Kearney, MO 
Jesse James DGC Share
Uploaded By: bazillion Hole #6 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Course Rating Distribution
Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Jesse James Disc Golf Course

5+    9/24/2016   7/11/2016
Review By: grok
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 9/25/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Now that i've played it about 12 times now, I wanted to return to this one.
Wanted to apologize to designer for my "off the cuff, played it once" review about 2 mths ago.
Since playing this course, i have used it to hone throwing skills, as designer said it could be easily used for.
Below is a better review of the Jesse James Disc Golf Course.

- Nice size concrete launch pads.
- Holes 1 and 18 are near the parking lot.
- Course is well maintained
- Johnny's available
- Map at each hole.
- 1 Tee Pad to choose from each hole.
- Quiet and Quaint, nature-like atmosphere.
This Course is still in its infancy, therefore not much players come here yet. Guaranteed a nice quiet round.
- Good balance of hole types (Open & Skill)
- Trees, Rough, and OB is not bad. Hard to lose your disc here.
- Course is designed well for the amount of land given. Would like to see expansion of this course.
Cons: -Tee Pad Maps
I love the Tee Pad Maps, they are accurate and good graphic design.
Designer mentions you can see exits to the next Hole on the Tee Pad Maps. Coming from a new player point of view, and just general improvement to an already good course, i feel the course would benefit with some sort of "Indicator", at the end of a hole, showing players direction to the next hole. If you do not remember, or even notice to look for the direction to the next Tee Pad on the Tee Pad Map... you would need to travel back to the Tee Pad to observe direction to the hole.
- Per hole, the Baskets do not have a 2nd location. Pin always in same spot.
- No Water Access (I realize this is a JJ Park thing)
- No League Play or Local Tournaments held here.
- No city or community outreach on the "Welcome-Board" to the disc golf course yet.
There is a good map of the course however. I feel this will change as the sport and course gain popularity.
-More trash buckets, or cans, or whatever, at the Tee Pads would be beneficial.
I'm one to pick up trash if i see it, i'd like to know there is a trash can coming up, motivating me to pick up that trash.
There are some socks that have been on a tree on Hole 9 forever, and i wonder if they'll ever be removed? I simply haven't done it cause i'd have to carry them around till i found a trash can. gross!

Other Thoughts: Having played this course a bunch now, it is a pretty good course.
This course has a good balance of skill-shot holes and open-shot holes. Expect to learn how to control your throws if you're going to have a good round.
Some fave hole talk below.

Hole 3:
My favorite hole cause i am a Lefty(backhand). This hole is a fairway guarded on the left and right side by tall trees and ending with a slight dog-leg right into an open. The fairway is straight and dips down below tee pad level. At the end of the fairway straight, the trees guarding the fairway disappear and give way to a spacious green. I love powering over the trees on the left side in an attempt to drop it in the open area. Good luck Righties!
Hole 4:
I call this one the "Question Mark" hole, cause the hole is in the shape of a question mark on the map. It is a sharp dog-leg left. The hole is guarded by trees on both sides the whole way. I simply like the throw i have found for this hole. I've birdied this one quite a few times.
Hole 8:
This hole is a downhill Ace Run throw with some danger! It is a hole with 2 OBs (ponds) guarding it to the left and right. I love throwing this one... then fishing out my disc lol.
Hole 11:
I like this one simply cause i'm learning a forehand that is awesome here if i get it right.
This hole has a great deal of trees and shrubs directly between you and the pin. Rightie backhanders must hyzer around. Like i've mentioned, i'm a Leftie learning a forehand. Perfect practice for that on this hole.
Hole 12:
This is just a beautiful layout, hole 12. Although there is a tree on the right side of the Tee Pad that my Right-handed compadres have trouble with. This is definitely one of my favorite throws of the course. The view from the Tee Pad in the morning is majestic. Sun on the horizon, quiet, beautiful design in front of me. just awesome.
Hole 15:
This hole lines 33 highway, and is definitely tailored to a Rightie. There is a sweet tree-line down the left-side, making it tough for a Leftie backhander. Again, i simply like the throw i've discovered that works for me, so I obv like this hole.
Hole 16:
A long Mound to Mound throw over an open field.
I'll do this all day long!! I love this one.
Hole 18:
Again, just a beautiful layout here. Again, my right handed friends complain about the tree on the right side lol. I love it! Again the hole has some sweet shrubbery lining the left-side, but not tall enough to block a shot to that side. Good final hole for the course, and your car is right there!

Speaking of trees, hole 13!
I feel like Government built a wall thru this one, but we manage to get thru it here and there. lol
I have a friend who accidentally Aced this hole the other day, it was hilariously awesome!

Thanks again for the Kearney Course.
It is well-designed and a good addition to the Kearney Community.. just wish there was more promotion of disc golf in Kearney.
Again my apologies to the designer for my past review, i hope you find this one much more informative and in better taste.
It's awesome having a good course within miles of your home. Look forward to league and tourney play in the area. Hopefully Kearney and Smithville courses will someday be able to get involved.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date: 9/28/2016 Designer Response by: dickparker
Well, since you updated your review, I guess I should update my comments. I whole heatedly agree with you that having next tee signs at the basket would be better than on the sign. It just wasn't in the budget for this course.

Socks? Gross. I hope that gets removed. I haven't been out there in a year or so. I'll try to get out there and see if we can't clean it up.

I'm glad you took the time to appreciate the course with a new attitude and appreciation for it. I hope my previous comments didn't make you feel you had to like the course better, I just felt I needed to make sure and touch on some of your earlier points.

As always, I appreciate your review and thank you for playing the course.

Kearney DGC

1    4/23/2016   4/24/2016
Review By: edclay
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging enough for my skill level and for power players on most holes. Good shots down fairways that are surrounded by trees and dogleg will get good scores. A couple of long holes let you test your distance. Doesn't seem to be long course.
Cons: Hilly, if that bothers you.
Other Thoughts: For some reason, I thought this would be dust bowl and not well maintained. It's as good as any course I have played and was very well maintained when I played.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Jesse James

1    11/24/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 125  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This cours had great use of the land that created quite unique shots. Good teepads, Signage was excellent. good baskets.
Cons: Only one course flow issue with hopping over to hole 10.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the course, nice tight but fair gaps

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center