are top notch, in the top 3 of all courses I have played.

All challenges are present at GCS: Distance, tight gaps, Creeks, OB, Precarious putts, etc.
Cons: The rough is ROUGH in most parts. Briars, poison oak/Ivy/etc. This should get better the more the course is played.

Somewhat lacking in parking. There is a small gravel lot right next to the course map which is ample space 99% of the time. But more space is required for a tournament.

No bathroom or water source! This is what really cost GCS and prevented me from giving this course a 5. For such a long and strenuous course, amenities are almost necessary.

One thing I really can't fault it for, but would make it that much better, is the presence of a lake. If you had a lake to contend with on one or two holes, it would be that much better.
Other Thoughts: This course is just flat out amazing. Great variety of shots, beautiful fairways, great pads/baskets, etc.

I would recommend this course to any player Intermediate-Pro, but Grand Central Station has it all and is worth the trip for any level player! The course that it is most similar to (In my opinion) is Lake Russell in Elberton, GA.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Masterpiece

1    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: JBryant
Played: 71  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All shots are required here. It will test your game at every turn.

Tees are not concrete but a honeycomb system filled with sand. Grip was fantastic on a hot summer day. Not sure about rainy days. Some tees are not complete yet but no issue on natural surface.

Secluded filling really adds to the allure of Grand Central.
Cons: Very hilly in some spots so some might think this is a hike of a course. I enjoy that aspect in most cases.

No bathrooms/facilities of any kind. Could use some trash cans which I imagine will get put in soon.

My only concern was a few more bridges need to be added when finishing a hole and moving to another tee box. In a few cases you have to walk backwards to the same bridge. I would imagine this would cause a problem during tournament play. The bridges were beautiful so I'm sure it was a cost factor as to why only one was installed at each creek crossing.
Other Thoughts: Course was put in after I moved to Greenville. BUT my old stomping grounds are 5 minutes away so road trips are planned.

Warning: It is a difficult course and if you enter the woods you can expect high numbers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Complete Package

5+    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: muneebee
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has it all. A little bit of everything, and not too much of anything. This is a course I could play a few times a week and not get tired of it, as it tests every shot in the bag. Since I don't know every shot it will be a long time before I tire of the course, and hopefully by then I'll be good at every shot!
Cons: The only thing wrong with this course is that's it's not quite done, and that it wasn't built a few years ago because I would have been playing it longer!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Great Frontier of Upstate Disc golf is at this course

2-4    5/20/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: WeenusWrinkle
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Before I begin the bullet-list, I want to say that I played this course twice in one day for the Upstate Foothills Open, the weekend the course opened. It's still very raw and filled with unpredictable forms of nature, but it's a very professionally designed course. It tests every shot in your arsenal, and will highlight all flaws in your game. It's not a beginner-friendly course, and will be most enjoyed by intermediate-advanced players. There are some holes that are densely wooded, some sparsely wooded, some open, and some that combine a mix of all three. The pace of play is nice - long distance holes are evenly spaced between shorter, technical holes. Bryan Schaupp did a fantastic job in designing this course, and it fills a big need for a high-quality course in the Clemson/Seneca/Central area.

- Teepads were unlike anything I've ever seen before. It was a honeycomb mat with very fine gravel poured into all of the little holes. I never thought a teepad surface could be superior to concrete, but this stuff passes the test. It's just as grippy when dry, but much less slippery when wet.

- Tee signs were far and away best I've seen - very professional and informative. They are behind glass enclosures on wooden house-shaped posts. It sounds cheesy to go out of my way to mention the tee signs, but they were very pleasing to the eye.

- Baskets were Innova Discatchers

- The fairways on the open holes are very unique because of the way the grass is cut. It's similar to ball golf fairways in that the rough is very tall grass. It's very neat-looking because you can see clearly defined fairways for most of the open holes.

- The 'rough' on the wooded holes can be treacherous - but the added difficulty really adds to the character of the course. It's not too dense to find errant discs, but it's dense enough that most of the time the best shot is a short pitch back into the fairway. You'll want to be able to competently sidearm or overhead discs as space is usually limited in the rough.

- Creek runs through the course - several holes run through/near it.

- The course is fairly long, but it does loop back near the parking lot. Parking lot is big enough that it should never be an issue.

- Park is exclusively for disc golf. There is virtually no worries about other non disc golfers in the park.

Hole 1: This is a warm-up hole with light woods on the right. Fairly easy duece with a straight shot, but both times I played I was spooked by the woods and ended up outside the putting circle to the left.

Hole 2: This hole is the first indication of what is to come. The Tee shot leads to a narrow clearing at the road (entrance of the park) at about 275 feet. From this spot, the basket is across the road hard to the right shielded by trees. The basket is invisible until you are across the road 100 feet from the basket.

Hole 3: Short, right turning hole that bends 90 degrees quick. The hole can't be more than 200 feet long , but it requires a clean line as the fairway is only about 20 feet wide.

Hole 4: Wide open hole that features both downhill and uphill shots. The first 250 feet is downhill. The last 200 feet is uphill and to the right. A good tee-shot is a shot that turns right late in the flight (after it clears the trees around 250 feet from the tee) and holds that line until touchdown on the hill going back up.

Hole 5: Deceptively difficult hole. The first 200 feet are open leading to a narrow gap into the woods (around 20 feet wide). If you miss the gap (which is easy to do), the woods are so dense that you're forced to pitch back into the fairway and take a 4. If you hit the gap, it's a pretty simple 2.

