Raleigh, NC 
Kentwood Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Creek along the left is OB, a ditch (casual) runs across the fairway 50' short of the basket.



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Location, Location, Location

2-4    6/29/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 200  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So many people can't be wrong, right? On some level this is true. the most crowded disc golf course that I've seen has a few things going for it and not just the prime location.

It is very beginner friendly. I can't imagine newbies getting frustrated here. Not much distance is required at any point. At the same time, it's tough to get off track here and even tougher to lose a disc. The only people who might be frustrated with the courses and MA2-MA1 players who want to deuce just about every hole here but will likely only get the two on about half.

It's one long ace run. I mentioned that the holes are short? Well there isn't one hole here that can't be aced by a decent player. I'm very aware that some people are very into this.

And taken individually, there are some good holes here. There's actually a host of fun holes that I wouldn't mind another shot at. There are some nice uphills and some solid downhills. And since there isn't too much in the way of obstacles, there are some great chances to practice distance control on both types of slope.

There is even a small creek that winds its way through. Two of the downhills play to a basket across the creek. It even ventures into some actual woods for a few holes. A couple of these holes on a course with greater variety would not go remarked upon.
Cons: However, that location is a two-edged sword. I have never seen a course as crowded as this one. On my second visit, I arrived at 8AM on a Sunday morning. There were multiple cars in the parking lot already. This is a weekday morning course if I have ever seen one.

Those crowds would be more tolerable on a better course. But for a bunch of 200-foot holes? There are better courses in the Triangle that could be played in a lot less time.

And it is a bunch of 200-foot hole. There isn't much shaping required. There isn't much challenge. There isn't much of note at all. It's just a decent course made up of decent holes. Except.......

It features the worst tees I have ever seen. Pre-made slabs of cement that are far too narrow and far too short. They also sit uncomfortably a few inches above the surrounding ground so it is almost impossible to think about your shot without wondering if you are going to fall off the tee.

It gets worse. The tees are not even flat. Some of them have stylish arcs come out of them. Which looks cool except "that's where I wanted my foot to go. On a few of them, there has been an attempt to fill them. Now there is a big bum in the tee.

Fine, fine. I can just tee of on the natural surface next to them, right? Well, sometimes. Often, the natural surface alongside the tee is loose rocks.

Yet the biggest problem may be the shared fairways. There are a few times when discs from separate tees will be flying in the same area. There are even a few times where tees are in range of other tees. This would be a problem anywhere. On a course as crowded as this, its dangerous.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course, derailed by the worst tee situation imaginable. I'd play it in the right circumstances, but I wouldn't attempt to battle the crowds. Not in Raleigh, where better courses are plentiful.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unchallenging

1    12/7/2012   12/7/2012
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 58  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Ease of navigation.. kind of
- Course layout given the area it occupies
- Good mix of possible tee shots; ranging from straight to hyzer to anhyzer/RHFH
- Courteous and friendly players
Cons: - Not a single hole is over 250(ish)
- No alternate tees/holes
- Tee pads for the next hole are way too close to the pin on a few holes
- Tees are way skinny and are unnecessarily long
- Way too crowded with recreational players
Other Thoughts: If I didn't ask around, I would not have found the first hole as it isn't marked off very well. Also navigating from 10-12 isn't really obvious either. Didn't use my driver once on this course, which is fine but I mean c'mon, not once?! Probably the worst DGA baskets I've played, discs went in and out having hit the chains dead center. Baskets are in rough shape on a bunch of the holes. I shot a -5 with ease having not thrown a driver once; just using my magnet, zone, buzz ss and ion. All while with 3 torn ligaments in my knee 10 days out from surgery, so my power isn't there to begin with. Good course for newbies and non-competitive players I suppose.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/17/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 105  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Very fun, beginner friendly course
- Great use of elevation
- Holes 4, 9 and 18 all return to the bathroom area
- Uncrowded Park
Cons: - Very crowded course
- Near a college campus
- Very "easy" course
- A little difficult to navigate
- Holes 7 and 16 cross
- Rocks all over the course that eat up your discs
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you need to learn the game, have a friend who has never played or something like that. If you are interested in getting better, this course forces you to throw straight and putt well. This course is not anything special, but pretty much everyone from the Raleigh area - which includes some of the greats in sport - learned to play on this course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing

2-4    1/27/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: tylerweik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open holes. Easy course to find. Very popular among high school and college kids.
Cons: Holes cross over frequently. Mismarked tees make it hard to find the right hole to shoot at. Overcrowded on weekends and summers.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt

5+    10/1/2009   3/1/2010
Review By: edkusch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Kentwood is a great course for beginners. Bring your putter and a mid range to work on your short game. The course is easy to get ot from 440. I played this course a bunch when i was on the NCSU campus. convenient.
Cons: The course is crowded and rocks eat up your discs. Other courses in the area like Cedar Hills, Buckhorn, and Leigh Farm are more challenging and scenic.
Other Thoughts: Kentwood is an older Par 3 course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kentwood ROCK

1    10/10/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Close to NC State
-Great place to practice your mid-range off the tee and your approaches from the "fairway"
-Elevation changes, occasional water, and unnatural ground make for a unique challenge
Cons: -Course design, this place seemed dangerous because of hole layout
-Crowded/busy, its next to a college campus!
-The rocky fairways, don't even bother with your dx/pro-d plastics unless you want to wear them in really quickly
-unimaginative course, feels tight
Other Thoughts: If you go to NC State and know what disc golf is, you've played Kentwood. If not, I'm not sure I'd bother going back unless I'm in the area and really need to play. The course layout is a real hazard due to its design combined with the local college players propensity to not pay attention

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad course

2-4    2/15/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: jleonar18
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A great course to meet some new friends. lots of college kids. cute girls. a exciting layout.
Cons: lots of dumb ass college kids. exciting layout with disk flying overhead from all directions.
Other Thoughts: a fun course to go with a group of friends and goof off and look at cute girls.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.