Layout Extinct

Oxford, OH 
Miami University - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: discgolferjr Hole #7
4 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Great Time

2-4    12/12/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a fun course because of the diversity. The beautiful architecture of the buildings and bridges make it unique. I had to use various types of shots on this course.
Cons: It is an extremely difficult course to navigate. It desperately needs directional signs to the next tee after each basket. Also, the baskets are looking quite used. The campus is beautiful, but there is a HUUUUUUGEEE littering problem. It looks like a trash dump on mpst of the holes. There are no trash cans anywhere, and most people are just tossing their bottles and beercans everywhere. My opinion is there are two shames here. First, it's a shame players don't respect this sport, campus, and nature enough to not be slobs. The second shame is the groundskeeping staff would allow this beautiful course and campus to let the trash get so out of control. I may seem harsh, but honestly, the trash is apallingly ridiculous. I probably will not play regularly there for this reason alone.
Other Thoughts: I recommend taking a picture with a phone or camera of the map at the first tee. If it's you're first time here you WILL get confused on the holes.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Mix

5+    10/30/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very good mix of shorter birdie/ace chances mixed with some tougher really unique holes.
- Some of the prettiest holes I have seen using the surround architecture.
- Every time I play the course I find a new way to attack a certain hole that I hadn't thought about before.
- Miami is one of the greatest places I have ever been, miss going to college there.
Cons: - Due to construction there is no tee pad or sign for hole #7. (there is a dirt area that is used)
- During the wet season it can be difficult to navigate from the #2 tee pad to the hole because of a small drainage area.
- During the school year you have to be careful because there is always foot traffic, especially on hole #16. FOUR!
Other Thoughts: - I used to find this course too challenging to enjoy, but the more times you play it the more you will enjoy it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great variety

2-4    7/10/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: kjk3410
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of short and long holes. Mostly open course. Course is laid out over a large area. Enough elevation change to be noticeable.

Very little traffic on campus during the summer.
Cons: Navigation from hole to hole is nearly impossible without a course map, and still rather difficult with one.
Other Thoughts: A bridge comes into play for two holes, which is unusual and makes every trip to Oxford worth it.

Miami is a beautiful campus and the course here is set on one of the more open and pretty parts of campus.

Be sure to stop at Bagel and Deli while in Oxford!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The best College Campus course I have ever played

1    11/21/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful Campus Scenery
It's the 1st Course I've ever played where walkway bridges come into play
Good mix of shot types and distances
Some nice elevation changes
Great use of the land
Cons: Can be difficult to navigate
A couple of filler holes
High Traffic College Campus so look before you throw
Campus is filled with Prius Driving Dandys and Fancy Lads, on their way to the latte bar with their Sweater Vests and Cardigans, talking about how much they love San Francisco and how great it is to be super liberal. A couple times I wanted to stop and beat one of them up
Other Thoughts: Most of the shots are here are fairly open but they never get repetitive which is rare. The do a great job of working with the area they have. more than one hole has a walkway bridge in play. You find yourself in the unique position of deciding whether to try and loft one over the bridge or weave your way under it. I thought that was really fun. Also the course has some excellent elevation changes.

I ran into a guy that showed me where to go or else I might have had trouble finding my way around. Even it you do get lost it's a good place to walk around and just site see.

Typically I prefer wooded and secluded quiet nature type courses. But this one is and exception, it is definitely the best College Campus course I have ever played. It's a Unique Disc Golf Experience and I would recommend it for a locals and for road trippers



2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Oxford DGC

1    6/9/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course does a nice job of mixing long holes and short holes with only a few real easy open holes.
In some circumstances during the year you will be able to play from some very noticeable alternate tees areas making the course much harder.
This course has a very scenic park feel, you barely notice the surrounding campus buildings and some of them just add to the appeal of the course.
A beautiful bridge comes into play on two holes.
Most basket areas have "dirt greens" from the foot traffic and give the park a nice look and can make some holes more difficult.
Cons: The course is very hard to navigate as a first timer, try and research a course map before you play.
As of June 2008 holes 9-11 and some others have construction on them that has made some easier and some unable to play.
Many of the designated distance signage are incorrect you may want to copy the ones listed here as they were measured pre tourney.
Some not all of the baskets are very old.
Some of the tees may be under construction or out.
Other Thoughts: *I played this course during a tourney and some alternate tees were used.
**You can't go wrong playing on a campus that has been voted as having some of the most beautiful coeds in the U.S. in the spring you can see them laying out in the sunshine.

