Pekin, IL 
McNaughton Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #13 (Taken 9/2010)
4 / 418ft.   4 / 418ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Yellow Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great Challenge

5+    4/1/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 141  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: McNaughton Park is truly a challenging course that offers players the ability to air it out and throw some bombs. The course has two sets of tees and both sets have concrete tees, which is a huge plus. The front nine is the scoring nine while the back nine is very difficult. The course is really fair to both lefties and righties and has a good mix of options off of the tee. The course is very mature and is really fairly easy to navigate as long as you figure out where to go after hole 16. From the short tees the course really doesn't have a defining, signature hole as the course is full of really good holes. The long tees are where this course really becomes a great course. From the short tees I would give this course a 3.5 rating but the long tees are a solid 4. The long tees are an amazing test of disc golf. Holes 1, 6. 8 on the front nine really stand out. All of these holes are par 3's in the 400 foot range that require accuracy and a great shot shape. Hole's 11 and 12 are truly a test. Hole 11 either requires you to throw down a super tight tunnel or requires you to throw it over the top of two huge forest areas and carry a shot over 425 feet on a huge hyzer. Hole 12 is a 2 shot hole that requires a perfect, blind placement shot. Holes 14, 15 and 16 are three brutal holes that require low shots with perfect accuracy. The long tees are famous for being hard and they live up to their name of being McNasty.
Cons: Because this course is a mature course the tee signs are not as useful as they once were. The navigation after hole 16 is a little tricky as you need to cross 18's fairway to get to 17's tee. Local players have obviously figured it out but if you are not a local then I wanted to give you a heads up. The main con with the long tees is that finding them can be challenging on some holes and borderline impossible on some other holes. The paths between holes always lead right to the short tee and getting to the long tee simply requires you to go backwards on a lot of holes to get to the long tee. This is not the case with every hole but is the case with holes 6, 8, 9, 12 and 15. The long tees do not have signs which makes it even more challenging to play. In particular, you can forget about finding hole 12 from the longs if you have never played the course before. The other main con is that over the last year a large tree on hole's 17 and 18 came down. This tree was the biggest obstacle on both of these holes and has truly made both holes a half stroke easier. 17 is a 450 foot uphill par 4 and 18 is a downhill 850 footer. Both holes are considerably easier with the tree gone and really can be a little boring. I enjoy throwing big bombs but unfortunately its no fun throwing big bombs with no real obstacles to manage.
Other Thoughts: Don't take my cons too negatively. This course is a great treat! have been playing this course for 13 years and truly enjoy the test that it brings. If you are in the area its another gem to add to everything else Central Illinois has to offer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Extremely solid 4.0

