Raleigh, NC 
Kentwood Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee: Straight, open & flat.



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    2/18/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: jab7575
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete pads
-great vibe from locals
-lots of birdie opportunities
-Bathrooms available (seasonal)
-Well maintained
-tournament activity, weekly doubles, monthlies, etc..
-Distances provided on most holes
-Fun course which can provide a morale booster as scores are typically under par
Cons: -Crowded. Near North Carolina State University. Traffic on the course is frequently quite heavy.
-Some holes pay over each other so you have to be alert. You throw over other fairways, baskets, and tee boxes.
-Until you know the course there are some holes you are uncertain which basket to throw to
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun course. Low scores are quite possible. Birdie opportunity on almost every hole but you must be accurate. Some holes are technical and even a long hole or two. Most holes are realtively short though. I would definitely recommend you visit this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Beginner's Course in Central Raleigh, NC!

1    3/2/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: NauticalUrge
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 19.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course. Benches available all over the course for those in need of them. Wide open fairways for 200-300 distance drives. (Qty: 2) Practice Baskets.
Cons: Hard and sometimes rocky ground tears into discs. Some areas are covered in rocky stones, so bring your comfortable hiking shoes. Water hazards (after rain/snow) can cause you to lose discs, or you getting wet. Baskets are difficult to distinguish from the surrounding terrain and woods. No signage, and difficult to find markers/tees.
Other Thoughts: We visited the Kentwood Park Disc Golf Course in Raleigh, NC. Weather conditions were approximately 26 degrees Fahrenheit, snow/ice, with 7 mph winds (23 mph gusts) on a mostly-cloudy day.

Kentwood is much like many other courses, in that it is placed right on top of an existing City Park. The terrain is mostly flat, with a few baskets on hilly/rocky areas, and there's a few creeks (water hazards) and ditches to avoid. There are only a few holes which are surrounded by trees, but most of the holes are in wide open areas.

It was very difficult finding the first tee when we first arrived, especially since we'd never played this course before. Hint: The first tee is between the parking lot and the playground equipment, facing the street.

There are benches scattered throughout the course, which is nice for those that need a place to rest. Due to space restrictions, many of the fairways cross each other, and so you'll have to constantly watch for stray discs. We played on a fairly slow day, due to the snow, but I've heard that Kentwood Park is normally packed with people.

This is a great beginner's course in the heart of Raleigh, NC and right next to NC State University. The park has a playground for kids, Tennis Courts, and a baseball field for the members of your group that don't feel like playing disc golf.

Considering the land size they had to work with, I think they designed this course rather well, and it is also well maintained. I just wish they had more markers and signage to assist players to navigate the course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad course

2-4    2/15/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: jleonar18
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A great course to meet some new friends. lots of college kids. cute girls. a exciting layout.
Cons: lots of dumb ass college kids. exciting layout with disk flying overhead from all directions.
Other Thoughts: a fun course to go with a group of friends and goof off and look at cute girls.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyment.

2-4    1/1/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: b pheazye
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you are looking to get a great score there is no better place to be. Not to say it is easy because there are some difficult holes but it is for the most part short and pretty open. A couple holes dip into the forest and get tough but the hillside covered with holes is just scattered trees.
Cons: It is rocky and will give your discs a scratch or two. The tee off's are concrete but dont give too much space and I often found myself off the front of them by the end of my drive. Crossing fairways may cause some delay but there is only one real problem there. It is busy almost anytime you cant really avoid it, but everyone played at a pretty good pace so you didnt have to wait too much.
Other Thoughts: It is a good course to put up good scores. I had a lot of fun playing here and it can be nice to play with lots of people around. There is much more commotion than at your average DG Course. Definitely worth a try.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 kentwood

1    12/13/2008   12/13/2008
Review By: ecupirate82
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good beginner course. Short with lots of birdie opportunities!!! Concrete boxes...not in the best of shape but I always enjoy the concrete!!
Cons: Very busy. I had to wait on every hole. It was also difficult to navigate. There were no signs pointing to next basket. Another thing, I am probably being pretty picky but the baskets were completely silver and hard to see at times.
Other Thoughts: Wish they would put up signs pointing you in the right direction!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    10/8/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: Barnette
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a easier course than most. It seems to be set up like a "par 3" real golf course would be. This is a great start for beginners, due to the many birdie opportunities.
Cons: There are no many signs or arrows directing this course. If you have never played the course you might want to follow the people playing ahead of you to know what hole is next. Also there are ALWAYS people out on Kent no matter what the time of day, so don't be scared to start on a hole and just finish where back there.
Other Thoughts: The pictures that are on here as of today are not very accurate. I go to Kent almost everyday (being i live so close) and there have been alot of changes made due to nature growing up in places, sidewalk being built, and new playground area (pushed back i think).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not so good

5+    7/27/2008   7/27/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 32.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2008
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you take all the holes here and consider them individually then they are actually pretty fun. There course is very short and crammed in to a small space. One of the nice things is that there are little posts that have the distance of every hole on them. I have an ok time playing here when there is no one else around but this park is normally packed with people and discs are whizzing all over the place.

There are restrooms on the course and a playground for the wives and kids to visit while we're playing golf. The playground is close to the course though so tell them to be careful for stray plastic flying around.
Cons: There's a lot of bad about this course. The tee pads are terrible ankle twisters. They're old precast concrete things with big oblong holes in them for your feet to get stuck in. The course is in a multi use park and a couple of the holes are very close to the restrooms, ball fields and playgrounds. There are crossing fairways. Many of the tees, pins and fairways are way too close to each other. Errant shots have a high probability of hitting other disc golfers, park patrons and kids on the playground. Keep a sharp eye out for errant shots. Many holes on the course play up the side of a rock covered hill. This will definitely chew up your discs. More detailed tee signs would help for players looking for the holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a very crowded course that is mostly frequented by beginners. Because of this, the course is quite dangerous. It's worth playing once because some of the holes are fun but I would suggest coming at an "off" time. Like in the morning on a week day.

A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. I'm just trying to evaluate the course on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5/31/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: The Fleez
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It is an overall good course, not to challenging most holes wooded, trees around are much more mature compared to pictures,
Cons: some holes very short, also usually crowded but rarely by big groups that arent willing to let smaller groups play through
Other Thoughts: overall sweet course for beginners

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just look at Holes 1 and 2

4/20/2002   3/6/2008
Review By: I Didn't Like It
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.3 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Hole 1 throws into a playground, Hole 2 throws directly into oncoming traffic. Easily the worst two back to back holes in all of disc golf.
Other Thoughts: Not the worst course I've played, but it's down there. Too many other good courses in the area to play Kentwood.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 FORE!!!

12/11/2007   12/11/2007
Review By: THE BIG Z
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Longest running doubles in america takes place here.
Cons: VERY VERY Busy course, I played out there and there was not one hole where there was not a group of five recreational golfers, People were teeing off as soon as we got done was hit by a disc on some cris-crossing fairways and the nc state students are very rude and have no disc golf ettiquite.
Other Thoughts: The police will deffintly hassle you here.

5 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.