Hole 1. (270') A mostly straight approach at the basket although the hole is trickier than you imagine. A large tree in front of it and bushes directly to its right protect the basket with a small canyon surrounding it.
Hole 2. (230') A pretty severe dogleg left with an OB road within 20' of the basket. This hole has a pretty unique drive as you play through a small opening of low branches and shrubbery with no view of the basket.
Hole 3. (266') Another blind shot at the basket over a small ridge in the fairway that flows diagonally to the left and into another canyon surrounding the basket. Trees line the fairway to the right and come into play on mistake RH drives.
Hole 4. (310') A very tricky RH tunrnover where a player can take two routes around a large tree and brush obstruction. The longer route plays under the bridge that obstructs the view of the basket sitting on a hillside. Woods straight ahead and to the right punish very arrant drives.
Hole 5. (285') A memorable dogleg left that plays alongside a wooded creek and under a bridge to another basket on a hillside.
Hole 6. was an alternate hole when I played. We played form the top of the hill that made the hole 600'+ and an amazing challenge.
Hole 7. (420') A severe dogleg left that plays through a wooded gap and past some small trees with OB road straight ahead. Two large pine trees and the small growing trees after the initial gap make this a very difficult hole.
Hole 8. (580') Your initial drive is going to need to be as straight as possible while avoiding the wooded area all along the right of the fairway. The basket then plays down the hill and to the right through an opening in the wooded areas. During my tournament we played back at an orange line in the concrete sidewalk that makes this hole much more challenging. The good this is there is a field to the left of the sidewalk most of the hole that allows for some error.
Holes 9-11 were under construction and we used alternate baskets or placed mandos to make the holes more challenging.
Hole 12. (525') A very challenging downhill hole for both the RH and LH with a large tree in the middle of the fairway 300' down to really hinder long arms. The basket is protected by another wooded area.
Hole 13. (130') A nice blind ace run over a small hill obstructing your view of the basket which plays directly under and to the left of the single skinny tree you see off the tee.
Hole 14. (199') Another ace run or 2 chance. Your only obstruction is a V shaped tree that directly obstructs your view of the basket, which site 10-15' behind it.
Hole 15. (254') A wide open drive to the basket with only a small tree that can slow down some drives.
Hole 16. (460') A long straight drive off of the tee to the left of the large tree to your right is the safe play. A snaking drive to the left of the tree and then looping out and around the wooded area obstructing your view of the basket will wow your friends.
Hole 17. (260') Two large tree trunks and some overhanging branches are all that keep you from parking this short hole.
Hole 18. (265') A wide open drive with only the small chance of over shooting the basket and landing in the OB road.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great college course

2-4    6/7/2007   10/23/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful setting on a beautiful college campus. Course is often integrated into the architecture (buildings, bridges, walls, tunnels, etc.) of the campus.

This is one of the most fun courses I have ever played, especially on the first time. There are things I had never seen on a disc golf course before- throwing through large arches of an overhead walkway, watching a tee shot bounce off a building and almost in the basket, and playing a hole with a bra on a stick instead of a basket---priceless!!!
Cons: It is a little tricky to find the next hole sometimes the first time through. No course maps when I was there. Lengthy walks from time to time. There are signs with arrows, but I think they mark a cross country course instead so they can't always be trusted.
Parking could be an issue. I got a warning ticket last time I was there. You could probably get a temp permit if you knew where to ask.
Other Thoughts: College campus courses have their own style, usually not too long, but a completely different setting and feel. This is by far the best college course I have played. I wished a had a DG course on campus when I was in college!!!

Worth the drive if you like unique and fun courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I wish I went to College here

6/10/2005   4/4/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love campus courses. There are some awesome holes at Miami. Good use of a stone bridge on one hole (throwing underneath) Long holes and short holes.
Cons: It is poorly marked and tough to navigate. There could be lots of students when class is in session.
Other Thoughts: It is worth the tough navigation and I have played it twice now (both during summer) and the crowds haven't been a bother at all. I have played a lot of courses and I consider this one a gem. It is out of the way but worth the drive. The first time we played it the basket for #15 was missing and instead there was a post in the ground with a bra hanging on top of it. We used the bra as an object basket for the hole. If that doesn't make you want to play a course, then i don't know what will.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.