Pekin, IL 
McNaughton Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
McNasty actually has “Fair”ways

1    8/19/2016   8/19/2016
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 286  Reviewed: 269  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: McNaughton ("McNasty") rolls through its wood-edged fairways a little bit like a ball golf course, but scaled correctly for disc golf. It is NOT wide open like most ball golf conversions, so don't get fooled by looking over at 17 & 18 as you park. The majority of the course will force you to hit your line accurately, and to make wise choices as to when to take down a fairway one bite at a time. Often, going for that deuce may risk a bogey, because there are some jail areas just off the mostly 'fair'ways!

Yet, it is not brutally difficult for the highest skills, even though the long tees can add a significant amount of challenge. With two level, concrete tees per hole, and bright orange Discraft Chainstar baskets (with number plates and even numbers on the poles themselves), most baskets are visible from the short tees. With very good use of elevations (the pictures on here don't do it justice), and a reasonable balance of left- and right-turning holes, McNaughton makes for an almost ideal tournament course. They even have a great deal of open space at the end of the drive to warm up. I was told that they set up a temp, glow course at that end sometimes.

Very good signage, a bench and a trash can wherever needed, and nicely built bridges to cross some of the low spots, all the needed amenities are in place. There are even yellow bricks pointing the way along the well-worn paths to the next tee, when needed. Overall, McNaughton should appeal to all tournament levels of play, but might be a little too much challenge for casual players and beginners.
Cons: There are not a whole lot of negatives, but it does seem a bit odd to cross the 18th fairway to get to the 17th teepad. Some of the honeysuckle bushes and branches can be overly punitive for shots that simply skip a little and roll into the thick stuff. The late stretch of holes that just go back and forth can feel a little repetitive (13, 14 & 15), and even though big arms might look forward to finishing with an uphill 400 footer and a downhill 800 footer, weaker (and older) arms find them a little daunting for a finish.
Other Thoughts: This course has several holes that might be a signature hole on many lesser courses. I loved the scenic nature of the first hole, the downhill lane on 4, and the ridge lane of 7. The tight gaps on 11 & 12 are rewarding when you hit them. Even the top of the world drive off of the hill on 18 felt fun.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 277 courses and written 261 reviews, with skills hovering around a 900 rating, I started playing at 50 and am now 55. I don't throw far (300 footers feel like success), but am addicted to DG, and have played with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of my first courses

1    6/9/2007   12/9/2015
Review By: boston
Played: 47  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 1. Great Course Layout
2. Challenging
3. Championship Level
Cons: It's been years since I played it and the only thing I can remember bothering me was the extreme rough. Could of been the time of year or just me being a beginner.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play again, years later much improved.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely solid 4.0

