Layout Extinct

Oxford, OH 
Miami University - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: hooked312 Hole #17 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 I haven't been this sad since Riptide went off the air

1    6/9/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: numbernine
Played: 46  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Living in East Central Indiana, you hear a lot about a lot of different courses. We are close to a lot of legendary layouts. Idlewild. Lemon Lake. Flip City. And believe it or not, people talk about Oxford in the same breath. Beautiful. Scenic. Challenging. All words that I have heard describe this course. And while all of those things remain true, I am afraid that we are on the verge of losing a course. First, let's start out with the good.

1. The teepads are great. If the pads aren't concrete, then they are hand laid pavers. All of them are longer than most airport runways, and most of them are in pristine shape. As I have pointed out in previous reviews; a great course needs great tee pads. This course has just that.

2. Variety - Unlike a lot of courses you play, this course is not just a long course or just a technical course. Indeed, Oxford has a giant variety of shots. Giant, sweeping Anhyzers, long, downhill bomb shots, short tech shots and tight tunnel shots.

3. Scenery - Unreal. I mean it. This is one of the prettiest courses that you will ever play. Number 4 and 5 play under bridges that have GIANT arch ways. The pond near the back comes in to play beautifully without being an imminent threat. The art museum serves as a backdrop on a hole that sits on a great hill.

4. The baskets catch well and are all functional. Well, the ones that are there do. This begins my sad face.

5. The signs on the holes work. As in, it has yardage and direction. Nothing fancy, but they are functional. It beats a kick in the taint. I guess.
Cons: 1. Some of the holes are just plain gone. yes, gone. Done. Kaput. Out of here. Finito. El out to hereo. Holes 1,2,17 and 18 are gone and 16 is missing it's basket. The locals that were kindly enough to show us around told us about this and were incredibly broken up. Not as much as I was when they took Riptide off of the air, but it had to be close. This is a HUGE hit for this course. You can't have a destination course with only 13 holes. You just can't.

2. Navigation on this course is sad. Not sad in a "oh man, I skinned my knee". but sad in a "man, I can't believe that people still go to monster truck rallies" kind of way (though, truth be told, who can't enjoy Gravedigger?). OK, 3,4,5,and 6 make sense. 7 is weird. You might NEVER find 8, so listen close. walk ACROSS the football field thing where the marching band practices and go down the hill. It's near where the 50 yard line might be. And then down the hill. 9 is then across the road from that basket. 10 is then over the bridge and to the right from that basket. 12 is a HAUL from 11 basket. Over the road and up a hill. 13 makes sense, and 14 is LITERALLY a block away from 13's basket. The basket for 14 is right in front of 15's tee. so...that's just not good.

3. Amenities stink. There is almost no place to park without a permit. There are no benches. There are no water fountains. There are no trash cans. There is little shade.
Other Thoughts: I will bet you dollars to donuts that this course used to rule the barren earth. The use of the natural terrain and the bridges is amazing. The shots are fantastic. The use of the campus is ridiculous.. But damnit, how can I give a high rating to a course that is missing 4 holes and another basket?
Also, the parking thing just made me mad. on top of that, the natural flow to this course is terrible. Navigation doesn't make sense and just about everything good about the course is taken away by the lack of a complete course.

Please hit me up with any questions! Thanks!.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Time

2-4    12/12/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a fun course because of the diversity. The beautiful architecture of the buildings and bridges make it unique. I had to use various types of shots on this course.
Cons: It is an extremely difficult course to navigate. It desperately needs directional signs to the next tee after each basket. Also, the baskets are looking quite used. The campus is beautiful, but there is a HUUUUUUGEEE littering problem. It looks like a trash dump on mpst of the holes. There are no trash cans anywhere, and most people are just tossing their bottles and beercans everywhere. My opinion is there are two shames here. First, it's a shame players don't respect this sport, campus, and nature enough to not be slobs. The second shame is the groundskeeping staff would allow this beautiful course and campus to let the trash get so out of control. I may seem harsh, but honestly, the trash is apallingly ridiculous. I probably will not play regularly there for this reason alone.
Other Thoughts: I recommend taking a picture with a phone or camera of the map at the first tee. If it's you're first time here you WILL get confused on the holes.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Mix

5+    10/30/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very good mix of shorter birdie/ace chances mixed with some tougher really unique holes.
- Some of the prettiest holes I have seen using the surround architecture.
- Every time I play the course I find a new way to attack a certain hole that I hadn't thought about before.
- Miami is one of the greatest places I have ever been, miss going to college there.
Cons: - Due to construction there is no tee pad or sign for hole #7. (there is a dirt area that is used)
- During the wet season it can be difficult to navigate from the #2 tee pad to the hole because of a small drainage area.
- During the school year you have to be careful because there is always foot traffic, especially on hole #16. FOUR!
Other Thoughts: - I used to find this course too challenging to enjoy, but the more times you play it the more you will enjoy it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun campus course

1    9/10/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a pretty and well-maintained college campus. There are a few nice elevation changes, and they are used pretty well to add challenge and fun to the course. Two stone bridges come into play on a few holes, and add a really fun design element, as well as making those holes really neat visually, great touch to use them in this way. There is pretty good variety in hole lengths, with several ace runs, and a few longer holes to stretch out your arm a little. You'll need to throw some different shot shapes here to score well, there's a decent balance of right and left turning shots.
Cons: The navigation here is a real mess. There are several really long walks in between holes with no next tee signage. I pulled up the course map on my phone and still had a little trouble finding my way around, without a map or a guide you'd spend all day trying to find all the holes. Several holes have some pretty major safety issues, playing over or near busy campus walking paths, roads, and sports fields. On a nice day when the campus is full of people it would be a dangerous place to play. The tee signs are inconsistent throughout the course, the ones that are there are decent, with hole layout and distance, but some are missing or broken.

