Layout Extinct

Oxford, OH
Miami University - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: hooked312 Hole #12 (Taken 12/2011)
4 / 525ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Oxford DGC

1    6/9/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course does a nice job of mixing long holes and short holes with only a few real easy open holes.
In some circumstances during the year you will be able to play from some very noticeable alternate tees areas making the course much harder.
This course has a very scenic park feel, you barely notice the surrounding campus buildings and some of them just add to the appeal of the course.
A beautiful bridge comes into play on two holes.
Most basket areas have "dirt greens" from the foot traffic and give the park a nice look and can make some holes more difficult.
Cons: The course is very hard to navigate as a first timer, try and research a course map before you play.
As of June 2008 holes 9-11 and some others have construction on them that has made some easier and some unable to play.
Many of the designated distance signage are incorrect you may want to copy the ones listed here as they were measured pre tourney.
Some not all of the baskets are very old.
Some of the tees may be under construction or out.
Other Thoughts: *I played this course during a tourney and some alternate tees were used.
**You can't go wrong playing on a campus that has been voted as having some of the most beautiful coeds in the U.S. in the spring you can see them laying out in the sunshine.

Hole 1. (270') A mostly straight approach at the basket although the hole is trickier than you imagine. A large tree in front of it and bushes directly to its right protect the basket with a small canyon surrounding it.
Hole 2. (230') A pretty severe dogleg left with an OB road within 20' of the basket. This hole has a pretty unique drive as you play through a small opening of low branches and shrubbery with no view of the basket.
Hole 3. (266') Another blind shot at the basket over a small ridge in the fairway that flows diagonally to the left and into another canyon surrounding the basket. Trees line the fairway to the right and come into play on mistake RH drives.
Hole 4. (310') A very tricky RH tunrnover where a player can take two routes around a large tree and brush obstruction. The longer route plays under the bridge that obstructs the view of the basket sitting on a hillside. Woods straight ahead and to the right punish very arrant drives.
Hole 5. (285') A memorable dogleg left that plays alongside a wooded creek and under a bridge to another basket on a hillside.
Hole 6. was an alternate hole when I played. We played form the top of the hill that made the hole 600'+ and an amazing challenge.
Hole 7. (420') A severe dogleg left that plays through a wooded gap and past some small trees with OB road straight ahead. Two large pine trees and the small growing trees after the initial gap make this a very difficult hole.
Hole 8. (580') Your initial drive is going to need to be as straight as possible while avoiding the wooded area all along the right of the fairway. The basket then plays down the hill and to the right through an opening in the wooded areas. During my tournament we played back at an orange line in the concrete sidewalk that makes this hole much more challenging. The good this is there is a field to the left of the sidewalk most of the hole that allows for some error.
Holes 9-11 were under construction and we used alternate baskets or placed mandos to make the holes more challenging.
Hole 12. (525') A very challenging downhill hole for both the RH and LH with a large tree in the middle of the fairway 300' down to really hinder long arms. The basket is protected by another wooded area.
Hole 13. (130') A nice blind ace run over a small hill obstructing your view of the basket which plays directly under and to the left of the single skinny tree you see off the tee.
Hole 14. (199') Another ace run or 2 chance. Your only obstruction is a V shaped tree that directly obstructs your view of the basket, which site 10-15' behind it.
Hole 15. (254') A wide open drive to the basket with only a small tree that can slow down some drives.
Hole 16. (460') A long straight drive off of the tee to the left of the large tree to your right is the safe play. A snaking drive to the left of the tree and then looping out and around the wooded area obstructing your view of the basket will wow your friends.
Hole 17. (260') Two large tree trunks and some overhanging branches are all that keep you from parking this short hole.
Hole 18. (265') A wide open drive with only the small chance of over shooting the basket and landing in the OB road.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    3/22/2005   3/22/2009
Review By: drewbiggs
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great hole diversity, beautiful scenery, plenty of challenges but some par 3's mixed in to help keep the score reasonable. Tee pads are nice. It is possible to be the only one on the course.
Cons: If its your 1st time, you must tag along with somebody who has played it before to know where you are going. Depending on which hole you are on and at which time, it is possible to hit a student or two.
Other Thoughts: I wish I still lived near a course of this caliber.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/9/2009   2/26/2009
Review By: wertyuio17
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Plays through miami university which is a very nice campus.
-some holes are rather challenging.
-has tunnels/bridge you have to throw under which is different.
-Its a lenghty course so it can be good exercise.
Cons: -hard to navigate the first time.
-can only really play on the weekends or when school is out because of student traffic on/near the course.
-some tee signs are missing.
Other Thoughts: definitley play this course. It is one of my favorites...Also there is normally not many people on the course, so you can take your time and relax...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Miami University

