Disc Golf Store
Raleigh, NC 
Kentwood Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Creek along the left is OB, a ditch (casual) runs across the fairway 50' short of the basket.



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    5/12/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: _willdavis
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great place to work on 150-250ft game. It's got that great beat-in course feel considering it has been around quite awhile. It's just open enough for beginners to work on hitting lines but still fun for the seasoned players as well. I love the design, yes there are some crossover fairways, but people are always courteous to players on the tee.
Cons: Tee pads need replacing badly. Some are still in tact but others are broken up in spots or have a 1 ft drop off in the front of the pad, begging for a rolled ankle. Also, the course is pretty rocky as everyone has reviewed. Your disc will get some scuffs on it...but it is a great place to beat a new disc in and you can always count on your disc sticking where it lands. It's crowded usually but never to the point where your waiting more than a minute or two to tee off.
Other Thoughts: I gotta give this course a 3 just because it's a great pitch and putt course for any disc golfer and it just has that good ol' local course feel to it. If I didn't play here at least once a week I'd probably give it a 2.5, but the more you play it the more you love it.

*Beware of the Kentwood Curse*
Chain-outs are very common here due to the baskets being the old DGA baskets. When you chain out, it's more commonly referred to as "Kentwooding it"

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/15/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: zjones9
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kentwood may be the best course to introduce someone to disc golf on. Each and every hole can be birdied with a putter...but that doesn't mean that it is a bad course, just not a course to work on your distance game. It has great teepads, nice stone distance markers, and good baskets. It makes excellent use of the little land that is available, and requires several different lines. Also has some nice uphill and downhill shots mixed in.
Cons: Short...and not quite as challenging as I may have made it sound in the Pros section. Gets very crowded, especially in the summer. Watch for stoners on 13.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely not a "destination" course, but if you are on your lunch break and want to squeeze a round in, there isn't a better course than Kentwood. Again, this is a beginners course. If you go to it with other expectations, you will likely be disappointed, but if you go with just a putter and a mid you can have a good time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a bag of putters

5+    11/21/2010   11/9/2012
Review By: keltik
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun course
- Easy to navigate
- Good mix of holes
- Close to NCSU campus
- Been in the ground since 1983!
- Pretty scenery
Cons: - Can get crowded depending on time of year and time of day
- if you want to air it out don't come here
Other Thoughts: This course is just overall a fun little romp in a city park. It is close to my alma mata NCSU. When school is in session and it's after lunch it can get pretty crowded with students. but if you play in the morning and/or during a holiday/summer you will probably be alone.

A short course with plenty of elevation changes and twists and turns, it is a good place to learn the game. It's also a good place for seasoned players to practice short drives with putters and mids, and to work on the short game. Just plain old good fun.

I wish I had played here while in college (didn't pick up the game until a few years after graduation). but probably a good thing I didn't play in college since it would have kept me out of the books.

skew factor: I'm a State grad...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but Rocky

5+    5/16/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: Scottspnutgang
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This Course is fun and pretty easy to play
Cons: A very very Rocky course. Eats discs up.
Other Thoughts: Kentwood is a fun course to play. It may just be the easiest course in the triangle. If you don't mind the rocks then I think its worth playing.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rocky Rocky Course

1    9/7/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: snoborderphx
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course...not too long but has some good technical aspects to it. Easy and quick course to play. Takes about 1 hour and 15 minutes to play
Cons: About 3/4 of the holes are throwing your discs into rocks, and not nice little rocks, but big, dent your disc, rocks. So beware...take a crappy disc or champion discs (bc they don't tend to be as affected by rocks)

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for something random we picked while in Raleigh

1    6/18/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 30  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners learing the sport for the first time. Good mix of holes uphill, downhill. Good course to work on your putting and mid range shots.
Cons: Tee pads in my opinion were awful. Not that you really need a long tee pad on this course, but I just prefer a concrete poured tee pad.

Not very many holes to use your driver.
Other Thoughts: I live in Charlotte, play disc golf regularly and enjoyed this course for having picked a random course that two other buddies and I agreed on. It's a good course to shoot under par and build up some confidence if you are like me and in a slump. When back in Raleigh, I will play this course again along with a few others.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the first courses I ever played

2-4    9/4/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not a difficult course overall, but certainly holds some challenges. I've thrown some terrible shots on this course, but I've also hit some amazing ones. Nice changes in elevation, lots of open holes, some chances to air it out. Really should not be terribly difficult to shoot par or under.
Cons: Footing can be tricky on some of the holes that play in a rocky area on a hillside (that is, if you aren't careful).
Other Thoughts: Just a fun course in the middle of Raleigh. Always lots of folks playing here.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Imperfect but charming

5+    10/19/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: All Thumbers
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of ace and birdie opportunities. Lot of regulars. Nice walk in the park, for some holes.
Cons: Lots of roots and rocks to trip over on this course on certain holes, so watch your feet.
Other Thoughts: Hole 14 is an uphill monster unless you have an utterly reliable and long hyzer. It's the one hole I at kentwood that I've never birdied.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course

5+    10/21/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course where I first learned to play. A lot of people can say this.
- Great course to practice your short game. Almost all of the holes are in the 200-250ft range. Only Hole 14 requires a driver. The rest of the course is midranges and putters off the tee.
- Two practice baskets
- Great for a 30-45 min round if you play when it's not busy.
- Great for ace runs. 8 of my 12 aces are at Kwood.
Cons: - Watch you back. There are a lot of noobs and drunk college students. People getting hit is a daily occurrence.
- Busy. All the time. If you get there before 1 or 2, you won't see many people, otherwise the place is slammed due to being so close to NC State.
- The course is jammed into a small piece of land, so fairways are close together and in one case crossing (7 and 16).
- Tee pads have improved thanks to CA, but they're still pretty small.
- Can get very hectic around Hole 4 and 5 if baseball is going on.
Other Thoughts: Its not a great course, but it's not trying to be. It's a great course to learn the game on. I may be a little biased because I sure I've played Kentwood more than any other course, but enjoy this pitch and putt when I'm in the mood to practice the short game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic

5+    9/28/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: Sp00ks
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 25.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a classic in the area. Well maintained. The challenge here is to see how low you can keep your score. I've played many tournaments here and it is always fun to play a round at kentwood. Most everyone is courteous and casual. You will find all levels of skill here and many obstacles. Awesome course for birdies and aces.
Cons: Dangerous course. Disks coming from all angles with a play ground in the middle. Road traffic, crossing fairways, rocky terrain.
Other Thoughts: My wife was permanently disabled on this course right before our wedding. She was hit in the arm by a disk on hole 18. She zigged when she should have zagged and never recovered from the injury. Keep your eyes open at all times while playing here.

That being said, this is a classic course that will always have a place in my listings as a fun course to play. I have many aces under my belt here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.