2-4    4/18/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 70  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Amateur and Pro tees on every hole.
- Sectioned off in a portion of the park that is exclusive to disc golf. No overlapping of park space with other activities.
- Course sign and map at the #1 Yellow tee, right at the park road. Very easy to find.
- A bit of elevation on the course, especially some on the front 9, but nothing epic.
- #2 shoots from a flat, down a hill steep enough the hole is actually blind. You get a good look at the pin when you finish #1, but it disappears as you walk up the hill and stand on the tee pad.
- #4 is a relatively tight hole from the tee, opening up at the bottom of hill to the pin. Really a nice chance for great distance here, so long as you actually throw the line you intend.
- #7 has a very scenic, undulating fairway through some sparse mature trees. Quite evident that everyone plays the pro tee here, unlike the rest of the course. Don't blame them, the blue is very short and not as cool.
- #10 is a wicked uphill, left-to-right curving fairway, all the way to the pin. The intended shot is very evident.
- #11 is a very memorable hole for me. It's 15 feet wide, straight through for about 200 feet. The pro tee is also directly behind the amateur, leaving for probably a 250 foot shot straight as an arrow through that tunnel. Very daunting to say the least - and I played in April before everything greened up.
- #12 is wide open for about 150 feet, and then is dramatically closes into a 12 ft wide tunnel shot for the last 80 or 90 feet. Nice variety, even 12 holes into the course.
- Variety strikes again at #16, with a hedge row guarding the right side of the fairway about 5 feet off, the entire length of the hole.
- #18 is a huge downhill hole, 800+ ft. Certainly not something you see in a lot of places, but the requirement of essentially 3 drives in the wide open almost pushes this hole into a con. First shot is fun, the next two are just outright boring.
Cons: - Quite a bit of erosion in places on this course, particularly around the amateur tees. It's very obvious this course gets a lot of play.
- No mapped signs at the tees, just a post with # and distance (usually at the amateur tees). Usually not an issue, but there are a few blind pin locations. (7, 9, 10)
- Quite a few tees have sunken and wallowed landing areas in front of the tee pads. Some 6+ inches deep, which could be troublesome.
- A few ho-hum holes on this course, including 6, 8, and 13. Really though, to say that only 3/18 lack something is a bit of a compliment.
- The shooting lane from #12 pro tee is overgrown, so that the only shot is a blind shot over the bushes and briar. You can't even see the open clearing from that tee anymore. I assume that was not the design intent.
- Just not the biggest fan of how the course ends with wide open holes, after the mostly-wooded first 16. Not that open holes aren't appreciated, but it does ruin a little bit of the aura for me.
Other Thoughts: - Many of the holes on this course use hedge and thick tree-lined fairways to force your shot shape, instead of individual trees that you must avoid. While both 'wooded' courses, this is a stark difference from another area course, Lake Eureka. Very cool to have two premium wooded courses with such different design styles so close to each other. And then there's Northwood, which is very a nice blend of both.
- In the end, a fantastic course, requiring all sorts of skills and discs. Definitely a hard course, especially when everything is greened up. Great test for seasoned players, maybe a bit frustrating for newer or less skilled players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Gem in Illinois

5+    11/10/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: Horsman
Played: 87  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very good mix of short technical holes, and long bombers.

- Great use of the elevation changes

- Short and Long Teepads

- In its own section of the park, and out of the way of any busy streets.

Cons: - Could definitely use some direction to where the next hole is after you complete one. My first time there I was pretty lost as to where I should go for the next hole a lot of the time.

- A couple of the long teepads are in some really horrible spots, that are either hard to find or are just a very very bad placement for the teepad.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a must play if you are in the Peoria Il area and are looking for a good course to play. I have been in the area for a couple months now and I absolutely love the course and what it brings. I know that if I want to make the course into a birdie fest then I can play all shorts but if I want to challange myself then I can play all longs and have some real fun.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good ol McNasty

5+    7/6/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: XxBenNastyxX
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with the front 9 holes in the heart of the woods. Holes were very well thought out and I always have a blast playing the first half of the course. Course gives you plenty of opportunity for a wide arrange of shots to throw. I've never known anyone to come here and say they hated it. You won't regret giving it a shot!
Cons: The back 9 is pretty much all straight shots. If you can't throw a disc nice and straight you may not enjoy the rest of the course. I personally enjoy the front 9 much more than the back 9 but it's still a beautiful course. If you have young kids it is quite exhausting to push a stroller through but it is possible. I've done it several times. Very easy to lose disc on this course especially in the summer months. They dont like to fall from the trees so you're better off shaking tree's hoping it will randomly fall out of one.
Other Thoughts: Great course overall. It's not at all easy and I think a lot of people love it for that. It's not my favorite course to play in the Peoria, IL area but it is worth the drive. You'll have fun if you don't mind some exercise. It is VERY hilly.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/14/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: gdizzle08
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolutely amazing, love this course and feel honored to grow up with this one so near by. its gigantic and in an area with quite a few avid disc golfer. plenty of room to launch a disc but tight enough so that you have to know wha your doing. the course is also very easy to find and great signage
Cons: almost too big and with as many avid disc golfer that are there there are also alot of people new to the sport which isnt really a big deal unless your in a hurry
Other Thoughts: great course, if your ever in the area deffinately hit this course up, or you'll be sorry eventually

