Newport News, VA 
Newport News DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 259ft.   3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 White Tee: Over the fence in the woods about 8'. 8 foot wide opening in the fence where the basket is located.



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun, solid course

1    6/4/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great setting...mature hardwood and pine trees--I pulled into the park to 3 deer grazing
Very well manicured
Excellent signage
2 well marked tees for each hole with bag poles and concrete tee pads
Very intuitive flow (except crossing over from the front nine to the back nine--just check map near tee one...or download map--hint...the tee pad for 10 is just to the right as you are standing on the tee pad at 1)
Benches at tee pads
Garbage cans throughout
Good usage of a flat terrain
Good mix of wooded holes and "open" holes--though even the open holes have enough trees so you aren't just throwing across flat, open fields
Good mix of hyzer, anhyzer and straight holes
Wooded holes have at least one, some as many as three distinct paths to the basket from the tee pad--not just throwing and praying
Simple enough for beginners (some of the regular tees have distances under 200', yet challenging enough for skilled players (especially if you pick a path on holes 3-8 and work on executing your pathway)
Great place to introduce people to the sport
Very "fast" course...it was threatening T-Storms when I played today and was about 6:30 in the afternoon with no one on the course to slow me down and it took about 35 minutes or so
Cons: For what it is, this is a very solid course without many "cons" based on design flaws or lack of upkeep...the only "cons" are not avoidable:
Flat course...no elevation change at all
No "champion style" BIG holes for the big arm drivers
Other Thoughts: All in all, if you are in the area or for some reason driving through the area this is a course that would be worth your time to play

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    4/17/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The closest thing to a home course I've got. This is officially a pay-to-play course, but I haven't been carded in 30+ rounds. I'm not really sure where you're supposed to pay anyway, but it certainly isn't anywhere near the course. Given all the other stuff in the park, I don't know that the money raised by disc golf really goes back to the course anyway. I don't understand why I can walk the course with my dog for free but if I want to throw a frisbee while I do it I should drive 5 miles out of my way to pay $2. Anyway, rant over. Maybe I should have put that in the cons section.

The pros are that it is straightforward and signed very well. Two paved tee pads per hole (red is long for some reason, white is short here) plus some gold and blue posts which are tough to find. I've never played them but I have stumbled across them from time to time. There is a great mix of true tree holes with real fairways and more open holes, but few straight shots. There is a Tuesday evening mini, but I haven't made it there yet. You get to see some deer if you're out there at a non-busy time.
Cons: Can get muddy. I see lots of "Boy Scout" or "Church Youth Groups" out here playing in a pack of 10 or 15 with one real disc golfer among them. Usually they're really good about letting you through though. I'm always worried that someday I'll actually be carded by a Ranger and have to learn where I'm supposed to go pay. The public par is a joke. You shoot from the closest tees and you get an extra 7 strokes to do it. There are 2 "Par 5s" under 400 feet, a 178 foot "par 4", and two par 4s under 300 feet. It is reasonable to play the whole thing as a par 3 knowing that there are 3 or 4 holes where you'll need a nice drive, a nice approach, AND a nice putt to make par and a hella lucky shot to get a bird. A few of the holes are close to the road, so the road noise distracts a bit, but it isn't bad.
Other Thoughts: Favorite hole is #6 from the longer tee. Desperate par 3. If you make it to the short tee on your first shot you're doing well. #15 and 16 are also fun since neither allows the straight shot but both have multiple other options.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Newport News DGC

5+    1/3/2009   1/4/2009
Review By: dmbill
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course that has benches, trashcans and bag stands throughout. The variety of the holes makes for different throws to be used. There are signs on the pins when the next tee isn't obvious pointing you where to go (top of the pole midst the chains). The ranger station, campground entrance, has score cards for your hole distance reference.
Cons: Heavy leaves in the fall/winter make it hard to find the discs after throwing. Wet woods long after it has rained. It can get crowded during the summer and difficult to 'play through' when multiple holes have lines. If you do not have a seasons pass you have to drive to another entrance and pay and then make a left and left again into the entrance where the DGC is (see below).
Other Thoughts: This course has great signage, 4 tees (check online for the blues and golds) and 1 pin per hole. 9 in the woods, 9 open in the field, Favorite Holes:1, 10, 11. If you do not have a seasons pass you have to take the 2nd entrance and pay $2.15 for the day, keep your receipt as the Park Rangers do patrol the course and will ask to see proof.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great all around course!

