Newport News, VA 
Newport News DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 330ft.   3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White Tee: Dogleg to right past the end of the fence.



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Quick play

5+    9/10/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alright...Newport News. This course is one of my two "home courses." Pros are...plenty of trash cans, big board with tourney postings and adverts for local club, picnic table at the start/end to catch up, there's a practice green right at the beginning of the course to warm up on as well. Each hole has a tower from which you can hang your bag as you shoot, which I find to be a nice touch. There are nice, big concrete tees from which to shoot. Also, there are plenty of trash cans at various places around the course, there are a couple benches in case you need to catch your wind, and porty-johns abound in the parking lot. For the most part, the course isn't too busy, although I DO make a point of avoiding NN on the weekends. Newport News and New Quarter are about fifteen minutes apart, and run by the same people, so the course is very well maintained and cleanly. There's not really any elevation change, but there's a decent mix of wooded and open holes. Also, signs at the main tee clearly shows the pin and alternate tee locations, as well as yardage. The wooded holes are tricky, as they should be, and require one to be precise. Again, this is my favorite style of play, so I dig it. This is also a pretty good course to try and rack up some aces...I've seen it more than once playing here, and never on the same hole.
Cons: The park itself can get crowded, although kids tend to keep off the DG course. This is a pay to play park, although the pay office is about an eighth of a mile from the actual disc golf course. Most people I've seen just skip it, which is sad, as the local club really does a number here and on NQP. The only other downside is that I can out-drive 16 of 18 holes. There really isn't any room to open up, but the nice thing about this course is that it DOES teach precision, which is why it's in my rotation.
Other Thoughts: For the record, I AM NOT a member of the local club, although I am a local. If you're a local, used to playing NQP, and want a quick game, then NN is it. She's definitely a short course, which could be either a pro or a con...I usually hit Newport News when I'm looking for a quick round. I have played this course @ 4 under using only my driver in 22 minutes, to give an idea of length. Still a great course though and, again, prime for aces. That being said, if you're coming from out of town and only get to choose between Newport News or New Quarter Park....hit New Quarter.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Play it from the REDS!

5+    7/4/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: subymike77
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy to navigate
-2 starting pads per hole
-concrete pads
-layout
Do yourself a favor and play from the reds(long pads). This hole is fun from the whites but if you want a challenge go from the reds. If you have played here from only the whites, playing from the reds makes this a completly different course.
Cons: Pretty flat, not much in elevation changes.
No water hazards
Gets crowded on weekend afternoons

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I like it

5+    6/9/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: justinTHEcoastie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great mix of wooded and open. Very easy to navigate around. Multiple tee pads on every hole.
Cons: Not a lot of sloping, a lot of holes are similar distances, not a whole lot of challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for beginners, you won't lose discs, you can play multiple rounds in a timely fashion.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Simple, fun course

1    5/25/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2014
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very traditional/basic disc golf course layout. Sometimes less is more, and this is the perfect example of that.
- Very good variety of holes. All the wooded holes are on the front 9, back is more open. Good job of using the terrain - trees, shrubs, etc - to create the different layouts.
- Course does a very good job of having long and short tees present different looks. If you play both tees, you'll see very different shots on many holes.
- Great course to introduce newbies to the game. It's not overly difficult, so will present plenty of birdies and ace runs for more advanced players.
- Very easy to navigate the course. Large posts indicating hole number and long & short tees. Only suggestion is to have hole number listed on more than one side because on several holes, the number was on the wrong side.
- I loved the hooks they have at the teepads to hang your bags. It's a very nice touch that I've only seen here and at New Quarter.
- Good, descriptive tee signs. Good tee pads.
- Great, enormous park that has everything - camping, fishing, hiking, all different sport fields. If you can't find something to do here, you really need to learn how to enjoy the outdoors.
Cons: Some are going to have a problem with the layout and/or terrain. There are a few unimaginative/open holes. #2, at 487 ft and no real obstacles, is the perfect example of this.
- No real elevation. Course is essentially completely flat.
- This is not a course for big arms. Only 2 holes longer than 400 ft.
- Course is next to a main road, so not very secluded. About the only park of the park that doesn't give that "in the woods/nature" feel.
Other Thoughts: I was surprised how much I enjoyed this course. As already stated, this is a relatively basic course, but it offers plenty of fun.
- Most of the holes were very similar - mostly open, throw around the trees and get close enough for your putt. #16 long stood out because it was so different. Blind teeshot to a basket blocked by trees and shrubs. There are enough openings to make a shot, but you can just as easily hit one of the trees. Very good risk/reward hole.
- The 2 holes that play along the fence (#3 & 9) presented a different look. On #9 especially, it presents another obstacle if you try to go through the trees (instead of throwing around the trees and fence).
- You could easily squeeze in a couple rounds here in under two hours and/or while having the rest of family occupied by everything else in the park.
- The course reminded me a lot of Sugaw Creek in Charlotte. Tehy're very comparable in layout, hole makeup, and so forth. And in turn, the similarity is reflected in the ratings. It's worth checking out if in the area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/28/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course that can be played rather quickly.
-Clean safe park with alot of other activities going on
-2 concrete tee pads per hole
-bag holders
-benches and trash cans
-variety of wooded and open
-easy to follow for 1st timers
-great use of land
-beginer friendly but some fun shots for the more advanced players
Cons: -most holes seem to be nearly the same length
-traffic noise
Other Thoughts: The sign near the first tee says to pay the 2$ fee at the building 1/2 mile away. I played New Quarter Park earlier in the day so the shorter holes here were nice for a sore and tired body. There isn't too many courses in the area so play here and New Quarter in one day and it will be a good day. They aren't a long ride apart.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice municipal course

