Nixa, MO 
McCauley Park Share
Uploaded By: birdman101 Hole #14 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 270ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Course is improving with time.

5+    8/22/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: Schlazz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my home course and it has been improving with time as trees mature and the grass thickens. The open nature of the layout can allow some pretty strong winds to travel the course. Several very birdieable holes especially on the front nine. The back nine traverses several soccer fields and during the season two or three holes must be skipped. All in all I've come to really enjoy this course.
Cons: Some back nine holes lack imagination. Wind can be a big factor.
Other Thoughts: If you are coming from main street in Nixa to the course, watch the school zone speed limit. The Nixa cops love to hunt in this area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Christmas Play

1    12/22/2012   12/28/2012
Review By: RecMan
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a variety of shots both short and long. Fairly easy to navigate. Great course to practice and for beginners! I had a first time player with me and he enjoyed the course.
Cons: There are a few unsafe holes. First, you should never have to tee over a main road, which happens twice, and you should never have to tee off straight over the next tee box. Some of the fairways and baskets were too close to the parking lot of a very popular recreation facility. We were lucky and the rec center was closed for the holidays so traffic was very light. It seemed that a little tweak could alleviate this problem.
Other Thoughts: It's worth playing, but go early in the day to avoid a crowd! Late in the day could pose a problem due to the rec center and the soccer fields.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Just glad there is one here

2-4    6/29/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: badams
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 24.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good flow to the course, easy to navigate.
Decent baskets, good signage.
Very clean and well maintained.
Facilities available.
Cons: Basically wide open,

City roads with relatively high trafic as the back ob of two holes.

Highly used parking lot and interior roads as well as walking paths come into play often.

NO SHADE.

It appears several holes traverse athletic fields, not sure if this is ever an issue but I would think it is.
.
Other Thoughts: An easy but fun course in an area I am relocating to. Holes 2 and 17 drive straigh at highly used road 50' behind pin, I can see this being an issue.

Hole 18 is by far the best on the course, distance obstruction, elevation change make this a well designed hole.


I will be playing this and other courses in the Springfield area quite often beginning at the end of July, looking for any locals who may want to play or have useful local league knowlege, I can be reached at badams2112@gmail.com, thanks

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 dg in Nixa

2-4    2/11/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: dudiablo
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The flow to the course is very good,so if its your first time out you probably wont get lost, or need a local showing you around.

The park is kept up VERY nicely! The baskets signs and tee pads are all top notch.

The grass was kept very managed, made it very nice not to have to look for a disc in the middle of a fairway.

There is quite a bit of variation of shots here. MOST are pretty straight shots, so being able to throw on a line is well rewarded, but the distances vary pretty greatly.

The front 9 use the elevation VERY well, there are some tough up hill and very fun downhill shots here.
Cons: The back 9 gets a little boring, many very straight and long tees.

From basket 10 to tee 11 you need to back track the fairway and that could cause some delays if the course gets busy.

The walk from 15 to 16 was confusing the first time I played because you need to walk all the way around the playground and across a pretty sizable drainage ditch to get to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a pretty decent course. One of the better in Springfield area, and definitely worth the drive down from Springfield to play a pretty fun round. Wouldn't hesitate at all to make the 30 min drive for a pair of rounds, or if your passing through, its pretty close to 65 so its worth the hour detour for a game! (only 5 min from 65)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Merry-Go-Round Style

1    6/15/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is also called The Dale Roberts Memorial DGC, The Center. This course literally goes AROUND the park and Community Center. They mow here very often so tall grass is not an issue. You can get by without a map, but one of those never really hurts. There is some use of the slight elevation here and there is some use of trees. However, this is mostly a wide-open hole designed course with just a few holes dealing with some OB threats. A couple of holes do throw over the roads. I usually find this dangerous, but it's not bad here. Actually, those holes were kind of fun to throw on. There are concrete tees and a tee sign on every hole. When the Center is open the bathroom is available.
Cons: There is not much along the way of challenges here. There is a "hole-map" on the tee signs, but it turns out to be the same pointless icon image on each sign instead. This can be a busy place, so people can be in the way now and then. When the kids are on the soccer fields and around the back parking lot, you will need to be extra careful. There are no trashcans on the course, but the place was still very clean.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor is just OK. There is not much to get excited about. There are a few ace run holes, but for the most part, this is just a typical course. It is a nice place to play a simple round, but I do not think it is road trip worthy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Should be 9

1    10/15/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: beaker
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good tee pads and usually easy to find the next hole. 1st part of course has interesting terrain and some trees.
Cons: Signs make no sense, they all have the same picture and don't indicate where the next hole is with respect to obstacles. Sometimes the signs for the tee point the wrong way, so check the number on the tee pad. 2nd half of course is just wide open long shots which get boring quickly. Course is integrated with a multi-use park and has many shots that cross walking paths, streets, parking lots, and get close to other rec. areas like ball fields.
Other Thoughts: Should have just kept the course to the front 9.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/27/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: anhyzer24
Played: 70  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained park, very clean. Concrete tee pads and signs on each hole. Bag hangers on roughly half of the sign posts.
Cons: Boring! There were a couple interesting holes (1, 6, 12, 18), but most of the course is wide open, straight shots, without much length.
Other Thoughts: Compared to the other courses I've played in the area, this would be your best bet, because it at least allows you to practice different routes to the basket. Don't bother traveling to play it though, it's nothing special.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Played Windy

1    6/19/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: kcnickster
Played: 55  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Was well worth the diversion off 65 to play, the concrete tees were nice and the signage was decent. I was also impressed by the community center setting and a very good use of the available space. Wide open without a ton of distance so two-fers should be plentiful. I enjoyed working my way around the football and soccer fields but they were empty.
Cons: Wide open and the day I played about a 20 mph cross wind. Not the course for technical challenges could play almost every hole fore and back handed.
Other Thoughts: Hole 15 by the pool had a bus parked next to the basket and of course the wind drove my drive right OVER the bus.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: Dthunderchicken
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 41.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well maintained course in a nice community center. Maps are available at the community center desk. Long open holes make this course a good place to throw drivers.
Cons: Poor design on holes 6, 9, and 10 require throwing across or closely parallel to vehicle traffic. (A worm burner could be a car denter.)
This course is not very technical or seriously challenging
Other Thoughts: Given the layout, I'd say that the course designer did a good job with what was available.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 very nice course

1    3/23/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: dajuicej
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 34.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very well maintained course that plays around the community center. Mostly open course with enough trees, doglegs, and interesting hole placements to make the course plenty challenging. Nice variety of long and short holes.
Cons: none

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.