Springfield, MO 
Crusader DGC Share
Uploaded By: grantbenson Hole #1 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 237ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
quick lil 9

1    2/25/2014   2/28/2014
Review By: ag_hittman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick I guess, and it does have big trees which I liked
Cons: Only 9 relatively short holes, not very challenging, and several distances at 215ft area

Just not my cup of tea this is for folks just beginning

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great beginner course

5+    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: Tribefan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can be played in about 30 minutes, 10 baskets and most are within 200-250. Great for working on putting and mid range.
Cons: There are some holes that are close to some minor college traffic and parked cars. I have never officially hit a vehicle, but can say I have cringed when I was really close.
Other Thoughts: I attend Evangel for Graduate studies so I can trade my backpack for my DG bag. It is a wonderful course for short throws.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, really fun

1    5/15/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: jonno_norton
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: Great to walk around on campus, feels very safe and the grounds are kept nicely. Great area to walk through.
Cons: Sometimes it's really hard to find your disc in certain holes. Remember where you threw it! Also watch out on the water obstacle, you may get your disc stuck on the house across the stream! We did this and used a long branch from a nearby tree to get it off.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really great course. I played it as one of my first times and did a positive 7 I think. Not bad considering there are water obstacles.

Great course in Springfield

5+    10/12/2012   3/25/2013
Review By: nealyb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent use of the space available. I like the rubber tee pads, and all the holes are well marked. Kind of short, but there is a decent amount of obstacles to most baskets
Cons: I wish it was a little longer. Not really a great way to cross the creek on hole 5. They didn't really flatten out the area underneath the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: After hole 4, you have to walk between the baseball fields. It's fun, and it won't take you long at all! Always worth play through at least twice in an evening.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course to play on a lunch break!

5+    2/24/2013   2/26/2013
Review By: Dubbel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Fun and quick course to play. At most it takes an hour to play.
2. A good beginner course that a more advanced player can enjoy too.
3. It's a well-designed course. Mature trees and the creek force shots instead of the designer arbitrarily creating mandos.
4. One of best manicured courses I have played. The grass is always cut, the baskets and signs are well cared for, and there is not any trash lying around.
5. Disc can easily be retrieved from the water hazards.
6. Tee pads on every hole. It should be mentioned that the pads are short and rubber so this isn't a big pro, but it's better than natural tee pads.
7. There is always another person playing, but the course is never so crowded that it slows down play. Also, the people are friendly, and willing to help you find the next tee.
Cons: 1. The walks between holes 4 & 5, 6 & 7, and 7 & 8 are fairly long. This can make finding the next hole difficult if you don't know your way around.
2. Holes 2, 3, and 4 are too clumped together. On these holes you have to watch for other people's discs.
3. Hole 9 is across a field that is regularly used, and sometimes times this hole has to be skipped.
4. The tee pads are too short, and this is causing them to become rutted on the front and back. Normally this isn't a problem, but if it is wet the ruts become mud pits.
5. Holes 1, 2, and 4 are right next to busy parking areas meaning an errant throw could easily hit a car.
6. The creek on holes 6 and 7 has no nearby bridge. You either have to go out of your way, or hop across loose rocks in the creek.
Other Thoughts: To find hole 5 walk north from number 4's basket. After you've gone between the baseball fields the tee for 5 is on your left. To find hole 7 walk keep following the creek towards Division, walk across the drainage bridge, and hole 7 is on your left. Hole 8 is across the soccer field and the entry road. It is at the corner of the entry road and Division.

This is a fun and quick course that is only 5 minutes from 65 and Division. Head west on Division until you cross Glenstone, after the light turn left into Evangel. This way will be quicker for everyone except people driving east on 44.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 NON SMOKING/NON ALCOHOL COURSE

5+    6/3/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: drdupree
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/5/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean and mowed regularly being on a college campus.

Enough trees to be interesting without being congested.

Creek gives the only water hazard within 20 miles. And it's a perpetually-flowing shallow stream.

Good signs and directions. Easy to follow to the next tee.
Cons: Temporary (hopefully) rubber pads. These will be slippery if you like to throw in light rain, like I do.

