Raleigh, NC 
Kentwood Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short and Rocky

5+    4/3/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: New013
Played: 149  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Kentwood is a short and well rounded course. It has a mix of open/wooded holes with a good mix of elevation changes.
The course is in a city park which is kept fairly clean and trimmed. It has bathrooms and a water fountain.
There are a nice mix of dog legs to the left and right as well as a few 300' downhill shots.
Every hole has a teepad and regulation basket.
Lots of birdie openings. You can get real far under once you get used to the course. A lot of the holes have ace potential.
It's a fun course to play with groups and doubles. It seems like every time I play doubles it comes down to who can birdie 18.
Has five really fun holes. 8,9,10,14 and 18.
Cons: The course is short and there are five or six straight on shots from a short distance. Half of the course is covered in rocks which f up your disc and make barefoot playing painful.
It's usually crowded, especially on really nice days. A lot of time you might end up starting from a random hole or getting stuck behind group after group.
Police frequent the parking lot quite often and seem to go after long haired/bearded types. As long as you keep unsanctioned activities in the back of the course you'll be okay.
Fairways cross three or four times and sometimes you have to wait to tee off because someone is playing.
The course is right against some houses which can be hit or cause you to lose your disc because it gets stuck in some crap in a persons yard where you can't see it.
The road comes in to play on one hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a good course to practice mids and putts on. There's not many driving holes and the long ones are really uphill or really downhill. If you want to up your ace count its the place to go in the area.
The course is pretty rain proof with the exception of 10,12 & 13.

UPDATE - I'm dropping my rating down to 2.5 because this course is always so crowded during prime disc golf times. Honestly its a pain to even be there some days unless you play by yourself and can play through.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of the first courses I ever played

2-4    9/4/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not a difficult course overall, but certainly holds some challenges. I've thrown some terrible shots on this course, but I've also hit some amazing ones. Nice changes in elevation, lots of open holes, some chances to air it out. Really should not be terribly difficult to shoot par or under.
Cons: Footing can be tricky on some of the holes that play in a rocky area on a hillside (that is, if you aren't careful).
Other Thoughts: Just a fun course in the middle of Raleigh. Always lots of folks playing here.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Imperfect but charming

5+    10/19/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: All Thumbers
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of ace and birdie opportunities. Lot of regulars. Nice walk in the park, for some holes.
Cons: Lots of roots and rocks to trip over on this course on certain holes, so watch your feet.
Other Thoughts: Hole 14 is an uphill monster unless you have an utterly reliable and long hyzer. It's the one hole I at kentwood that I've never birdied.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Beginner Course

1    9/4/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good course for families and beginners. Open enough that you don't get frustrated but most every direct route from the tee to the basket is challenged. Good use of elevation. Tees marked with distances. Two practice baskets spaced about 75' apart makes for good putting practice.
Cons: Navigation could be easier. The route to the next basket is not always intuitive, but once around is all you need. Friendly locals helped me out. No directional pointers from the basket to the next tee. The course was crowded, and apparently stays that way. There were lots of slow players when I was there. Be careful of players around you. A couple of paths from tee to basket actually cross the fairway, exposing you to throws from the tee. The fairways are laid out fairly tight. The land gets maximum usage. Keep your head up and watch players around you. Several times while I was playing, a disc from another group landed near us and startled us. Tee signs were non-existent, except for distance markers. Don't be fooled by the "concrete tees. They are barely adequate and will frustrate players used to "poured" tees. These tees are small and many of them are landscaping blocks with a corner missing. they must've gotten a great deal on them. They were at most tees. Again, the tees are fairly narrow, but usually long enough. I perfer them to natrual tees, but they could've been better and bigger.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I REALLY enjoyed this course. No holes over 300', uphill and downhill tee shots. Anny's and hyzers required. Lots of Ace runs. My son, who is a beginner, also enjoyed the course. Often he commented that he could get threes becasue the course wasn't too long. Anything that gets him into DG is great by me. The course is NOT very challenging, but the fun factor was high. There is a great playground for the kiddies nearby and tennis courts as well. Permanent bathrooms. Benches at most every tee. Shade is abundant. The course has a lot of stone-covered landing areas. It's a great way to break in a new discs. Not many places to lose a disc. What little water we saw was clear and shallow.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 NICE WOODS IN RALIEGH