Hole 6: The longest hole on the course - I think the tee sign said 700+ feet. The fun of this hole is the gigantic power line tower that you have the option to throw through from the tee. It almost seems as if there should be a mando to throw through them...The basket is under the 2nd tower. Whatever you do, don't get into the woods on the left side of the fairway.You've been warned.

Hole 7: The "Signature hole" of the course. It's a slightly downhill open bomb - however, there is a creek about 350 feet making a natural divider between laying up or going for the deuce.

Hole 8: A very difficult hole - but quite pretty. The tee shot is into a lush grass fairway with some trees blocking easy lines. It's better to stay on the left side of the fairway (creek on the right side and easier angle for approach shot) off the tee, then test your accuracy on your approach uphill across a creek.

Hole 9: Open hole, slightly uphill - A nice break after hole 8.

Hole 10: Another wide-open hole, but the terrain hides the basket from view. A nice, straight 300 foot drive will get you into the circle, but you won't know until you walk over to it.

Hole 11: This hole is very memorable for it's difficulty - the tee shot is wide open, but the fairway heads into the woods at around 300 feet and immediately turns hard right. However, the entrance is narrow. If you aren't lined up just right after your tee shot, the next right-turning shot is impossible because of the trees. Once in the woods, the basket is way down a narrow right-turning path with unforgiving woods lining it and a drop-off immediately behind the basket. I got a 5 on this hole and celebrated it like a birdie.

Hole 12: This hole is a much-needed break after hole 11. It's only around 250 feet, but it's uphill so plays a little longer. For RHBH, a nice-easy hyzer drive will get you close without much trouble. It's better to miss right than left, however because of a huge mutant tree.

Hole 13: This hole makes an S-curve in the woods, making accuracy king.

Hole 14: Easiest hole on the course - A short downhill pitch-and-putt. It's conveniently placed after a difficult hole - worth noting because the pace of the course is great in this regard.

Hole 15: This hole is picturesque - by far the prettiest hole. It's actually almost surreal, like an oasis admist the harsh woods. Basket and tree placement allows for two lines - Hyzer line and Anhyzer line. Straight shots won't work.

Hole 16: Short, easier hole - but requires some decision-making. There are 2 lines because of a tree right in front of the tee. You can throw a straight shot and flirt with the creek to the left where the basket is placed, or you can play it safer by swinging out to the right and hoping it fades back close to the basket.

Hole 17: Sharp uphill hole that bends 90 degrees to the left. Good shots get deuces with a good putt. A bad putt can roll all the way down the hill. Bad tee shots end up causing me to whip out the floppy putter so they it doesn't get a wicked rollaway on the approach.

Hole 18: Super fun hole, but difficult. The 25' wide fairway in the woods intitially turns hard right, but then turns back left before opening up into the main field at around the 250' mark. If your tee shot ends up too far to the right, you will have no angle to throw out of the woods at the basket to try for a 3.
Cons: - Because the course is brand new, there is a lot of nature hazards such as poison ivy, thick thorns/briar patches, and insects. If you're prone to errant shots, wear tall socks.

- As of this review, there are no benches or trash bins on the course, and there aren't bathroom/water fountain facilities on the premises either.
Other Thoughts: This course has set the new bar for disc golf courses in the area. I look forward to this course helping to grow the sport's popularity in the region.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Loved it!

2-4    5/19/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: ssittler
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This new course as a lot to offer. Nearly every type of hole imaginable exists here - up, down, left, right, open, tight, long, short - you name it!
Grand Central Station is a real treat and I'd HIGHLY recommend this as a must play course if you're anywhere close to the park.
Tees are not concrete but instead a grid and filler system - very cool idea that seems to be easier on my old joints.
Cons: Get ready for a hike - this is not a "con" for me but some might consider it a difficult trek.
Only legit con is that the course is too far from my home for regular play!
Other Thoughts: This will be a great tournament host course - plenty of land and a great venue!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the Upstate

2-4    5/20/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: TOURNEYPLAYER
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What is not to like. This course has a little bit of everything and is definitely the way a Disc Golf Course should be designed. From the amazing tee signs to the well thought out layout this piece of land was used to it full potential. When you arrive at the park you are greeted by a great big map of the course, listing all the holes, lengths and locations. the first hole is right by the parking area along with a practice basket. Hole 2 is when the course starts to take shape, a tough tee shot that must be placed well if there is going to be any chance at a 3. Something I have noticed about the course after a few rds is that the really hard holes are generally followed by a nice par 3 or 4 with a good chance for birdie.

for example.

hole 2 (par 4)
hole 3 ( birdie hole)
hole 6 ( LONG hole)
hole 7 (shorter par 4, very birdieable)
hole 8 (tough par 4)
holes 9 and 10 (birdieable par 3s)
hole 11 (tough par 4)
hole 12 (birdieable)
hole 13 (fairly tough par 4)
holes 14-17 (all birdieable par 3s)
hole 18 - great finishing hole!!

All in all I have nothing but positive things to say about this course. It will test the advanced and pro level players while also making it fun for lower level intermediates. you can score well by making smart decisions and staying in the fairway.

Bryan Shaupp did an amazing job designing and building this course and I look forward to seeing the final product.
Cons: there really is nothing wrong with this course that wont work itself out over time. the only negatives are due to its newness.
Other Thoughts: Please go play this course. it is a public course in a park that is for Disc Golf! how cool is that. Most of the time we are an add in to an existing park. This time we are the attraction.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.