Disc Golf Store
Raleigh, NC 
Kentwood Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Baseball field is OB. The ditch on the right is casual.



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
  

1    10/8/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: Barnette
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a easier course than most. It seems to be set up like a "par 3" real golf course would be. This is a great start for beginners, due to the many birdie opportunities.
Cons: There are no many signs or arrows directing this course. If you have never played the course you might want to follow the people playing ahead of you to know what hole is next. Also there are ALWAYS people out on Kent no matter what the time of day, so don't be scared to start on a hole and just finish where back there.
Other Thoughts: The pictures that are on here as of today are not very accurate. I go to Kent almost everyday (being i live so close) and there have been alot of changes made due to nature growing up in places, sidewalk being built, and new playground area (pushed back i think).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not so good

5+    7/27/2008   7/27/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 31.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2008
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you take all the holes here and consider them individually then they are actually pretty fun. There course is very short and crammed in to a small space. One of the nice things is that there are little posts that have the distance of every hole on them. I have an ok time playing here when there is no one else around but this park is normally packed with people and discs are whizzing all over the place.

There are restrooms on the course and a playground for the wives and kids to visit while we're playing golf. The playground is close to the course though so tell them to be careful for stray plastic flying around.
Cons: There's a lot of bad about this course. The tee pads are terrible ankle twisters. They're old precast concrete things with big oblong holes in them for your feet to get stuck in. The course is in a multi use park and a couple of the holes are very close to the restrooms, ball fields and playgrounds. There are crossing fairways. Many of the tees, pins and fairways are way too close to each other. Errant shots have a high probability of hitting other disc golfers, park patrons and kids on the playground. Keep a sharp eye out for errant shots. Many holes on the course play up the side of a rock covered hill. This will definitely chew up your discs. More detailed tee signs would help for players looking for the holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a very crowded course that is mostly frequented by beginners. Because of this, the course is quite dangerous. It's worth playing once because some of the holes are fun but I would suggest coming at an "off" time. Like in the morning on a week day.

A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. I'm just trying to evaluate the course on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5/31/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: The Fleez
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It is an overall good course, not to challenging most holes wooded, trees around are much more mature compared to pictures,
Cons: some holes very short, also usually crowded but rarely by big groups that arent willing to let smaller groups play through
Other Thoughts: overall sweet course for beginners

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just look at Holes 1 and 2

4/20/2002   3/6/2008
Review By: I Didn't Like It
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.3 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Hole 1 throws into a playground, Hole 2 throws directly into oncoming traffic. Easily the worst two back to back holes in all of disc golf.
Other Thoughts: Not the worst course I've played, but it's down there. Too many other good courses in the area to play Kentwood.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 FORE!!!

12/11/2007   12/11/2007
Review By: THE BIG Z
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Longest running doubles in america takes place here.
Cons: VERY VERY Busy course, I played out there and there was not one hole where there was not a group of five recreational golfers, People were teeing off as soon as we got done was hit by a disc on some cris-crossing fairways and the nc state students are very rude and have no disc golf ettiquite.
Other Thoughts: The police will deffintly hassle you here.

5 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 NC state

6/24/2004   9/24/2007
Review By: doubled23
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Lots of types of holes and not too many trees, but enough to make you work. Just like the other course in Raleigh, there's a playground and bathrooms. Holes are marked very well and easy to navigate.
Cons: Maybe they've updated the pars, but there was a really short hole that was rated a 5, and the longest hole on the course was rated a 3 - - even though it was a monster, uphill, long hole.
Other Thoughts: Good location near NC state - - you do have to watch the playground on the 1st hole, cause you could easily smack a kid in the head with a bad throw! Trust me.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.