Conway, AR 
Bear Trail DGC Share
Uploaded By: marrzbar13 Hole #2
3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
get some freaking tee signs

1    11/29/2013   1/18/2014
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has baskets and there was plenty of parking when I played because school was out for Thanksgiving.
Cons: Ok, first think you MUST do is study the crude map at the parking area, you will NOT figure out where the holes are even if you take a picture of it and take it with you.

There were NO markings on almost every hole, I did find flags on 2 holes, the rest I had to guess where the tee's were.

The basket for hole #3 had been stolen.

The walk from #9 back to to the parking lot was crazy, how the heck are you suppose to go other than walking the long way around.
Other Thoughts: ok, with over 250 courses played now, this course comes in as one of the worst courses I have played due to the lack of tee markings and the very long walk back to the parking lot after hole 9.

Now with that said, the course has some good holes the way I played them.

To the local course pro or players, simple bricks in the ground marking the tee's would have been GREAT.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Still a work in progress

5+    5/10/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: CSuther
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the only course in Conway, so for a Conway resident like myself it is the only local option. The baskets are nice, and there is always a well mowed path from hole to hole and on most of the open shots. There is a good variety of shots--some are long and open, while others require finesse--but there are no heavily wooded shots.
Cons: The course has very thick woods lining the fairways, and in some places the thorns and brush are too thick to ever have hope of finding a disc thrown off-course. There is currently a construction project of some sort in the way of some of the holes. The course is still open and doable, but it is definitely an inconvenience. The 9th hole ends at the furthest point from the parking lot, so a round of 9 holes ends with a long walk back.
Other Thoughts: I only have a year of experience, and I have only played about 6 courses, but this is not the most convenient course due to its length, construction, thick brush, etc. However, the holes are pretty well designed, and it is a fun course. It's at least worth stopping by to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun, but needs some work

1    7/13/2012   12/28/2012
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is pretty easy to get to. The baskets are in great shape and are very nice. The course is a pretty challenging course. There is a good sign by the parking that tells events and has some other information.
Cons: The course itself seems unfinished: no tees, just grass with flags in each corner to show the tee, hole 9 finishes very far from the parking lot. Also, navigation was a mess. It took us at least 15 minutes to find the tee boxes all together. A few times, to get to the next hole, we had to cross a fairway to get there. No tee signs at all. Deathly feeling afterward because of the massive Arkansas summer heat and lack of shade/ benches.
Other Thoughts: I really thought that this course would be better than it actually was. I was playing Burns park red in North Little Rock when a designer of the course was teeing at the next hole and he told us that they were only getting started and that we should go back in about a year or so and play it again. I know i will. I really hope they make this a 18 hole and make it better than it is which i believe it will become better as time goes on and the designers work on it more. The course itself was fun but unless im passing through the campus, its not somewhere i would want to go back to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A work in progress

5+    7/15/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: Hunner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Currently the only course in Conway. If you are a student, you can check out nice discs from the HPER center for no cost. Challenging course with enough room for full drives. A few holes offer big open distance shots, and a few demand accurate throws. Nice Mach 5 baskets. The grass is trimmed nicely in 90% of areas. Excellent sign with course map by parking lot. Great putting practice area.
Cons: Not a lot of shade so the course can be very hot in the summer. The woods are very, very thick, so discs can get lost very easily if they are thrown into the woods. #9 is placed too far from the entrance to the course, requiring a long walk back to the entrance. If the creek is up, the small rock bridge that crosses back over the creek after #9 is inaccessible, requiring an even longer walk back around the creek to the car.
Other Thoughts: The course is definitely a work in progress. For the only course around, it's not bad. Once you've played it a few times, you really don't think anything of the long walk back to the car after #9, and you learn where and where not to throw it to avoid the rough stuff. Also, the UCA physical plant is responsible for course maintenance, and they are slowly learning where they need to mow. So, the course gets a little better every time. There are plans to expand the course to 18 holes with concrete tee pads within the next year, making it a respectable championship course with a little redesigning. There are also plans to have hole signs like those uploaded to the course pics at each tee box by fall 2012.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

1    5/27/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: MikeK
Played: 180  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of lefty holes if you need to practice them. Isolated with no interference from other activities.
Nice Mach 3 baskets.
Cons: Some tee boxes are in/very close to adjacent fairways. The course ends a long long long way from the parking lot. No tee signs, only flags where the teeboxes are.
Other Thoughts: This course feels like an unfinished 18 holes...maybe that's what it is. For now though it's nine holes that end far away from the parking lot. Perhaps there is a set way to play the nine holes backwards to the car.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.