Raleigh, NC 
Kentwood Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Downhill through a tunnel of trees, ditch behind basket is casual.



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    5/12/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: _willdavis
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great place to work on 150-250ft game. It's got that great beat-in course feel considering it has been around quite awhile. It's just open enough for beginners to work on hitting lines but still fun for the seasoned players as well. I love the design, yes there are some crossover fairways, but people are always courteous to players on the tee.
Cons: Tee pads need replacing badly. Some are still in tact but others are broken up in spots or have a 1 ft drop off in the front of the pad, begging for a rolled ankle. Also, the course is pretty rocky as everyone has reviewed. Your disc will get some scuffs on it...but it is a great place to beat a new disc in and you can always count on your disc sticking where it lands. It's crowded usually but never to the point where your waiting more than a minute or two to tee off.
Other Thoughts: I gotta give this course a 4 just because it's a great pitch and putt course for any disc golfer and it just has that good ol' local course feel to it. If I didn't play here at least once a week I'd probably give it a 2.5, but the more you play it the more you love it.

*Beware of the Kentwood Curse*
Chain-outs are very common here due to the baskets being the old DGA baskets. When you chain out, it's more commonly referred to as "Kentwooding it"

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Second Chance

5+    9/16/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: jdjossel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Relatively easy to keep track of your disc. Great course for beginners because the holes are varied in style.
Cons: Too many uphill and rocky holes. Major con is the rockiness. It really dings up your discs.
Other Thoughts: The downhill holes make the uphill ones more bearable. I'm glad I gave this place a second chance!

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 NICE WOODS IN RALIEGH

5+    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: a mix of woods with a few open holes. one water hazard(2 dirty 2 retrive discs). i belive the cut up the old pads into suns with sunshine rays w a chop saw. so try to play the non cut up pads. sometimes tight mostly open enough to throw multiple types of shots.
Cons: the cut up pads fix them or take them out
Other Thoughts: try not to hit ne 1` near the baseball field

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 NC state

6/24/2004   9/24/2007
Review By: doubled23
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Lots of types of holes and not too many trees, but enough to make you work. Just like the other course in Raleigh, there's a playground and bathrooms. Holes are marked very well and easy to navigate.
Cons: Maybe they've updated the pars, but there was a really short hole that was rated a 5, and the longest hole on the course was rated a 3 - - even though it was a monster, uphill, long hole.
Other Thoughts: Good location near NC state - - you do have to watch the playground on the 1st hole, cause you could easily smack a kid in the head with a bad throw! Trust me.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.