Raleigh, NC 
Kentwood Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Baseball field is OB. The ditch on the right is casual.



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice place to visit... Wouldn't want to live there.

2-4    6/18/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: laxrulz777
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick course with limited walking
Good use of terrain (although poor fairway placement on a few holes)
Some interesting throws
Very little underbrush and only 1 or 2 holes where you could possibly lose a disc.
Cons: Relatively short
Lots of rocks that chew up your disc no matter how well you throw (could they not at least put some pine straw or cedar chips down at the pin?)
Very busy
Very crowded holes (including two criss crossed holes, one of which you walk blindly across without being able to see the throws coming)
Other Thoughts: I like playing this as a change of pace or when we're in a hurry to get a round in before dark. A twosome playing reasonably quickly should finish this in 45min - 1 hour depending on the how busy it is. I would recommend going right before dark (say 7 o'clock in the summer).
If this was my regular course, I'd get frustrated pretty quick. It's not particularly challenging and it has a lot of minor annoyances that really add up. Having said that, we do play it off and on and it's a nice change of pace. I would challenge yourself to practice throws you wouldn't otherwise do. Play a whole round forehand (or backhand if you normally throw forehand). Throw pancakes or (where there's no rocks) rollers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A few cons hold it back

5+    4/26/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like the design of this course, the holes make excellent use of the terrain and provide plenty of shot variety. There is a good mix of open and wooded and in-between holes with plenty of elevation changes. Several deceptively hard holes and a few that are just fun throws (#3 and #8 come to mind). Fairly short course with plenty of birdie and ace opportunities for a good player and makes it extremely playable for beginners. Couple of practice baskets for your pre-round warm-up too. Park is well maintained and the course receives occasional upgrades.
Cons: Unfortunately there's a lot I don't like about this course that greatly limits how much I play here.

The first is that the holes are a bit cramped. By this I mean there are many holes where you can throw at, across, or alongside another hole. You will hear a lot of "four!" and "heads up!" when you play here. This is further aggravated by the fact that a lot of beginners play here (which is great!) but they often don't stay on their own fairways.

The first two holes are not very beginner friendly, despite my assertion the overall course is. The first is alongside the parking lot in such a way that the normal RHBH fade send a disc diving towards the parked cars. The other side has a playground so it's not a great setup, especially for the beginning hole. The second hole is along the road and again the RHBH fade puts your disc flying at cars.

A good majority of the course is set on a hillside that is more rocks than dirt and grass. They are not large rocks and are easy to walk on, but they really tear up your discs. Only play beat discs here if you can.

Finally, the biggest drawback for me is the course gets too much traffic. Often there are large (5+) groups playing here and many seem disinclined to let faster groups play through. During heavy use times this course really isn't worth playing if you play fast and/or are a small group or solo. My recommendation in this case is to play late evening or, even better, before noon. Course also seems less crowded in the summer when college is out.
Other Thoughts: I'd put this course in the same class as Cornwallis in Durham as far as challenge goes.

This isn't really a fault of the park, but there is often a lot of trash thrown on the course that takes away from the aesthetic appeal.

The park itself has a shelter, playground, and several tennis courts that were last resurfaced in fall 2008. One court includes a practice wall.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Bit Better Than Average

2-4    7/17/2005   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Aces up

5+    3/20/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 113  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every pin is an ace oportunity. Excellent place to challenge you mid range skills and throw low rounds. Good elevation with short technical shots. Great place for beginners.
Cons: Some of the tee pads are sketchy. They were made for going around trees as decoration. Possiblity to getting injured. Made on a rocky hill so discs get banged up easily. Keep your head up, holes are close together and cross fire comes into play, even when teeing off. Always busy, but not too bad because holes are not that long.
Other Thoughts: Confidence Booster for sure. Not the best course in the area but it has character. In the summer there is a lot of poison ivy in the rough so keep an eye out. There are also ribbons around many trees on course. More experienced players can use them as mandos to enhance the round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/18/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: jab7575
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete pads
-great vibe from locals
-lots of birdie opportunities
-Bathrooms available (seasonal)
-Well maintained
-tournament activity, weekly doubles, monthlies, etc..
-Distances provided on most holes
-Fun course which can provide a morale booster as scores are typically under par
Cons: -Crowded. Near North Carolina State University. Traffic on the course is frequently quite heavy.
-Some holes pay over each other so you have to be alert. You throw over other fairways, baskets, and tee boxes.
-Until you know the course there are some holes you are uncertain which basket to throw to
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun course. Low scores are quite possible. Birdie opportunity on almost every hole but you must be accurate. Some holes are technical and even a long hole or two. Most holes are realtively short though. I would definitely recommend you visit this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Beginner's Course in Central Raleigh, NC!

