Pekin, IL
McNaughton Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #7 (Taken 9/2010)
4 / 396ft.   4 / 396ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Blue Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Good Ole Mcnasty

2-4    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: crazyfingers85
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2010
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: little bit of everything. in my opinion the best all around course up against all other courses in or around peoria. anhyzer, hyzer, water shots its all here. it is a very secluded course as well as beautiful. when you show up to tee #1 it just feels right. the course also has some nicely placed footbridges. just very well put together.
Cons: not for the weak at heart. there is some definite cardio involved at this course. i have seen many out of shape dudes lose their cool. but that is fun as well. it might also be smart to bring a print out of the course as it can get a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: i love this course. if you are through peoria it is totally worth the drive out of town. everything a disc golf course should be. bad ass hike with baskets along the way. thank you mcnaughton park. always love stopping.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Foggy and Rainy Day

1    5/22/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: noobie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great Variety of Shots
2. Scenic Shots
3. Separate part of Park
4. Well maintained
5. Online map good for general layout and tee pad searching but not for distances (It was not to scale by any means. I understand that people who put up the maps are doing it for our benefit and they are not cartographers, but it would have helped immensely if they were closer to being to scale.)
6. Lot's of trash cans, w/o barely any trash on the ground - a huge pro in my opinion.
Cons: 1. Map from online was not to scale (mentioned above).
2. A very little bit confusing on the lay out. A couple times I stepped to a pad and really had to study the map for the general shot, look at the tee sign for distance and still not know exactly where the basket was. Part of this was due to the weather (see below).
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fantastic course. I played on a Saturday morning a day or two after a week long rain which made all the worn areas very slick, soppy, and difficult to traverse. It was also very foggy, meaning I couldn't see the basket on the first tee (which I should have given the distance). I tried to take this into account when doing my pro's and con's above and not let it affect my feeling for the course. I really think it was a super nice course besides the two small gripes I have. Holes 17 and 18 seem out of place though. I would love to come back and play it again if I pass through. I can't give it a five because I am not sure that there is a 'perfect' course out there, if there is I haven't played on it. I have no reservations about giving it a 4.5 though.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 McNasty

1    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -McNaughton Park has a section of the park that's used exclusively for disc golf, and it's fantastic!
-Even though some of the holes fairways are very close to each other, each and every hole has it's own little secluded feeling.
-It's very challenging. I had a very hard time landing on the fairway on several of the holes. There's a great mix of shots here, whether it's uphill/downhill, wooded/open, hyzer/anhyzer, this park has it all!
-Very easy to find, fairly clean, scenic, and best of all, free!
-Although we could hear people on the course yelling or swearing or cheering, we never actually saw anyone because of the foresty terrain. It was really nice.
Cons: -The tees really, really, really need maps. Playing for the first time, I had no idea where I was going and had to follow the group in front of me. Some of the yellow arrows on the DGA baskets were pointing the wrong way and it really threw me off.
-#17 and #18 are, in my opinion, useless. You have to cross the road, then cross over 18's fairway, and then walk another 400 feet to get to 17's tee. And then you have to go uphill to get to 18 and then you go back downhill and then back uphill to get to your car. I just skipped the last two because they just didn't seem worth it to me.
Other Thoughts: While I don't think that this the best course in IL, I think it's definitely in the top 10. This course, as I said, did a fantastic job of challenging me with many different shots. Some of the fairways were 10-15 wide so it's very difficult to have solid drives on many of the holes. Good luck!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 McNasty!

5+    8/20/2007   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 229  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is as challenging as you'll ever want with 2 sets of tees. I've only played the long set, so thats what my review is based on. The front nine has some tough, tight wooded holes where you're throwing driver to try to card some birdies. A ton of elevation change and a ton of nasty rough. You can shoot under par on the frontside, but its really tough. The back 9 has a little bit more room to work the disc, but the rough is even nastier and the holes are super long. 3's are precious on the back nine with only 1 or 2 realistic birdie opportunities if you can throw 450 feet. Placement of your drives is the name of the game here. If you can shoot anywhere near 54, you played some great golf!
Cons: I don't like Hole 11 or Hole 12 if I'm being honest. Hole 11 is not what I'd call 'fair' as the only real option is a huge hyzer over the top for a righty and lefties are left with a much tougher shot. Hole 12 just seems a bit fluky to me. Some drives penetrate the trees and give easy 3's, some don't. Dirt tees for the longs which are a bit rough at times.

That being said, the rest of the holes here are outstanding and offer some extremely fun shots down some hills.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses of all! Super fun and super challenging. Pay close attention to spotting your disc here though!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Test of Time = Awesome Course!

5+    10/4/2010   8/13/2009
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Update Fall 2010--Concrete tees have been installed on all long tees. A few have been changed and this course is even better!*

See other thoughts for image gallery.

McNasty has withstood the test of time since 1995.

Many would claim this to be the best and toughest course in Illinois.

At one time this was one of the favorite courses of top touring players.

Brian Schweberger has the course record from the longs at 46 (2002 Greater Peoria Open) which is mind boggling.