2-4    4/18/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 93  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 16.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Amateur and Pro tees on every hole.
- Sectioned off in a portion of the park that is exclusive to disc golf. No overlapping of park space with other activities.
- Course sign and map at the #1 Yellow tee, right at the park road. Very easy to find.
- A bit of elevation on the course, especially some on the front 9, but nothing epic.
- #2 shoots from a flat, down a hill steep enough the hole is actually blind. You get a good look at the pin when you finish #1, but it disappears as you walk up the hill and stand on the tee pad.
- #4 is a relatively tight hole from the tee, opening up at the bottom of hill to the pin. Really a nice chance for great distance here, so long as you actually throw the line you intend.
- #7 has a very scenic, undulating fairway through some sparse mature trees. Quite evident that everyone plays the pro tee here, unlike the rest of the course. Don't blame them, the blue is very short and not as cool.
- #10 is a wicked uphill, left-to-right curving fairway, all the way to the pin. The intended shot is very evident.
- #11 is a very memorable hole for me. It's 15 feet wide, straight through for about 200 feet. The pro tee is also directly behind the amateur, leaving for probably a 250 foot shot straight as an arrow through that tunnel. Very daunting to say the least - and I played in April before everything greened up.
- #12 is wide open for about 150 feet, and then is dramatically closes into a 12 ft wide tunnel shot for the last 80 or 90 feet. Nice variety, even 12 holes into the course.
- Variety strikes again at #16, with a hedge row guarding the right side of the fairway about 5 feet off, the entire length of the hole.
- #18 is a huge downhill hole, 800+ ft. Certainly not something you see in a lot of places, but the requirement of essentially 3 drives in the wide open almost pushes this hole into a con. First shot is fun, the next two are just outright boring.
Cons: - Quite a bit of erosion in places on this course, particularly around the amateur tees. It's very obvious this course gets a lot of play.
- No mapped signs at the tees, just a post with # and distance (usually at the amateur tees). Usually not an issue, but there are a few blind pin locations. (7, 9, 10)
- Quite a few tees have sunken and wallowed landing areas in front of the tee pads. Some 6+ inches deep, which could be troublesome.
- A few ho-hum holes on this course, including 6, 8, and 13. Really though, to say that only 3/18 lack something is a bit of a compliment.
- The shooting lane from #12 pro tee is overgrown, so that the only shot is a blind shot over the bushes and briar. You can't even see the open clearing from that tee anymore. I assume that was not the design intent.
- Just not the biggest fan of how the course ends with wide open holes, after the mostly-wooded first 16. Not that open holes aren't appreciated, but it does ruin a little bit of the aura for me.
Other Thoughts: - Many of the holes on this course use hedge and thick tree-lined fairways to force your shot shape, instead of individual trees that you must avoid. While both 'wooded' courses, this is a stark difference from another area course, Lake Eureka. Very cool to have two premium wooded courses with such different design styles so close to each other. And then there's Northwood, which is very a nice blend of both.
- In the end, a fantastic course, requiring all sorts of skills and discs. Definitely a hard course, especially when everything is greened up. Great test for seasoned players, maybe a bit frustrating for newer or less skilled players.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Gem in Illinois

5+    11/10/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: Horsman
Played: 116  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very good mix of short technical holes, and long bombers.

- Great use of the elevation changes

- Short and Long Teepads

- In its own section of the park, and out of the way of any busy streets.

Cons: - Could definitely use some direction to where the next hole is after you complete one. My first time there I was pretty lost as to where I should go for the next hole a lot of the time.

- A couple of the long teepads are in some really horrible spots, that are either hard to find or are just a very very bad placement for the teepad.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a must play if you are in the Peoria Il area and are looking for a good course to play. I have been in the area for a couple months now and I absolutely love the course and what it brings. I know that if I want to make the course into a birdie fest then I can play all shorts but if I want to challange myself then I can play all longs and have some real fun.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/14/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: gdizzle08
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolutely amazing, love this course and feel honored to grow up with this one so near by. its gigantic and in an area with quite a few avid disc golfer. plenty of room to launch a disc but tight enough so that you have to know wha your doing. the course is also very easy to find and great signage
Cons: almost too big and with as many avid disc golfer that are there there are also alot of people new to the sport which isnt really a big deal unless your in a hurry
Other Thoughts: great course, if your ever in the area deffinately hit this course up, or you'll be sorry eventually

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great DG Area

2-4    8/18/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 122  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: McNaughton is located in the middle of one of the best DG areas around, and it fits right in with some of the excellent courses around it. Its positive distinguishing features include:

*Very high difficulty.
*Two sets of CONCRETE tees, a nice feature that is often absent in courses
*An 850 foot hole that is very scenic
*Scenic holes with lots of challenging obstacles
*Distance challenge that holds back many wooded courses
*Solid elevation
*Hole 1 from the pro tee is one of my favorites... downhill bomb with some thick woods to the left and trees right in front!
Cons: More difficult is not always better! Though difficulty is definitely one of the features that makes up the "perfect course" I gave this course a lower review than its neighbor, Northwood Park even though I found this course to be much harder. Here's what holds McNaughton back:

*Maintainance! The signs here were very bad and some of the fairways of the pro holes were completely gone thanks to fallen trees.
*Hole 2 was kind of a boring one, especially from the rec tee... wide open downhill shot that was pretty short, even from the long tee.
*A few holes on this course potentially bring the road and parking lot into play, which adds to the difficulty of the course, but also really stinks when there is league traffic.
Other Thoughts: Definitely check this course out if you are in the Peoria area!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge Yourself

