Elberton, GA 
Lake Russell Share
Uploaded By: Bakenstine Hole #4 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 B+ = You Be Feelin' Positive After Playing This

2-4    5/18/2004   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
8 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

8 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/15/2007   4/15/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22.2 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great scenery. The mowed fairways with 'real' rough are very cool. Lots of elevation changes and holes to challenge both lefties and righties.
Cons: None that I can remember -- it's been a couple of years since I played it but nothing sticks out as negative in my mind.
Other Thoughts: Played one round here with some friends who were passing thru the area. It's at least an hour away from me but I will definitely play it again in the future. Really nice course overall.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well manicured, sweet state park course. Well worth the fee. Tournaments here are a blast with camping,cabins, good amenities and a beautiful lake encompassing it all. The lake does not come into play. Good variety of shots.
I can't express how well kept the course is. Pay to play seems to be a good thing here!
Cons: If you are not camping or staying in a cabin, there are not many choices for nearby hotels or food.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best of georgia? so far

1    11/12/2008   11/12/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes, with a distinct 18 hole course then a bonus 9 hole loop to the right of #16. Cement tees on 18, very nice tee signs. Course map online and at parking lot (18 holes). Free park entry on Wednesdays. Meticuously mowed and clean.
The course: The 18 hole course is sweet, offering up all types of shots from several bomber field shots with trees to keep you in check, to a few tight woods shots between rows of cedars. Significant elevation changes. The 9 bonus holes add a different challenge to maybe balance out the course for all skill types and levels.
Cons: The 9 bonus holes are VERY short and easy, somewhat poke and pray without distinct fairways on a few. Dirt/gravel tees on those holes. Some fire ants. Map not of these holes and no major indication of where they are except stumbling on them during the round.
Other Thoughts: #16 A-#16 I are back and to the right in the woods after finishing #16 regular. Highly recommended course.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous Course

1    10/26/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: Hatfielder
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A gorgeous park and course, with amazing views. Nice and quiet and rarely more than 3 or 4 groups on the whole course at one time. Usually well groomed, especially given that some holes have a cut or even two of actual rough. Great mix of lengths, directions, and tree placement in the design.
Cons: Baskets are barely ever moved, but that is hardly something to complain about. It is off the beaten path for sure.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course. Takes upwards of an hour to get there for me, but worth the trip every time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Great Park!

1    9/24/2008   9/26/2008
Review By: hooboy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent overall course. Mostly open, with just the right amount of trees to keep it challenging. Good mix of par 4's and 3's, even one par 5, allows you to make some birdies. Very well marked. Fairways cut to normal length, rough grows close to waist high (wispy). This gives the course a nice "look". Concrete tees. Course gets very little play as its in the middle of nowhere. Rest of the park is very nice. Really good, and affordable ball golf course inside the park
Cons: Course is in the middle of nowhere. It was much farther away for me than the 42 miles indicated. Fairways had not been mowed in awhile, or I would have given this course 5 stars. Fairway grass had gone to seed, also had to watch out for multiple fire ant hills. If there are 27 holes, I could not find the extra nine.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the newest, thus still undiscovered, state parks in Georgia. Both the disc and ball golf courses are the real deal. I'm an intermediate player, but this course looks "tournament caliber" to me. Beautiful lake in the park with many cabins to rent. This is a cool park, but remotely located.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/7/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *LRP is a phenomenal course about 2 hrs East of Atlanta in Lake Russell State Park
*Excellent design - hyzer, anhyzer, great use of elevation & land, risk & reward in play on most holes, especially given the cedar trees all over the course
*Aesthetically awesome - the park has two cuts of grass: short & knee+ high in beautiful rolling hills. Always seems to be well maintained.
*Very secluded & peaceful as the course is 1 mile from a seldom used highway
*Concrete teepads on all holes; excellent signage
*Camping & cabins in the park; the park also has a stellar ball golf course that is cheap & top 10 in GA...and you can jump in the lake after your round
*Very fun to play
Cons: *It's 27 holes, but really only the 18 hole course is good - the other 9 were designed/installed by a boy scout
*It's a traditional par 3 course....no true par 4's....and only one teepad/hole
*Located in the middle of nowhere - this can be a pro too once you've arrived
*It's always hotter at this course than surrounding areas for some reason
Other Thoughts: LRP is one of the most scenic courses in the state & definitely worth the drive. If you're going, do yourself a favor and spend the night in the park. The BG course is awesome, as is the lake and the facilities (cabins/tent sites both nice).

The Lake Russell Tourney is held the 2nd weekend in September every year and is one of GA's best tournaments due to the awesome atmosphere of this park.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Gem

11/28/2007   11/28/2007
Review By: tfcdawg
Played: 71  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the best course I have ever played. An incredible tract of land designed specifically for disc golf offers unique holes and excellent views over the mountains of North Georgia. The course is expertly maintained, making the small fee well worth paying. Dramatic elevation changes on several holes and the rough outside of the fairway can be a true obstical.
Cons: Not much metropolis surrounds this mountain park, a good ways off the beaten path.
Other Thoughts: This course receives very little play. Worth the drive and bring a picnic lunch.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.