Raleigh, NC 
Kentwood Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Short, downhill to the left.

Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Kentwood ROCK

1    10/10/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Close to NC State
-Great place to practice your mid-range off the tee and your approaches from the "fairway"
-Elevation changes, occasional water, and unnatural ground make for a unique challenge
Cons: -Course design, this place seemed dangerous because of hole layout
-Crowded/busy, its next to a college campus!
-The rocky fairways, don't even bother with your dx/pro-d plastics unless you want to wear them in really quickly
-unimaginative course, feels tight
Other Thoughts: If you go to NC State and know what disc golf is, you've played Kentwood. If not, I'm not sure I'd bother going back unless I'm in the area and really need to play. The course layout is a real hazard due to its design combined with the local college players propensity to not pay attention

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course

5+    10/21/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course where I first learned to play. A lot of people can say this.
- Great course to practice your short game. Almost all of the holes are in the 200-250ft range. Only Hole 14 requires a driver. The rest of the course is midranges and putters off the tee.
- Two practice baskets
- Great for a 30-45 min round if you play when it's not busy.
- Great for ace runs. 8 of my 12 aces are at Kwood.
Cons: - Watch you back. There are a lot of noobs and drunk college students. People getting hit is a daily occurrence.
- Busy. All the time. If you get there before 1 or 2, you won't see many people, otherwise the place is slammed due to being so close to NC State.
- The course is jammed into a small piece of land, so fairways are close together and in one case crossing (7 and 16).
- Tee pads have improved thanks to CA, but they're still pretty small.
- Can get very hectic around Hole 4 and 5 if baseball is going on.
Other Thoughts: Its not a great course, but it's not trying to be. It's a great course to learn the game on. I may be a little biased because I sure I've played Kentwood more than any other course, but enjoy this pitch and putt when I'm in the mood to practice the short game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/28/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: Sp00ks
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 26.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a classic in the area. Well maintained. The challenge here is to see how low you can keep your score. I've played many tournaments here and it is always fun to play a round at kentwood. Most everyone is courteous and casual. You will find all levels of skill here and many obstacles. Awesome course for birdies and aces.
Cons: Dangerous course. Disks coming from all angles with a play ground in the middle. Road traffic, crossing fairways, rocky terrain.
Other Thoughts: My wife was permanently disabled on this course right before our wedding. She was hit in the arm by a disk on hole 18. She zigged when she should have zagged and never recovered from the injury. Keep your eyes open at all times while playing here.

That being said, this is a classic course that will always have a place in my listings as a fun course to play. I have many aces under my belt here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Times

5+    8/28/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the funnest courses to play. All holes under 300' with the shortest hole in Wake County. Most pros shoot around 12 under in one round.
Cons: You climb up a rocky hill throughout the round, so if you throw DX or Pro D plastic your disc will eat the rocks.
Other Thoughts: One of the busiest courses in the United States. Great for a fun casual round. Some of the nicest disc golfers play a lot. Don't need many discs for this course. Lots of Ace oppurtunities.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    9/21/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: rhino21
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has some elevation changes. Birdie Opportunites. Ace opportunities. Do not need many discs.
Cons: Not really an opportunity to throw a bomber. Rocky terrain takes away the skip shot and can really hurt a DX disc.
Other Thoughts: The course is set up very well for the space that it uses. The course has a lot of traffic though - from casual golfers to pro's. Good course to have a relaxing round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  The Beautiful Game

5+    7/30/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: MilwaukeeMark
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of ace opportunities, even more birdie opportunities. Offers true variety from open holes to dense woods, hilly terrain to water hazards. Generally quick play time and very easy to get to. There's incredible scenic beauty here, particularly in the woods and even more so in Autumn. Bathrooms on-site along with open-walled shelter for four picnic tables. Plenty of parking available.
Cons: Tends to be busy but crowds can be avoided weekday mornings. Some holes criss-cross so keep your head up. Lacking in the directional category but once you've played through, it's an easy to understand layout.
Other Thoughts: I created a map with detailed hole-by-hole review on google maps for this course:


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place to visit... Wouldn't want to live there.

