Raleigh, NC
Kentwood Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Bring old discs

1    9/3/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: JMcCon
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park. Fun Holes. A little challenge in some spots.
Cons: Hard to navigate. If it wasnt for the nice local guy that played with me, it would have been confusing to navigate the course. Get a map before if you havnt played. SO MANY ROCKS! Id say half the course is in a sort of wooded hill area but the hill it nothing but jagged rocks, thats why i say bring some old discs you dont mind banging up.
Other Thoughts: Fun course overall and i am glad i got to play it. I could see where some of the holes kind of intersect and would be bad for heavy traffic.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Location, Location, Location

2-4    6/29/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So many people can't be wrong, right? On some level this is true. the most crowded disc golf course that I've seen has a few things going for it and not just the prime location.

It is very beginner friendly. I can't imagine newbies getting frustrated here. Not much distance is required at any point. At the same time, it's tough to get off track here and even tougher to lose a disc. The only people who might be frustrated with the courses and MA2-MA1 players who want to deuce just about every hole here but will likely only get the two on about half.

It's one long ace run. I mentioned that the holes are short? Well there isn't one hole here that can't be aced by a decent player. I'm very aware that some people are very into this.

And taken individually, there are some good holes here. There's actually a host of fun holes that I wouldn't mind another shot at. There are some nice uphills and some solid downhills. And since there isn't too much in the way of obstacles, there are some great chances to practice distance control on both types of slope.

There is even a small creek that winds its way through. Two of the downhills play to a basket across the creek. It even ventures into some actual woods for a few holes. A couple of these holes on a course with greater variety would not go remarked upon.
Cons: However, that location is a two-edged sword. I have never seen a course as crowded as this one. On my second visit, I arrived at 8AM on a Sunday morning. There were multiple cars in the parking lot already. This is a weekday morning course if I have ever seen one.

Those crowds would be more tolerable on a better course. But for a bunch of 200-foot holes? There are better courses in the Triangle that could be played in a lot less time.

And it is a bunch of 200-foot hole. There isn't much shaping required. There isn't much challenge. There isn't much of note at all. It's just a decent course made up of decent holes. Except.......

It features the worst tees I have ever seen. Pre-made slabs of cement that are far too narrow and far too short. They also sit uncomfortably a few inches above the surrounding ground so it is almost impossible to think about your shot without wondering if you are going to fall off the tee.

It gets worse. The tees are not even flat. Some of them have stylish arcs come out of them. Which looks cool except "that's where I wanted my foot to go. On a few of them, there has been an attempt to fill them. Now there is a big bum in the tee.

Fine, fine. I can just tee of on the natural surface next to them, right? Well, sometimes. Often, the natural surface alongside the tee is loose rocks.

Yet the biggest problem may be the shared fairways. There are a few times when discs from separate tees will be flying in the same area. There are even a few times where tees are in range of other tees. This would be a problem anywhere. On a course as crowded as this, its dangerous.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course, derailed by the worst tee situation imaginable. I'd play it in the right circumstances, but I wouldn't attempt to battle the crowds. Not in Raleigh, where better courses are plentiful.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Kentwood

2-4    6/11/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: chillbro15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Awesome layout, the tees were laid out well, challenging enough for experienced disc golfers yet beginner freindly. it is really fun and challenging. lots of variety also. can be frustrating hitting a few trees
Cons: all par 3
holes are short-ish
kind of in a sketchy area
a little bit of trash and vandalism
beware of the stoners on hole 13
a tree has fallen on holes 2/10 and can be very frustrating and challenging at the same time. i liked to throw forehand shots real low but the tree is in the way which forces you to change your approach
Other Thoughts: overall good course

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/15/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: zjones9
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kentwood may be the best course to introduce someone to disc golf on. Each and every hole can be birdied with a putter...but that doesn't mean that it is a bad course, just not a course to work on your distance game. It has great teepads, nice stone distance markers, and good baskets. It makes excellent use of the little land that is available, and requires several different lines. Also has some nice uphill and downhill shots mixed in.
Cons: Short...and not quite as challenging as I may have made it sound in the Pros section. Gets very crowded, especially in the summer. Watch for stoners on 13.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely not a "destination" course, but if you are on your lunch break and want to squeeze a round in, there isn't a better course than Kentwood. Again, this is a beginners course. If you go to it with other expectations, you will likely be disappointed, but if you go with just a putter and a mid you can have a good time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Amazing

5+    1/20/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 45  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Fairly close to the highway.
- Several Courses Nearby
- Great mix of flat/hilly fairways
- As before mentioned great course for beginners, or a good course to boost confidence or pull out of a slump
- A few ACE runs here
- Lots of disc golfers to mingle with
Cons: - some of the holes cross paths, so timing on a crowded day is important
- Parking, as mentioned before this park can get crowded quickly and parking gets harry
Other Thoughts: I love this course, its a quick play through. Well designed, I normally hit this course last every day im out if I am in this area to iron out any wrinkles I acquired. Very good course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Might as well...

