Newport News, VA 
Newport News DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 301ft.   4 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 White Tee: The crooked tree is no longer there.



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Newport news

1    11/10/2013   11/10/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A rating of three is stated as good and that is what this course was for me.

The front nine is a fun layout, letting you air it out on 2 and then requiring from 3-9 some precision shot shaping, and if you play the short tees, it is a fun ace race if you hit your lines. The front nine is very fun to play, if this type of course continued on, i would have given the course a 3.5-4.

Back nine- the back nine becam a little redundant with a lot of straight, or straight-ish shots that were through an array of pine trees, they did the best they had with the land though

This was a fun course to play and would make a njce day of playing if paired up with new quarter park in williamsburg, about a 15 minute drive away. This is a great amateur course and will treat newer players pretty well, as the whole course is short with no true par 4s and little opportunity to lose a disc.

Amenities- the park was your typical multi use park, bathrooms, a message board at the parking lot. Each hole had a tee sign located at the short tee, as well as a bag hanger and the navigation proved to be pretty easy.

Cons: The holes can get somewhat redundant on the back nine mostly straight shots through some pines to a relatively open green

Tee signs- the tee signs were good and portrayed an accurate representation of the hole, however, they were located at the short tee. In some cases you couldnt see the basket from the long tees and i found myself walking up to the tee sign more than i wouldve liked

Elevation and hazards- there was no elevation except for on hole 17 which wasnt really elevation, it was more like a gully. There was no water hazards with the exception of one ditch, which didnt seem to hold water. I played this course a few days before a tournament and it seemed like the had walking paths ob. This would make it a little more interesting if you were to do so.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun Course to stretch your arm out after a day at one of the colonial sites, especially in the winter when new quarter is only open on friday, saturday and sunday.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick play

5+    9/10/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alright...Newport News. This course is one of my two "home courses." Pros are...plenty of trash cans, big board with tourney postings and adverts for local club, picnic table at the start/end to catch up, there's a practice green right at the beginning of the course to warm up on as well. Each hole has a tower from which you can hang your bag as you shoot, which I find to be a nice touch. There are nice, big concrete tees from which to shoot. Also, there are plenty of trash cans at various places around the course, there are a couple benches in case you need to catch your wind, and porty-johns abound in the parking lot. For the most part, the course isn't too busy, although I DO make a point of avoiding NN on the weekends. Newport News and New Quarter are about fifteen minutes apart, and run by the same people, so the course is very well maintained and cleanly. There's not really any elevation change, but there's a decent mix of wooded and open holes. Also, signs at the main tee clearly shows the pin and alternate tee locations, as well as yardage. The wooded holes are tricky, as they should be, and require one to be precise. Again, this is my favorite style of play, so I dig it. This is also a pretty good course to try and rack up some aces...I've seen it more than once playing here, and never on the same hole.
Cons: The park itself can get crowded, although kids tend to keep off the DG course. This is a pay to play park, although the pay office is about an eighth of a mile from the actual disc golf course. Most people I've seen just skip it, which is sad, as the local club really does a number here and on NQP. The only other downside is that I can out-drive 16 of 18 holes. There really isn't any room to open up, but the nice thing about this course is that it DOES teach precision, which is why it's in my rotation.
Other Thoughts: For the record, I AM NOT a member of the local club, although I am a local. If you're a local, used to playing NQP, and want a quick game, then NN is it. She's definitely a short course, which could be either a pro or a con...I usually hit Newport News when I'm looking for a quick round. I have played this course @ 4 under using only my driver in 22 minutes, to give an idea of length. Still a great course though and, again, prime for aces. That being said, if you're coming from out of town and only get to choose between Newport News or New Quarter Park....hit New Quarter.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/28/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 103  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course that can be played rather quickly.
-Clean safe park with alot of other activities going on
-2 concrete tee pads per hole
-bag holders
-benches and trash cans
-variety of wooded and open
-easy to follow for 1st timers
-great use of land
-beginer friendly but some fun shots for the more advanced players
Cons: -most holes seem to be nearly the same length
-traffic noise
Other Thoughts: The sign near the first tee says to pay the 2$ fee at the building 1/2 mile away. I played New Quarter Park earlier in the day so the shorter holes here were nice for a sore and tired body. There isn't too many courses in the area so play here and New Quarter in one day and it will be a good day. They aren't a long ride apart.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, solid course

1    6/4/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great setting...mature hardwood and pine trees--I pulled into the park to 3 deer grazing
Very well manicured
Excellent signage
2 well marked tees for each hole with bag poles and concrete tee pads
Very intuitive flow (except crossing over from the front nine to the back nine--just check map near tee one...or download map--hint...the tee pad for 10 is just to the right as you are standing on the tee pad at 1)
Benches at tee pads
Garbage cans throughout
Good usage of a flat terrain
Good mix of wooded holes and "open" holes--though even the open holes have enough trees so you aren't just throwing across flat, open fields
Good mix of hyzer, anhyzer and straight holes
Wooded holes have at least one, some as many as three distinct paths to the basket from the tee pad--not just throwing and praying
Simple enough for beginners (some of the regular tees have distances under 200', yet challenging enough for skilled players (especially if you pick a path on holes 3-8 and work on executing your pathway)
Great place to introduce people to the sport
Very "fast" course...it was threatening T-Storms when I played today and was about 6:30 in the afternoon with no one on the course to slow me down and it took about 35 minutes or so
Cons: For what it is, this is a very solid course without many "cons" based on design flaws or lack of upkeep...the only "cons" are not avoidable:
Flat course...no elevation change at all
No "champion style" BIG holes for the big arm drivers
Other Thoughts: All in all, if you are in the area or for some reason driving through the area this is a course that would be worth your time to play

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Simple Course.