5+    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.7 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: a mix of woods with a few open holes. one water hazard(2 dirty 2 retrive discs). i belive the cut up the old pads into suns with sunshine rays w a chop saw. so try to play the non cut up pads. sometimes tight mostly open enough to throw multiple types of shots.
Cons: the cut up pads fix them or take them out
Other Thoughts: try not to hit ne 1` near the baseball field

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt

5+    10/1/2009   3/1/2010
Review By: edkusch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Kentwood is a great course for beginners. Bring your putter and a mid range to work on your short game. The course is easy to get ot from 440. I played this course a bunch when i was on the NCSU campus. convenient.
Cons: The course is crowded and rocks eat up your discs. Other courses in the area like Cedar Hills, Buckhorn, and Leigh Farm are more challenging and scenic.
Other Thoughts: Kentwood is an older Par 3 course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kentwood = birdie train in high gear

5+    11/1/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, clean park. Can play 18 holes in well less than an hour. Lots and lots of birdies to be had.
Cons: Very, very crowded with students and rookies. Short and simple, lots of straight shots. For experienced players, just bring a putter and have some fun. Making deuces on every other hole at least is very reasonable.
Other Thoughts: There are so many good courses in the area, I'd recommend that experienced players look elsewhere. The combination of crowds and super short shots (most holes play less than 250') mean that if you're in the area for a short time, there are better options than Kentwood.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Little bit...

1    12/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice clean park. All pads are concrete and all baskets are in place. Close to
NC State if you go there. Short and simple. Easy to get to from anywhere in Raleigh.
Cons: Little bit of elevation, but not too much to influence your shots. Little bit of trees, but not enough to make anything difficult. Little bit of concrete on the tee pads, but not enough to make you feel safe and secure. Little bit of distance, but not enough to throw anything other than a putter or a mid. Basically too little of everything.
Other Thoughts: Nothing good or bad about this course. Not worth a trip, but playable if you live close by. Not a bad choice if you just want to play a round with your putter. You won't get too hurt by errant or short throws. Almost impossible to lose a disc. With so many good courses in the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area this one doesn't cry out to be played.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Kentwood ROCK

1    10/10/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Close to NC State
-Great place to practice your mid-range off the tee and your approaches from the "fairway"
-Elevation changes, occasional water, and unnatural ground make for a unique challenge
Cons: -Course design, this place seemed dangerous because of hole layout
-Crowded/busy, its next to a college campus!
-The rocky fairways, don't even bother with your dx/pro-d plastics unless you want to wear them in really quickly
-unimaginative course, feels tight
Other Thoughts: If you go to NC State and know what disc golf is, you've played Kentwood. If not, I'm not sure I'd bother going back unless I'm in the area and really need to play. The course layout is a real hazard due to its design combined with the local college players propensity to not pay attention

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course

5+    10/21/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course where I first learned to play. A lot of people can say this.
- Great course to practice your short game. Almost all of the holes are in the 200-250ft range. Only Hole 14 requires a driver. The rest of the course is midranges and putters off the tee.
- Two practice baskets
- Great for a 30-45 min round if you play when it's not busy.
- Great for ace runs. 8 of my 12 aces are at Kwood.
Cons: - Watch you back. There are a lot of noobs and drunk college students. People getting hit is a daily occurrence.
- Busy. All the time. If you get there before 1 or 2, you won't see many people, otherwise the place is slammed due to being so close to NC State.
- The course is jammed into a small piece of land, so fairways are close together and in one case crossing (7 and 16).
- Tee pads have improved thanks to CA, but they're still pretty small.
- Can get very hectic around Hole 4 and 5 if baseball is going on.
Other Thoughts: Its not a great course, but it's not trying to be. It's a great course to learn the game on. I may be a little biased because I sure I've played Kentwood more than any other course, but enjoy this pitch and putt when I'm in the mood to practice the short game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.