2-4    7/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Stoney311
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -2sets of concrete tees,- lots of good use of the elevation, -good mix of long and shorter holes and right and left doglegs,- will challenge even the more experienced players even from the reds.-good mix of technical and grip and rip shots required -secluded park with some nice scenery
Cons: a couple but minor cons. Very challenging, if you get frustrated easily this won't be the course for you. - not much in the way of restrooms or water so bring your own and go in the woods if you have too. -some of the nextees were not readable so could get hard to know where to go, i was lucky enough to play with some locals
Other Thoughts: Very Nice course, argueably one of the best in the area some will say Northwoods in Morton. This is a must play if in the area as a matter of fact there are soooo many good courses around peoria you could make a whole weekend of some good DG in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 McNaughton

1    5/7/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: Jax11
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 7.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Elevation!
- Well designed holes
- Secluded and scenic
- Distance variety
- Clear defined fairways despite the tight woods.
- Challenging but fair
- Has numerous memorable holes
- Two sets of tee pads
- Concrete Teepads
- Baskets were in good condition.
Tee signs were adequate.
Cons: - Not-beginner friendly
- Navigation (mainly between 17 and 18)
- 17 & 18 play pretty close to the entrance road.
- Long course.
- A couple of the long tees seem to be rather impossible shots.
- Can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: McNaughton provides a great variety of shots from tight wooded shots to open field grip it and rip it shots. The elevation in the park is used brilliantly especially on hole 18 and hole 1's long tee. Despite the wooded terrain the fairways are generous and provide the thrower with plenty of room to work. On the flip side, the rough is very thick and is difficult to play out of. The two sets of tees usually make the holes seem drastically different which adds to the variety. Beginners will likely be frustrated by the length and the thick rough. I would say McNaughton is worth a trip to play if you are within 3 hours. Some navigation assistance better tee signs and reworking of some of the insane long tees could bump this course up to a 4.5 or 5 for me.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    4/2/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: PapaBear
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some longer challenging holes but they are intertwined with shorter somewhat easier holes.

Its been the most challenging course I've played so far but it's always fun and its never too crowded.

If you're in the area and only have time for one course, this is the one to try.
Cons: Kind of confusing your first time. I had some friends who had played there before to help me find my way.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

2-4    9/12/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a hilly park with a good amount of forestation. The pro tees add significant difficulty, and make great use of the rugged terrain to drastically change the holes at times.
- About half of the holes play in a very hilly forest with lots of tight fairways. Trees are a major factor in forcing some tight lines and keeping it clear of the woods. A good mix of shots in different directions, with different elevation changes. A few are especially tricky with hills as fairways and slanted, downhill greens.
- Lots of other holes are in clearer areas that use the woods to define the fairways. There are a few individual trees here and there, but the real issue is the medium to dense rough. Most holes have some tunnel or opening to get through in order to reach the basket, usually narrowing at that point. Some tunnel shots off the tee and nearing the basket demand constant accuracy at all times.
- Also mixed in, at the beginning and end of the course, are some more open holes with elevation changes. There are a few nice downhill shots (one with a well protected basket), a decent uphill hole and a monster downhill bomber shot.
- There is water near a few holes, but anything other than a real shank or bad roller will miss it.
- The baskets are in good shape, concrete pads for both tees, and decent signage (a few are missing). Some tricky navigation spots, as 14-15 has the wrong wire painted and there is no pointer to hole 17 across the entrance road.
Cons: - Not many cons on this course. Some of the holes do feel a little similar, especially on the back nine with flat fairways bordered by forest/rough. Also, overall, the course is not very long. Combined with very tight windows to hit, there are many places where a slower disc is probably the better choice. Could seem a bit on the short side to a more advanced player.
- A few holes are kind of close to each other, like #6 and #7, but overall it is spaced out well.
Other Thoughts: - This is course with some very, very tough risk/reward holes. The numerous tight windows can be very treacherous, especially on the back nine. Elevation changes in other spots make the holes very interesting. Decent variety and some easier holes mixed in help to keep the course fresh. Staying out of some of the rougher areas can be the difference between winning and losing, in a few different ways.
- Playing from the pro tees is a true test, as tunnel shots become longer, the hills higher, and the valleys lower.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.