2-4    10/31/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to follow set up, easy to get from one hole to the next. Nice tee pads, colored to match the length. Porta potty's right near the beginning of the course. Most if not all baskets easily seen from tees. Maps are laid out nicely and helpful.
Cons: Sort of simple. I wouldn't say a beginniners course, but not too challenging. All Par 3. The front nine have a nice mix of open and wooded throws, but the back nine are sort of bunched together. The back nine also are near a busy intersection and the traffic, while not distracting, takes away from the overall experience. Most DG courses feel like a hike made even more fun, the traffic took that aspect away here.
Other Thoughts: An easy course to find and has some unique features. The front nine have a fence you have to navigate or stay away from in two holes and a creek and bridge make for fun in the woods, but the back nine have none of that and feel shoved together. The only thing preventing me from giving this course a 3.5 or more was the back nine experience. A nice time of DG if you live near, but I'm not sure it was worth the drive. My friends and I drove 45 minutes to play. Luckily New Qtr Park was less than 10 miles away. Still, not knocking the park completely, if I lived nearby it would be a great practice park and I'd play it often. Just not sure I would drive a long way or go out of my way for this experience.

Update 04-13-2009: I stand by all I said as I've just re read my original review, but I'd like to add again that this is a fun course. The front nine is far more challenging than the back nine, but the overall experience was a great time. Just maybe not worth a long drive. Also like to add that this park is probably the easiest course for a first time player that I have ever played. It is so well laid out from one hole to the next and marked so well that it is easy to follow and all tee boxes (concrete) have posts to hang bags marked clearly with the number of each hole. All holes also have maps showing the path from tee to basket as well as distance and pars. Very First Time Friendly!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course With Nice Amenties For Players!

2-4    7/13/2003   3/13/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 677  Reviewed: 607  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an enjoyable course in America's largest municipal park. Newport News Park seems as big as Deleware. The first thing that impressed me was the amenties for players, the hangers for your bag at every tee, nice benches and very well marked tee signs. The first three holes are pretty standard playing through a picnic area in the park before retreating into some deep woods for the next six, which are fairly tight and difficult. Then the back nine comes out of the woods into a slightly more undeveloped part of the park. There were four sets of tees allowing the player to "pick his poison." When I played, the park had been hit hard the previous winter or spring with a major wind storm and some large trees were down. I'm sure they have long since been cleared away as the park seemed very clean indeed.
Cons: Although the course was fun, enjoyable and a challenge to me, it didn't have the "Wow" factor. There wasn't one hole that really stuck out as being a signature hole. You know that hole that you just have to empty your bag on or you hike back up the hill and play it again. There was no elevation to speak of, no water hazards.
Other Thoughts: Most disc golfers would be happy to call Newport News their home course. It's a lovely, very playable course in a beautiful park. Four tees allows the regulars to change up a bit. A must throw if you're in the Newport News area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course in Nation's Largest Municipal Park

2-4    6/5/2007   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept setting, both woods and open holes
Other Thoughts: This course has some of the best amenities I've seen, with perfect pro and am teepads, great signs, benches at most holes, and poles to hang your bag on at both sets of tees for every hole. So I'd have to say this course goes furthest to take care of the disc golfer of any I've played thus far. The course itself is pretty sweet too; clean, well maintained, and featuring a nice variety of woods and open holes, kind of short from the amateur tees, but reasonably long from the pro tees.

This course starts out fairly typical, with a straight, fairly open, fairly average length hole featuring just enough trees to keep you challenged. But after a wide open hole and a unique hole requiring you to hook your tee shot into a small opening in the woods, the course moves into some tight but pretty woods for several holes. These holes require precision over power, and are among the tightest I've ever played. But then for the back nine the course returns to its typical form, and in the end the woods holes make for nice variety and fill out the cool disc golf experience of this course.

The back nine features holes of varying length, but none too far in either direction, and basket placements among the trees to make it challenging. Some shots required a left or right angle, but again none required any real tricks to stay on the path to the basket. No elevation changes, and no real water challenges to speak of, meant this course as a whole is basic but real nice, with its strengths of setting, amenities, and maintenance making up for a lack of unique challenges and particularly distinctive holes. Since it's not too far down the road, I look forward to returning to this course many times over the coming years.

Favorite Hole - #17 - Longer hole over nicely mown fairway and small creek with enough trees and foliage to make it a nice challenge.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.