Disc Golf Store
Babylon, NY 
Cedar Beach DGC Share
Uploaded By: pabtheghost Hole #1 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 238ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee: Pad is way left in the picture right in front of that bench.



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pitch and Putt Disc Golf Course

2-4    8/20/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: demamazins
Played: 68  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: You can use a putter or mid-range for each of the holes as they are laid out on a Par 3 golf course. Leave your drivers at home! Holes are between 60 - 110 yards in length. Incredibly easy.
Cons: The course is neatly groomed, but after the grass is cut, the clippings are left instead of being bagged and hauled off. Never been to a golf course where they don't clean up the grass after cutting.
Other Thoughts: Very easy course. Try to keep your disc low as the wind coming off of the beach may inadvertently put your disc in the bushes alongside the fairways. Wear pants and bring bug spray or fabric softener sheets to ward off the mob of mosquitoes that are awaiting your arrival.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Emotions

1    6/3/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cedar Beach is the 1st permanent disc golf course on Long Island. Set up on an existing par 3 ball golf course, it has nice fairways, signage (in yards, not feet) and is easy to navigate. Two permanent tee off areas per hole- a "short" and a "long" tee- are marked by stone pavers that are set in the ground flush with the existing fairway. All baskets work well and flags sit atop each one for easy visibility. Several raised baskets add to the challenge and make up for a lack of natural elevation. Distances at each hole are manageable for all levels of play. Benches exist at each hole. There are bathrooms, a snack pavilion on the premises and the course is right next to the beach. Very nice part of Long Island.
Cons: Oppressive out of bounds areas on every hole. Long pants (poison ivy) and bug spray (mosquitoes galore) a must when playing here. Ever present wind is a constant source of frustration. Many holes a bit too "lefty friendly" in my opinion. Pay to play (8 bucks for the day) will turn off some players. Course will not appeal to those preferring a more technical or wooded layout.
Other Thoughts: My rating is a reflection of the respect I have for Ernie and Neal, the course designers, who have worked tirelessly to set up this course and bring disc golf to the Island. It is not a bad course. Tremendous work has been done here, and many more revisions are planned. Truth be told, however, I was beyond frustrated playing here. A good disc golfer embraces a healthy challenge, but simply stated between the rough, the bunkers, the fairway boundaries and the spray painted lines on numerous holes there is WAY too much OB here. Couple that with the typical 25-30 mph gusts that come in off the beach and every hole is a struggle. I went out of bounds 12 TIMES here in 2 1/2 rounds of tournament golf- just completely ridiculous- and I'm a 915 rated player who plays conservatively; not pro caliber but not a weekend hacker either. I have no doubt these guys will continue to improve Cedar Beach. Relaxing some of the OB rules would be a good start.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1st ever disc golf course on Long Island!!!!!

5+    5/20/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: discgolfcrazy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: IT IS THE FIRST EVER COURSE ON LONG ISLAND! Being only 14 and have a passion for the sport, being so close to my house is a big plus.
- The course is on the cedar beach golf course and that means that they have regular maintenance on the place. neil and ernest have put hundreds of hours into this dg course for no compensation at all . (thumbup)

- overall the course is quite short and simple, but it is great. there are great shots where you have to use fh ,bh, and oh. There is little to no elevation changes, but i could live with that. ALOT of shots actually are right turning, and me being predominantly fh, i love this course. Since the course is on a pitch and putt golf course, it may seem like a joke or its easy, but in fact it is quite difficult in the sense that there are alot of OB's and wind and the fact that there is such a range of different shots. The way the baskets are placed is really cool . at first you wont see the basket, but then you look and just barely see it and you could tell they put alot of time and effort to making this course unique.

- There are both pro tees and am tees.

- they also have rental discs and the price to play the course is 7 dollars, which considering the fact its the only course on LI, it is worht it.

-The location is awesome. you can go play dg while your spouse/mom/sibling or whoever can go to the beach and go tanning or do whatever
Cons: POISEN IVY- it is every where, so be very careful.
Wind- because it is in such a close proximity to the beach and ocean, there is always going to be wind. whether it is alot or a little, it will always linger around.

- the tees are just the ground so every now and then i slipped but no big deal. they did their job.
Other Thoughts:


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Cedar Beach Disc Golf

2-4    5/18/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: pabtheghost
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Since the course is also a pitch and putt golf course, the fairways are all insanely well groomed.

The awesome guys operating and maintaining the course do trips around the course collecting lost discs, and keep them all at the building.


Cons: -TONS of poison ivy! All of the bunkers on the course are totally filled with it, in addition to thick, thorny growth that makes it a real challenge to retrieve your disc if it lands pretty much anywhere but the fairway.

-If landing in the bunkers or OB wasnt so punishing, the holes would be fine, but its pretty much impossible to throw from anything but the fairway.

-I think the lack of elevation changes is what I'd like to change the most about the course. Its pretty much completely flat.
Other Thoughts: The wind is about as much a factor as you would expect from being within close proximity to the ocean. If you don't know what I'm talking about, you should take a look at the location on google maps. Go on, I'll wait right here. Okay, so now that you have an idea for what the wind is like, note that its not such a bad thing. Since there is no woods component, and a rare obstacle or major dog leg, the wind is kinda nice, because it keeps things a bit more interesting.

Also, like i mentioned already, this is also a ball golf course. The tee pads for disc and ball golf are near each other, and the baskets are usually pretty close to the putting greens. Any golfers i reached usually let me play through, since i was alone and disc golf is so much quicker.

You don't need to pay to play after 5pm for now, but they will keep the window open till dark after Memorial day. If you do pay, though, you get to play as many rounds as you'd like for the day. You cannot stay after dark, as the park closes, and they lock the gates in and out of the parking lot. If they feel like writing you the ticket, its $300.


3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.