2-4    11/23/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: discgolferjr
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome course on the campus of Miami University. All holes of decent lengths. Not very hard to lose a disc. Hilly, wooded, and open holes.
Cons: Some teesigns missing. 7 teepad is natural. Hard to navigate for the first time. Some holes par is crazy. It plays downhill 315 ft. and its a par 5. Walking paths will come into play. Pond on hole 8.
Other Thoughts: Pretty nice course to play if in area. I recommend this course to someone who wants a challenge. Very fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great college course

2-4    6/7/2007   10/23/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful setting on a beautiful college campus. Course is often integrated into the architecture (buildings, bridges, walls, tunnels, etc.) of the campus.

This is one of the most fun courses I have ever played, especially on the first time. There are things I had never seen on a disc golf course before- throwing through large arches of an overhead walkway, watching a tee shot bounce off a building and almost in the basket, and playing a hole with a bra on a stick instead of a basket---priceless!!!
Cons: It is a little tricky to find the next hole sometimes the first time through. No course maps when I was there. Lengthy walks from time to time. There are signs with arrows, but I think they mark a cross country course instead so they can't always be trusted.
Parking could be an issue. I got a warning ticket last time I was there. You could probably get a temp permit if you knew where to ask.
Other Thoughts: College campus courses have their own style, usually not too long, but a completely different setting and feel. This is by far the best college course I have played. I wished a had a DG course on campus when I was in college!!!

Worth the drive if you like unique and fun courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 College Course

2-4    9/21/2005   8/14/2008
Review By: jacobjw2
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent mix of hole types. Some woods, mostly open, occasionally treed. Beautiful scenery. A mix of lush green grass, old and mature trees, and amazing architecture.

Honestly though the best part of this course is that it is situated right on the south east end of Miami University's campus, and the women are gorgeous.
Cons: It almost seems that the course was once 9 holes and then 9 more were added without much thought. There is a pair (I can't remember the numbers) that simply go up hill and then back down. The course is also not well marked.
Other Thoughts: If you go to Miami or live around the area, it is totally worth playing. I haven't played it since college, but it was great then and I am sure it still is. Starts behind Bachelor hall, which is hard to miss: big building sitting right at T intersection at the end of Spring Street.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Miami University

4/11/2007   6/16/2008
Review By: mbarth
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenic course, elevation changes, good community, various shot opportunities.
Cons: Most of the course is wide open, hard to navigate if you haven't played this course before.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course, definitely well worth the stop if you are in the area.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I wish I went to College here

6/10/2005   4/4/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 133  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love campus courses. There are some awesome holes at Miami. Good use of a stone bridge on one hole (throwing underneath) Long holes and short holes.
Cons: It is poorly marked and tough to navigate. There could be lots of students when class is in session.
Other Thoughts: It is worth the tough navigation and I have played it twice now (both during summer) and the crowds haven't been a bother at all. I have played a lot of courses and I consider this one a gem. It is out of the way but worth the drive. The first time we played it the basket for #15 was missing and instead there was a post in the ground with a bra hanging on top of it. We used the bra as an object basket for the hole. If that doesn't make you want to play a course, then i don't know what will.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.