Raleigh, NC 
Kentwood Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee: Straight, tight hole with baseball field OB on the right. Off the tee you throw over the ditch.



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Imperfect but charming

5+    10/19/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: All Thumbers
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of ace and birdie opportunities. Lot of regulars. Nice walk in the park, for some holes.
Cons: Lots of roots and rocks to trip over on this course on certain holes, so watch your feet.
Other Thoughts: Hole 14 is an uphill monster unless you have an utterly reliable and long hyzer. It's the one hole I at kentwood that I've never birdied.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Beginner Course

1    9/4/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good course for families and beginners. Open enough that you don't get frustrated but most every direct route from the tee to the basket is challenged. Good use of elevation. Tees marked with distances. Two practice baskets spaced about 75' apart makes for good putting practice.
Cons: Navigation could be easier. The route to the next basket is not always intuitive, but once around is all you need. Friendly locals helped me out. No directional pointers from the basket to the next tee. The course was crowded, and apparently stays that way. There were lots of slow players when I was there. Be careful of players around you. A couple of paths from tee to basket actually cross the fairway, exposing you to throws from the tee. The fairways are laid out fairly tight. The land gets maximum usage. Keep your head up and watch players around you. Several times while I was playing, a disc from another group landed near us and startled us. Tee signs were non-existent, except for distance markers. Don't be fooled by the "concrete tees. They are barely adequate and will frustrate players used to "poured" tees. These tees are small and many of them are landscaping blocks with a corner missing. they must've gotten a great deal on them. They were at most tees. Again, the tees are fairly narrow, but usually long enough. I perfer them to natrual tees, but they could've been better and bigger.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I REALLY enjoyed this course. No holes over 300', uphill and downhill tee shots. Anny's and hyzers required. Lots of Ace runs. My son, who is a beginner, also enjoyed the course. Often he commented that he could get threes becasue the course wasn't too long. Anything that gets him into DG is great by me. The course is NOT very challenging, but the fun factor was high. There is a great playground for the kiddies nearby and tennis courts as well. Permanent bathrooms. Benches at most every tee. Shade is abundant. The course has a lot of stone-covered landing areas. It's a great way to break in a new discs. Not many places to lose a disc. What little water we saw was clear and shallow.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 NICE WOODS IN RALIEGH

5+    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: a mix of woods with a few open holes. one water hazard(2 dirty 2 retrive discs). i belive the cut up the old pads into suns with sunshine rays w a chop saw. so try to play the non cut up pads. sometimes tight mostly open enough to throw multiple types of shots.
Cons: the cut up pads fix them or take them out
Other Thoughts: try not to hit ne 1` near the baseball field

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt

5+    10/1/2009   3/1/2010
Review By: edkusch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Kentwood is a great course for beginners. Bring your putter and a mid range to work on your short game. The course is easy to get ot from 440. I played this course a bunch when i was on the NCSU campus. convenient.
Cons: The course is crowded and rocks eat up your discs. Other courses in the area like Cedar Hills, Buckhorn, and Leigh Farm are more challenging and scenic.
Other Thoughts: Kentwood is an older Par 3 course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kentwood = birdie train in high gear

5+    11/1/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, clean park. Can play 18 holes in well less than an hour. Lots and lots of birdies to be had.
Cons: Very, very crowded with students and rookies. Short and simple, lots of straight shots. For experienced players, just bring a putter and have some fun. Making deuces on every other hole at least is very reasonable.
Other Thoughts: There are so many good courses in the area, I'd recommend that experienced players look elsewhere. The combination of crowds and super short shots (most holes play less than 250') mean that if you're in the area for a short time, there are better options than Kentwood.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Little bit...

1    12/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice clean park. All pads are concrete and all baskets are in place. Close to
NC State if you go there. Short and simple. Easy to get to from anywhere in Raleigh.
Cons: Little bit of elevation, but not too much to influence your shots. Little bit of trees, but not enough to make anything difficult. Little bit of concrete on the tee pads, but not enough to make you feel safe and secure. Little bit of distance, but not enough to throw anything other than a putter or a mid. Basically too little of everything.
Other Thoughts: Nothing good or bad about this course. Not worth a trip, but playable if you live close by. Not a bad choice if you just want to play a round with your putter. You won't get too hurt by errant or short throws. Almost impossible to lose a disc. With so many good courses in the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area this one doesn't cry out to be played.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Kentwood ROCK

1    10/10/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Close to NC State
-Great place to practice your mid-range off the tee and your approaches from the "fairway"
-Elevation changes, occasional water, and unnatural ground make for a unique challenge
Cons: -Course design, this place seemed dangerous because of hole layout
-Crowded/busy, its next to a college campus!
-The rocky fairways, don't even bother with your dx/pro-d plastics unless you want to wear them in really quickly
-unimaginative course, feels tight
Other Thoughts: If you go to NC State and know what disc golf is, you've played Kentwood. If not, I'm not sure I'd bother going back unless I'm in the area and really need to play. The course layout is a real hazard due to its design combined with the local college players propensity to not pay attention

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course

5+    10/21/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course where I first learned to play. A lot of people can say this.
- Great course to practice your short game. Almost all of the holes are in the 200-250ft range. Only Hole 14 requires a driver. The rest of the course is midranges and putters off the tee.
- Two practice baskets
- Great for a 30-45 min round if you play when it's not busy.
- Great for ace runs. 8 of my 12 aces are at Kwood.
Cons: - Watch you back. There are a lot of noobs and drunk college students. People getting hit is a daily occurrence.
- Busy. All the time. If you get there before 1 or 2, you won't see many people, otherwise the place is slammed due to being so close to NC State.
- The course is jammed into a small piece of land, so fairways are close together and in one case crossing (7 and 16).
- Tee pads have improved thanks to CA, but they're still pretty small.
- Can get very hectic around Hole 4 and 5 if baseball is going on.
Other Thoughts: Its not a great course, but it's not trying to be. It's a great course to learn the game on. I may be a little biased because I sure I've played Kentwood more than any other course, but enjoy this pitch and putt when I'm in the mood to practice the short game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic

5+    9/28/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: Sp00ks
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 25.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a classic in the area. Well maintained. The challenge here is to see how low you can keep your score. I've played many tournaments here and it is always fun to play a round at kentwood. Most everyone is courteous and casual. You will find all levels of skill here and many obstacles. Awesome course for birdies and aces.
Cons: Dangerous course. Disks coming from all angles with a play ground in the middle. Road traffic, crossing fairways, rocky terrain.
Other Thoughts: My wife was permanently disabled on this course right before our wedding. She was hit in the arm by a disk on hole 18. She zigged when she should have zagged and never recovered from the injury. Keep your eyes open at all times while playing here.

That being said, this is a classic course that will always have a place in my listings as a fun course to play. I have many aces under my belt here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Times

5+    8/28/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the funnest courses to play. All holes under 300' with the shortest hole in Wake County. Most pros shoot around 12 under in one round.
Cons: You climb up a rocky hill throughout the round, so if you throw DX or Pro D plastic your disc will eat the rocks.
Other Thoughts: One of the busiest courses in the United States. Great for a fun casual round. Some of the nicest disc golfers play a lot. Don't need many discs for this course. Lots of Ace oppurtunities.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.