Parking is an issue here. I made the mistake of playing on a weekday, and ended up paying to park in the campus garage half a mile from the course, and starting on hole 7. It might be easier on the weekends, but all the parking around the course was for campus permits, so make sure you read the signs before parking.
Other Thoughts: I love seeing courses on school campuses, it's a great way to expose new people to the sport and hopefully get them hooked. I saw a flyer for a tournament being held there, very cool! I do think that a few holes are a little tough for a course that will mostly be played by newer players, a little much length especially with brushy rough that can be a bit punitive.

Newer players will find a few holes pretty tough, but the rest of the course is pretty well set up for beginners to be reasonably successful (if they can find their way around). More experienced players will find some fun shots and a few holes where you really need to throw a great shot to score well, but overall it's not all that challenging of a layout.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Jumbled

2-4    9/20/2008   9/20/2010
Review By: CasualBrellow
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The campus is very pretty and the course runs through the more shaded walking areas around it. The course does have some very nice holes that include throwing underneath a bridge.

The course can be technically challenging at times.
Cons: Finding where to start and then where to go from basket to basket can be quite a challenge. Even playing with my friend who is a student there we had trouble finding where to go from a couple in the second half of the course.

There are a few holes towards the end where it can be easy to lose a disc and very hard to retrieve it. There are some sharp drops in the late teens off the sides of the throwing area and some very dense brush.

During the summer sometimes people play sports games on soccer fields near if i remember correctly hole 12-13 and you might have to edge around them.

Other Thoughts: We don't often use this course because of the time it takes to find baskets but its actually a very nice course. I never got the urge to play it very often because of a few times we really lost discs and had to go through great trouble to get them. I think thats where im playing today though, so i'll see if its like how it used to be.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great variety

2-4    7/10/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: kjk3410
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of short and long holes. Mostly open course. Course is laid out over a large area. Enough elevation change to be noticeable.

Very little traffic on campus during the summer.
Cons: Navigation from hole to hole is nearly impossible without a course map, and still rather difficult with one.
Other Thoughts: A bridge comes into play for two holes, which is unusual and makes every trip to Oxford worth it.

Miami is a beautiful campus and the course here is set on one of the more open and pretty parts of campus.

Be sure to stop at Bagel and Deli while in Oxford!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Eye candy

5+    1/24/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: agentdozzer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Course signs and map by hole 1
-Good variety of many different shots and options of what to throw on many holes.
-Large trees throughout the course are overshadowed by the shots through and under two cobblestone bridges.
-The pond behind hole 8's basket, it is kinda in play but not severly close to the basket.
-There are plenty of short birdieable holes.Holes 8 and 11 are a good challenge for 3's.
-Nice to throw a course around a bunch of sweet old building's and nice cobblestone walkways.
-Deer the deer are not afraid of discer they just watch you drive and eat away, for a minute we thought it was fake.
-
Cons: -A few cracked teepads.
-Having errant throw could be a problem as roads and students will be thoughout the course.
-Alot of the holes are easily reachable and some of the holes are wide open with little to know elevation.
Other Thoughts: The key is to get the disc close enough to start a converstattion with the Sorority girl's, but you can't hit them or you never gonna get laid. This course has a huge fun factor and throwing holes 4 and 5 it is always worth the drive. I have heard they add alot of holes for the CCS every year, will check those out this year.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The best College Campus course I have ever played

1    11/21/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful Campus Scenery
It's the 1st Course I've ever played where walkway bridges come into play
Good mix of shot types and distances
Some nice elevation changes
Great use of the land
Cons: Can be difficult to navigate
A couple of filler holes
High Traffic College Campus so look before you throw
Campus is filled with Prius Driving Dandys and Fancy Lads, on their way to the latte bar with their Sweater Vests and Cardigans, talking about how much they love San Francisco and how great it is to be super liberal. A couple times I wanted to stop and beat one of them up
Other Thoughts: Most of the shots are here are fairly open but they never get repetitive which is rare. The do a great job of working with the area they have. more than one hole has a walkway bridge in play. You find yourself in the unique position of deciding whether to try and loft one over the bridge or weave your way under it. I thought that was really fun. Also the course has some excellent elevation changes.

I ran into a guy that showed me where to go or else I might have had trouble finding my way around. Even it you do get lost it's a good place to walk around and just site see.

Typically I prefer wooded and secluded quiet nature type courses. But this one is and exception, it is definitely the best College Campus course I have ever played. It's a Unique Disc Golf Experience and I would recommend it for a locals and for road trippers



2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/4/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: FreddieC
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course on a beautiful Campus. Nice blend of technical holes with obstacles as well as open rippers. Holes 5 and 12 among others are signature holes.
Cons: Hard to find your way the first time - I took a pic with my phone the first time just in case we got lost. In the summer, you might run into some people milling around the course but its never been a problem when I've played there.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course as it is enjoyable for players at all levels!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome Course

1    7/19/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: obucks140
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I haven't played many courses but this course is the most fun out of any that I have played. I don't consider myself good at all but I shot a 65 on this course. It would have been hard to navigate but I just used my phone and took a picture of the course map that's next to the #1 tee and that made it easy.
Cons: The construction makes it harder to get to the back 9 but there's a path cut through the woods that makes it a little easier. On the 11th tee it's very easy to throw it over the fence into the construction zone. Just throw it short and you'll be good.
Other Thoughts: All the people we ran into on the course were very nice contrary to popular belief about most Miami students. It was a great time and I will definately go back many times.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.