5+    11/2/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course can be used by anyone of any skill level/age and be challenged and enjoyed. All of the baskets have 2 tees and some as many as 4. Poles to hang bags, benches at most tees, concrete pro (red) and am (white) tees, and good direction signs. With this and a course that is well maintained by the local club and city park people you have a great environment for all.
Cons: This course can be hard to play in the fall when the leaves fall. They are so thick that it can sometimes be like finding a needle in a hay stack when you search for your disc after your drive from the tee. Use bright discs it does help. It can also be crowded on nice days. To find the blue and gold tees you will need help from a local.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for hole 7. It is very technical. My favorite is 3. Its a blind shot over or through a fence into some hardwood trees. It can be aced. I have come close and witnessed it done. It is a pay to play course and you have to travel to the other side of the reservoir where the campground is to pay. They also have discs available to buy (Innova and Lightning) and rent. Drinks and snacks are available..

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Simple Course.

2-4    10/31/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to follow set up, easy to get from one hole to the next. Nice tee pads, colored to match the length. Porta potty's right near the beginning of the course. Most if not all baskets easily seen from tees. Maps are laid out nicely and helpful.
Cons: Sort of simple. I wouldn't say a beginniners course, but not too challenging. All Par 3. The front nine have a nice mix of open and wooded throws, but the back nine are sort of bunched together. The back nine also are near a busy intersection and the traffic, while not distracting, takes away from the overall experience. Most DG courses feel like a hike made even more fun, the traffic took that aspect away here.
Other Thoughts: An easy course to find and has some unique features. The front nine have a fence you have to navigate or stay away from in two holes and a creek and bridge make for fun in the woods, but the back nine have none of that and feel shoved together. The only thing preventing me from giving this course a 3.5 or more was the back nine experience. A nice time of DG if you live near, but I'm not sure it was worth the drive. My friends and I drove 45 minutes to play. Luckily New Qtr Park was less than 10 miles away. Still, not knocking the park completely, if I lived nearby it would be a great practice park and I'd play it often. Just not sure I would drive a long way or go out of my way for this experience.

Update 04-13-2009: I stand by all I said as I've just re read my original review, but I'd like to add again that this is a fun course. The front nine is far more challenging than the back nine, but the overall experience was a great time. Just maybe not worth a long drive. Also like to add that this park is probably the easiest course for a first time player that I have ever played. It is so well laid out from one hole to the next and marked so well that it is easy to follow and all tee boxes (concrete) have posts to hang bags marked clearly with the number of each hole. All holes also have maps showing the path from tee to basket as well as distance and pars. Very First Time Friendly!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

2-4    9/28/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: JMWoods
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very enjoyable course. Perfect course for a beginner in my opinion. The wooded sections are fairly difficult, and force you to actually make some pretty difficult decisions instead of just throwing and hoping for the best. The landscape is great, the moderate hills and creeks were awesome. There are wooden fences on some holes that play pretty interestingly, because you can't cut through low under the trees. Oh and they also look cool.

Aside from the course itself, the land is well maintained and the amenities are sweet. Some of the best graphics of the hole I've ever seen are displayed at the tee box of each hole.
Cons: The only negative thing I can really come up with is that it is a bit short, but that can easily become a pro if you happen to be in a rush and just want to get a round in.
Other Thoughts: Favorite Hole:
#7, Par 4
There is a tree right in front of the tee box that forces you to make a decision right off the bat, pretty cool.