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Find

1    11/25/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: gregwil2
Played: 55  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a nice fairly easy to navigate layout. Offers great scenery with a mix of technical wooded shots, wide open bomb shots, water that comes into play sometimes with errorant shots, and some elevation changes. The tee pads are nice with good signs for distance. Didn't use the alternative tees, but some were shorter than the normal tees, but at least they were all concrete pads.
Cons: This is no beginner course. If you play a couple rounds I'm sure the holes would be easy to find, but for a first timer some were hard to find and had to walk most of the fairway to see. Going between holes on a few (especially 10->11 and 12->13) was difficult. Some signs would be nice. I didn't see any alternative pin locations, but there is defaintly room for it which could add plenty of replay value.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed the course and would defaintly play again when I'm in the area. I would recomend it to anyone that live or passes near by. Be careful once you get off track into the woods it sometimes hard to get back on track and your better off just laying up into the fairway. Would love to get anther few throws on 18, that hole is a beast!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great DG Area

2-4    8/18/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: McNaughton is located in the middle of one of the best DG areas around, and it fits right in with some of the excellent courses around it. Its positive distinguishing features include:

*Very high difficulty.
*Two sets of CONCRETE tees, a nice feature that is often absent in courses
*An 850 foot hole that is very scenic
*Scenic holes with lots of challenging obstacles
*Distance challenge that holds back many wooded courses
*Solid elevation
*Hole 1 from the pro tee is one of my favorites... downhill bomb with some thick woods to the left and trees right in front!
Cons: More difficult is not always better! Though difficulty is definitely one of the features that makes up the "perfect course" I gave this course a lower review than its neighbor, Northwood Park even though I found this course to be much harder. Here's what holds McNaughton back:

*Maintainance! The signs here were very bad and some of the fairways of the pro holes were completely gone thanks to fallen trees.
*Hole 2 was kind of a boring one, especially from the rec tee... wide open downhill shot that was pretty short, even from the long tee.
*A few holes on this course potentially bring the road and parking lot into play, which adds to the difficulty of the course, but also really stinks when there is league traffic.
Other Thoughts: Definitely check this course out if you are in the Peoria area!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge Yourself

2-4    7/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Stoney311
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -2sets of concrete tees,- lots of good use of the elevation, -good mix of long and shorter holes and right and left doglegs,- will challenge even the more experienced players even from the reds.-good mix of technical and grip and rip shots required -secluded park with some nice scenery
Cons: a couple but minor cons. Very challenging, if you get frustrated easily this won't be the course for you. - not much in the way of restrooms or water so bring your own and go in the woods if you have too. -some of the nextees were not readable so could get hard to know where to go, i was lucky enough to play with some locals
Other Thoughts: Very Nice course, argueably one of the best in the area some will say Northwoods in Morton. This is a must play if in the area as a matter of fact there are soooo many good courses around peoria you could make a whole weekend of some good DG in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 McNaughton

1    5/7/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: Jax11
Played: 97  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Elevation!
- Well designed holes
- Secluded and scenic
- Distance variety
- Clear defined fairways despite the tight woods.
- Challenging but fair
- Has numerous memorable holes
- Two sets of tee pads
- Concrete Teepads
- Baskets were in good condition.
Tee signs were adequate.
Cons: - Not-beginner friendly
- Navigation (mainly between 17 and 18)
- 17 & 18 play pretty close to the entrance road.
- Long course.
- A couple of the long tees seem to be rather impossible shots.
- Can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: McNaughton provides a great variety of shots from tight wooded shots to open field grip it and rip it shots. The elevation in the park is used brilliantly especially on hole 18 and hole 1's long tee. Despite the wooded terrain the fairways are generous and provide the thrower with plenty of room to work. On the flip side, the rough is very thick and is difficult to play out of. The two sets of tees usually make the holes seem drastically different which adds to the variety. Beginners will likely be frustrated by the length and the thick rough. I would say McNaughton is worth a trip to play if you are within 3 hours. Some navigation assistance better tee signs and reworking of some of the insane long tees could bump this course up to a 4.5 or 5 for me.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    4/2/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: PapaBear
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some longer challenging holes but they are intertwined with shorter somewhat easier holes.

Its been the most challenging course I've played so far but it's always fun and its never too crowded.

If you're in the area and only have time for one course, this is the one to try.
Cons: Kind of confusing your first time. I had some friends who had played there before to help me find my way.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.