5+    12/31/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: pfpro
Played: 45  Reviewed: 35
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - convenient - 3 turns puts you in the parking lot from the interstate.
- good beginner course. Shooting 54 should be achievable for beginners.
- two practice baskets - you can practice putting back and forth.
- good elevation mix - about half plays flat and the other half plays up and down a hill. Since the course is essentially two interwoven clockwise circles, it mixes the two portions nicely.
- established course in a park that is essentially for DG. Benches at most holes.
Cons: - busy, busy, busy. If you're not playing a non-holiday, weekday morning, expect heavy traffic. I played this afternoon, there were probably a dozen or so groups on the course. I usually play solo (not today), so expect to have some waiting. The plus to this is, if you haven't played the course before - there will probably be someone playing in front of you to show you the layout!
- teepads are old, small and narrow. You really don't need a run-up, so small teepads don't really matter that much.
- the layout is tight. I don't really have suggestions on how to make it better. The course has an OK mix of (short) shots, but is LHBH dominant with the clockwise play. A few fairways cross. A few teeboxes are really close to previous fairway so you have to wait for the group ahead of you to tee off before you do.
- The course is worn. The baskets are pretty beat and just dark metal. Can be hard to see, depending on the time of year and foliage. Sometimes someone puts markers on, but they can be a little tough to see first time through. The ground is eroded, so there are a lot of rocks to chew through non-premium plastic...
Other Thoughts: I play this course from time to time to change it up from my home course. It's a good opportunity to work on my mids and driving putter. My favorite holes are 12 (tunnel with 2 trees in the middle), and 9/18 are both downhill across a creekbed. There are other courses I would rather play, but sometimes convenience puts me here. When here, you ,might as well play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unchallenging

1    12/7/2012   12/7/2012
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 54  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Ease of navigation.. kind of
- Course layout given the area it occupies
- Good mix of possible tee shots; ranging from straight to hyzer to anhyzer/RHFH
- Courteous and friendly players
Cons: - Not a single hole is over 250(ish)
- No alternate tees/holes
- Tee pads for the next hole are way too close to the pin on a few holes
- Tees are way skinny and are unnecessarily long
- Way too crowded with recreational players
Other Thoughts: If I didn't ask around, I would not have found the first hole as it isn't marked off very well. Also navigating from 10-12 isn't really obvious either. Didn't use my driver once on this course, which is fine but I mean c'mon, not once?! Probably the worst DGA baskets I've played, discs went in and out having hit the chains dead center. Baskets are in rough shape on a bunch of the holes. I shot a -5 with ease having not thrown a driver once; just using my magnet, zone, buzz ss and ion. All while with 3 torn ligaments in my knee 10 days out from surgery, so my power isn't there to begin with. Good course for newbies and non-competitive players I suppose.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bring a bag of putters

5+    11/21/2010   11/9/2012
Review By: keltik
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun course
- Easy to navigate
- Good mix of holes
- Close to NCSU campus
- Been in the ground since 1983!
- Pretty scenery
Cons: - Can get crowded depending on time of year and time of day
- if you want to air it out don't come here
Other Thoughts: This course is just overall a fun little romp in a city park. It is close to my alma mata NCSU. When school is in session and it's after lunch it can get pretty crowded with students. but if you play in the morning and/or during a holiday/summer you will probably be alone.

A short course with plenty of elevation changes and twists and turns, it is a good place to learn the game. It's also a good place for seasoned players to practice short drives with putters and mids, and to work on the short game. Just plain old good fun.

I wish I had played here while in college (didn't pick up the game until a few years after graduation). but probably a good thing I didn't play in college since it would have kept me out of the books.

skew factor: I'm a State grad...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun but Rocky

5+    5/16/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: Scottspnutgang
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This Course is fun and pretty easy to play
Cons: A very very Rocky course. Eats discs up.
Other Thoughts: Kentwood is a fun course to play. It may just be the easiest course in the triangle. If you don't mind the rocks then I think its worth playing.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/17/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 101  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 20.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Very fun, beginner friendly course
- Great use of elevation
- Holes 4, 9 and 18 all return to the bathroom area
- Uncrowded Park
Cons: - Very crowded course
- Near a college campus
- Very "easy" course
- A little difficult to navigate
- Holes 7 and 16 cross
- Rocks all over the course that eat up your discs
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you need to learn the game, have a friend who has never played or something like that. If you are interested in getting better, this course forces you to throw straight and putt well. This course is not anything special, but pretty much everyone from the Raleigh area - which includes some of the greats in sport - learned to play on this course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.