#17, Par 5
First hole I ever eagled, so maybe a bit biased, but aside from that there is a nice creek running in the middle of this hole and it has a nice down then uphill to it.

This shorter course is a very nice complement course to the New Quarter course just down Interstate 64, which is very long.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Another Overrated VA course

5+    8/19/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 154  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 20.3 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
- Multiple Tee Pads (even 3) on most holes
- Good signage
- Good overall park amenities
- Cool group of local golfers
Cons:
- Too many repetative holes. On the back 9 there are like 6 of the 9 holes that are 230 - 280 ft midrange hyzer shots.
- No real par 4 or 5s. There is a tremendous amount of land here and the course could be redesign with more par 4s and 5s.
Other Thoughts: Again this course is too short for my taste. Great little beginner course, but for a seasoned player there isn't anything outstanding about this course. Putting is premium on this course (as with many of the older courses) and driving really isn't that important.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Solid municipal course

2-4    8/16/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: uvadiscgolfer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent amenities (two tee boxes, bag trees, nice maps at each hole) and a great mix of open and wooded holes. The pro tees allow players to add distance if they want or change the angle from which they play the hole, because almost none are in a line with the amateur tees. A nice practice basket at the entrance. Even most open holes have a few obstacles to dodge, making you work on your backhand and flick, or at least your hyzer and anhyzer shots.
Cons: A $2 entry fee was listed at the entrance, but I couldn't figure out where I was supposed to pay it. No change in elevation whatsoever took away some excitement. The course is a little busy on summer weekends, but the other players were on the whole very courteous so you can probably play through if needed.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course a lot. I missed some of the elevation changes that make holes at other courses "epic," but the course design was such that no two holes felt the same. I ended up playing 45 holes in just one day, since the course is reasonably compact and I kept thinking of new ways to approach each hole.

Favorite hole: #6. From the amateur tee box, it is a short shot off over a tiny creek bed that challenges you to choose a hammer or backhand hyzer. Enough trees that you might need to use all three shots to claim par, but short enough to be a tantalizing shot at birdie or a possible ace.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 First Throw, First Review

5+    7/11/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: Aaron D'Angelo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Tee pads, for regular and Pro, all holes very well marked. Benches at most if not all holes, bag tree and trash cans at many of the tees. Well maintained park course, nice mix of open holes and tight wooded holes. No real hazards to speak of makes this a very forgiving course for those just trying it out for the first time.
Cons: Short, unless you are a beginner. Little elevation change, just a few of the front 9 wooded and #17. Some holes become parking for events that take place during the summer.
Club house is located in a different section of the park unfortunately, but they carry Discs, bags, portable baskets, snacks, drinks and other camping supplies.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course I ever threw on. Some say it is short, it's a great course for beginners then, and the pro tees add some good distance. I love it and love to get out and throw here. The local club seems great, friendly people, didn't mind a newbie showing up to there Tuesday night summer series.

#17 is the best hole here. The first time I just stepped up to the tee and looked at it I smiled. I thought it was a great hole, still do. Nice long hole over small creek that dips down and comes up to the basket.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5/27/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: smowen
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean, very well maintained. Great for beginners. Every hole has two concrete tees, bag pole and an excellent sign. Very easy to navigate. Red Pro Tees add some good distance and difficulty.
Cons: White plays a little short. While white has two par 4s and 2 par 5s, Red stays all par 3.
Other Thoughts: Favorite holes: 6 - can be very tough from the pro tee - small alley to make it through the trees with a slight left. 12 - good distance hole with a few trees in the way. 17 is the best hole, slightly down hill across a small ravine. On the longer side for this course - I can empty my bag throwing at this one.

Watch out for all the other activities that go on each weekend at the newport news park especially in the summer. Any large activity, they like to make holes 1 and 10 - 12 extra parking.

Also in the summer, the course does not drain well, so it gets wet and muddy, bring a towel.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.