Raleigh, NC 
Kentwood Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee: Longest hole on the course. Big hyzer, through the trees up the hill to the left.



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Unchallenging

1    12/7/2012   12/7/2012
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 66  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Ease of navigation.. kind of
- Course layout given the area it occupies
- Good mix of possible tee shots; ranging from straight to hyzer to anhyzer/RHFH
- Courteous and friendly players
Cons: - Not a single hole is over 250(ish)
- No alternate tees/holes
- Tee pads for the next hole are way too close to the pin on a few holes
- Tees are way skinny and are unnecessarily long
- Way too crowded with recreational players
Other Thoughts: If I didn't ask around, I would not have found the first hole as it isn't marked off very well. Also navigating from 10-12 isn't really obvious either. Didn't use my driver once on this course, which is fine but I mean c'mon, not once?! Probably the worst DGA baskets I've played, discs went in and out having hit the chains dead center. Baskets are in rough shape on a bunch of the holes. I shot a -5 with ease having not thrown a driver once; just using my magnet, zone, buzz ss and ion. All while with 3 torn ligaments in my knee 10 days out from surgery, so my power isn't there to begin with. Good course for newbies and non-competitive players I suppose.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a bag of putters

5+    11/21/2010   11/9/2012
Review By: keltik
Played: 37  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun course
- Easy to navigate
- Good mix of holes
- Close to NCSU campus
- Been in the ground since 1983!
- Pretty scenery
Cons: - Can get crowded depending on time of year and time of day
- if you want to air it out don't come here
Other Thoughts: This course is just overall a fun little romp in a city park. It is close to my alma mata NCSU. When school is in session and it's after lunch it can get pretty crowded with students. but if you play in the morning and/or during a holiday/summer you will probably be alone.

A short course with plenty of elevation changes and twists and turns, it is a good place to learn the game. It's also a good place for seasoned players to practice short drives with putters and mids, and to work on the short game. Just plain old good fun.

I wish I had played here while in college (didn't pick up the game until a few years after graduation). but probably a good thing I didn't play in college since it would have kept me out of the books.

skew factor: I'm a State grad...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but Rocky

5+    5/16/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: Scottspnutgang
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This Course is fun and pretty easy to play
Cons: A very very Rocky course. Eats discs up.
Other Thoughts: Kentwood is a fun course to play. It may just be the easiest course in the triangle. If you don't mind the rocks then I think its worth playing.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/17/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 109  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Very fun, beginner friendly course
- Great use of elevation
- Holes 4, 9 and 18 all return to the bathroom area
- Uncrowded Park
Cons: - Very crowded course
- Near a college campus
- Very "easy" course
- A little difficult to navigate
- Holes 7 and 16 cross
- Rocks all over the course that eat up your discs
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you need to learn the game, have a friend who has never played or something like that. If you are interested in getting better, this course forces you to throw straight and putt well. This course is not anything special, but pretty much everyone from the Raleigh area - which includes some of the greats in sport - learned to play on this course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing

2-4    1/27/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: tylerweik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open holes. Easy course to find. Very popular among high school and college kids.
Cons: Holes cross over frequently. Mismarked tees make it hard to find the right hole to shoot at. Overcrowded on weekends and summers.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Local legend

5+    2/4/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: vegthura
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes, well laid out and with great use of the terrain. There is a front and back 9 both accessible from the parking lot so you can start on either half of the course if it's busy. This isn't a long course but it's really fun and great for a quick round.
Cons: Can get busy. Also can get pretty muddy if it's been raining out. Watch out for the water hazard along the left side of hole #2 especially if it's been raining.
Other Thoughts: The tee for hole #1 is along the parking lot on the sidewalk to the playground. Look for the stone with the hole info on it and a painted line on the sidewalk. Hole #10 is just past the playground in the middle of the open area in the front of the park - you won't easily find it from hole #9.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Second Chance

5+    9/16/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: jdjossel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Relatively easy to keep track of your disc. Great course for beginners because the holes are varied in style.
Cons: Too many uphill and rocky holes. Major con is the rockiness. It really dings up your discs.
Other Thoughts: The downhill holes make the uphill ones more bearable. I'm glad I gave this place a second chance!

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Rocky Rocky Course

1    9/7/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: snoborderphx
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course...not too long but has some good technical aspects to it. Easy and quick course to play. Takes about 1 hour and 15 minutes to play
Cons: About 3/4 of the holes are throwing your discs into rocks, and not nice little rocks, but big, dent your disc, rocks. So beware...take a crappy disc or champion discs (bc they don't tend to be as affected by rocks)

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for something random we picked while in Raleigh

1    6/18/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners learing the sport for the first time. Good mix of holes uphill, downhill. Good course to work on your putting and mid range shots.
Cons: Tee pads in my opinion were awful. Not that you really need a long tee pad on this course, but I just prefer a concrete poured tee pad.

Not very many holes to use your driver.
Other Thoughts: I live in Charlotte, play disc golf regularly and enjoyed this course for having picked a random course that two other buddies and I agreed on. It's a good course to shoot under par and build up some confidence if you are like me and in a slump. When back in Raleigh, I will play this course again along with a few others.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Rocky Road

5+    4/15/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 59  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Rather short holes so the average player can make some bird's
decent baskets
good mix of shot selection
Cons: This place gets crowded quick on pretty days but I have gotten there plenty of times at 10 am and had the course pretty much to myself, with the crowd comes disc flying at you everywhere because alot of the holes criss-cross each other and many tee-pads are like really really close to the baskets. I actually got hit on #2 in the ribs one day (glad it wasnt a distance driver lol). Holes 4-8 and 14-17 are set on a hill with rocks everywhere so yea they eat up your plastic pretty quick.
Other Thoughts: lastly a couple of local punks keep spray painting the baskets, tee-pads, and flora life. Please quit being destructive so everyone can enjoy!!!!!

As a side note, why the hell do I need to repeat what others are saying about the course to get a vote up?? This course is short, has many ace runs, and is great for beginners, nuff said about kent-rock-city

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.