5+    2/28/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course gives several different looks before settling on one for the back nine. #1 tees at the end of the parking lot along the fence line toward the road and is a straight forward 250 open fairway to a pin guarded by a pair of trees, good warmup hole. If your not warmed up yet you will be soon, #2 is wide open 400'er where you can air out, and make you wonder why it is that wide open pins are the hardest to approach? Nice and loose now? Good, now you dial it down for a bit while you enter the technical phase of our course. #3 is an open 200ish to a pin just tucked into the woods through that one section of open fence. Don't miss your entrance here or you may be pitching out. #4 - #8 are classic Virgina woods holes and probably my favorite part of the course, with #7 being the toughest. You begin to see daylight again at the ninth tee where you find a hard dogleg right and an open fairway. The back nine is where you enter the moderately wooded phase of the course, some of these seem repetitive but are enjoyable nonetheless due to the unique pin settings. Most of these are 200-250' through moderate fairways that usually offer a couple choices, but the challenge is getting the disc to the nestled targets, adding a nice dimension to therwise pitch-and-putt holes. These are mostly flat and through a large pine forest, but #17 has a bit of a grade and is probably the best of the back. The good news here is that except for the wooded section of the front you won't be spending much time (in any) searching for discs. It's also literally almost right on I-64, if you've got an hour to wait for the Hampton Roads Tunnel traffic to clear then you've got time to play NNP.
Cons: The course isn't long, I can hit double digits down from the short tees and I have a rag arm, but the long tees spice things up a bit. Being in Tidewater, it lacks the elevation changes I require from a great course. The back nine definitely has a deja vu element.
Other Thoughts: On one hand you could look at this as a short, flat course without any wowzer holes, on the other hand there's an element of fun here that keeps me coming back here on my trips to VA Beach (though New Quarter is my first priority). There are lots of birdie opps but for the most part you have to earn them, which along with the technical woods holes pushes this one up to Very Good for me.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/29/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: Herd1978
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads. Some challenging shots. If you are interested in course scores, the par 5's make it very easy to shot under for the course. Most par 3's are driveable from the tee for even a beginner like myself.
Cons: Flat. Not a really challenging course if you play by the par card. Really crowded when I played around 2:30. This and New Quarter are the first courses I've ever had to pay to play.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the course. Its a good break from playing only one course constantly. New Quarter Park is still more challenging and has better scenery.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Course

1    9/6/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: heyraffaello
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a good mix of open and wooded holes, and if played from the red tees, some are moderately long. It seems as though the course is well maintained, and there are some challenging tee shots over, around, and through fences.
Cons: It hadn't rained in a few days when I went and while I understand that mostly, it was just morning dew, there were a few spots where the ground was saturated. The transition between the front and back nine is a bit confusing, but with some help from the map, we made it work. Since it is in a coastal area, there isn't a lot of elevation change, and some of the wide open holes could be longer (why have nothing in the way if you have to hold back on your distance?).
Other Thoughts: Apparently you have to pay to play this course. A friend of mine lives up the street, so we figured we'd head over in the morning, and apart from the one other group that was playing, we didn't see anyone else there at all. I saw that the course gets busy, so I would imagine that going early (9-11AM) would be ideal on the weekends to avoid crowds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Better than Bayville

1    8/21/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: halasjackson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting. Good variety of foliage obstacles -- bare tree trunks in the woods and lush, low foliage out in the open. A few "Jedi" holes (3 & 9) where you have to navigate fences into and out of the woods. Decent mix of wooded and open holes -- several opportunities to really chuck it out there. Tees are in excellent condition and generally easy to find. Hole 17 is the highlight. Course map is helpful.
Cons: Kind of a short course. Recommend playing from the reds no matter what. Obviously, traffic going from Norfolk to Newport News sucks.
Other Thoughts: Saw several deer and squirrels that cam right up to us..

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/20/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: Gran Pa Fibbz
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long shots and technical shots. The first three holes on the front nine will lull you into a false sense of confidence, be ready to dial it back when you get in the woods. On hole three if you don't make it through the gate you will have to work for your second shot. With the fence gone back nine is wide open. If you need a confidence builder play the back nine first. If you are over sixty you do not need to pay to play.
Cons: The park gets a lot of use with special events. They shut the course down two or three times a year. It is best to call ahead on the weekends. As with any course in the Tide Water area you need bug spray in the spring and summer. You have to drive all the way to the camp site check in on the other side of the lake to sign in.
Other Thoughts: They have a great tourmanent in November. Check web site for dates.Very well managed. If you want to take the step up in to competion this is a good place to start.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.