Parking is limited being on campus. Although they have marked the parking lot between the 9th basket and the 1st tee as "Visitor Parking", there's no guarantee you'll find a spot during classes.

Other Thoughts: This is a NON SMOKING/NON ALCOHOL course. It IS on private property. The Administration are talking about putting a fence around the whole course because of some ^%$*^%$*s drinking early one Saturday morning and swearing at some higher-up out playing with his kids. NOT cool. Please, show respect.

If there is no parking available by the 1st tee, you might park in the park off Division St. Play from the 6th back around to the 5th.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Beginner Course

5+    5/24/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: cookrite
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This course is well layed out considering the small amount of land it sits on.

- Mature trees are in play on nearly every hole.

- The course is always mowed and no trash or other common problems you find at many public parks

- There are a couple of holes with water in play that don't require a swim to retrieve a disc.

- There are tee signs now that are clear and well done.
Cons: - Being a college there are a lot of activities going on during the school year so waiting on people that are in your way can be irritating but not too bad.

- The rubber tee pads are a bit short but it's not too bad of an issue since a run up is not require... except maybe on hole 8 and 9.
Other Thoughts: This is an above average beginner course in my opinion. A great place to work on your mid-range and putting.

Being on a college campus may make it congested but you can always rely on it being a clean safe environment.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 crusader

2-4    4/29/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 49  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beginner friendly course that just went in.

Any course is better than no course.
Has the only holes in the area that have water in play, but there is no threat to losing a disc in the water it is shallow most of the time.

big mature trees come into play on almost all of the holes. the offer a variety of shots on each hole, but some have more options than others.

Cons: This course is still in progress so these cons may get changed.

There are currently no tee signs (should be one there way from what I'm told).

No trash cans, or benches.

I'm not a huge fan of the rubber tee pads, but they beat natural pads for sure. They are also a little short, but then again most of the holes are really short and don't need a huge run up.

There are no bridges crossing the creek. To get from 5's tee to its basket you either take the 5 or so rocks that are lined up in the creek and climb the bank, or walk way out of the way to get to the bridge for the road.

Navigation is a bit iffy right now but should change once the tee signs get put in.

There are some roads and parking lots that could come into play, and seeing that it is a college campus I'm sure there will be other things going on that could get in the way (although we didn't have that problem today).
Other Thoughts: The course is on university grounds, and I'm told its tobacco and alcohol free. Also be careful of where you park there is visitor parking a ways from the course, or there is a park that is really close to holes 5 and 6.

hole 1 starts by the Mabee center, and then 2 is just across the road. 2, 3, and 4 make a triangle going in a counter clockwise pattern. then you walk between the baseball and softball field to get to hole 5, which plays across the creek. Hole 6 has the basket right on the edge of the creek. Cross the creek to get to 7, then cross the road to get to 8, and then nine is just a little ways past 8s basket.

This is basically a glorified Oak Grove.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and quick

2-4    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: grantbenson
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Doesn't take long to play. It's nice if you just want to fit in a quick round (or 4).

A decent number of trees come into play, which helps make up a little for the holes being so short.

Could be good for building confidence after having a bad round somewhere else, much like Oak Grove. It also seems like a great course for beginners.

It's on Evangel's campus. This is a pro if you go to school there or I guess if you want to try to pick up college girls or something....
Cons: Very short. A lot of people could play this course with only a putter and still have a good chance at birdie on most holes.

There are no signs, but there are poles next to the tees. Hopefully there will be signs coming later. We didn't know where to go after #4 (go between the softball and baseball fields to get to #5), but a few other guys helped us out.

It's on Evangel's campus. We had to wait on people walking by or playing some weird kind of baseball golf (I'm not sure what they were doing) a few times. It's a multi-purpose area, so that kind of thing is expected.

EDIT (7/25/12):
There have been tee signs for a while now, so that con is no longer valid.
Other Thoughts: Considering the small space, I think this course turned out pretty well. If you need to work on midrange throws, this course could be helpful.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.