The terrain is fantastic!
Nice rolling hills.
Thick rough in places.
Pond comes into play on a few holes.
Friendlier front 9 w/ super tough back 9.
The front is more classic par 3 golf while the back has many nice placement or risk reward par 4 holes.
This is no easy walk in the park.The park has a nice country feeling with some decent hiking terrain.
Every shot will be tested on this course.
Your mind will be tested as well.


Concrete (Short) tees are are good test. SSA was 52 from these tees at the GPO.

Natural (Long) tees will challenge even the best players in the world with SSA being 56 at the GPO.
1000 Rated players at 2009 GPO
51 Schultz
55 Locastro
55 Olsen
57 Bennett
57 Sprague
61 Martin
62 Heeren
Cons: Long tees can be hard to find.
The walk from 16 to 17.
Directional arrows would help navigation.
No restroom facilities.

Other Thoughts: Image Gallery
http://discontinuum.org/index...itemId=244656

This course has a wide variety of shots when playing the short and long tees. It will teach you the meaning of risk/reward off the tee.

I love everything about this course! It's well worth the trip.

If there was better signage on this course i'd give it a 5 rating.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 UPDATE: the addition of concrete longs makes this course spectacular

5+    8/28/2010   8/10/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 335  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good use of elevation: steep and slight uphill and downhill holes
-The rough is jail: thick bushes in the rough make accurate fairway drive very important.
-Good mix of shots:hyzer, anhyzer, straight
-Fairways often have nice mature trees lining and protecting holes
-A few blind holes
-Good mix of open and technical holes
-Decently maintained: not great, but not bad at the same time.
-Decent variety: some holes are a bit repetitive, but overall a good amount of variety.
-Concrete short pads and long pads
-Back nine is fairly challenging
-good mix of long and short holes some 800+ holes and some 200+ holes
-Kind of strange layout is helped by having navigation bricks
-Some cool bottleneck holes where you are throwing from fairly open fairways 200' to a bottleneck of bushes. Making the hole challenging and accuracy a necessity.
-Interesting fairways from the long tees where the obstacle is throwing over schule instead of in between it. 12 long is the best example of this
Cons: -No facilities: no bathrooms, no water, no benches. Very few trashcans.
-Only one pin placement
-Baskets are kind of old and will need to be replaced soon.
-Tee signs are posts with hole number and distance on them, no way of telling where the hole is exactly.
-Hole 11 long maybe the most insanely unfair hole I've ever played. It's probably 400' downhill with a 20' wide fairway with jail on either side. Or safe shot a big hyzer between the 2nd and 3rd patch of schule and hope your spotter picks it up and hope you arent in jail.
-Without a water shot, it would be tough to give this a five. Especially when there is a pond right next to hole 7. Super long tee on seven down the horse trail for a water carry tee shot? Come on PFC, you know you wanna...
Other Thoughts: Old school design but a great championship level course. The concrete longs really put this course over the excellent mark for me. Love this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/22/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: robthepope
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very natural feel to this course
-Maintained and somewhat rugged
-Great challenge provided through technical holes that are laid out nicely and varied well
-Fairways often lined with tall bushes or tree lines with just the right amount of obstacles
-Big help whoever painted markers on baskets and stones on ground indicating next Tee
-Distances carved in wooden posts
-Far out but not hard to find
Cons: -Long #18: 900+ ft. you kidding!
-No Tee Maps
-Parking along road only
-Course map posted but hard to read being carved in old wood
-No fountains to drink
-Pretty far off the beaten path
Other Thoughts: First hole throw left, not much more confusion until #17 (throw toward the way you came in) and #18 (from top of hill back toward where you parked. Gentle Relief and moderate woods don't wear you out of frustrate you... much. All and all I Loved it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 McNasty

1    7/3/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: Tripod2
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Drove over two hours to play for first time ever on 7/3/09. Well worth the trip!

Course made excellent use of rolling terrain and natural, wooded beauty. Some shots went uphill, others downhill, and a few dealt with large pond hazard. Luckily, pond didn't eat any of my discs.

Basket placement well thought out as many different approaches will be used to effectively play this course.

Tees are well kept concretes slabs.

One rung on basket is colored red to indicate direction of next tee. If this wasn't done, would have left course in frustration and confusion.

Many challenging, tight wooded holes that penalize errant throws. I had plenty of opportunities to practice retrieving 'lost' discs and throwing out of the woods.

I need to work on my roller and tomahawks throws.

Hole #18 is a beast! It's insanely long; one of the few 'grip n' rip' holes here.
Cons: Found course confusing due to lack of descriptive signs. Guessed location of basket and also next tee. This does not need to be anything fancy; Northwood in Morton has adequate signage that minimizes confusion.
Other Thoughts: Close proximity to Northwood in Morton, some more courses in the greater Peoria area, and two more in Blormal make for a great discing day. Go throw your arm off in Peoria!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 McNaughty

5+    9/24/2007   10/15/2008
Review By: Schwinn2
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A beautiful course in the country. This course has a little of everything...distance, elevation, tight shots.
Cons: Not a course for those afraid of snakes. A long walk to two of the holes. A few of the baskets could use replacing.
Other Thoughts: The pro tees are very challenging, and you can find yourself in some troubling situations. There's a reason this course carries the nicknames of "McNaughty" or "McNasty."

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.