2-4    6/18/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: laxrulz777
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick course with limited walking
Good use of terrain (although poor fairway placement on a few holes)
Some interesting throws
Very little underbrush and only 1 or 2 holes where you could possibly lose a disc.
Cons: Relatively short
Lots of rocks that chew up your disc no matter how well you throw (could they not at least put some pine straw or cedar chips down at the pin?)
Very busy
Very crowded holes (including two criss crossed holes, one of which you walk blindly across without being able to see the throws coming)
Other Thoughts: I like playing this as a change of pace or when we're in a hurry to get a round in before dark. A twosome playing reasonably quickly should finish this in 45min - 1 hour depending on the how busy it is. I would recommend going right before dark (say 7 o'clock in the summer).
If this was my regular course, I'd get frustrated pretty quick. It's not particularly challenging and it has a lot of minor annoyances that really add up. Having said that, we do play it off and on and it's a nice change of pace. I would challenge yourself to practice throws you wouldn't otherwise do. Play a whole round forehand (or backhand if you normally throw forehand). Throw pancakes or (where there's no rocks) rollers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A few cons hold it back

5+    4/26/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 50  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like the design of this course, the holes make excellent use of the terrain and provide plenty of shot variety. There is a good mix of open and wooded and in-between holes with plenty of elevation changes. Several deceptively hard holes and a few that are just fun throws (#3 and #8 come to mind). Fairly short course with plenty of birdie and ace opportunities for a good player and makes it extremely playable for beginners. Couple of practice baskets for your pre-round warm-up too. Park is well maintained and the course receives occasional upgrades.
Cons: Unfortunately there's a lot I don't like about this course that greatly limits how much I play here.

The first is that the holes are a bit cramped. By this I mean there are many holes where you can throw at, across, or alongside another hole. You will hear a lot of "four!" and "heads up!" when you play here. This is further aggravated by the fact that a lot of beginners play here (which is great!) but they often don't stay on their own fairways.

The first two holes are not very beginner friendly, despite my assertion the overall course is. The first is alongside the parking lot in such a way that the normal RHBH fade send a disc diving towards the parked cars. The other side has a playground so it's not a great setup, especially for the beginning hole. The second hole is along the road and again the RHBH fade puts your disc flying at cars.

A good majority of the course is set on a hillside that is more rocks than dirt and grass. They are not large rocks and are easy to walk on, but they really tear up your discs. Only play beat discs here if you can.

Finally, the biggest drawback for me is the course gets too much traffic. Often there are large (5+) groups playing here and many seem disinclined to let faster groups play through. During heavy use times this course really isn't worth playing if you play fast and/or are a small group or solo. My recommendation in this case is to play late evening or, even better, before noon. Course also seems less crowded in the summer when college is out.
Other Thoughts: I'd put this course in the same class as Cornwallis in Durham as far as challenge goes.

This isn't really a fault of the park, but there is often a lot of trash thrown on the course that takes away from the aesthetic appeal.

The park itself has a shelter, playground, and several tennis courts that were last resurfaced in fall 2008. One court includes a practice wall.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Bit Better Than Average

2-4    7/17/2005   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 375  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Aces up

5+    3/20/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 114  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every pin is an ace oportunity. Excellent place to challenge you mid range skills and throw low rounds. Good elevation with short technical shots. Great place for beginners.
Cons: Some of the tee pads are sketchy. They were made for going around trees as decoration. Possiblity to getting injured. Made on a rocky hill so discs get banged up easily. Keep your head up, holes are close together and cross fire comes into play, even when teeing off. Always busy, but not too bad because holes are not that long.
Other Thoughts: Confidence Booster for sure. Not the best course in the area but it has character. In the summer there is a lot of poison ivy in the rough so keep an eye out. There are also ribbons around many trees on course. More experienced players can use them as mandos to enhance the round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.