1    3/2/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: NauticalUrge
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course. Benches available all over the course for those in need of them. Wide open fairways for 200-300 distance drives. (Qty: 2) Practice Baskets.
Cons: Hard and sometimes rocky ground tears into discs. Some areas are covered in rocky stones, so bring your comfortable hiking shoes. Water hazards (after rain/snow) can cause you to lose discs, or you getting wet. Baskets are difficult to distinguish from the surrounding terrain and woods. No signage, and difficult to find markers/tees.
Other Thoughts: We visited the Kentwood Park Disc Golf Course in Raleigh, NC. Weather conditions were approximately 26 degrees Fahrenheit, snow/ice, with 7 mph winds (23 mph gusts) on a mostly-cloudy day.

Kentwood is much like many other courses, in that it is placed right on top of an existing City Park. The terrain is mostly flat, with a few baskets on hilly/rocky areas, and there's a few creeks (water hazards) and ditches to avoid. There are only a few holes which are surrounded by trees, but most of the holes are in wide open areas.

It was very difficult finding the first tee when we first arrived, especially since we'd never played this course before. Hint: The first tee is between the parking lot and the playground equipment, facing the street.

There are benches scattered throughout the course, which is nice for those that need a place to rest. Due to space restrictions, many of the fairways cross each other, and so you'll have to constantly watch for stray discs. We played on a fairly slow day, due to the snow, but I've heard that Kentwood Park is normally packed with people.

This is a great beginner's course in the heart of Raleigh, NC and right next to NC State University. The park has a playground for kids, Tennis Courts, and a baseball field for the members of your group that don't feel like playing disc golf.

Considering the land size they had to work with, I think they designed this course rather well, and it is also well maintained. I just wish they had more markers and signage to assist players to navigate the course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad course

2-4    2/15/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: jleonar18
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A great course to meet some new friends. lots of college kids. cute girls. a exciting layout.
Cons: lots of dumb ass college kids. exciting layout with disk flying overhead from all directions.
Other Thoughts: a fun course to go with a group of friends and goof off and look at cute girls.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyment.

2-4    1/1/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: b pheazye
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you are looking to get a great score there is no better place to be. Not to say it is easy because there are some difficult holes but it is for the most part short and pretty open. A couple holes dip into the forest and get tough but the hillside covered with holes is just scattered trees.
Cons: It is rocky and will give your discs a scratch or two. The tee off's are concrete but dont give too much space and I often found myself off the front of them by the end of my drive. Crossing fairways may cause some delay but there is only one real problem there. It is busy almost anytime you cant really avoid it, but everyone played at a pretty good pace so you didnt have to wait too much.
Other Thoughts: It is a good course to put up good scores. I had a lot of fun playing here and it can be nice to play with lots of people around. There is much more commotion than at your average DG Course. Definitely worth a try.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 kentwood

1    12/13/2008   12/13/2008
Review By: ecupirate82
Played: 45  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good beginner course. Short with lots of birdie opportunities!!! Concrete boxes...not in the best of shape but I always enjoy the concrete!!
Cons: Very busy. I had to wait on every hole. It was also difficult to navigate. There were no signs pointing to next basket. Another thing, I am probably being pretty picky but the baskets were completely silver and hard to see at times.
Other Thoughts: Wish they would put up signs pointing you in the right direction!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    10/8/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: Barnette
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a easier course than most. It seems to be set up like a "par 3" real golf course would be. This is a great start for beginners, due to the many birdie opportunities.
Cons: There are no many signs or arrows directing this course. If you have never played the course you might want to follow the people playing ahead of you to know what hole is next. Also there are ALWAYS people out on Kent no matter what the time of day, so don't be scared to start on a hole and just finish where back there.
Other Thoughts: The pictures that are on here as of today are not very accurate. I go to Kent almost everyday (being i live so close) and there have been alot of changes made due to nature growing up in places, sidewalk being built, and new playground area (pushed back i think).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.