Raleigh, NC 
Kentwood Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 154ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Downhill to the right.



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    3/17/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 105  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Very fun, beginner friendly course
- Great use of elevation
- Holes 4, 9 and 18 all return to the bathroom area
- Uncrowded Park
Cons: - Very crowded course
- Near a college campus
- Very "easy" course
- A little difficult to navigate
- Holes 7 and 16 cross
- Rocks all over the course that eat up your discs
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you need to learn the game, have a friend who has never played or something like that. If you are interested in getting better, this course forces you to throw straight and putt well. This course is not anything special, but pretty much everyone from the Raleigh area - which includes some of the greats in sport - learned to play on this course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing

2-4    1/27/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: tylerweik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open holes. Easy course to find. Very popular among high school and college kids.
Cons: Holes cross over frequently. Mismarked tees make it hard to find the right hole to shoot at. Overcrowded on weekends and summers.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Local legend

5+    2/4/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: vegthura
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes, well laid out and with great use of the terrain. There is a front and back 9 both accessible from the parking lot so you can start on either half of the course if it's busy. This isn't a long course but it's really fun and great for a quick round.
Cons: Can get busy. Also can get pretty muddy if it's been raining out. Watch out for the water hazard along the left side of hole #2 especially if it's been raining.
Other Thoughts: The tee for hole #1 is along the parking lot on the sidewalk to the playground. Look for the stone with the hole info on it and a painted line on the sidewalk. Hole #10 is just past the playground in the middle of the open area in the front of the park - you won't easily find it from hole #9.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Second Chance

5+    9/16/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: jdjossel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Relatively easy to keep track of your disc. Great course for beginners because the holes are varied in style.
Cons: Too many uphill and rocky holes. Major con is the rockiness. It really dings up your discs.
Other Thoughts: The downhill holes make the uphill ones more bearable. I'm glad I gave this place a second chance!

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Rocky Rocky Course

1    9/7/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: snoborderphx
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course...not too long but has some good technical aspects to it. Easy and quick course to play. Takes about 1 hour and 15 minutes to play
Cons: About 3/4 of the holes are throwing your discs into rocks, and not nice little rocks, but big, dent your disc, rocks. So beware...take a crappy disc or champion discs (bc they don't tend to be as affected by rocks)

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for something random we picked while in Raleigh

1    6/18/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners learing the sport for the first time. Good mix of holes uphill, downhill. Good course to work on your putting and mid range shots.
Cons: Tee pads in my opinion were awful. Not that you really need a long tee pad on this course, but I just prefer a concrete poured tee pad.

Not very many holes to use your driver.
Other Thoughts: I live in Charlotte, play disc golf regularly and enjoyed this course for having picked a random course that two other buddies and I agreed on. It's a good course to shoot under par and build up some confidence if you are like me and in a slump. When back in Raleigh, I will play this course again along with a few others.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Rocky Road

5+    4/15/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 48  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Rather short holes so the average player can make some bird's
decent baskets
good mix of shot selection
Cons: This place gets crowded quick on pretty days but I have gotten there plenty of times at 10 am and had the course pretty much to myself, with the crowd comes disc flying at you everywhere because alot of the holes criss-cross each other and many tee-pads are like really really close to the baskets. I actually got hit on #2 in the ribs one day (glad it wasnt a distance driver lol). Holes 4-8 and 14-17 are set on a hill with rocks everywhere so yea they eat up your plastic pretty quick.
Other Thoughts: lastly a couple of local punks keep spray painting the baskets, tee-pads, and flora life. Please quit being destructive so everyone can enjoy!!!!!

As a side note, why the hell do I need to repeat what others are saying about the course to get a vote up?? This course is short, has many ace runs, and is great for beginners, nuff said about kent-rock-city

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Rocky

5+    4/3/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Kentwood is a short and well rounded course. It has a mix of open/wooded holes with a good mix of elevation changes.
The course is in a city park which is kept fairly clean and trimmed. It has bathrooms and a water fountain.
There are a nice mix of dog legs to the left and right as well as a few 300' downhill shots.
Every hole has a teepad and regulation basket.
Lots of birdie openings. You can get real far under once you get used to the course. A lot of the holes have ace potential.
It's a fun course to play with groups and doubles. It seems like every time I play doubles it comes down to who can birdie 18.
Has five really fun holes. 8,9,10,14 and 18.
Cons: The course is short and there are five or six straight on shots from a short distance. Half of the course is covered in rocks which f up your disc and make barefoot playing painful.
It's usually crowded, especially on really nice days. A lot of time you might end up starting from a random hole or getting stuck behind group after group.
Police frequent the parking lot quite often and seem to go after long haired/bearded types. As long as you keep unsanctioned activities in the back of the course you'll be okay.
Fairways cross three or four times and sometimes you have to wait to tee off because someone is playing.
The course is right against some houses which can be hit or cause you to lose your disc because it gets stuck in some crap in a persons yard where you can't see it.
The road comes in to play on one hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a good course to practice mids and putts on. There's not many driving holes and the long ones are really uphill or really downhill. If you want to up your ace count its the place to go in the area.
The course is pretty rain proof with the exception of 10,12 & 13.

UPDATE - I'm dropping my rating down to 2.5 because this course is always so crowded during prime disc golf times. Honestly its a pain to even be there some days unless you play by yourself and can play through.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of the first courses I ever played

2-4    9/4/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not a difficult course overall, but certainly holds some challenges. I've thrown some terrible shots on this course, but I've also hit some amazing ones. Nice changes in elevation, lots of open holes, some chances to air it out. Really should not be terribly difficult to shoot par or under.
Cons: Footing can be tricky on some of the holes that play in a rocky area on a hillside (that is, if you aren't careful).
Other Thoughts: Just a fun course in the middle of Raleigh. Always lots of folks playing here.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Imperfect but charming

5+    10/19/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: All Thumbers
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of ace and birdie opportunities. Lot of regulars. Nice walk in the park, for some holes.
Cons: Lots of roots and rocks to trip over on this course on certain holes, so watch your feet.
Other Thoughts: Hole 14 is an uphill monster unless you have an utterly reliable and long hyzer. It's the one hole I at kentwood that I've never birdied.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.